A/C Problem

^^!SPAWN!^^

A/C Problem

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » August 10th, 2006, 5:24 pm

Had my a/c done over the ending of July , gassed up , changed rubbers etc , also put in an additional fan , the works , I put on my a/c yesterday to my great surprise the thing blowing HOT air !!!! I don't want to believe the gas is leaking , cause the guy checked out everything , and it was blowing real real cold up to day before yesterday . Advise me plz . Thanks.

cool

Postby cool » August 10th, 2006, 5:43 pm

first ,make sure the clutch which turns the compressor when you push the ac or temp. switch is engaging by the pulleyon the comp.feel the drier and see if it is very warm when the compressor is running,if it is not you might have a leak,check the sight glass on the drier and see if it bubbles continuously(possible leak also)if the clutch for the comp is not engaging the clutch ,you have an open circuit in that area.i would have to hear more to troubleshoot further.

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » August 10th, 2006, 9:47 pm

there is also a pressure switch on the system that could be faulty if the system still has its full charge.You can do a quick check by disconnecting the wires from the switch and shorting them together momentarily to see if the clutch comes on.DONT KEEP IT SHORTED SO AS TO HAVE THE SYSTEM RUNNING PLEASE.
Why was it necessary to have an additional fan ?

Loprofile PC

Postby Loprofile PC » August 10th, 2006, 10:37 pm

if you open your bonnet and have someone turn on the ignition, then turn on the ac.....
The fan/s should come on, and you should hear the click of the comp. clutch energizing, or if you look at it closely you would it see the pulley on the comp. kinda pull inward.
if this is happening its more than likely, gas or some sort of restriction is the problem, if not the problem should be electrical.
Either way you should have checked by a tech.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 11th, 2006, 12:36 pm

Could just be compressor fuse or relay.
As said above look/listen for compressor to turn on when you turn on the a/c.

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » August 11th, 2006, 2:09 pm

[deleted
Last edited by mitsugdi on August 11th, 2006, 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » August 11th, 2006, 2:10 pm

mitsugdi wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Could just be compressor fuse or relay.
As said above look/listen for compressor to turn on when you turn on the a/c.

I think that you are quite right about that fuse. I asked why was it necessary to have an additional fan ? So i assumed that he hooked up the two fans on the same power line or compressor circuit causing overload and blowing the fuse or relay for that circuit.

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » August 11th, 2006, 5:01 pm

Well MITSUGDI , Charmant vehicles come with one a/c fan , so I installed another one to push more breeze which helped a lot , cause the air circulating in the car better ....... I checked the compressor , when I put on the a/c switch , the front part of the compressor spinning , and when I looked at the sight glass on the drier , there were no bubbles COOL .....

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 11th, 2006, 8:09 pm

well maybe you have a defective ac switch.

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » August 11th, 2006, 10:02 pm

Nah POINTMAN -IA , The a/c switch working hoss.

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » August 11th, 2006, 11:48 pm

well then maybe theres a leak...it cud be welds dat may have let go or a leak dat has developed

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » August 12th, 2006, 8:37 am

Damn , then that man give me ah half way work .

cool

Postby cool » August 12th, 2006, 9:07 am

once the clutch on the compressor is engaging properlythat means the circuit to the compressor is good(high pressure switch,fuse,ac switch,etc.)so if the comp is working and you see no bubbles AND the thinner line that is on the drier is cool,you most likely have a leak(when it is fully charged you will also see no bubbles but the line on the drier will be warm)--the drier if it was not changed could also be restricted,but then you might have burst a hose if your car does not have a high pressure switch or the high pressure switch wuold keep cycling the comp. hence warm air also.when you look at the pulley on the comp,the part attached to the belt is always spinning---it is the part in the center that has to engage to turn the a.c. compressor,---hope this helps.

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » August 12th, 2006, 4:15 pm

What area u from cool ? Better let u check it 4 me ....

^^!SPAWN!^^

AC PROBLEM (SOLVED!)

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » August 16th, 2006, 12:07 am

Problem solved y'all , the gas was leaking from the evaporator the guy said the expansion valve was bad and the seals also , was rectified today , thanks again fellas for the input , especially COOL ....... 0X

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » August 16th, 2006, 8:16 am

you could have been poisoned yo

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 16th, 2006, 11:23 am

yeah boy in truth

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » August 16th, 2006, 5:39 pm

HUH ? POISONED ? WHAT DO U MEAN ?

Loprofile PC

Postby Loprofile PC » August 16th, 2006, 8:40 pm

megadoc1 wrote:you could have been poisoned yo

nah.....refrigerants(Gas) are nontoxic and not poisonous and also not flammable. the gas can become toxic if exposed to excessive heat or burnt with a direct flame