converting a front wheel drive b13 into an AWD

Boneyard

converting a front wheel drive b13 into an AWD

Postby Boneyard » September 4th, 2006, 1:34 pm

Is it possible if so how feeseabl and with what difficulty ?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 4th, 2006, 2:12 pm

Once you have the room for both the exhaust and the diff I don't wee why not. I always wanted to make the GT AWD but I didn't have the space for both and I didn't weant to have the exhaust exit on the side. I bought everything and had to sell it after. Would have been nice for a turbo application.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 4th, 2006, 2:16 pm

^^ I was thinking to make meh car 4wd later on down the road to.. For the B13 end the whole rear suspesion will have to change so that the rear diff is can bolt up. Then Do all the B13's come with the hull so that the drive shaft can run down to the back. Do they have the gas tank split in two so that the drive shaft can go directly to the diff ? I noticed that with the Y11 the 4 wd model and the ZVS model have the split gas tank .

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » September 4th, 2006, 2:54 pm

what about the gear box ? would i just have to get a AWD box ?
and which box do u guys think will work best ? Pulsar but i think that one might be hard to come by.

Trini gt how much was that AwD setup costing u ? approxmatily how much do u think it would be for a b13 :?: :roll:
Last edited by Boneyard on September 4th, 2006, 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » September 4th, 2006, 3:01 pm

Its been done b4 , there used to be a red AWD sr20det b13 on the tracks doin low 13's
He bought a pulsar front cut and got the back suspension to.
everything went up into the b13...the car used to launch better than most evo's

what would be nice to see is a RWD b13 :twisted: hehehe

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 4th, 2006, 3:05 pm

what about the gear box ? would i just have to get a AWD box ?

Yup and that might be the most expensive thing you will have to get. That pulsar Gear box is paper. Check this right a normal SR18LSD gear box is cheapest 2.5k TT and highest 3.5k TT so you could imagine for that pulsar gear box. :| Pluss the 4wd gear box is hydraulic ( I have never seen a cable 4wd pulsar gear box ) So you have your work cut out for you. :|

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » September 4th, 2006, 3:17 pm

Yea well i just finding out :oops:
so iam guessing all b13s or most came with a cable gearbox :?:
so if i want to get an LSD gear box for my Sr i would have to specify if i want a hydraulic or cable ?

GA16

Postby GA16 » September 4th, 2006, 7:32 pm

yes but arn't there 4wd b13's out there, i have seen some myself, so they would come with the split tank as Picasso was asking, this should make the swap that much easier

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » December 27th, 2006, 11:27 am

Ok people i got an :twisted: awd drive b13 in not so good contition and now i want to convert my fwd b13 into an awd :twisted: :evil: can it be done ?
How much cutting will i have to do to my car ?
if the car can't be converted to awd can i use the awd box as a fwd only, i also see that the awd box has two monts on it where my transmissinon has only one ?
TriniGt can u shed some light since u were about to do this project and any other tunners who have done it ?
Dave ?

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » December 27th, 2006, 3:19 pm

Ok people i got an awd drive b13 in not so good contition

why dont u fix the awd b13 instead of converting the fwd b13 to awd??
can it be done ?

the hull so that the drive shaft can run down to the back. Do they have the gas tank split in two so that the drive shaft can go directly to the diff ?

this will be ur biggest problem for a conversion

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » December 27th, 2006, 4:35 pm

[/quote]
why dont u fix the awd b13 instead of converting the fwd b13 to awd??
[quote]
Because it woud be like starting all over again i have spent some money on my current b13 and it is in much better contition than the awd b13.
Pluse the awd 13 get some real lix already crash and under lash so thats y. so would the gas tank from the awd 13 fit onto my fwd b 13 ?

I need advice on how to go about doing this swap tunners :?: :?:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » December 27th, 2006, 5:30 pm

so would the gas tank from the awd 13 fit onto my fwd b 13 ?

i dont see why not

southside crew

Postby southside crew » January 3rd, 2007, 10:55 pm

Check and see if the steerin rack is in the same location.. in the fwd and the awd.. I belive the awd rack it higher.. due to the box ... the back the the awd has studs from the chassi to the suspension.. so you have to install that also then you have a good bit of cuttin to do.. so all in all you have some good work to do...

By chance you willin to sell the awd b13 you have? if so please pm me .. thank you..

sss

Postby sss » January 4th, 2007, 8:04 am

i was also thinking of doing that to my u13 the comes with the hull for diff exhaust would have to run over and the tank may have to change but that project is big money so i changed my mind

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » January 4th, 2007, 10:18 am

Yea i have to back out the project cause thing not realy working out the way i thought pluse is alot of money.

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » January 5th, 2007, 5:49 pm

is best u sell the car and buy an adwagon 1.8l awd manual for about 45k on the road and work your way up from there.

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » January 5th, 2007, 11:21 pm

I got a 4wd b14 why not get one in those?

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » January 6th, 2007, 5:00 pm

that b14 manual or auto cuz if it auto the ad better it already have clutch system and he have ah better chance of selling over the engine and awd gearbox cuz the engine is ah direct drop in an almera,b15,wingroad etc and it could always go in ah 4wd b14,b13,b12 that go make ah man happy cuz he finally get ah bigger engine and awd gearbox.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » January 15th, 2007, 6:59 pm

check aleem, he did a yellow b13 turbo, thats awd.

turbo master

Postby turbo master » January 16th, 2007, 9:38 am

go with the b14 4wd..that's the best option..buy one of those..and u good to go..most of the stuff there already n it should line up again..
or if u can get another 4wd b13..that's best..afaik..the sr is nearly a direct line up for the engine install so u dont have much work/mods to do

the yellow b13 is travis..u could chek him..his runs excellent..still have to find out from him what front n rear diff he's using but he runs 12s i believe..

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » January 16th, 2007, 10:23 am

turbo master, hard lucks about the other day, is jess wildness.
nothing personal

blownb310

Postby blownb310 » July 12th, 2007, 10:46 pm

Did anyone ever find any pics or information on the yellow B13 with AWD?

Link? :D

Solid snake

Postby Solid snake » August 1st, 2007, 8:38 am

I am d owner of d yellow b-13 what do u want to know

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » August 1st, 2007, 4:23 pm

EVERYTHING!!! SOLID :lol:

blownb310

Postby blownb310 » August 1st, 2007, 5:18 pm

stephanweaver wrote:check aleem, he did a yellow b13 turbo, thats awd.

Solid snake wrote:I am d owner of d yellow b-13 what do u want to know

Hello Aleem,

I would like to see pictures of your B13 AWD conversion. Do you have a link to some? What year is the B13 and was it a FWD car you started with? How did you get around the problem of the fluid release clutch on the AWD transaxle when the B13 uses a cable?

Thanks, Mike

Solid snake

Postby Solid snake » August 1st, 2007, 5:39 pm

My Name is Travis, Aleem does most of d work on my car. The car came originally 4wd. It is a 1992 but it came ga-15. The clutch came cable but was converted to fluid with d use of a b14 pedal and cylinder

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » August 1st, 2007, 9:06 pm

Solid snake wrote:My Name is Travis, Aleem does most of d work on my car. The car came originally 4wd. It is a 1992 but it came ga-15. The clutch came cable but was converted to fluid with d use of a b14 pedal and cylinder

your car wukkin hoss!

blownb310

Postby blownb310 » August 1st, 2007, 11:21 pm

Solid snake wrote:My Name is Travis, Aleem does most of d work on my car. The car came originally 4wd. It is a 1992 but it came ga-15. The clutch came cable but was converted to fluid with d use of a b14 pedal and cylinder
Thanks Travis. I looked under the hood of my FWD B13 and there is no room to bolt in a clutch master cylinder. The brake booster is in the way. Do you have any pics of your car under the hood?

Thanks, Mike

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » August 2nd, 2007, 6:17 am

The clutch cylinder will fitt not to worry. As for the underneath, there are certain things that will have to be prepped or the rear diff, like a AWD gas tank, driveshaft, the rear stabalizer bar, ensuring the tunnelling has the option for both exaust and driveshaft, AWD gearbox amongst other things.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 2nd, 2007, 3:33 pm

^^ yup that's true. Is it's like doing and AWD conversion on a Y11. Lawd the parts list goes on.. Just buy an AWD B13 and save yourself the headache.