Subaru Legacy

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Subaru Legacy

Postby bushwakka » January 9th, 2008, 1:26 am

Is it advisable to buy the non-turbo legacy and turbo it later? will the stock tranny take the extra licks or will it be very difficult and not worthwhile to do such an operation?

Also, do all the turbo legacies have the scoop on the hood? cuz i saw one on a site where they said it was the turbo B4 GT 2.0 version, but there was no scoop on the hood

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 9th, 2008, 8:43 am

Is it advisable to buy the non-turbo legacy and turbo it later?

No. People still think about going in a straight line. What about all the rest of parts that a GT has....and a Legacy N/A doesn't have...such as heat sheilding, transmission with proper shifting points, different drive ratios, better brakes.....should I go on?

will the stock tranny take the extra licks or will it be very difficult and not worthwhile to do such an operation?

As I said above....it's not a matter of whether the trans can take it or not.....the gearing on a Legacy GT is more optimised for the turbo power...I suspect gearing is different on the N/A car.....so....... see where I'm going with this?

Also, do all the turbo legacies have the scoop on the hood? cuz i saw one on a site where they said it was the turbo B4 GT 2.0 version, but there was no scoop on the hood

yes all turbo legacy's have scoops.

15devils

Postby 15devils » January 9th, 2008, 9:22 am

^^^he's right...some websites say it turbo just for the sale and when it land , it's N/A...saw this happen already.

Postby bushwakka » January 10th, 2008, 7:38 pm

yea ok, i see your point.....but any legacy i would have been looking at would have to be M/T, so the shift points would be optimised by the driver and no need to worry about the extra GT features wrt that........

i'm not exactly talking about converting a N/A legacy to a GT model
just in terms of improving performance etc, maybe turbo it later.....is the transmission on the N/A rugged enough to take some extra HP added to it? or would i have to look at a new transmission.....thanks for the help btw

anielkhan

Postby anielkhan » January 11th, 2008, 2:24 pm

I have a twin turbo legacy wagon BH5 for sale $120 cia go wrong its auto tiptronic .

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 12th, 2008, 5:46 am

yea ok, i see your point.....but any legacy i would have been looking at would have to be M/T, so the shift points would be optimised by the driver and no need to worry about the extra GT features wrt that........

It's not a matter of shift points. Gear ratios will still be different. I'm guessing you aren't understanding that concept.

The "turbo it later" routine hardly ever works bro.......if I had a penny for every N/A Subie owner who said that......well..... :shock:

Postby tr1ad » January 12th, 2008, 10:19 am

^^^ ah meeeellllliiiiooooonaire

Postby bushwakka » January 12th, 2008, 10:20 am

yea, i just mightn't bother.......yea, i kno bout the gear ratios, if they are different well then yes, everything is different, but like i said, i'm not interested in converting it into a GT model, any aftermarket turbo that cud fit i might put possibly

buh whas the normal price for the N/A model?

Postby equipped2ripp » January 12th, 2008, 12:07 pm

about $140K

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 12th, 2008, 9:28 pm

Yeah around that... I know of a local N/A PBU Series in mint condition with 41 000km that sold for $130 000.

If you're going turbo, buy a stock turbo.... the N/A legacy is a SOHC engine (quite economical and pulls fairly decent) where as the Turbo is a DOHC ... both engines uses the same EJ20 block but is built quite differently, the diffs and gearbox ratios are also different as previously highlighted.

Postby bushwakka » January 12th, 2008, 11:10 pm

^^ok...dint know the GT was DOHC, so it means that the SOHC prob wudnt handle the extra stress wit de frailty of the rocker arms etc rite

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 13th, 2008, 10:27 am

^^^The WRX's up till 05 I believe are also SOHC. As a point of interest of course.......

Postby bushwakka » January 13th, 2008, 11:02 am

^^ oh yea i heard that...an a lot of ppl were sour when they made it DOHC, adversely affecting the power/weight ratio as i understand but improving top end performance

scooby

Postby scooby » January 15th, 2008, 3:44 pm

maybe the best bet is changing the whole engine when u ready

Postby equipped2ripp » January 15th, 2008, 4:12 pm

buy it turbo and done

scooby

Postby scooby » January 16th, 2008, 10:57 am

^^^^^^its sounds easy but the diffrence in price is over 40k

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 16th, 2008, 11:02 am

equipped2ripp wrote:buy it turbo and done
Nuff Said !

Postby tr1ad » January 16th, 2008, 12:00 pm

ent

Postby bushwakka » January 16th, 2008, 12:25 pm

^^^yea, price diff is about 40k.....so not as easy as it sounds....yea, engine change sounds likely, whas the price for a GT engine and tranny?

Postby equipped2ripp » January 16th, 2008, 1:01 pm

you want to buy an engine and transmission to put into a NA legacy... what about brakes afterwards? not sure if both have the same brake setups...

but if you wanna buy it, you might as well put out the extra $ and go for the best one shot... don't wanna get into problems with a bad engine and end up spending close to $40K for everything.

i know it's not as easy as it sounds, but trying to cut costs can result in you paying more than what was initially expected.

scooby

Postby scooby » January 16th, 2008, 1:29 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^thats why i went turbo and done

good advise

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 18th, 2008, 1:07 am

Considering all the differences, just get the turbo version rather than doing it yourself.

Return to “SUBARU”