Wallerfield Racing Complex....The Glory Days.

Postby wagon r » July 13th, 2006, 7:33 am

As everyone knows, the Wallerfield Racing circuit has been a part of TnT's racing heritage for over 40yrs. We have reached a point now where all racing at Wallers hangs in the balance of the nation's courts.

However, this thread is dedicated to the racers of the past who made the drives to the track a worthy Sunday afternoon expense and where families and friendships bonded, while action took place on the track.

The pictures you will see below were taken from various individuals who back then never left home without their camera and who we are now grateful for this look back into history.

f5ae440a-4809-4248-b614-480488d4adb7.jpg

*Post only vintage Wallerfield pics here - This thread is not to be replied to. All comments can be placed in the thread below*

https://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=94033&postdays=0&postorder=asc&&start=0

NO RANTING IS ALLOWED AND WILL BE DELETED W/O QUESTION.
Last edited by wagon r on July 13th, 2006, 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » July 13th, 2006, 9:44 am

Colin Ablack - Parts Unlimited Firebird

Vijay Ramkissoon - Big Daddy Rail vs Colin Ablack - Parts Unlimited Firebird

Big Daddy Rail

Vijay Ramkissoon

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » July 13th, 2006, 10:47 am

Evans Hosein - Spanish Fly

Cowboys vs Noproblem

Candyshacks vs PuffnStuff

Sean Ready - RX2 vs Evans Hosein - Spanish Fly

Inshan Mahaboob - Green Hunter

Taw Beejai - V8 Rail

Jason Laing - Puff N Stuff - RX7
Last edited by MANIAC on July 13th, 2006, 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » July 13th, 2006, 10:53 am

Shameel "Shamo" Mohammed - Sheriff Lobo

Brian Fortune - V8 RX7

Brian vs Deen

Mookram Cortina V8

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » July 13th, 2006, 11:51 am

Ghandi V8

Halfbreed Rail

Hollister Edwards - Flambeux

Sheldon Bissessar (Partytime Rail) vs Florida Altered Rail

Sheriff Lobo V8 Kingswood

Sheriff Lobo vs Barbados Starlet

Vickram Debie - Crazyhorse Galant V8

Vickram Debie
Last edited by MANIAC on July 13th, 2006, 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » July 13th, 2006, 12:40 pm

Florida Altered Rail

Aruba Altered Rail

Aruba Camaro

CandyShacks

PartsUnlimited

Dale

Dale Mayers - Rugrat

Dale vs Clint

Last edited by MANIAC on July 13th, 2006, 12:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » July 13th, 2006, 12:50 pm

Maniac de black altered was out of Florida. It came in with a 2 dr ke20 corolla.

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » July 13th, 2006, 12:57 pm

Spanish Fly

Spanish Fly

Andre Crichlow vs Brian Franco

Sheldon Bissessar - One of the many versions of the Partytime Rail

Puff N Stuff

Pustam

Richard Lawrence - Richie Rich M&M Mitsubishi Magna V8

Larry Ragoobar

M Rampersad Camaro

Ramatally

Sheldon Bissessar - Capri vs Vijay Ramkissoon - Big Daddy

Shawn Ready

Mookram vs Tobagoboys

Uncle Zolo

Postby wagon r » July 13th, 2006, 1:03 pm

Postby wagon r » July 13th, 2006, 4:09 pm

Postby wagon r » July 13th, 2006, 4:45 pm

Postby wagon r » July 13th, 2006, 4:55 pm

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 15th, 2006, 2:39 pm

Anyone remember this car? It was one of two HARTGE tuned BMWs that came to race. The white was a 2litre four cylinder. The red was a 2.6litre 6 cylinder. I can never forget the sound of these cars, they ran perfectly evry lap, like swiss watches, no missfire, no sputtering, made the most lovely sound.

lots more to come..... :) [/url]

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 15th, 2006, 10:16 pm

This is the engine of the red BMW, the 6 cylinder. These cars came from Germany with two German drivers and tyheir mechanics.

THis is a picture of the two of them doing a honour lap.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 15th, 2006, 10:23 pm

THis is cheekes with the J&B escort teaching Hans how to do it Trini style at the bottom corner. I think he was running the marvelous little 1300cc Ford Twin Cam engine. You can see the BMW a little sideways here.

The BMW is desperately trying to underbrake Cheekes at the bottom....

THis is a few laps later, the BMW was very quick on the straight and he eventually got by. Heck, what you expect, a 2litre BMW??

Last edited by djaggs on July 15th, 2006, 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 15th, 2006, 10:27 pm

THis is Hans again, by himself now, if I remember correctly I think Cheekes had some problems with his car and dropped out.

The BMW takes the chequered flag!

Coming next !!! Fritz vs Gilmore.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 18th, 2006, 9:33 pm

This is Gilmore in the famous Citizen Escort trying to come to grips with the 6 cylinder BMW, how many of you remember this car, it was very fast, had a Ford BDG engine, same as the Geese. None of the local cars were a match for the 6 cylinder BMW, it had displacement and power, over 350bhp i think.

IN dis pic, Cheekes is badly outclassed by the more powerful BMW:

De Pressure cooker;

De pressure cooker getting cooked;

Look carefully at this pic, I didnt have my zoom lens with me this day so its kinda small, this is Keith Singh in the Ford RS2000 Escort. I took this pic here because evry lap he would throw the car sideways in this corner, always on opposite lock.

This is de Professor (Clive Sugden) giving some lessons. Anybody remember the famous race between the professor and Richard Longman from the UK. Longman came here with one of his famous minis from the UK, the hype for the race was that he had won 99 races straight with that car in England and he was coming here to make it 100. That was a now legendary encounter with Sugden in the locally prepared Rustop Datsun 1200 battling against the famous Longman mini and Clive ending up victorious in the end, breaking the Englishman's winning streak. That was one of the best races I ever saw, it was so close from start to finish. This race stamped Sugden as one of Wallerfields best.

Postby Greypatch » July 20th, 2006, 12:33 pm

boss post man...i like the history behind them

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 22nd, 2006, 3:26 pm

Ok so can we now get the mods to separate the Drag pics and the Circuit pics and have some other pics for Karting and rallying and dex and Moto Cross and have a really good library being built???

Postby SR » July 22nd, 2006, 3:47 pm

we workin on it

lots of pics to scan and sort

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 25th, 2006, 11:23 pm

This was taken at the treet race in San Fernando, its Frankie's ZAKSPEED Escort which I spoke a little about in the other thread.

This is Ashmeed in the Federal Datsun at the same race:

THis is a picture of one of the cars that came from Colombia with the Porsches, if I remember corrrectly, I think it had a V8 engine and puit out around 600 to 700 hp. I think it was a TRANSAM class car. Unfortunately this is the only pic I have from this race, I shot an entire roll of 36 moving all over the track to get different angled action shots only to discover the next day that my film slipped out of the takeup spool and none came out. That was my worse experience at wallerfield. I cuss for two months.

While other kids were building sand castles, this is what I was building...

Postby Monk BANzai » July 26th, 2006, 12:19 am

^^ amaaazing....wow i VAGUELY remember some of those races...used to be on daddies shoulder watching dem..of course bac kthen i was realy into Frankies yellow "sunbeam escort"....

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » July 26th, 2006, 7:14 am

That was the Monza from coloumbia. Was a totally diiferent sound for wallers circuit racing when you were accustomed to hearing only 4 cylinders and rotaries.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » July 27th, 2006, 7:00 am

Great stuff I am loving this thread :twisted:

RA40-GTE

Postby RA40-GTE » July 28th, 2006, 11:57 am

:D this is an absolutley wonderful thread..
many many many memories..loving it all.

u have successsfully distracted me from work..thank you :D

dbesson

Postby dbesson » July 31st, 2006, 2:13 pm

I am completely distracted also, great job guys, wouldn't it be great to bring back the San Fernando Road Racing i think it will really make a big hit.

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » August 9th, 2006, 2:11 pm

Hey Guys .... What happen to the pictures ... Come on and post up some new ones ... dont let this thread die ......

Postby wagonrunner » August 9th, 2006, 3:40 pm

whey SR and meh muccadum CD?

i coulda been helping all now, but no........................... :evil:

Postby wagon r » August 9th, 2006, 3:43 pm

....the pics there but we considerin to move everything to a new forum. i got some more pics but they are more or less the same ones i posted.

SR has a CD for me with pics from Gordon and i have some pics from dragholic in storage.

i won't allow it to die.

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » August 9th, 2006, 3:44 pm

^ Cool .....

i won't allow it to die.

^ I know this ... just reminding you all :D :P