QG owners united, Service Manual pg1, CVTC pg 12

ArabKing2

Postby ArabKing2 » April 18th, 2008, 6:55 pm

yeah a speed cut defender. Do they have any?

QG

Postby QG » April 20th, 2008, 10:40 pm

There will be no performance upgrade there, its basically the same ECU

QG

Postby QG » April 25th, 2008, 5:29 pm

[edit] Principle
A lean burn mode is a way to reduce throttling losses. An engine in a typical vehicle is sized for providing the power desired for acceleration, but must operate well below that point in normal steady-speed operation. Ordinarily, the power is cut by partially closing a throttle. However, the extra work done in pumping air through the throttle reduces efficiency. If the fuel/air ratio is reduced, then lower power can be achieved with the throttle closer to fully open, and the efficiency during normal driving (below the maximum torque capability of the engine) can be higher.

The engines designed for lean burning can employ higher compression ratios and thus provide better performance, efficient fuel use and low exhaust hydrocarbon emissions than those found in conventional petrol engines. Ultra lean mixtures with very high air-fuel ratios can only be achieved by Direct Injection engines.

The main drawback of lean burning is the large amount of NOx being generated at relatively low air/fuel ratios (ie. greater than stoichiometric but less than 30:1), so a complex catalytic converter system is required unless ultra lean ratios are implemented. Lean burn engines do not work well with modern 3-way catalytic converters, which require a balance of pollutants at the exhaust port in order to carry out both oxidation and reduction reactions, so most modern engines run at or near the stoichiometric point.

Leech

Postby Leech » April 26th, 2008, 10:34 am

In malaysia nope , i manage to clock 190 km/h ...

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 26th, 2008, 5:43 pm

My car doesnt look like it...everyone thinks i have some kinda sr or rb or sumn and dey wah fit in ah intercooler....but anyway its a QG16 baby :mrgreen:

ArabKing2

Postby ArabKing2 » April 28th, 2008, 8:46 am

Hey Guys do any of you have extrators on your QG engines? Was there any improvement in top speed? I am thinking about getting some extrators and a catback system for my QG1.6. I want to know about the gained performance. If any.

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » April 28th, 2008, 9:24 am

^^ had extractors once. was the one selling for the qg18 engine. i fine it didnt make much difference. car was more dead at low speeds and i still maxed out at 170 something.

no extractors and car still dead at low speeds and i max out at 170 something.

if u have extractors specific for a qg16 lemme know.... anybody else with extractors had different experience????

ArabKing2

Postby ArabKing2 » April 28th, 2008, 2:04 pm

What size were the extrators Rodn3y? And i saw TSC selling some extrators for the QG engines. They were 2 1/2 inches.

ArabKing2

Postby ArabKing2 » April 28th, 2008, 2:08 pm

QG

Postby QG » April 30th, 2008, 10:39 pm

:D :D hmm

ArabKing2

Postby ArabKing2 » May 5th, 2008, 6:22 pm

Nissan QG15DE you know anything about the extrators that TSC is selling?

QG

Postby QG » May 7th, 2008, 8:44 pm

ArabKing2 wrote:Nissan QG15DE you know anything about the extrators that TSC is selling?

NOPE...but i do know that 2 1/2 inches on headers are too big, u will lose power dramastically.

QG

Postby QG » May 7th, 2008, 8:52 pm

please research before doing any mods, some mods requires certain specs to perform good. A 1.5 or 1.6 needs header sizing of 1 3/4, crossing 2'' is crazy. 2 1/2 headers can be used on 2.0L

Have u ever seen my extractors on my avatar pic? look up on headers and u will get proper specs.

ArabKing2

Postby ArabKing2 » May 7th, 2008, 10:37 pm

Where you got those headers from?

Leech

Postby Leech » May 8th, 2008, 7:00 am

For a QG16 Engine, never use piping sizes that more than 1.75 inches of outer diameter ... Else you will suffer fxxked up low torque and acceleration ... It happens to me when i was there to monitor them ... The most ideal size is 1.75" for manual and auto ... If for an auto like mine, stick to stock size, or use 1.6" ... It works pretty well .... Rodney hope this helps u after u read my PM and this post ...

QG

Postby QG » May 8th, 2008, 9:50 pm

ArabKing2, I did mines at Imraj Brothers on Cipero Rd, San Fernando. It was perfectly done and very affordable at the time.
$800 for Headers....$950 for 2" exhaust pipe with a Resonator.

Of course the prices has gone up a bit, but Imraj still charges better than other muffler shops.

Leech

Postby Leech » May 8th, 2008, 11:56 pm

Ermm QG15 dude, the piping is too big don't you think ? 2" !! I suffer minor lost of low end torque because my piping is 2" ... I am now looking to resize it back 1.6" or stock size ...

QG

Postby QG » May 9th, 2008, 11:30 pm

Aye pal, the exhaust has to be bigger than the header...the exhaust is also called the COLLECTIVE TUBE. I got an increase at low and high end torque, my engine is not choking when i top out...and that's the advantage I have over other cars.

QG

Postby QG » May 9th, 2008, 11:33 pm

Headers and the Exhaust pipe are different.

Leech

Postby Leech » May 10th, 2008, 4:45 am

Any1 can comment this setup ? 4-2-1 header => 1.6" Mid Piping => 2 pieces of bullets => 1.6" Rear Piping => Stock Muffler

Please give some comments ... Wanna know whenver i'm building a right exhaust systems for my ride :wink:

ArabKing2

Postby ArabKing2 » May 16th, 2008, 9:38 pm

What are the best sparks plugs to use in the QGs for performance NGK iridium or platinum?

Leech

Postby Leech » May 17th, 2008, 6:31 am

ArabKing2 wrote:What are the best sparks plugs to use in the QGs for performance NGK iridium or platinum?

Stock NGK plugs, they compromise fuel economy and power wise .... Iridium slightly more acceleration ... My advice is stick to stocks ... They don't sucks in anyway.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 17th, 2008, 7:43 pm

^^Exactamiento.

The only real benefit from Iridiums or Plats is that you'll have a longer lifespan.

achillies

Postby achillies » May 18th, 2008, 12:37 pm

hey guys. ah lookin to change my rear shocks this week, need some advise on the best brand to use and where to get them

QG

Postby QG » May 18th, 2008, 3:57 pm

Knight1 wrote:^^Exactamiento.

The only real benefit from Iridiums or Plats is that you'll have a longer lifespan.

And i'm a living testimony of that, I've been using NGK Irridiums since 4th June 2007 and the plugs still strong, no burns or nothing. I take them out and give them a clean ever so often and they look brand new still.
These plugs give 60,000km of lifespan. Next month makes it a year since i had them.

Leech

Postby Leech » May 19th, 2008, 9:01 am

As advice from my friend , if u don't have any highflow air filter and CAI , iridium wont work the best for ya ... Even thought they do help for a better combustion but due to short of o2 supply , the combustion won't be big enough to generate much hp ... :) It just an advise from my friend , i accepted the advice and i found out it works well .

Swifted

Postby Swifted » May 19th, 2008, 10:39 am

anyone have the exact part number for the Bosch Platinum Plugs for the QG18?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 21st, 2008, 8:52 am

These plugs give 60,000km of lifespan. Next month makes it a year since i had them

PLats or Iridiums? I've seen Iridiums hold up for 100K already.

Also had in a Short Ram intake system; Arospeed. Went back to stock as well, better performance.

Duh....it's Short Ram...AND it's Arospeed (double NO's right there).

What heat range Iridiums did you run?

ArabKing2

Postby ArabKing2 » May 27th, 2008, 5:56 pm

Well i saw on the Nismo site that the QG engines from japan have iridium. 1.3 and 1.8
http://www.nismo.co.jp/en/products/comp ... gine01.pdf

joel

Postby joel » May 28th, 2008, 10:45 am

i havin a little problem and if it has been covered already please let me know. my qg15de has started to give some trouble. when starting the idle is off. it does not give an even idle at first more like a rough one then it settles itself. Next, if i stop by a light after a little drive, the car idles like if it is about to shut off, it begins to idel slowly and this only changes when i pull off and the car drives like normal. The entire car shakes when this happens, almost like a buck...has anyone had this problem before? What canit be? It does not feel like an injector problem.