for the sound q guys coming soon ADS separates 346cs

Postby SR » August 17th, 2006, 9:11 am

The all-new 3-series components use only the finest materials and individual components to achieve stunning realism and accuracy. Spun aluminum cones, synthetic rubber surrounds, and an all-new tweeter design ensure maximum clarity of signal while maintaining that elusive quality of smooth, pleasing sound that has become an a/d/s/ trademark. The attention to detail is nowhere more evident than in the audiophile-grade crossovers, with exceptionally configurable circuit designs and high end components set into cast aluminum housings. Whether you're simply looking for the finest component speakers available to upgrade the audio system of your vehicle, or are a serious sound quality competitor looking for your ticket to the winner's circle, a/d/s/ 3-series systems deliver.

The flagship of the 2004 a/d/s/ component speaker line, the 346cs features a new, stiffer injection-molded basket design with integrated AngleLockâ„¢ terminals. This 6.5" component system has been designed to fit equally well in luxury performance cars or high end sport utility vehicles while producing an exceptionally flat response curve over the widest possible bandwidth. The extremely flexible crossover design ensures correct in-vehicle performance regardless of system architecture, perfectly meshing the responses of the aluminum coned drivers and polymer-damped silk dome tweeters.

at an affordable price

presently sells for over 3k
should be under or around 2 k a set

this is ADS flagship separates

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 17th, 2006, 9:34 am

not that im complaining, but is it because of the directed merger that manufacturing costs are cheaper, thus a lower price to the consumer, or what?

Postby SR » August 17th, 2006, 9:53 am

nope ah getting ah deal

the separates are still quite expensive

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 17th, 2006, 10:05 am

my bad, i thought the 346 to be a 3way

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » August 25th, 2006, 7:38 am

they does sound damnnn good i need another pair :D

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 25th, 2006, 3:46 pm

hmmm.....

Postby SR » September 3rd, 2006, 9:37 am

they are here :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

will post final price by monday

TRINI 2

Postby TRINI 2 » September 9th, 2006, 5:09 pm

SR, by chance have you tested these components and compared them to other brands of Comps out there such as DLS etc...

Postby SR » September 9th, 2006, 5:10 pm

installed them today hopefully tomoro i will have the amps installed and then i can give my review comaprison against the dls iridiums i also have a set of dls nobelliums to audition as well

TRINI 2

Postby TRINI 2 » September 9th, 2006, 5:14 pm

Looking Forward to hearing them myself. I wont get mine till around Tuesday.
If they giving the Iridiums a run for the $$ then I get a steal of a deal on these comps.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 9th, 2006, 5:21 pm

SR wrote:installed them today hopefully tomoro i will have the amps installed and then i can give my review comaprison against the dls iridiums i also have a set of dls nobelliums to audition as well

Well for a proper comparison you gonna have to run dem off de A5 an review....wouldnt be fair to the iridiums to review the ADS off the "special" amp. 8-) 8-)

TRINI 2

Postby TRINI 2 » September 9th, 2006, 5:32 pm

I have a question, when installing them, do you recommended covering the entire door in Dynamat or just around the baffle area?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 9th, 2006, 9:16 pm

well, to answer your question in a long winded way, a dynamat door kit is 12sqft.

so effectively 6sqft per door with the outer layer alone. (oouter layer being the one the door upholstery attaches onto).

if its a japenese, "paper" thin door, you'll need to do the inner door skin as well (the one thats the outsideof the door )

shazzz69

Postby shazzz69 » September 10th, 2006, 2:50 pm

"japanese paper" :D .....guess thats MOST cars in Trinidad!!! :mrgreen:

TRINI 2

Postby TRINI 2 » September 11th, 2006, 12:38 am

I waiting to hear what SR have to say about these comps.

Postby SR » September 11th, 2006, 6:27 am

so far all i can say is the construction is great
crossover is nicely designed and has top of the notch components

allows for bi amping flexabilty
has both tweeter and midbass woofer protection circuitry

i have used ads separates in the past..........years ago and also the orion nt separates which were basically ads separates and i expect these to surpass the quality of what i have heard before

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » September 11th, 2006, 10:44 am

whats the price man???

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 11th, 2006, 10:54 am

2400tt

Postby SR » September 13th, 2006, 8:01 am

aight so allyuh wah meh comments on these

havent played them as yet
but so far

the xover is designed off of orions hcca separates that were released about 5 years ago

the midbass speaker is an improvement of the orion hcca separates
tweeter is not as heavy as the orions

now in the past orion used ads components to create the nt line of separates and subs when orion wanted to get into the sound q speaker market
the nt tweeters as far as i am concerned were the best sounding tweeter i ever heard
down side to them due to the fact that they played below 1Khz was that you could not drive too much power into them

from the construction of the ads tweeter it looks like it will play just as low as the nt tweets
and the xover has all the proteciton built in it to keep you from damaging them

now i have listened to the dls iridium tweeters and they re ridiculously accurate in frequency reproduction plus the design concept of the rear chamber of the tweeter allows it to "breathe" better than a conventional tweeter housing

maybe by saturday i will have the amps in and then i can play them
and i will play them with the same amp i used to audition the dls iridium speakers first
then i will use the new dls tube amp on them and listen for differences

TRINI 2

Postby TRINI 2 » September 13th, 2006, 2:03 pm

The package containing the ADS 346cs components weighs in around 17 pounds. When I opened it first thing I noticed was the tweeters. Underneath were the 6.5 inch speakers. There were also two boxes, one containing a bunch of speaker wires to make installation a breeze and in the other had mounting hardware for the 6.5 speaker and for the tweeters. What impressed me the most was the Xovers. They are HUGE and very well designed. I won't have time to install them during week, come Friday I will begin installation. I don't have experience with other comps so I can't give a good feedback like SR would, but so far they impressive for the price I paid for them.
Time to order another pair!

Postby SR » September 15th, 2006, 8:26 am

order the next pair at that price u definalty cant go worng
will post review soon

and will have them on demo this sunday at 100%IASCA 6

TRINI 2

Postby TRINI 2 » September 15th, 2006, 10:33 pm

These things sound real good dread. I have a Old school Alpine rated at 25x4 going to them and they sound excellent. This is my first set of comps. Compared to those coxials I used to run b 4, these really fill the front of the car with rich, super clean audio. Now I understand the saying "Real SQ men dont need rearfill." I can only imgaine how it would sound when i get a more powerful amp.

Postby SR » September 16th, 2006, 6:46 am

and ah bet yuh like how low the mid bass going and how tight it is
set the tweets on -3dB and leave the config switch on car when its set to 0 personally i think its too bright

give it a few days to break in as well

i've been listening to quite a few different types of music on it and so far plays all very well

last night was some queensryche live operation mindcrime dvd
the police
and carly simon greatest hits

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 16th, 2006, 8:04 am

ahhh another queensryche fan, i would never have guessed.

vipervin

Postby vipervin » September 17th, 2006, 2:36 am

confused.. these go for 2k ?

what is this then...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ADS-A-D-S-346cs-6-5 ... dZViewItem

Postby SR » September 17th, 2006, 7:39 am

same thing
so its your choice you can buy from ebay and import it yourself pay shipping and duties

note msrp was $599.US

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 3rd, 2006, 10:48 pm

How is the sound from the tweeters?Are they harsh?

Whats the Config Switch?

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 24th, 2006, 11:20 pm

Well i finally got my Pair

Haven't installed them but wow the build quality is amazing especially the Crossovers.The woofer has some weight and looks as though it would produce some clean sounding mids

Thanks SR
Still want to hear a Demo

How about the rest of you guys,how are your sets going?

Sully

Postby Sully » October 25th, 2006, 6:00 am

The only thing that I didn't like about them was the woofer basket. It's made of plastic. I would expect that they would use something a little more durable for their flagship line.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 25th, 2006, 10:43 pm

The only thing that I didn't like about them was the woofer basket. It's made of plastic. I would expect that they would use something a little more durable for their flagship line.

thats right seems durable though
Whats the sound like?