breakdown on classes at solodex

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

breakdown on classes at solodex

Postby SR » August 25th, 2006, 8:34 am

what are the classes
and whats determines the breakdown between them

Postby wagonrunner » August 25th, 2006, 8:56 am

used to be straightline perfomance / weight.
now we trying to include a handling test.
as well as certain modifications will cause a class bump.

http://carstt.com/solodex-regs.html
take a read. current rules, and most should be used as a guideline for next year.

Postby SR » August 25th, 2006, 11:01 am

hmm

so i now in ss

Postby SR » August 25th, 2006, 11:02 am

so would narend

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 25th, 2006, 11:25 am

yup u are

u ever timed the car sr? if so what time u did?

Postby SR » August 25th, 2006, 11:37 am

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 25th, 2006, 11:44 am

u are such a clown eh lol

17.5 with what factor?? lol haha

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » August 25th, 2006, 3:27 pm

SR wrote:so would narend

only if he has completed 6 events in novice as he has not won 2 events yet.

Postby SR » August 28th, 2006, 7:26 am

NE
All
Open

GS
30+
20.000+

HS
26-29.9
18.500 to 19.999

ES
22-25.9
17.000 to 18.499

ESP
15-21.9
15.500 to 16.999

SS
11.5-14.9
14.000 to 15.499

EP
<=11.5
Under 14.000

Postby pete » August 28th, 2006, 8:16 am

Yeah, that's basically the rundown. Certain things will bump you up a class though. Like coilovers etc.

Postby wagonrunner » August 28th, 2006, 11:04 am

allyuh dont find them gaps a lil too big?

i mean a 18.2 car hadda try to keep with a 17s car?
look at me and redsupra101. best times to date 18.2 vs 17.0, and that fella could run me the 1320 without going into VTEC and still beat me, so if he can corner as well as me, why are those cars in the same class?

Postby MG Man » August 28th, 2006, 11:31 am

SR wrote:17.5

that's for two passes? :wink:

Racefan
CARS Member

Postby Racefan » August 28th, 2006, 12:09 pm

Consider this:
If we took the fastest time - slowest time then divided that by the 6 classes to give a band of time between classes.
Then we place ppl based on where they fall within these bands, then it would not matter what mods you have or what class you should be in, just on that day on that course, you fell in a band and placed ? relative to the bands.
We could even develop a local system similar to the PAX system used by SCCA to predict the relative times of the various classes if not a fixed band based on the day's results as suggested above.
Also, if ppl fall outside the band for their class, they can automatically be given pts in the next class (automatic class bump).
None of this is set in stone simply because we have done it one way for the last six years of SoloDex.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » August 28th, 2006, 11:20 pm

^ thats penalizing the good driver.

i still say we do a STIG.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 29th, 2006, 8:03 am

anyhow u look at it, the classification of cars as we know it is dead

we are changing it

i for one vote we adhere strictly to the scca rules

btw they banned r compounds and i am all for that

Postby pete » August 29th, 2006, 8:51 am

lol. why u wanna ban them? don't they improve control and make driving more fun?

I just think R compounds should be a class bump.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 29th, 2006, 9:08 am

scca banned them

if we want to align ourselves with them or be recognised it makes sence to stick to the tried and tested rules and dis way we eliminate any unfair classing
there are clear cut rules and anything more than what your class should have is a bump. it does not matter what it is, if it not allowed it not allwoed. we need to get strict on dis rule thing

also helmets are goign to be mandatory soon
all motorsport use helemts and we shoudl not be de exception as raymond pointed out last night

of course helments will be availble for new ppl who doh have one of their own

Postby MG Man » August 29th, 2006, 9:15 am

we need to look into having fire extinguishers and radios for all marshalling points at every event. There needs to be a proper marshalling briefing before each run group as well, since we almost always have new / inexperienced marshalls at each event. The course ploter must also point out to these marshalls the critical dnf points along a course so they know what they are loking for

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 29th, 2006, 9:17 am

nah we not doign the dnf part of waht u said

how else can i win if i cah cheat kev?

Postby pete » August 29th, 2006, 9:37 am

I agree wid de helmets thing. I even drove a BYCC last year using a helmet to see how different it is. I think it should be phased it. Recommend it for next year, not necessarily make it mandatory as that may run some potential competitors.

How does the SCCA deal with classifying competitors at a local level? Do they just go by the car classification list?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 29th, 2006, 10:13 am

yup and den they consider the mods u have and then u are further classed based on that

Postby wagonrunner » August 29th, 2006, 10:23 am

sigh.
allyuh ban r's, and my tire budget exceeds meh income as a grass cutter.
comparing $600 in Ecsta tires that last me 4-5 events including BYCC's, vs $600 in "road tires" that last 2 events. sigh...........some of allyuh may end up sponsoring me d ski mask way, yes.

Postby MG Man » August 29th, 2006, 10:49 am

maybe we can advise of mandatory helmets for CHAMPIONSHIP contenders for 2008, and advise all first-timers........the club can possibly look at investing in a few helmets and rent them at events........I agree with pete that R-compounds can be a bump

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 29th, 2006, 10:57 am

wagon.. r compunds are not 150 again it is now 450

so r's actually surpass your street tire budget

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 29th, 2006, 11:00 am

r's are an unfair advantage, it is proven so. ESP and ES and under cars only really use the r's for cornerign purposes, puttign down the power is nto as difficult and ss and ep cars. hence they woudl be allowed to use them....

we use it to corner beter whihc is a cheat
:P

Postby pete » August 29th, 2006, 11:05 am

yeah.. HS cars doing ES times.. ES cars doing what would probably be ESP and close to SS times..

Postby wagonrunner » August 29th, 2006, 1:04 pm

MadCrix wrote:wagon.. r compunds are not 150 again it is now 450

so r's actually surpass your street tire budget

Crix, d khumho ecsta v700 175/60/13 is still TT$150.
it would be appreciated if you stated FACT, for the benefit of other interested parties who may be reading

as for cheating.
im a bargain basement shopper. those tires give me the best performance, life, and durability out of any other out there. hence why i use them.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 29th, 2006, 1:11 pm

i glad i worng casue i need a pair heading dere on saturday den

buh i called and dey told me 450 so i am stating facts as told to me by mileage mack

and as far as cheatign i meant that it gives an unfair advantage to those who run with them

i mean i all fo rkeepign tehm eh buh as amemebr of the executive i must keep all parties in mind and base my decisions as unbiased as i possibly can

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » August 29th, 2006, 10:35 pm

well I for one would not solodex on street tyres. My tyres cost 800 +vat each and I am not going to ruin them for solodex. I buy 4 purpose made tyres and run them for the year, anything else just does not make sense. I am for bumping up a class when using R-compounds but what happens if you in SS and go up to EP and the EP man running R's where is he going EP-R? This has been tried and failed there just are not enough competitors to make it work. This is why it was allowed in all classes however previous execs molded the rules to suit their cars and allowed it in all classes from ESP and above. It was decided at the AGM by all present to change this and allow the tyres in all classes without penilty so as not to seem biased to any one class. The special price at Mileage Mack saw most people running these tyres and this seemed ok. However if a certain few want the rules to be changed to suit themselves then I am against it, it must work for all and be taken to a vote by all members.
Besides some of those very powerful EVO's would be a safety concern on poor quality street tyres as they would be uncontrollable (This is a subject that should be discussed by all at an EGM)

Postby SR » August 29th, 2006, 10:46 pm

i wont be running street tyres at my next event
came t the bycc and burned out a 3month old set of dunlop sp9000's on the front wheels with some wear on the rear as well while learning to drive the new car

still learning and i have no intentions of doing a repeat with my new tyres

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”