COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Redress10

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 109 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby Redress10 » April 9th, 2020, 12:07 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Redman wrote:Serious question, further to carluvas point

Given the timelines- have we seen the expected number of cases ?
From Carnival, the 20,000 fly ins?

I UNDERSTAND the the concept of undiagnosed cases etc.....but am I wrong in thinking that the few cases THUS FAR that have been hospitalized is a good start?

just look at the number of tests conducted

So according to your logic you only sick and dying if you have been tested positive for Corona? So all over the world the virus has spread and whole families are dying at home in their homes and hospitals but according to you the virus has spread in TT and people are dying same way but they just not being tested? That making sense?

Let me ask this question. The media personality who recently tested positive and made a big stink about it on social media, did his son also test positive? What about his camera man that he is was always around during the previous days. What about any fcb chaguanas staff members?

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 107 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2020, 12:14 pm

carluva wrote:I understand what you are saying. So given this logic for testing, are we in a bad place for the numbers of 109 and 8? How are the measures in place (SIQ etc.) working for/against the situation?

I'm not attempting to be difficult or ask a loaded or politically charged question. Rather, I am trying to understand how this relates to the "curve" and "flattening the curve". And, in the case that we're not flattening the curve, what could be done differently?

I UNDERSTAND the the concept of undiagnosed cases etc.....but am I wrong in thinking that the few cases THUS FAR that have been hospitalized is a good start?

when they do their tests, if positive, they take the necessary steps. i.e. isolation/quarantine, treatment, icu, contract trace, test the contact trace etc.

because of their criteria whole portions of society is excluded. but it is still possible that its there, expected, hence why all these social distancing.

so, what they need to do, is at least test some of the respiratory cases that DO come into the normal health system that dont have a flight history. also, some random testing through out the island, as it is asymptomatic.

that way, u will increase the chance of detecting the local and community spread.

when u do that, what ever cases u detect, their normal protocols kick in as per SOP.

that way, u take out more points of unknown transmissions from out of the system.

when u do that, if they do get positive cases, u woudl have reduced the rate of infection, and the REAL curve is flattened.
the official numbers woudl increase, as u saw in america. it would look like a spike ad things are ramping up, but it woudl only be that ur increasing ur field of view and seeing more of what is out there. like opening ur eyes wider.
but the real real world infections will be reduced somewhat. and the peak would be pushed back.

at least expand the testing to the respiratory cases, if they dont want to do random in the society.

as per the MoH's pyramid, if u detect and remove them from society, u reduce the number of pyramids there are.

Postby Redman » April 9th, 2020, 12:16 pm

Shake- the test arent usefull if they testing the wrong people.

That said if ALL 20,000 people who flew in were positive....regardless of testing....some % of them would be sick,dead etc.

IMHO The final arbiter of how we managing this thing is in the volume hospitalized cases.

Am I wrong in this?

Devourment

Postby Devourment » April 9th, 2020, 12:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

just look at the number of tests conducted

Yes but it's only good iff:
1. These represent close to the real number of cases
2. We were operating close to 'business as usual' while maintaining such a low number of cases

The problem with this is the 8 deaths......it means we're looking at 500+ cases using simple stats. Yes, the sample of 109 might by disproportionally old and hence we seem to be showing similar mortality rates to Italy. But even in Italy, it was well-known mortality was so high because testing was underperformed.

The plan for the government now is to contain cases to prevent lots of community spread. However, this is as we've seen in many places is a false sense of control. The minute you remove some of the restrictions there will be a spike. One would hope their aim is to control those outbreaks. If we do have 500+ cases around, there will be spread through their families, friends.....unless we keep up these strict measures for 2 more months.

But that is still f*cking hard to control and will lead to a prolonged 'bouncy' looking curve when quarantine measures are revoked.

I'd recommend the slow burn method, which would have been to keep many businesses open, but restrict social gatherings, encourage mask-wearing while doing the clampdowns on potential outbreaks. This way the economy and employment don't go to shtt and we go back to normal life sooner rather than later.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 9th, 2020, 12:39 pm

Carluva

The virus needs to be transmitted by the host and received by the recipient. In order for this to happen many factors need to take place. The host must be a carrier and be mingling amongst the general population. Self quarantine solved that by making those 20,000 persons stay at home until their window period over. I am not saying they all did but even if 2000 of those persons had the disease and were mingling out in public who were they interacting with? There's a high chance that the people they interacted with would either be wearing a mask or a glove in supermarkets etc. Even if they sneezed on their hands and then transferred the virus to a cashier's hand via a bank card or cash etc that cashier is already wearing a mask and either sanitising their hand a few seconds later via soap and water or hand sanitizer. So the virus is continuously being disrupted and deactivated by these barriers.

Remember before all of this, if people were feeling sickly then they would still be going to school and work etc. That causes a virus to spread quickly because this person is interacting with the world in multiple places and amongst multiple populations. All of this has ceased so you are basically cornering the disease to a specific pattern of behaviour. A person now can only go out to get essentials such as grocery and pharmacy. So everywhere the virus goes now it is meeting a hostile environment. Every few moments a counter is either being wiped or a floor is being mopped. Contrast the restrictions in those places today to something such as a wet fete at carnival.

It doesn't matter what the status of the person opposite you is as long as you mainfain your barrier methods. Unless someone comes and remove your masks and coughs in your face or even spits down your throat then I don't think you should really give this too much thought at this point. Just be a responsible adult and play your part. That is all you can do.

Postby Redman » April 9th, 2020, 12:45 pm

As we here:

Check your health plans and life insurance policies.....pandemic EXCLUSIONS are a thing.

Occupancy or more correctly non occupancy for more than 30 days can change what is covered.

And Force Majure cuts both ways once declared in a contract

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 9th, 2020, 12:51 pm

Redman wrote:Shake- the test arent usefull if they testing the wrong people.

That said if ALL 20,000 people who flew in were positive....regardless of testing....some % of them would be sick,dead etc.

IMHO The final arbiter of how we managing this thing is in the volume hospitalized cases.

Am I wrong in this?

You are absolutely correct. The volume hospitalized cases is itself a test of community spread etc which further debunks alot of these ppl carnival conspiracy theory. This is a virus that attacks the respiratory system causing difficulty with breathing.

On any given day ppl here complaining about Sahara dust. You all really believe that if the spread was as bad as some believe that people wouldn't have been badly suffering and overwhelming the hospitals. I'm sure that alot of people here have relatives here who suffer from illnesses such as asthma etc not to mention things such as obesity, high blood pressure, diabetes and all of that.

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2020, 12:55 pm

real tidbits of updates throughout...

Postby X_Factor » April 9th, 2020, 12:56 pm

We coming up to the 14 days since the 20k persons flew in and the stay at home order
If there isn't a surge by next weekend
I would say we gt

Postby aaron17 » April 9th, 2020, 1:01 pm

KM_2NR wrote:That clapping thing is such BS , doubt anyone in the health sector cares about it , its just a stupid fad. Give the "essentials" extra pay and two months paid salary when this is all over and proper PPE to being with .
We have to follow higher countries right?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2020, 1:07 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Redman wrote:Shake- the test arent usefull if they testing the wrong people.

Am I wrong in this?

You are absolutely correct. The volume hospitalized cases is itself a test of community spread etc which further debunks alot of these ppl carnival conspiracy theory. This is a virus that attacks the respiratory system causing difficulty with breathing.

On any given day ppl here complaining about Sahara dust. You all really believe that if the spread was as bad as some believe that people wouldn't have been badly suffering and overwhelming the hospitals. I'm sure that alot of people here have relatives here who suffer from illnesses such as asthma etc not to mention things such as obesity, high blood pressure, diabetes and all of that.

I think there was a misinterpretation in what I tried to bring across. Redman asked by the 20k and the timeline...we have only done a little less than 1k tests...therefore we will never know what our true number is unless more tests are conducted..

Fof all you know, at least 300 out of that 20k could be positive and walking around normal without being tested. No one knows if the 20k people are observing proper isolation practices etc....Just as the WHO said....test test test

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2020, 1:37 pm

What we need is someone to post the cases of respiratory symptoms the normal health facilities get.

80% of people will be mildmildmild.

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2020, 2:03 pm

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/04/04/worl ... e=Homepage

ny times wrote:A German Exception? Why the Country’s Coronavirus Death Rate Is Low

The pandemic has hit Germany hard, with more than 100,000 people infected. But the percentage of fatal cases has been remarkably low compared to those in many neighboring countries.

By Katrin Bennhold

Published April 4, 2020
Updated April 6, 2020

They call them corona taxis: Medics outfitted in protective gear, driving around the empty streets of Heidelberg to check on patients who are at home, five or six days into being sick with the coronavirus.

They take a blood test, looking for signs that a patient is about to go into a steep decline. They might suggest hospitalization, even to a patient who has only mild symptoms; the chances of surviving that decline are vastly improved by being in a hospital when it begins.

“There is this tipping point at the end of the first week,” said Prof. Hans-Georg Kräusslich, the head of virology at University Hospital in Heidelberg, one of Germany’s leading research hospitals. “If you are a person whose lungs might fail, that’s when you will start deteriorating.”

Heidelberg’s corona taxis are only one initiative in one city. But they illustrate a level of engagement and a commitment of public resources in fighting the epidemic that help explain one of the most intriguing puzzles of the pandemic: Why is Germany’s death rate so low?

The virus and the resulting disease, Covid-19, have hit Germany with force: According to Johns Hopkins University, the country had more than 100,000 laboratory-confirmed infections as of Monday morning, more than any other country except the United States, Italy and Spain.

But with 1,584 deaths, Germany’s fatality rate stood at 1.6 percent, compared with 12 percent in Italy, around 10 percent in Spain, France and Britain, 4 percent in China and nearly 3 percent in the United States. Even South Korea, a model of flattening the curve, has a higher fatality rate, 1.8 percent.
‘We Take the Dead From Morning Till Night’

No country has been hit harder by the coronavirus than Italy, and no province has suffered as many losses as Bergamo. Photos and voices from there evoke a portrait of despair.

“There has been talk of a German anomaly,” said Hendrik Streeck, director of the Institute of virology at the University Hospital Bonn. Professor Streeck has been getting calls from colleagues in the United States and elsewhere.

“‘What are you doing differently?’ they ask me,” he said. “‘Why is your death rate so low?’”

There are several answers experts say, a mix of statistical distortions and very real differences in how the country has taken on the epidemic.

People must stick to restrictions, Merkel warns.
In Europe, wearing masks in public is no longer ‘alien.’
Oil markets hope for a deal between Saudi Arabia and Russia.

The average age of those infected is lower in Germany than in many other countries. Many of the early patients caught the virus in Austrian and Italian ski resorts and were relatively young and healthy, Professor Kräusslich said.

“It started as an epidemic of skiers,” he said.

As infections have spread, more older people have been hit and the death rate, only 0.2 percent two weeks ago, has risen, too. But the average age of contracting the disease remains relatively low, at 49. In France, it is 62.5 and in Italy 62, according to their latest national reports.

Another explanation for the low fatality rate is that Germany has been testing far more people than most nations. That means it catches more people with few or no symptoms, increasing the number of known cases, but not the number of fatalities.

“That automatically lowers the death rate on paper,” said Professor Kräusslich.

But there are also significant medical factors that have kept the number of deaths in Germany relatively low, epidemiologists and virologists say, chief among them early and widespread testing and treatment, plenty of intensive care beds and a trusted government whose social distancing guidelines are widely observed.

In mid-January, long before most Germans had given the virus much thought, Charité hospital in Berlin had already developed a test and posted the formula online.

By the time Germany recorded its first case of Covid-19 in February, laboratories across the country had built up a stock of test kits.

“The reason why we in Germany have so few deaths at the moment compared to the number of infected can be largely explained by the fact that we are doing an extremely large number of lab diagnoses,” said Dr. Christian Drosten, chief virologist at Charité, whose team developed the first test.

By now, Germany is conducting around 350,000 coronavirus tests a week, far more than any other European country. Early and widespread testing has allowed the authorities to slow the spread of the pandemic by isolating known cases while they are infectious. It has also enabled lifesaving treatment to be administered in a more timely way.

“When I have an early diagnosis and can treat patients early — for example put them on a ventilator before they deteriorate — the chance of survival is much higher,” Professor Kräusslich said.

Medical staff, at particular risk of contracting and spreading the virus, are regularly tested. To streamline the procedure, some hospitals have started doing block tests, using the swabs of 10 employees, and following up with individual tests only if there is a positive result.

At the end of April, health authorities also plan to roll out a large-scale antibody study, testing random samples of 100,000 people across Germany every week to gauge where immunity is building up.

One key to ensuring broad-based testing is that patients pay nothing for it, said Professor Streeck. This, he said, was one notable difference with the United States in the first several weeks of the outbreak. The coronavirus relief bill passed by Congress last month does provide for free testing.

“A young person with no health insurance and an itchy throat is unlikely to go to the doctor and therefore risks infecting more people,” he said.
German hospitals, whose workers are checked regularly for coronavirus, have withstood the epidemic better than those in many other countries.
German hospitals, whose workers are checked regularly for coronavirus, have withstood the epidemic better than those in many other countries.Credit...Sascha Schuermann/Getty Images
Tracking

On a Friday in late February, Professor Streeck received news that for the first time, a patient at his hospital in Bonn had tested positive for the coronavirus: A 22-year-old man who had no symptoms but whose employer — a school — had asked him to take a test after learning that he had taken part in a carnival event where someone else had tested positive.

In most countries, including the United States, testing is largely limited to the sickest patients, so the man probably would have been refused a test.

Not in Germany. As soon as the test results were in, the school was shut, and all children and staff were ordered to stay at home with their families for two weeks. Some 235 people were tested.

“Testing and tracking is the strategy that was successful in South Korea and we have tried to learn from that,” Professor Streeck said.

Germany also learned from getting it wrong early on: The strategy of contact tracing should have been used even more aggressively, he said.

All those who had returned to Germany from Ischgl, an Austrian ski resort that had an outbreak, for example, should have been tracked down and tested, Professor Streeck said.
Construction workers beginning to prepare an exhibition hall in Berlin to become a treatment center for coronavirus patients.
Construction workers beginning to prepare an exhibition hall in Berlin to become a treatment center for coronavirus patients. Credit...Pool photo by Clemens Bilan/EPA, via Shutterstock
A Robust Public Health Care System

Before the coronavirus pandemic swept across Germany, University Hospital in Giessen had 173 intensive care beds equipped with ventilators. In recent weeks, the hospital scrambled to create an additional 40 beds and increased the staff that was on standby to work in intensive care by as much as 50 percent.

“We have so much capacity now we are accepting patients from Italy, Spain and France,” said Susanne Herold, a specialist in lung infections at the hospital who has overseen the restructuring. “We are very strong in the intensive care area.”

All across Germany, hospitals have expanded their intensive care capacities. And they started from a high level. In January, Germany had some 28,000 intensive care beds equipped with ventilators, or 34 per 100,000 people. By comparison, that rate is 12 in Italy and 7 in the Netherlands.

By now, there are 40,000 intensive care beds available in Germany.

Some experts are cautiously optimistic that social distancing measures might be flattening the curve enough for Germany’s health care system to weather the pandemic without producing a scarcity of lifesaving equipment like ventilators.

“It is important that we have guidelines for doctors on how to practice triage between patients if they have to,” Professor Streeck said. “But I hope we will never need to use them.”

The time it takes for the number of infections to double has slowed to about nine days. If it slows a little more, to between 12 and 14 days, Professor Herold said, the models suggest that triage could be avoided.

“The curve is beginning to flatten,” she said.

Beyond mass testing and the preparedness of the health care system, many also see Chancellor Angela Merkel’s leadership as one reason the fatality rate has been kept low.

Ms. Merkel, a trained scientist, has communicated clearly, calmly and regularly throughout the crisis, as she imposed ever-stricter social distancing measures on the country. The restrictions, which have been crucial to slowing the spread of the pandemic, met with little political opposition and are broadly followed.

The chancellor’s approval ratings have soared.

“Maybe our biggest strength in Germany,” said Professor Kräusslich, “is the rational decision-making at the highest level of government combined with the trust the government enjoys in the population.”

Christopher F. Schuetze contributed reporting.

Postby MaxPower » April 9th, 2020, 2:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:so allyuh clap today at 10 ?

Clapping for what exactly?

These jackasses that are clapping are the same jackasses that cannot adhere to simple instructions, resulting in stress and death in the health sector.

Its like a high homicide rate and the murderers commending the TTPS for a job well done.

Postby maj. tom » April 9th, 2020, 2:57 pm

That clapping thing in thin air for nobody seem very retarded. Hadda be Trini ppl nah, doing it because money massa say so. http://www.looptt.com/content/national- ... -19-battle

In the UK, they were clapping the shift people when they were going out from their homes and acknowledged them. I've seen videos of that and that made sense.

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2020, 3:22 pm

allyuh see latapy clapping ?
if anybody clap for me like that I go cuss them

maj. tom wrote:That clapping thing in thin air for nobody seem very retarded. Hadda be Trini ppl nah, doing it because money massa say so. http://www.looptt.com/content/national- ... -19-battle

In the UK, they were clapping the shift people when they were going out from their homes and acknowledged them. I've seen videos of that and that made sense.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 9th, 2020, 3:23 pm

Clapping for what? Our health care systems probably have way less people than usual. Doctors saying things rel quiet right now.

The current low number of cases is concerning because if you prevent too many infections, you will not get herd immunity and this means you leave our country susceptible and vulnerable to massive future waves. Meaning this restrictions will be here for much longer than we'd like.

Postby teems1 » April 9th, 2020, 3:55 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Clapping for what? Our health care systems probably have way less people than usual. Doctors saying things rel quiet right now.

The current low number of cases is concerning because if you prevent too many infections, you will not get herd immunity and this means you leave our country susceptible and vulnerable to massive future waves. Meaning this restrictions will be here for much longer than we'd like.

Herd immunity is the end goal. You don't want to overload the health department while doing so.

Hence the whole flatten the curve talk which has been going around for the past few weeks.

Postby redmanjp » April 9th, 2020, 4:12 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/09/licensing-offices-closed-until-further-notice/

Licensing offices closed until further notice
KEN CHEE HING AN HOUR AGO

The Ministry of Works and Transport, in a press release on Thursday, said that in complying with stay-at-home measures due to the covid19 pandemic, all Transport Division offices (Licensing) will be closed until further notice.

As such, the ministry said, all holders of driver's permits, taxi driver licences, certificates and other documents sourced from Licensing offices, which are set to expire between March 27 and July 31, shall legally be deemed valid until August 31 or such later date as the Minister of Works and Transport specifies.

The national stay-at-home measures remain in effect in the first instance, up to April 30, meaning only people working in essential services should be out in public while others deemed non-essential are to remain at home in order to prevent the spread of the covid19 virus.

Postby paid_influencer » April 9th, 2020, 4:26 pm

HISTORY channel have a documentary: "The Last Pope?"

It says the current pope is prophesied to be the last pope, before the tribulation and end of Rome.

Postby maj. tom » April 9th, 2020, 4:52 pm

History Channel: Aliens!

Postby MaxPower » April 9th, 2020, 5:22 pm

Whats all this thanks to TTPS and TTDF etc?

Suddenly they all out and acting like they doing something? ONLY when the place somewhat quiet?

This is cowardly behavior.

Postby redmanjp » April 9th, 2020, 6:46 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/08/vandals-hit-sauce-branch/

Vandals hit Sauce branch
SEAN DOUGLAS 2 DAYS AGO
Customers line up at D'Original Sauce Doubles on the Eastern Main Road, Curepe. Photo: Sureash Cholai - SUREASH CHOLAI

KELLY HOSEIN-RICHARDS, owner of the Curepe branch of D’Original Sauce Doubles, has complained to the police that vandals smashed the window of her outlet.

She told Newsday on Tuesday, “They vandalised my shop. I was not there. I got a phone call from my neighbour.

“It is horrible. They are threatening my life. It is really bad.”

Her company’s Facebook page has been flooded with vitriolic messages blaming her for the nationwide shutdown of fast food outlets such as KFC during the covid 19 lockdown.

Last week the Government ordered the closure of all doubles outlets, but allowed fast-food franchise restaurants to run a takeaway service under the “essential services” exemption from closure. Hosein-Richards complied, but then tried to run a takeaway service so clients would be safe from any spread of the virus. This was shut down by the police.

Her attorneys Prakash Ramadhar and Larry Lala complained of unfair treatment, after which on Monday the Prime Minister said all fast food outlets must close until month-end, leading to panic-buying of other fast food favourites.

By Monday night, in a social media post, Hosein-Richards complained of personal threats to her safety, following Dr Rowley’s announcement.

She wrote that someone had blamed her for the full shutdown, while she said she had only been seeking equality of treatment.

Hosein-Richards bitterly complained of threats from an irate restaurant patron.

“You all are threatening my safety for standing up for the right thing,” she lamented. “I never meant for all restaurants to be closed but to give us the same opportunity as others.”

She shared a copy of a post on her page. “Mrs Kelly, you caused all fast food places to be closed. Please don’t come out to sell after the lockdown or else you would be a victim. You want someone to burn your place. You mean you can’t get to sell, so no one must sell.”

Hosein-Richards told Newsday on Tuesday esh had not wanted restaurants to have to shut but had simply wanted her outlet to have the choice of whether to open or close. Addressing some of the vitriol, she said her business is registered and pays taxes.

Hosein-Richards flatly denied any ethnic slant to her position.

“They trying to say it is a racial thing. Well, my husband is African, and my daughter is a dougla. It is nothing to do with race. People who know me know I am not racial.”

Meanwhile amid threats of a doubles boycott, on Facebook another branch of the Sauce Doubles franchise said they had shut down days ago and had not been to blame for the fast food clampdown.

Postby paid_influencer » April 9th, 2020, 7:03 pm

them gone and complain and make massa punish all a we

Postby hydroep » April 9th, 2020, 7:18 pm

Another disparity between what the Government is reporting and "reality". If what the patients are saying is true no wonder people trying to escape quarantine...:|

‘Nightmare at Caura Hospital’
Recovering COVID-19 patients beg for final tests for release
Carolyn Kissoon, Anna Ramdass

SINCE leaving the confines of the Couva Hospital last Friday, the country has been told that the 17 recovering COVID-19 coronavirus patients are being given optimal care at a place of rest and relaxation.

The patients are however complaining they are living a completely different reality and continue to endure a nightmare that began the day their cruise ship confirmed a coronavirus case six weeks ago.

The Express has been told that ten of the 17 patients transferred out of the Couva Hospital were from the ill-fated cruise.

The recovering patients were transferred to the Caura Hospital last week to wait out the remainder of their quarantine.

But the new arrangement is nothing like they had been promised, some of them said.

At nightfall last Friday, the asymptomatic patients were placed in buses and taken to the Caura Hospital.

Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) and Defence Force officers escorted the buses to the facility. An ambulance accompanied the patients in case of an emergency.

Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram had said at least 17 patients were expected to be relocated to a “non-hospital” environment as the patients were “well”.

Parasram said the patients would be required to undergo two tests and get negative results in both instances, within a 24-hour period.

But the testing was not immediately done and patients say they are appalled by the conditions at the Caura facility.

Patients contacted the Express yesterday expressing disgust over their conditions at Caura Hospital.

The Express was told that the patients comprised 12 women and five men at the facility, ranging from ages 30 to 70 years.

No privacy

A spokesperson for the patients said the men and women are separated by a “partition” and there was no privacy.

The patient said, “The conditions here will cause a riot. The men have to share one toilet. There is a line to go to the bathroom on mornings and always an argument. The women have two toilets and three bathrooms so it is a little easier there. The men have to pass through the women’s dormitory to get to their bathroom. That is very embarrassing. Our privacy is not being respected here. This is not what we were told when they were moving us. They said a non-hospital environment, this is not what we expected. We are not sick, we are waiting to go home.”

The patient said the diet was unacceptable and ventilation in the rooms was poor.

He said, “This morning we have no water. The breakfast and lunch here is terrible. We are being eaten by mosquitoes as there are no fans.”

In tears, a woman said, “I did not see my family in 32 days. They treating us like dogs here. We have no symptoms and we did not get tested since coming here. We got no medication. We want to go home now, test us and get it over with.”

The patient said they were informed that on arrival at the Caura Hospital they would be tested for two negative results.

“We did not get that done yet. We are willing to self-quarantine on leaving here but we need to get those two tests,” she said.

Silent protest

The Express was told by another patient that the sanitary conditions at Caura are terrible.

The patient said she shares a small area with several people, one of whom seemed to have mental health issues.

The patient claimed the conditions under which they were being kept were dehumanising.

The woman said that there were different buildings housing patients and some have the luxury of their own private room.

She said one of these people is a social media personality.

The Express was told by a male patient that there is no proper disposal of garbage and many are worried that the absence of air conditioning, the heat and unsanitary conditions will make them ill.

A relative of one of the patients transferred to Caura Hospital also contacted the Express on Monday.

The relative said patients have made several attempts to speak to senior medical staff about the testing to no avail.

“They have been waiting with no answers and it is becoming very frustrating. My relative is becoming overwhelmed with frustration. I have to constantly talk to him to keep his cool. They told them the situation in Caura will be more relaxed and a better setting for them but it seems to be worse than Couva,” the relative said.

The Express was told that the patients staged a silent protest yesterday, triggering action from the authorities.

“Because we stand down this morning and demanded out rights a doctor came with some results (tests taken at Couva) and called in patients one at a time. They said we will have to do another test,” a patient said.

Consultant forensic psychiatrist at the North West Regional Health Authority Hazel Othello said yesterday an additional 17 patients were expected to be moved out of the Couva Hospital in the coming days. The patients were asymptomatic and awaiting their negative test results, she said.

CEO to visit Caura

Speaking at yesterday’s virtual media conference in response to a question, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said he had asked the chief executive officer of the North Central Regional Health Authority to visit the Caura Hospital. Deyalsingh said, “I will always be at a disadvantage responding to individuals anonymously but I have asked the chief executive officer to go into Caura and do what is necessary to make life as comfortable as positive to all the people there.”

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/nightmare-at-caura-hospital/article_9ccb7c8c-7a00-11ea-9832-03472645c667.html

Postby MaxPower » April 9th, 2020, 7:42 pm

I wonder how much Hosein pay the piper to smash her windows?

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2020, 8:20 pm

A munch pack.
MaxPower wrote:I wonder how much Hosein pay the piper to smash her windows?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 9th, 2020, 8:26 pm

They should now be asking themselves if this cruise was really worth it now....

Hope they recover and are released soon and hopefully they will not make foolish decisions in the future
hydroep wrote:Another disparity between what the Government is reporting and "reality". If what the patients are saying is true no wonder people trying to escape quarantine...:|

‘Nightmare at Caura Hospital’
Recovering COVID-19 patients beg for final tests for release
Carolyn Kissoon, Anna Ramdass

SINCE leaving the confines of the Couva Hospital last Friday, the country has been told that the 17 recovering COVID-19 coronavirus patients are being given optimal care at a place of rest and relaxation.

The patients are however complaining they are living a completely different reality and continue to endure a nightmare that began the day their cruise ship confirmed a coronavirus case six weeks ago.

The Express has been told that ten of the 17 patients transferred out of the Couva Hospital were from the ill-fated cruise.

The recovering patients were transferred to the Caura Hospital last week to wait out the remainder of their quarantine.

But the new arrangement is nothing like they had been promised, some of them said.

At nightfall last Friday, the asymptomatic patients were placed in buses and taken to the Caura Hospital.

Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) and Defence Force officers escorted the buses to the facility. An ambulance accompanied the patients in case of an emergency.

Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram had said at least 17 patients were expected to be relocated to a “non-hospital” environment as the patients were “well”.

Parasram said the patients would be required to undergo two tests and get negative results in both instances, within a 24-hour period.

But the testing was not immediately done and patients say they are appalled by the conditions at the Caura facility.

Patients contacted the Express yesterday expressing disgust over their conditions at Caura Hospital.

The Express was told that the patients comprised 12 women and five men at the facility, ranging from ages 30 to 70 years.

No privacy

A spokesperson for the patients said the men and women are separated by a “partition” and there was no privacy.

The patient said, “The conditions here will cause a riot. The men have to share one toilet. There is a line to go to the bathroom on mornings and always an argument. The women have two toilets and three bathrooms so it is a little easier there. The men have to pass through the women’s dormitory to get to their bathroom. That is very embarrassing. Our privacy is not being respected here. This is not what we were told when they were moving us. They said a non-hospital environment, this is not what we expected. We are not sick, we are waiting to go home.”

The patient said the diet was unacceptable and ventilation in the rooms was poor.

He said, “This morning we have no water. The breakfast and lunch here is terrible. We are being eaten by mosquitoes as there are no fans.”

In tears, a woman said, “I did not see my family in 32 days. They treating us like dogs here. We have no symptoms and we did not get tested since coming here. We got no medication. We want to go home now, test us and get it over with.”

The patient said they were informed that on arrival at the Caura Hospital they would be tested for two negative results.

“We did not get that done yet. We are willing to self-quarantine on leaving here but we need to get those two tests,” she said.

Silent protest

The Express was told by another patient that the sanitary conditions at Caura are terrible.

The patient said she shares a small area with several people, one of whom seemed to have mental health issues.

The patient claimed the conditions under which they were being kept were dehumanising.

The woman said that there were different buildings housing patients and some have the luxury of their own private room.

She said one of these people is a social media personality.

The Express was told by a male patient that there is no proper disposal of garbage and many are worried that the absence of air conditioning, the heat and unsanitary conditions will make them ill.

A relative of one of the patients transferred to Caura Hospital also contacted the Express on Monday.

The relative said patients have made several attempts to speak to senior medical staff about the testing to no avail.

“They have been waiting with no answers and it is becoming very frustrating. My relative is becoming overwhelmed with frustration. I have to constantly talk to him to keep his cool. They told them the situation in Caura will be more relaxed and a better setting for them but it seems to be worse than Couva,” the relative said.

The Express was told that the patients staged a silent protest yesterday, triggering action from the authorities.

“Because we stand down this morning and demanded out rights a doctor came with some results (tests taken at Couva) and called in patients one at a time. They said we will have to do another test,” a patient said.

Consultant forensic psychiatrist at the North West Regional Health Authority Hazel Othello said yesterday an additional 17 patients were expected to be moved out of the Couva Hospital in the coming days. The patients were asymptomatic and awaiting their negative test results, she said.

CEO to visit Caura

Speaking at yesterday’s virtual media conference in response to a question, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said he had asked the chief executive officer of the North Central Regional Health Authority to visit the Caura Hospital. Deyalsingh said, “I will always be at a disadvantage responding to individuals anonymously but I have asked the chief executive officer to go into Caura and do what is necessary to make life as comfortable as positive to all the people there.”

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/nightmare-at-caura-hospital/article_9ccb7c8c-7a00-11ea-9832-03472645c667.html

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 109 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 9th, 2020, 8:38 pm

^ didnt read all of it...

Cant handle the complaining and whining and crying and sad stories and sympathy seeking...

All i am concerned with is if they learnt their lesson.

Blasted embarrassment.

Postby redmanjp » April 9th, 2020, 9:22 pm

exactly when they went on the cruise ? March or February?

the situation back in February wasn't nearly as serious as last month when everything including lock downs started.