who does make the best Split Channa? (dental work freindly eh)

Postby Monk BANzai » October 8th, 2020, 12:34 pm

At the risk of chipping a tooth nuh...Paula's nearly make me spend a $2k in dental work oui...if it wasnt for meh limited Slip Differential upper jaw..

Lend guidance please and thanks.

Re: who does make the best Split Channa? (dental work freindly eh)

Postby maj. tom » October 8th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Nut Kings make the best of all legumes, from channa to peanuts, especially the cashews.

PDF Prices http://www.sesamefoods.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Updated-price-list.pdf

Postby Rovin » October 8th, 2020, 12:51 pm

any dental mechanic will tell u if u have work done on ur grill avoid channa

obviously split channa easier to chew

all dem nuts & channa get kinda expensive now but when i used to buy i find CHATAK BRAND was good & consistent ...

Postby teems1 » October 8th, 2020, 12:54 pm

St Anthony's split peas is the best imo.

Better than Spees.

Postby K74T » October 8th, 2020, 12:55 pm

Postby SR » October 8th, 2020, 1:06 pm

Patsy's whole grain.........

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2020, 1:22 pm

Go Shoppes of Arima, Ry's Bakery. They sell their own.
Right amount of seasoning and salt.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2020, 2:40 pm

Patsy's tastes real good but
SPEES > split channa

SpeesSplitPeas copy.jpg

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2020, 3:04 pm

Banton like allyuh supposed to know-yuh have to suck it a little to soften it up...before yuh bite.

Monk BANzai wrote:At the risk of chipping a tooth nuh...Paula's nearly make me spend a $2k in dental work oui...if it wasnt for meh limited Slip Differential upper jaw..

Lend guidance please and thanks.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 8th, 2020, 4:07 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:At the risk of chipping a tooth nuh...Paula's nearly make me spend a $2k in dental work oui...

Daz joke, in 2008 I bite into some r b brand... Final bill at La Pique; 4700.00

Don't play with dem fry dhal alyuh. If it doh give when yuh crunch down lightly, shoot it out like ah melon seed

Postby X_Factor » October 8th, 2020, 5:40 pm

Nothing beats singhs split channa
Right amt of pepper and very soft with the right amt of crunch

I notice only massy sells it in the st augustine/tunapuna environs
Last edited by X_Factor on October 8th, 2020, 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 8th, 2020, 6:40 pm

Singh's.

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2020, 6:45 pm

if yuh have fillings always be careful with them kinda hard objects
when you have a filling the outer edge of the tooth is the original tooth enamel and very fragile and can break outwards if the hard object catches it on the edge when biting down.

If it breaks off you will be lucky if the broken part is above the gum line,
just need to bore out old filling and redo with build up for the outer section

if it breaks down below the gum line you could be in plenty extra unpredictable work.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2020, 6:48 pm

Ditto on patsy's. Singh's have a similar label and tastes good too.

Nuts king hard like brick.

Spees lack the homestyle flavour. If somebody can introduce them to chadon beni, garlic and pepper it's gonna be a 6 over tht pavilion roof

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 8th, 2020, 8:16 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Ditto on patsy's. Singh's have a similar label and tastes good too.

Spees lack the homestyle flavour. If somebody can introduce them to chadon beni, garlic and pepper it's gonna be a 6 over tht pavilion roof

Where you getting your Spees?
It has chadon beni, garlic and pepper

Postby Gladiator » October 8th, 2020, 8:32 pm

teems1 wrote:St Anthony's split peas is the best imo.

Better than Spees.

This is the best channa... especially for your teeths

Postby MaxPower » October 8th, 2020, 8:56 pm

I does sell the Regal “Hot n Spicy Split Peez” in my mini marts.

The Locals seem to love it.

Oh and the Wasabi channa is a hot seller.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 8th, 2020, 8:59 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Patsy's tastes real good but
SPEES > split channa

SpeesSplitPeas copy.jpg

this is garbage bro(minus the spiciness),its extremely hard, S Anthony ftw

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2020, 9:29 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Ditto on patsy's. Singh's have a similar label and tastes good too.

Where you getting your Spees?
It has chadon beni, garlic and pepper

not enough then. compared with the Patsy's and Singh's etc.

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2020, 9:34 pm

yuh want to taste the product or the seasonings ?
pick one

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 8th, 2020, 10:26 pm

pugboy wrote:yuh want to taste the product or the seasonings ?
pick one

patsy's and sing's have dat balance bruhhhhhh
but spees have the texture

Postby Monk BANzai » October 9th, 2020, 12:55 am

sooo...Spees? lol allyuh have me doing relational database management to figure out....

Postby Gladiator » October 9th, 2020, 1:05 am

No bro...St Anthony's

Spees is fry dhal...lol
Monk BANzai wrote:sooo...Spees? lol allyuh have me doing relational database management to figure out....

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 9th, 2020, 5:44 am

at anthonys stuff good, but it have a green pack channa in the grocery does lash.

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2020, 6:29 am

spees around a long time, it is split peas and very hard on the hardness scale
def harder than any channa

Monk BANzai wrote:sooo...Spees? lol allyuh have me doing relational database management to figure out....

Tortilla_Man

Postby Tortilla_Man » October 9th, 2020, 3:43 pm

Them fry nuts/channa is de worse, i see concrete softer than that. I stick to baking nuts as it much easier to eat, tastier and softer too. Anyone ever try baking channa the same method as nuts (soak, salt, etc.) ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 9th, 2020, 4:40 pm

You ever try nuts in the microwave?
put the red skin nuts in a baking dish spread out - sprinkle with a lil water with your fingers - then microwave for about 3mins covered lightly with a paper towel
Super quick and tastes really good
keep your radiation comments to yourself

Postby maj. tom » October 9th, 2020, 4:44 pm

i thought everybody did that. There's no radiation residue either, it's microwaves. Same with quick microwave popcorn in a damp brown paper bag.

But its inferior in taste to the slow pot/oven due to the Maillard reaction.

Postby maj. tom » October 9th, 2020, 5:02 pm

Tortilla_Man wrote:Them fry nuts/channa is de worse, i see concrete softer than that. I stick to baking nuts as it much easier to eat, tastier and softer too. Anyone ever try baking channa the same method as nuts (soak, salt, etc.) ?

Deep frying is a very precise science wrt to temperature and time. They're both very crucial to the quality of the end product. Volume of oil necessary to achieve a real deep fry without absorbing too much oil is also important. That is why most people get it just wrong without the precision and standards used by industrial cookers.

In the oven, yes it's the exact same way with the channa.
Soak overnight. Drain and wash. Blot dry on some Bounty. Make sure it's dry or else it won't crisp. Season with some oil and whatever else seasonings but you don't want it wet. Leave the salt out for now and mix in a bowl. Then on a flat metal tray 350°F for 40 mins. No layering, every grain flat. After 40 mins, take it out, sprinkle your salt now and mix the channa well. This is where the crisp is, the salt at this moment sucks out the outer layer of moisture from the bean. Big grain salt is best for this reason. Turn, and another 20 mins in the oven. Should be very crispy by that time. Up to your preference.

If you are sensitive to the phytohaemagglutinin in beans (you would know what i talking about if you were), best if you pressure cook the channa for 10 minutes after the soaking. And then continue with the Bounty and make sure it is as dry as possible.

Postby Rovin » October 9th, 2020, 6:44 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You ever try nuts in the microwave?
put the red skin nuts in a baking dish spread out - sprinkle with a lil water with your fingers - then microwave for about 3mins covered lightly with a paper towel
Super quick and tastes really good
keep your radiation comments to yourself

u wouldnt believe it have plenty ppl who dont know about that , i been doing that over 20yrs at least once a mth , its 1 of my fav snacks

i agree baked or patching in a pot wud give a better taste but mw is d fastest most economical way to cook nuts

i do about half pound at a time & then do d rest next few days

never tried it with water though, i do mines jesso without any salt, at 1st for about 2 mins nonestop then turn them around & 1 minute intervals standing there keeping my eyes on it cause it will burn fast b4 u know it ...