Running Dex in Automatic....

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

weapon-X

Running Dex in Automatic....

Postby weapon-X » March 19th, 2008, 2:28 pm

What i'm wondering, from the the more seasoned drivers, how to keep the RPM's up through the corners?

Postby wagonrunner » March 19th, 2008, 6:30 pm

eh quite follow your thinking, but here are some of the things i did, when driving mine.

* leave overdrive off
* gear down to 2nd before i take my foot off of the brakes, after cornering
* never depress acclerator so deep, that car will kickdown into 1st.
* never pull selector into 1st
* resist urge to keep foot planted on accelerator coming out of corners, instead carry it down gradually just before it will kickdown, just barely feather it, until it passes the speed for kickdown into 1st gear.

Postby MG Man » March 23rd, 2008, 7:16 pm

I just ran in 2nd gear

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » March 23rd, 2008, 8:29 pm

i ran in 2nd on my last run and lost ah sec...
then again i had a passenger on tha run..

Postby MG Man » March 24th, 2008, 7:18 pm

it would depend on the course, I guess......a tight course might get better results from running in 2nd than a fast course...........dunno........manual FTW

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 25th, 2008, 1:56 pm

hoss is ah lost cause, let d transmission do whatever it wants to. I try all kinda ting with a tiptronic, it could only carry u so far.....my gearbox will hopefully be in before the next dex

Postby MG Man » March 25th, 2008, 2:35 pm

I disagree
for a short course where you need to keep your revs up and not get bogged down into third, keeping a traditional auto in 2 will give you better times

Tiptronic is rubbish

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 27th, 2008, 12:38 pm

better than what?

what auto could do that tiptronic can't?

Postby MG Man » March 27th, 2008, 1:00 pm

In the Mini at least, I have seen better times in 'sport' D than in tip (and not just me)
Also with a conventional auto, it stays in 2......most tips will 'upshift' if the brain thinks you revving too much, and most tips have a lag between shifts, which costs you time on a short course

A tranny with tip is just a toy for driver amusement, IMO

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 27th, 2008, 2:49 pm

nah man, tip upshifts instantly (in my experience), and holds the gear till u change, except when decelerating - it downshifts automatically. The only problem is that sometimes you will need first gear, and then u have to slow down too much to downshift - i don't know if the same limitation exists with regular automatic

Postby MG Man » March 27th, 2008, 3:00 pm

yours must be programmed by an enthusiast
I find the tip in the Mini to be rubbish............it shifts slow, and automatically upshiftswhen you hit the preset rev range.........even in SD the shifts have an annoying pause
I tried the tip in the new A4 1.8T and found it to be equally silly.........
I am sure my AE111 can outaccelerate the Mini, even with the mini having more BHP

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 27th, 2008, 3:10 pm

nah that bone stock, mivec lancer

Postby wagonrunner » March 27th, 2008, 3:22 pm

MG Man,
Japan > Britain :lol:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 27th, 2008, 4:41 pm

What I did to get the automatics to run good times was the following:

1) run in "2" so that the car does not change to "D" and thus does not have to hunt for a lower gear as much.

2) I generally do not manually shift to 1st, if it does that by itself, fine.

3) In attacking the corners, approach the corner, brake before the corner, let off before entering the corner at the speed you want to be at going through the corner, then step into it just before the apex so that the car will respond just as you hit the apex. Use smooth lines so as not to scrub off any speed which will be necessary for the corner exit (for less powerful cars, sometimes a wider line will give you a better exit speed)

4) With automatics being slower to respond and sometimes not downshifting when you want it to, the key is to take as much speed into the corner (with control) vs diving in the corner, jumping on the brakes and fighting to get back onto the power in the corner exit, be smooth, sometimes it seems like you are going slower, but trust me ....... it works!!

Kirk
Last edited by Mr. Fixables on March 28th, 2008, 8:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » March 28th, 2008, 5:44 am

yup
keeping it in 2 works............but that's not an option with tip

Postby Razkal » March 28th, 2008, 6:57 am

Two events this year, i didnt have my usual car, ran with my AE111 bone stock, auto. ran pretty decent, i honestly had no complaints running the car in "2", did pretty well, my only concern was that Toyota's comfortable ride on the road translated to lots of sloppy body roll on the dex course, suspension was way to soft, shockingly i didnt really experience as much understeer as i thought i would..

If the body roll wasnt such a pain in the ass, i would much prefer use the corolla with a gearbox than the rx7 :|

Postby MG Man » March 28th, 2008, 8:37 am

The body roll is not as bad as some other cars, but here are a few tips youc an try:
as much as possible, brake in a straight line. As much as possible, trail brake to the apex. Do not punch it when you hit the apex.....get back on the accelerator just as gradually as you let off the brakes......

The fact that you minimised understeer means you are probably doing this already

The key as KIrk has always shown, is keeping up your momentum without overdriving the car

Also, you do not want to shift the weight of the car unnecessarily

Too much gas through a corner will shift the weight to the outside, and steal traction from the front wheels...similarly, if you apply too much brakes and have to release and reapply, the weight shifts back and forth front to rear, and upsets the car's balance...........

Driving in 2 works very well in the corolla. With good tyres it has lots of potential

Postby Razkal » March 28th, 2008, 12:12 pm

^yeah, i was trying alot of what u said MG, actually more because of it "felt" faster and much more stable than other techniques i tried with that car..
had some pretty good tires as well. Michellin Pilots 205/50/R15
Braking in a str8 line actually i did because i had no choice lol, it was the only way i could have kept traction turning in at the top of the course (gravel issues :| ), late braking worked suprisingly well too, Wagner pads are impressive :idea: no brake fade, no glazing over etc...good stopping power, except when i tried braking really late, used up all the tires traction, couldnt steer and cleared away one section of the chicane...but that was just my haphazard driving :lol:

Postby MG Man » March 28th, 2008, 1:05 pm

OEM pads work extremely well too!

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 19th, 2008, 4:22 pm

Tiptronic is nice on the road, not so nice for DEX. Very irritating to drive. Especially if the engine only begins pulling at around 5000 rpm, like the MIVEC.

I think a normal Auto transmission would be better.

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » April 20th, 2008, 12:32 am

i was telling meh padna about going dex in an auto, he say it eh make sense i show up.lol

Postby wagonrunner » April 20th, 2008, 12:47 am

reddo_tuner wrote:i was telling meh padna about going dex in an auto, he say it eh make sense i show up.lol

hopefully, you realize your padna needs a clue borrowed

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » April 20th, 2008, 4:05 pm

Agreed. have won a few in some auto cars :)

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 21st, 2008, 8:22 am

^^Yea but, you're Kirk Ho-Hing.........you could make any slow car go fast!.... :lol:

So why they downcrying Auto so??

What about people who have lazy left foot??.... :lol:

Postby MG Man » April 21st, 2008, 8:28 am

heeey, I made a 2nd place in a a stock corolla auto on street tyres, and everyone knows my skills are........waaaait......nah, I have no skills...........Kirk came 1st in that race BTW :? (Kirk was driving stick :mrgreen: )

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » April 21st, 2008, 10:55 pm

Rudman wrote:^^Yea but, you're Kirk Ho-Hing.........you could make any slow car go fast!.... :lol:

He beat my own times with my car :oops:

Postby MG Man » April 22nd, 2008, 12:08 am

you should be beaten with your own car :mrgreen:

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » April 22nd, 2008, 10:02 am

MG Man wrote:you should be beaten with your own car :mrgreen:

Y yuh so? :rofl: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » April 22nd, 2008, 10:10 am

MG Man wrote:you should be beaten with your own car :mrgreen:

says the fella with a SR18-DET in his HSR :poke:

Postby crazybalhead » April 22nd, 2008, 11:53 am

reddo_tuner wrote:i was telling meh padna about going dex in an auto, he say it eh make sense i show up.lol

Show him a pic of chiquita in a auto wingroad competing and then ask him to repeat what he said.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”