the differences between the impreza WRX and impreza WRX STi

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 29th, 2006, 12:52 pm

not sure but, dosent all 2006 model STI's come 2.5l now? USDM and JDM

Well the US STi has always been 2.5L.

The new WRX (USDM) is now 2.5 L as well. I beleive the 2006 JDM WRX is a 2.5L also (InDeForest, can you confirm?) but the JDM STi is still 2.0L, to stay within the displacement cap / limit set by WRC regulations (w.r.t. homologation).

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 29th, 2006, 3:29 pm

why would they keep the STI at 2.0 and carry the WRX to 2.5? that dosent make sense. plus aren't WRC Subaru cars originally WRX's?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » November 30th, 2006, 12:53 am

wha he say it eh really make sense..Knight1 u sure??

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » November 30th, 2006, 2:21 am

Everything turbo is now 2.5L except the JDM STI WRX, correct, it is 2.0 for homologation.
UK and US STI's are 2.5
UK and US and JDM WRX are 2.5

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 30th, 2006, 10:53 am

why would they keep the STI at 2.0 and carry the WRX to 2.5? that dosent make sense. plus aren't WRC Subaru cars originally WRX's?

Originally...yes...but from the late model GC* Imprezas onwards, the actual "homologation" cars were the STis.

wha he say it eh really make sense..Knight1 u sure??

Yes I'm very sure. The following cars now sport the 2.5L Engine:

2006 JDM/UK/US WRX
2006 JDM/UK/US Forester XT, Crosssport
2006 JDM Forester STi.

Yes, the 2006 WRX is a 2.5L, but the JDM STi is a 2.0L. However, although the WRX is a 2.5L, the model still makes the standard 250 bhp (JDM form) and 227 bhp (USDM form). The only thing is that the car feels "torquier" (according to reviews) for the same power output, due to the increase in displacement. The STi on the other hand, although it's a 2.0L, makes more power (stock) than the WRX; somewhere around 280-285 bhp for the JDM cars, and 265-270 for the UK cars.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 30th, 2006, 12:33 pm

hmmmm. sounds good. thanks for the cleared up info.

i was looking at a video posted a while back where a woman tested a UK forrester STI and a UK impreza STI. i remembered her saying that the forrester puts out about 320hp. true? i believe both models were 2006.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 30th, 2006, 5:24 pm

i remembered her saying that the forrester puts out about 320hp. true? i believe both models were 2006.

I find that a bit hard to believe.....bone stock that is. If the Forester were modified (ECU remapped etc) then yeah, it could happen easily. That Forester would be a 2.5L, and keep in mind that the USDM STi makes 300 bhp from 2.5L......

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 30th, 2006, 8:15 pm

yea thats what i was wondering. but i think it was sum kind of UK spec or sumthing. not sure but i played it over to make sure i hear her right. ad she was saying 3*0hp, cant remember the exact figure but i'm sure the number was over 300hp

i think it was sum special model i guess. but it came in just a fraction of a second behind the sti on a track test.

Postby Greypatch » November 30th, 2006, 8:17 pm

good thread keep it up gurus

Return to “SUBARU”