Stay home SIQ thread 30/03 to 15/04

dogg

What's your plan if Covid shuts down schools and offices?

Postby dogg » March 5th, 2020, 11:46 am

I can't begin to imagine the chaos and disruption that could cause here. What preparations can we make to deal with it?

Re: What's your plan if Covid shuts down schools and offices?

Postby rspann » March 5th, 2020, 11:47 am

Covid partaaay !!!!!!!

Postby Rovin » March 5th, 2020, 11:48 am

OP u didnt want to post in d covid 19 thread huh ... :|

dogg

Postby dogg » March 5th, 2020, 12:09 pm

Rovin wrote:OP u didnt want to post in d covid 19 thread huh ... :|

I thought this deserved its own thread. Mods please merge or delete if I'm wrong

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 5th, 2020, 12:20 pm

stock up on groceries, dl movies and stay in meh house

Postby nemisis » March 5th, 2020, 12:26 pm

How many months you stick up on?
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:stock up on groceries, dl movies and stay in meh house

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 5th, 2020, 12:58 pm

Most of the countries have small numbers of cases - I expect population density and overall public health attitude has something to do with it.

Patient zero in Trinidad does not necessarily mean a Wuhan level spread.

If everyone calms the firetruck down and chills the firetruck out and just follow the guides from national and international health bodies it should be OK.

No need to panic buy all the things, although that is precisely what will happen. :/

What's your plan if Covid shuts down schools and offices?

Postby j.o.e » March 5th, 2020, 1:00 pm

Work from home, drink beers and go beach a couple times a week. I’m not gonna panic over a flu.
Last edited by j.o.e on March 5th, 2020, 1:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dave » March 5th, 2020, 1:01 pm

Panicking is a second nature for us. Always remember in 2004/05 everything was shut down and ppl sent home mid day for a storm. We didn't even have any flooding far less lots of rain for that time. But panic buying was absolutely crazy.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 5th, 2020, 1:03 pm

How about employers? If there's no income, how will they pay workers??

The entire system could collapse

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 5th, 2020, 1:17 pm

dogg wrote:How about employers? If there's no income, how will they pay workers??

You sounding panicky already.
breathe bai.
take it one step at a time.

Postby K74T » March 5th, 2020, 1:23 pm

Imagine Vexxx Dogg calmer than Regular Dogg.

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2020, 1:26 pm

pornhub and beer

Postby gastly369 » March 5th, 2020, 1:59 pm

Wah oil viscosity
MG Man wrote:pornhub and beer

Postby Rovin » March 5th, 2020, 2:08 pm

once u have sufficient food\water , electricity & d net working to keep ourselves entertained from going bored u cud survive at home ....

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2020, 2:29 pm

gastly369 wrote:Wah oil viscosity
MG Man wrote:pornhub and beer

if you hadda ask, you too young for me

Snyper

Postby Snyper » March 5th, 2020, 2:53 pm

Chill and wait for when Stag/Carib hold a Covid special on beers

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2020, 2:59 pm

j.o.e wrote:Work from home, drink beers and go beach a couple times a week. I’m not gonna panic over a flu.

if you're in isolation u can't leave your house. By law.

Postby SMc » March 5th, 2020, 3:00 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Most of the countries have small numbers of cases - I expect population density and overall public health attitude has something to do with it.

If everyone calms the firetruck down and chills the firetruck out and just follow the guides from national and international health bodies it should be OK.

No need to panic buy all the things, although that is precisely what will happen. :/

Agreed- though some degree the Covid outbreak will be experienced here, whether it be some infected people,lack of some goods/products on the supermarket shelves or just a slow down on how things work in general as there may be less people on the ground to do things (not cause they deads, but possibly self isolation, fear of going out, slacking off etc).

Its best just listen to the people who know what they are talking about- follow the guidelines provided by the WHO and other globally recognised bodies- panic buying wont solve anything as you would only end up buying toots you wouldn't normally buy as it was 'all that was there' and it will still be in your house for next how many years.

Alternatively, you could ask MG Man for a quart of the used 20W50 he uses on the new 'recruits' -rub a thin layer of that on your skin and you immune to everything

Postby 88sins » March 5th, 2020, 3:26 pm

SMc wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Most of the countries have small numbers of cases - I expect population density and overall public health attitude has something to do with it.

Agreed- though some degree the Covid outbreak will be experienced here, whether it be some infected people,lack of some goods/products on the supermarket shelves or just a slow down on how things work in general as there may be less people on the ground to do things (not cause they deads, but possibly self isolation, fear of going out, slacking off etc).

Its best just listen to the people who know what they are talking about- follow the guidelines provided by the WHO and other globally recognised bodies- panic buying wont solve anything as you would only end up buying toots you wouldn't normally buy as it was 'all that was there' and it will still be in your house for next how many years.

Alternatively, you could ask MG Man for a quart of the used 20W50 he uses on the new 'recruits' -rub a thin layer of that on your skin and you immune to everything

everything but MG Man :lol:

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2020, 3:59 pm

VPNs and remote access

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/05/microsoft-tt-ready-to-help-private-sector-equipped-for-work-from-home-options/

Microsoft TT ready to help: Private sector equipped for work-from-home options
TYRELL GITTENS 13 HRS AGO

While TT prepares to deal with the potential fallouts in the event of a covid19 outbreak, Microsoft TT has begun assisting local business partners to cope with a potential transition to a work from home model for staff.

The company provides a Microsoft 365 business suite service which enables clients to enable business operations digitally and often remote from an office environment.

CEO of the TT Chamber of Industry and Commerce Gabriel Faria, while speaking to Newsday earlier this week, has said that such services may be needed to avoid negative economic effects in the event of a covid19 outbreak.

Faria said in an outbreak event there might be scenarios in which employees self-quarantine and businesses must be prepared to mobilise their workforce in a way that allows for remote work or work-from-home options.

Microsoft's TT representative Darren Mohammed said the company had contacted clients of its 365 services and provided tips on how Microsoft China had adapted to digital operations in the face of the virus that had brought the country to a virtual standstill.

China has become ground-zero for the covid19 virus which first emerged in the country's Wuhan province. Of the 92,000 global infections and estimated 3,100 deaths, China accounts for over 80,000 infections and 95 per cent of global deaths.

"This morning (Wednesday) I reached out to all our clients to brief them on what our Microsoft China subsidiary has implemented.

"We proactively reached out and shared these tips without clients to ensure they are well prepared and trained," said Mohammed.

Asked his thoughts on the readiness of businesses in TT to transition to remote work or work-from-home model, Mohammed said he was confident in the ability of local businesses and that some have already been incorporating digital aspects into their operations.

"I think those private sector companies are very well prepared.

"I've been in touch with a lot of the larger companies and 60 per cent of them are already on our platform. They are well equipped and have hosted online meetings before."

Mohammed said the 365 platform was compatible with other systems that did not utilise the service and as such, businesses were not restricted.

With Faria indicating the TT Chamber of Industry and Commerce has been in touch with companies and ministries to begin discussing the possibility of work-from-home options, Mohammed said the company is standing ready to help businesses.

"For businesses affected by a potential outbreak and are not prepared, we have created a six month trial.

"You don't need to purchase, we can get companies through for six months.

"We don't want to use the situation to sell customers things. This isn't the time to make a sale, it's time to help," said Mohammed.
Last edited by redmanjp on March 5th, 2020, 4:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2020, 4:00 pm

for schools they can just adjust to make up lost time by taking from the summer vacation-

for exams- depends what cxc/cape recommends

Postby j.o.e » March 5th, 2020, 4:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Work from home, drink beers and go beach a couple times a week. I’m not gonna panic over a flu.

if you're in isolation u can't leave your house. By law.

You’re only in isolation if of a risk group or determined to be showing symptoms.

Postby Redman » March 5th, 2020, 5:26 pm

Since the millennium thing these end of life as we know it things are rather anti climatic.

Use your head,follow the right information.

Postby matr1x » March 5th, 2020, 6:05 pm

Plot twist: trevor sayers makes the cure

Postby Ben_spanna » March 5th, 2020, 6:56 pm

dogg wrote:How about employers? If there's no income, how will they pay workers??

Um-Employers will close their doors, permenant employees will be paid accordingly or partial pay and temporary staff all sent home without pay... some companies will probably just close and employees will have to go to NIS......Can’t expect employers to buffer COVID, That’s for the government to deal with and settle wages.

rebound

Postby rebound » March 5th, 2020, 7:00 pm

K74T wrote:Imagine Vexxx Dogg calmer than Regular Dogg.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 5th, 2020, 7:35 pm

K74T wrote:Imagine Vexxx Dogg calmer than Regular Dogg.

Postby paid_influencer » March 5th, 2020, 8:19 pm

i see the next few months playing out one of two ways:

- people do not take the virus seriously, believe hand washing and dust masks will work. school continues as "normal" with assembly talks on hand washing. Political rallies still being held albeit with screens and crowd barriers for the politicians. malls less busy overall, but still business as usual.

the virus spreads rapidly, everybody starts coughing after about a month, hospitals run out of beds. serious health crisis with multiple fatalities. minimum wage workers abandon their jobs (no KFC, no grocery packers), Economy crashes. public servants take leave, private businesses move as much as possible to remote operations, public utilities on 'autopilot' with breakdowns, schools closed indefinitely, public events cancelled. Election postponed, SoE declared and PNM remains in power until they call off the SoE (2021 or later).

or

-people do take it seriously, social distancing becomes the norm. radical lifestyle changes at the start of the outbreak - bars become open to regulars only, malls empty, fastfood outlets empty, grocery stores still operational but with masks for both cashiers and shoppers, public utilities on a shift system. prive businesses move to remote. parents stop sending kids to school. election rallies livestreamed, election day serious as a heart attack with masks everywhere. The electoral ink is given by individual napkin.

the virus spreads slowly, Couva hospital full but working, vaccine catches up in 2021/2022 under a UNC govt.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » March 5th, 2020, 8:44 pm

First things first - Blame Camala