Can a bent rim cause bearings to constantly go bad

awesomeandre

Can a bent rim cause bearings to constantly go bad

Postby awesomeandre » July 14th, 2007, 8:13 pm

so i have these rims on my ride and the front right side wheel bearing constantly keeps wearing out.

First had bearings changed, then it lasted roughly about three weeks of highway driving.

Then it went bad again.

Mechanic told me to get a hub with bearing in it.

Got hub and installed, now the bearings going again. ( Lasted Two months)

Now he told me that if the bearings constantly keep mashing up is maybe the rims that is bad.

Now the rims here is the rims i got with the car, (Some used rims the previous owner put to sell the car)

I went down in a hole and the rim bent.

I would really like to know if this is a possible cause before i change bearings again or buy NEW rims

Or could it be possible that the bearings that came with the hub are jus worn and needs to be replaced

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 14th, 2007, 8:18 pm

when i say the rim bent i mean that is jus the lip slightly bent, and does not affect driving performance.

However i was also told to speed balance the wheels, as i am getting a slight very slight vibration on the steering

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 14th, 2007, 8:23 pm

u try using ah different rim on the affected area???????

i wont doubt it if its the rim....a mis balance at 120kmph could set up vibrations and mash up a bearing easily :?
all depends on the harmonics of everything....could be at 40 could be at 1000kmph....at some speed a bent rim is going to cause a vibration

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 14th, 2007, 8:28 pm

i was only told this this evening i still have to rotate and see whats going on.

JWT

Postby JWT » July 14th, 2007, 9:11 pm

what bearings are you using and are they being greased properly
also try using a systhetic grease on the bearings

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 14th, 2007, 9:26 pm

Yea...what brand of Bearings are u using?

there is a cheap brand and the good brand......ask for NTN or SKF

what abt ur Alignment and Cambering, are they ok?

JWT

Postby JWT » July 14th, 2007, 10:21 pm

NTN is good SKF hmm not sure nah

also check the tyre prssure also

that or your mech is an arse and cannot press in bearings good

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 14th, 2007, 11:58 pm

koyo bearings, used the red grease

alignment and camber was done two weeks ago.

Postby tr1ad » July 15th, 2007, 8:16 am

that rim could be the source of your problems

alignment an camber would also be thrown off if the rim is bent

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 15th, 2007, 8:47 am

but wouldnt the alignment guys see this or would you only see this when speed balancing

Postby tr1ad » July 15th, 2007, 9:19 am

if you go to align

they would only see it off and re - align

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 15th, 2007, 9:58 am

as you say this when i changed the hub the wheel was really bad off, bad off that i couldnt cross 40 on a straight road you could have actually see the wheel out of the well

the alignment guys didnt even ask if i changed the hub they know exactl what the problem was the hub it self was out

the jus unbolted and lined up in place

ill just change the rims yes and hope that is really the prob

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » July 15th, 2007, 10:25 am

yuh cud try reparing the rim
might be cheaper :mrgreen:

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » July 15th, 2007, 11:20 am

just use your spare in place of that rim for a while you won't want to damage another bearing ?? so try that first

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 15th, 2007, 6:44 pm

RadDogJr

Postby RadDogJr » July 15th, 2007, 10:36 pm

Dat rim got a good lash. As Anil said try using your spare for a while & see the difference. If the bearing problem ceases toss the bad rim into the bin.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 16th, 2007, 1:26 pm

yea boy that get a good dish

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 16th, 2007, 4:06 pm

Quite possible that the inner part of the wheel is damaged as well. That is a bad lick. For now, Get it tested at a wheel center and speed balance it to see how bad it is. If it can't be done to a good level, get some better wheels.

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » July 16th, 2007, 6:06 pm

installed the spare for the while.

i jacked up the car and spun the wheels

the right side bearings are definitely going.

and the left side velocity joint is also going.

Month end im gonna put some new rims.

stemduncun1

Re: Can a bent rim cause bearings to constantly go bad

Postby stemduncun1 » October 7th, 2019, 11:36 pm

I have had the same problem.
Hub and bearings on front right got bursted, a mechanic advised me to replace both hub and cv axle, i did. 2 days later the hub on the front right broke down. The same mechanic advised me to do the same, and the new that was replaced on warranty has broken down. I am looking for solutions on my own.
My car is a 2014 Subaru Impreza. Had a minor accident involving the right fender, door and i think the tire. so the wheel might have been affected as well, so now I think the wheel is bent.
I was already thinking about replacing the control arm, alignment rods, sway bar & sway bar links.
Someone out there please advise me.
See the image.
Screen Shot 2019-10-07 at 11.37.03 PM.png

racedriverpro

Re: Can a bent rim cause bearings to constantly go bad

Postby racedriverpro » October 8th, 2019, 5:21 pm

stemduncun1 wrote:I have had the same problem.
Hub and bearings on front right got bursted, a mechanic advised me to replace both hub and cv axle, i did. 2 days later the hub on the front right broke down. The same mechanic advised me to do the same, and the new that was replaced on warranty has broken down. I am looking for solutions on my own.
My car is a 2014 Subaru Impreza. Had a minor accident involving the right fender, door and i think the tire. so the wheel might have been affected as well, so now I think the wheel is bent.
I was already thinking about replacing the control arm, alignment rods, sway bar & sway bar links.
Someone out there please advise me.
See the image.
Repair or replace the bad rim or the set. Damage to the rim shouldnt have any major impact on other suspension parts.

1. Get a front suspension check done
2. Replace bad parts.

Suspension check are usually $60-80

Improper installation methods could caused to the hub bearing.