COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 115 cases, 8 deaths, 53 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » April 26th, 2020, 7:08 pm

update on my fever: it was tonsillitis, likely from environmental exposure (saharan dust, ash, or other air pollution).

Those who encouraging people to go outside, remember that saharan dust not easy and I can speak from experience. Right now we more exposure to saharan dust than COVID19.
h8eYjZ0.jpg

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 115 cases, 8 deaths, 53 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 26th, 2020, 7:46 pm

paid_influencer wrote:update on my fever: it was tonsillitis, likely from environmental exposure (saharan dust, ash, or other air pollution).

Those who encouraging people to go outside, remember that saharan dust not easy and I can speak from experience. Right now we more exposure to saharan dust than COVID19.

Hello p.i;

Welcome back.

Yeh bro that does be the worst. Pressure to swallow with tonsillitis and throat infections etc.

I had a upper respiratory tract infection last week...took a 3 day course of Zithromax and some Augmentin as a back up...oh and Nimulid and Allegra.

Again, with these types of “mild” issues, they will still not test you.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 115 cases, 8 deaths, 37 discharged in T&T

Postby adnj » April 26th, 2020, 9:03 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
adnj wrote:96% of 3,300 inmates with coronavirus were asymptomatic, survey shows

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-heal ... SKCN2270RX

How could they test them? I was repeatedly told by the Minister of Health that asymptomatic people do not have enough viral load to be detected with the PCR testing.

Boy... they hit the public with so much bullsheit during the past 6 weeks it not even funny anymore.
Trinidad isn't using the same test that is used in the USA.

We aren't, but PCR testing detects viral loads. It has been stated from a multitude of medical bodies that asymptomatic persons often have higher viral loads than those showing symptoms.

But fine, let's say we took the fairly reasonable position of not testing random persons not showing symptoms. Testing is limited to the laughable 30 a day. Even Aruba is doing ten times more testing per population than us.

We are WOEFFULLY under testing that it is not even funny.

Although I completely agree with your position and have stated that earlier that I believe there is insufficient population testing to know the true extent of infection, the tests are not the same, have different levels of accuracy and have been targeted with different criteria than what is being used elsewhere.

A different test given only to those with a travel history, etc., and few to go around. No one is hiding the true numbers of infections because that number cannot be currently known. But you can compare respiratory illness mortality and that indicates that there is no horrific increase in that particular death rate.

Postby sMASH » April 26th, 2020, 9:37 pm

welcome back.

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 26th, 2020, 9:52 pm

If things were as bad as that, we would have our walk in Facilities overwhelmed....

So far its very good. Even if we have local transmission, we hope it burns out naturally....

We could not have tested beyond the capabilities of the test...
Look at NY. 389 plus deaths last 24 hrs....
Random sampling was done with ppl who were presenting similar symtoms and all negative, what more

Postby Ben_spanna » April 26th, 2020, 9:59 pm

Just NEED to keep our international borders CLOSED for the next 2 to 3 months and hopefully we should be ok, we cannot afford to let anyone into the country from the USA or Canada or Europe or anywhere for that matter that may have it, as that would render all our current quarantine a total waste of time.
Let’s hope our leaders are smart for a change.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » April 26th, 2020, 10:08 pm

One more
FB_IMG_1587953179978.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2020, 10:09 pm

It gets interesting here

Postby MaxPower » April 26th, 2020, 10:11 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:
Na boi Blazey, same 115

Seeing that but I will still wait for the 10pm update, (if they still have those) or even tomorrow because their timing with updates is sometimes off.

The reason I skeptical is because the person briefly mentioned surnames as well and I didn't ask any additional info to get anybody in trouble. So we will stick with "alleged" for the time.

Blaze,

Please go to the front of the class.

Keep us in the loop with your contacts.

Postby bluefete » April 26th, 2020, 10:24 pm

I do not know if these are staged or not. But still pretty powerful Be thankful.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater

Postby bluefete » April 26th, 2020, 10:25 pm

Update has 116.

Blaze d Chalice wrote:
Na boi Blazey, same 115

Seeing that but I will still wait for the 10pm update, (if they still have those) or even tomorrow because their timing with updates is sometimes off.

The reason I skeptical is because the person briefly mentioned surnames as well and I didn't ask any additional info to get anybody in trouble. So we will stick with "alleged" for the time.

Blaze,

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 116 cases, 8 deaths, 58 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 26th, 2020, 10:31 pm

bluefete wrote:Update has 116.

Blaze d Chalice wrote:
Na boi Blazey, same 115

Blaze,

I know broski, Blaze is the man!

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 26th, 2020, 10:35 pm

bluefete wrote:I do not know if these are staged or not. But still pretty powerful Be thankful.

[img]https://scontent.fpos3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/91914031_3021587177884798_7065195204482957312_n.jpg?_nc_cat=100&_nc_sid=110474&_nc_ohc=VqmFExTQJTwAX_l0_UY&_nc_ht=scontent.fpos3-1.fna&oh=dbc45058527b6ccdcd7d74c165a4bed5&oe=5ECA0016

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater

at the same time, you seeing a LOT more videos of health care workers making dotish Tik Tok dances an ting

Freetime prolly at an all time high simultaneously too

Postby supercharged turbo » April 26th, 2020, 10:39 pm

Any word on the CMO resignation or das still ole talk?

Postby adnj » April 27th, 2020, 12:14 am

CDC adds 6 new possible coronavirus symptoms

Orion Rummler

A transmission electron microscope view of the coronavirus. Photo: Image Point FR/LPN/BSIP/Universal Images Group via Getty Images

The CDC has updated its list of possible symptoms for the novel coronavirus to include chills, repeated shaking with chills, muscle pain, headaches, sore throat, and a loss of taste or smell.

The big picture: Previously, the CDC only included fever, cough and shortness of breath as possible symptoms, which may appear 2–14 days after exposure to the virus. Clinicians are finding evidence that the coronavirus affects more than just the lungs, the Washington Post reported earlier this month.

COVID-19 may be causing acute kidney disease, neurological malfunction, heart inflammation, blood clots, liver problems and intestinal damage, according to clinicians around the world.

The bottom line: If you experience trouble breathing, persistent chest pain or pressure or bluish lips, the CDC advises that you seek medical attention immediately.

https://www.axios.com/coronavirus-new-s ... 3a821.html

Postby Gladiator » April 27th, 2020, 12:26 am

paid_influencer wrote:update on my fever: it was tonsillitis, likely from environmental exposure (saharan dust, ash, or other air pollution).

Happy to hear that man... That it's NOT COVID.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 27th, 2020, 2:16 am

Y would he resign
He is handling it really well
And im sure he is making a ton load of money...in terms lf salary and perks
He has a great job....y leave a good thing...
supercharged turbo wrote:Any word on the CMO resignation or das still ole talk?

Postby redmanjp » April 27th, 2020, 2:18 am

1 more case 'pending investigation'

not a good sign. how much of these we have? and was it from the community testing cuz how else they qualify for a test if they not related to imported cases?

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » April 27th, 2020, 2:23 am

It's important to note that it's not doubling every week. That is a good thing.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 6:38 am

two big wtf's here.

ron_28 wrote:One more

adnj wrote:CDC adds 6 new possible coronavirus symptoms

COVID-19 may be causing acute kidney disease, neurological malfunction, heart inflammation, blood clots, liver problems and intestinal damage, according to clinicians around the world.

The bottom line: If you experience trouble breathing, persistent chest pain or pressure or bluish lips, the CDC advises that you seek medical attention immediately.

https://www.axios.com/coronavirus-new-s ... 3a821.html

those symptoms realll nasty.
and the epidemiological history of #115 and 116... since boarders closed, how did these guys get it, and where?

Postby hydroep » April 27th, 2020, 7:34 am

The UK Government has been accused of being "resource driven" in its COVID policies as it seeks to manage short supplies of test kits and equipment.

As a result they have (allegedly) been under-reporting infections and deaths of both the population (especially care homes) and NHS workers in an attempt to convince the public that everything is under control.

Their lockdown was recently extended as well.

Sounds familiar...:|

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 8:19 am

hydroep wrote:The UK Government has been accused of being "resource driven" in its COVID policies as it seeks to manage short supplies of test kits and equipment.

As a result they have (allegedly) been under-reporting infections and deaths of both the population (especially care homes) and NHS workers in an attempt to convince the public that everything is under control.

Their lockdown was recently extended as well.

Sounds familiar...:|

we sound similar to all the worst case countries. and that is what the PNMites not seeing, or dont want to admit.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 27th, 2020, 8:55 am

The CMO in the same salary range as the comptroller of customs among other public servants.. I'm sure he can get more in private practice.
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Y would he resign
He is handling it really well
And im sure he is making a ton load of money...in terms lf salary and perks
He has a great job....y leave a good thing...
supercharged turbo wrote:Any word on the CMO resignation or das still ole talk?

Postby maj. tom » April 27th, 2020, 9:36 am

http://www.ttparliament.org/documents/2225.pdf

Chief Medical Officer is in Group 2B $30,340 per month.
Duty Allowance $3,040

Special Duty Allowance
Chief Medical Officer
$3,590 per month.

Professional Allowance
Chief Medical Officer
$5,990 per month.

Transport Facilities
(i) A maximum loan of $250,000 at a rate of interest of 6% per annum
repayable over a period of six (6) years to facilitate the purchase of either:-
(a) a new motor vehicle with exemption from Motor Vehicle Tax
limited to the amount payable on a vehicle with an engine
capacity of 1999cc and exemption from Value Added Tax to
a maximum of $45,000; or
(b) a used motor vehicle with exemption from Special Motor
Vehicles Tax limited to the maximum amount payable in
respect of Motor Vehicle Tax on a vehicle at (a) above and
exemption from Value Added Tax to a maximum of $45,000.
(ii) A loan to cover the cost of Motor Vehicle Insurance premium at a rate of
interest of 6% per annum.
(iii) A maximum loan of $20,000 at a rate of interest of 6% per annum to effect
repairs to a motor vehicle.
(iv) A Transportation Allowance of $3,900 per month.

Service Allowance
$5,050 per month.

Subsistence Allowance
(i) $200 per day when travelling on official business beyond a radius of
sixteen (16) kilometres from official headquarters.
(ii) When on duty in Tobago, the office holder to be eligible for hotel
accommodation and meals, as necessary. In the absence of the provision
of any meal(s), to be paid $200 per day.
(iii) For travel abroad on official business, the provisions of Minister of Finance
Circular No. 2 dated April 7, 2006 or other relevant Circular to apply.

Housing Allowance
$7,740 per month.

Entertainment
Actual expenses incurred for official entertainment to be met from an official
Entertainment Vote under the control of the Ministry/Department to which the
office holder is attached.

Vacation Leave
Thirty (30) calendar days per annum.
Telecommunication Facilities
$500 per month.

Medical Benefits
Membership in and entitlement to medical benefits as provided under the
UNIMED Group Health Plan.
Pension/Gratuity
Entitlement to superannuation benefits in accordance with the provisions of the
Pensions Act, Chap. 23:52.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 27th, 2020, 9:41 am

maj. tom wrote:
http://www.ttparliament.org/documents/2225.pdf

Chief Medical Officer is in Group 2B $30,340 per month.
Duty Allowance $3,040

Special Duty Allowance
Chief Medical Officer
$3,590 per month.

Professional Allowance
Chief Medical Officer
$5,990 per month.

Transport Facilities
(i) A maximum loan of $250,000 at a rate of interest of 6% per annum
repayable over a period of six (6) years to facilitate the purchase of either:-
(a) a new motor vehicle with exemption from Motor Vehicle Tax
limited to the amount payable on a vehicle with an engine
capacity of 1999cc and exemption from Value Added Tax to
a maximum of $45,000; or
(b) a used motor vehicle with exemption from Special Motor
Vehicles Tax limited to the maximum amount payable in
respect of Motor Vehicle Tax on a vehicle at (a) above and
exemption from Value Added Tax to a maximum of $45,000.
(ii) A loan to cover the cost of Motor Vehicle Insurance premium at a rate of
interest of 6% per annum.
(iii) A maximum loan of $20,000 at a rate of interest of 6% per annum to effect
repairs to a motor vehicle.
(iv) A Transportation Allowance of $3,900 per month.

Service Allowance
$5,050 per month.

Subsistence Allowance
(i) $200 per day when travelling on official business beyond a radius of
sixteen (16) kilometres from official headquarters.
(ii) When on duty in Tobago, the office holder to be eligible for hotel
accommodation and meals, as necessary. In the absence of the provision
of any meal(s), to be paid $200 per day.
(iii) For travel abroad on official business, the provisions of Minister of Finance
Circular No. 2 dated April 7, 2006 or other relevant Circular to apply.

Housing Allowance
$7,740 per month.

Entertainment
Actual expenses incurred for official entertainment to be met from an official
Entertainment Vote under the control of the Ministry/Department to which the
office holder is attached.

Vacation Leave
Thirty (30) calendar days per annum.
Telecommunication Facilities
$500 per month.

Medical Benefits
Membership in and entitlement to medical benefits as provided under the
UNIMED Group Health Plan.
Pension/Gratuity
Entitlement to superannuation benefits in accordance with the provisions of the
Pensions Act, Chap. 23:52.

Some of my high school mates who are Specialists now earn that in one week

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2020, 9:45 am

So $50-60k yuh padnas make a week?

Postby Dizzy28 » April 27th, 2020, 9:53 am

pugboy wrote:So $50-60k yuh padnas make a week?

Yes.
And there is one doctor who went Hillview a few years ahead of me in the ophthalmologist field and he has boasted to his friends from his year that I also know that he makes 250k a week.

I can't vouch for his boasts but given his lifestyle I can't see him being far off.

Postby maj. tom » April 27th, 2020, 9:56 am

yep yep. Some big names in Ophthalmology really make that kind of money. Lifetime of continuing education and highly specialized skills. And these men real good eh. Some of the best in the world.

Postby teems1 » April 27th, 2020, 10:07 am

pugboy wrote:So $50-60k yuh padnas make a week?

Yes.
And there is one doctor who went Hillview a few years ahead of me in the ophthalmologist field and he has boasted to his friends from his year that I also know that he makes 250k a week.

I can't vouch for his boasts but given his lifestyle I can't see him being far off.

Main road doctors with their private practice usually make 20k+ per week easily.

The doctor usually have to employ 2-3 people though. A receptionist and maybe 2 nurses.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2020, 10:14 am

america's mind set is messed up.