Postby De Dragon » September 29th, 2007, 6:11 pm

Pros and cons?

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » September 29th, 2007, 6:16 pm

Pros:

Quick installation. No mess.

Cons:

Looks cheap. Promotes heat. No acoustical properties.

Tuner Police

Postby Tuner Police » September 29th, 2007, 6:20 pm

What about its resistance to fire?

I am sure it promotes combustion when compared to drywall.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » September 29th, 2007, 6:24 pm

PVC is certainly more flamable than Dywall/ Gypsum Board.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » September 29th, 2007, 6:26 pm

Drywall looks classier and design options are limited only by your imagination.

Rx

Postby Rx » September 29th, 2007, 6:57 pm

pvc ceiling:

PROS

1.easy install

2. easy to clean

3. no hassle about painting , sanding etc

4. waterproof .. does NOT damage if roof has a leak

5. design not limited - "boxes" can be made and downlighters can be installed along with hanging lighting fixtures

6. does NOT look cheap !! ... sorry Pornie :P

7. available in a wide variety of colours / patterns

8. does not emit any microfine dust particles like gypsum ... great for little children , asthma patients etc

9. not prone to termite infections like wood

10. easy to replace as it comes in various lenghts and widths

11. easy to transport

CONS:

1. heat resistant NOT fire proof

2. promotes some heat from the roof

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » September 29th, 2007, 7:10 pm

(5) Bulkheads and boxes can be done, not curves and circles etc.
(6) matter of opinion. :lol:
(8 ) Drywall intallation is messy as sanding is required, but for new construction is suitable. If already living in area, PVC is easier to install. Only risk of microfine dust particles is during installation / sanding. Not after. :mrgreen:
(9) Termites do not attack gypsum either.
(10) Gypsum Board Easy to replace or patch.
(11) Gypsum board is easy to Transport as well.

Show me the nicest PVC Ceiling and I'll show you a gypsum ceiling that will blow it away.

Postby De Dragon » September 29th, 2007, 7:13 pm

What about cost?

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » September 29th, 2007, 7:17 pm

Gypsum ceiling material and labour for flat ceiling should be anywhere between 10- 12 dollars per square foot. Still needs to be painted.
Designs could cost anywhere between 12-30 dollars per square foot. Depends on the complexity of the design.

Rx

Postby Rx » September 29th, 2007, 7:31 pm

I got PVC ceiling @ $5.75 / foot installed .....but that was last year .

Prices have been steadily rising since last year.

Please note: there are different qualities of PVC ceilng ... el cheapo is very thin and breaks easily.. the other is better equipped.

>>> Good points to note there, pornie :wink:

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 29th, 2007, 7:48 pm

heard a couple ppl who have it installed say it produces a lot of heat.....

Rx

Postby Rx » September 29th, 2007, 8:37 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:heard a couple ppl who have it installed say it produces a lot of heat.....

:lol: :lol: :lol: pallie :lol: :lol:

ceilings DO NOT PRODUCE HEAT !!!!!!!!

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » September 29th, 2007, 9:34 pm

Roflmao @ thread.

The majority of the PVC ceilings available locally are cheap quality and look CHEAP.

I know of one company that brings a quality product.

You can see it installed at House & Wares, West Mall

Ask Pornie where yuh could buy it

Postby X_Factor » September 29th, 2007, 10:06 pm

the gypsum ceiling looks pretty good when done properly.but most ppl try to cut costs to either give the customer a better price or to make a bigger profit for themselves...and of recently i find its becoming even harder to get quality work EVEN though u paying the price the person asking for and not tryin to beat them down...
Gypsum is dependant on the installer and if he does crap..it looks like crap--improper compounding, framing, strapping, sanding and last painting (which u hadda pay for seperately)--if u can afford a place like CW Interiors etc..go for it..

with the PVC--sshit work wont show as bad as gypsum and the $ u save u could put A/C

nick009

Postby nick009 » September 30th, 2007, 1:20 am

Rx wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:heard a couple ppl who have it installed say it produces a lot of heat.....

think what he meant was that they dont insulate as well as others

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » September 30th, 2007, 1:20 am

so what happen to wood ?

Postby SR » September 30th, 2007, 7:24 am

gypsum is da bomb

howver i do not recomend installing while living in the house

unless u can handle the dust

worked well as an insulator for heat over wood

we did the front half of the house with gypsum and there was a noticeable drop in the room temps

however decided not to do the back half/bedrooms due to the dust that was generated............maybe one day but not soon

we looked at pvc options and personally i would recomend them for outside uses around the house

easy to clean a lil soap and water and yuh good to go
maintenance is minimal with pvc

what i dont like is its not fireproof and will aid in the spread of a fire especially if its an electrical in the ceiling.............not saying that it will happen but its somthing to keep in mind

wood ceilings tend to expand and contract with changes in temp and in some cases make noise while expanding and contracting
depending on the choice of material used over time they may tend to develop cracks due to either the quality of material or type

they do give a nice finish though especialy whne done with a nice design but now the top choice when building would be gypsum as pornie says design styles are now endless
and recessed lighting is the way to go which works well with gypsum

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 30th, 2007, 9:32 am

Rx wrote:

:S u no wat i meant an a big teacher an u cudnt figure it out

neways ppl who i know put this is their house all complain about the heat in the night....a couple of dem as well ended up puttin a/c in their houses because of this...

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » September 30th, 2007, 7:36 pm

i have a good friend who own's a company doing installation...

why don't you ask him about it... 685-4247 sherrif

tell him ravi referred you... u'll get ah best price.

Rx

Postby Rx » September 30th, 2007, 8:01 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
Rx wrote:

:S u no wat i meant an a big teacher an u cudnt figure it out

neways ppl who i know put this is their house all complain about the heat in the night....a couple of dem as well ended up puttin a/c in their houses because of this...

lol :lol: @ BIG TEACHER :lol: :lol:

Yup seems that installing an A/C is a definite option

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2007, 8:07 pm

tell them make sure their roof have proper venting and if necessary put in an extractor fan to pull out the hot air from the ceiling

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » September 30th, 2007, 9:52 pm

pioneer wrote:thaz what ravi...pvc ?

yea they do PVC, Gypsum, metal pan, steel roofing, is a construction company... up to the other day they do a swimming pool...

but they specialize in roofing...

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 1st, 2007, 8:28 am

X_Factor wrote:the gypsum ceiling looks pretty good when done properly.but most ppl try to cut costs to either give the customer a better price or to make a bigger profit for themselves...and of recently i find its becoming even harder to get quality work EVEN though u paying the price the person asking for and not tryin to beat them down...
Gypsum is dependant on the installer and if he does crap..it looks like crap--improper compounding, framing, strapping, sanding and last painting (which u hadda pay for seperately)--if u can afford a place like CW Interiors etc..go for it..

with the PVC--sshit work wont show as bad as gypsum and the $ u save u could put A/C

I can put you on to some excellent contractors that would also be cheaper than CW, but would do equal or better work.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 1st, 2007, 8:28 am

There is also the option of Suspended ceilings, which have the best acoustical properties. :mrgreen:

Postby crazybalhead » October 1st, 2007, 8:36 am

Porn Star wrote:Drywall looks classier and design options are limited only by your imagination.

You selling ceilings or what? :lol: :lol:

Postby RBphoto » October 1st, 2007, 8:40 am

Hi,
recently got some quotes for Jypsum and PVC. Both at $13 sq ft. I went with Jypsum as i did not think the contractor I was using coud do the PVC. The Jypsum was really neat after it was painted, but was a real pain while they were doing the work. Just one suggestion when cleaning up the dust, DONT use either a Vacum or a mop. Sweep it up. The Vaccum filter get clogged every two minuites, and the moping up, let's just say you might as well be mixing plaster paris.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 1st, 2007, 8:40 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: No comment. :mrgreen:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 1st, 2007, 8:41 am

crazybalhead wrote:
Porn Star wrote:Drywall looks classier and design options are limited only by your imagination.

You selling ceilings or what? :lol: :lol:

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 1st, 2007, 8:41 am

Bhagan, its Gypsum. :mrgreen:

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » October 2nd, 2007, 9:24 am

Pornie, you could get the decorative suspended ceilings? I saw some on the USG website that look nice. I'll check you next time I coming up for materials.