linksys WRT54GS

Dion76

linksys WRT54GS

Postby Dion76 » June 19th, 2008, 6:50 pm

i have a problem i have a linksys WRT54GS router, everything is set up properly i am gettin the internet on my iphone but when i try to connect with my laptop it connects for a lil while saying "local and internet" and after a lil while it goin to "local" alone what can i do to fix this problem?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 19th, 2008, 6:52 pm

The problem seems to be on the laptop if another device is using the connection properly.

Make sure you have it set up properly using infrastructure on the laptop - are you using any type of encryption?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 19th, 2008, 6:53 pm

no encription

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 19th, 2008, 6:56 pm

have you tried your laptop on another open WiFi network like at Rituals, Movietowne or the airport?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 19th, 2008, 7:35 pm

i would of done that but am from tobago :lol: would try it tomorro

Soca Warrior

Postby Soca Warrior » June 19th, 2008, 8:15 pm

U may need to put the settings manually into the NIC card or it could be a dns issue

Jus my two cents

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » June 19th, 2008, 8:37 pm

I have the same router and it is giving me hell with the same problem using flow. I have done a lot of searching about this problem and you are supposed to download and install the latest firmware. My router wont accept the firmware. Everytime mine goes local I remove the power cord and put it back in right away, hey presto it works again. Going to look for a new router this week

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 19th, 2008, 8:42 pm

I've been using a Linksys WAP54G for years now and its working great -

should be the same thing - just an access point rather than a router and hub

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 19th, 2008, 8:47 pm

i upgraded the routers firmware to the latest 1 and i am currently updating the laptop wifi drivers

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 19th, 2008, 8:47 pm

very good routar had one but then upgrade to the drafting N Series Gamer edition.

Make sure your settings on windows vista are set up correctly/

jon

Postby jon » June 19th, 2008, 8:49 pm

Are you using Vista or XP?

air wick

Postby air wick » June 20th, 2008, 8:35 am

it looks like Vista, cause they were saying "local and internet"

xtech

Postby xtech » June 20th, 2008, 10:55 am

this looking like a new problem i seeing around d place............

a guy came to me with two laptops XP home an Vista Ultimate.

Both will work online wireless or plug to lan for a few mintues them for no reason it will change to online local on the vista machine an XP pretends to be online but gets nothing in internet explorer. Strange one i think it is a new worm

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 20th, 2008, 5:40 pm

stop using the microsoft program and try wireless network ignition
http://www.tucows.com/preview/385831

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » June 20th, 2008, 6:55 pm

i use de same router your problem is your lan ip address de tstt router address is 192.168.1.1 de router is de same you will never connect to de internet unless you change de router address to 192.168.255.255 or 254 try it yuh go like it

mars

Postby mars » June 20th, 2008, 7:03 pm

saltydog wrote:I have the same router and it is giving me hell with the same problem using flow. I have done a lot of searching about this problem and you are supposed to download and install the latest firmware. My router wont accept the firmware. Everytime mine goes local I remove the power cord and put it back in right away, hey presto it works again. Going to look for a new router this week

I had issues setting up one for a friend - router worked fine with Blink at my office but not at his house using Flow. Eventually turned out I had to clone Mac address or something - can't remember exactly. This was with a Mac btw...

air wick

Postby air wick » June 20th, 2008, 7:24 pm

red bwoy wrote:i use de same router your problem is your lan ip address de tstt router address is 192.168.1.1 de router is de same you will never connect to de internet unless you change de router address to 192.168.255.255 or 254 try it yuh go like it

that wouldn't cause it to work and drop off... read what the man wrote...

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 20th, 2008, 9:24 pm

the router is workin because my iphone connects great the laptop is running on vista if the dsl line is in it would work for a lil bit and then it would go to acess "local" and i wouldnt get internet on the laptop...what can i do

the routers ip is different to tstt's own :wink:

what else can be done?

Postby Maserati » June 20th, 2008, 9:30 pm

i get this same problem but it only happens for a short period of time, like when someone else connects to the network then it starts back working fine.
i fed up read forums and linksys site for solutions and try them.

xtech

Postby xtech » June 20th, 2008, 10:44 pm

Ok i just remembered I have also seen this happen on one of my Vista Desktop machine would come online for a few mintues then fall of for no reason.

Quick fix if u r on blink Call TSTT an tell them disable the firewall on their side of the network.

I use one of my computers in my store to do P2P downloading using Shareazza an recently switched the internet connection to TSTT blink from TSTT Wireless Broadband.

Everytime i fired up the P2P program that particular Vista PC (even though it on the same switch as 5 others) will be knocked offline all the others work fine. It can browse the local network but is blocked from internet access.

It will not return online unless i reboot PC or reset the LAN card
I was puzzled for a while disableing every security feature on my network even setting up port forwarding but nothing worked then i remembered blink has firewalls installed which killed one PC out of 8 even though the desktop is on a switch which is connected to a 2003 server the server is directly connected the modem.

Thats why the Iphone works all the time even when the Laptop drops offline.

I called the blink folks an had them turn it of now it works fine.

Now that was just a quick fix if you dont use P2P programs then u got a process workng in the background which is causing this odd behavour. Just like the guy who brought to laptops to me Vista and XP he dont use any P2P at all an after my firewall was disabled guess what he has no "problems" anymore.

Man was ranting about how my wifi service was the worse he ever experienced poor fella was never on a secured network so he never knew a trojan or virus was sending his personal info or using his laptop as a Zombie machine an blink was killing the connection.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 21st, 2008, 10:33 am

Duane this is the same problem I was getting but I got it resolved. The Ethernet card was causing the problem. As the laptop was new it prompted for the ethernet card drivers to be installed * odd * cause I thought Dell installed everything B4 they ship the unit. Even though I did not request the installation of the drivers Vista automtically did it. With that it caused problems with the wifi card killing my internet connection restricting me to local. What I had to do was uninstall both devices and delete the drivers restart the laptop reinstall the drives for the wifi card from the CD and bingo! If I just uninstall the ethernet card drivers and attempt connecting to the internet I was getting the same issue or just uninstalling the ethernet card and restart then try connecting same connection problem will happen.

Are most of you guys running Dell's with Vista? Check the model wifi card you are running and what model ethernet card did your unit come with. I think dependant on the model and drivers you are using both devices can't run side by side phoqin your internet connection.

* sorry for sounding like a noobe I am not a techy * lol

Postby bushwakka » June 21st, 2008, 12:30 pm

i don't know if this router is really problematic or if it is just difficult to setup.....but i've had to setup one the other day, and it gave me hell

a friend of mine has this same router as well, and it gave him hell as well

better jus go with D-Link....their routers are truly plug n play

xtech

Postby xtech » June 21st, 2008, 1:27 pm

the man router working..................his iphone gets ip an goes online. Just call Blink an do what i suggested disable TSTT firewall

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 21st, 2008, 5:02 pm

well i did some resetting and the iphone works and the laptop is working thus far so i watching to see

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 22nd, 2008, 9:38 am

^^ what adjustments did you make?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 22nd, 2008, 12:30 pm

reset the security, restore my laptop to when i got it, update the drivers....

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 25th, 2008, 7:39 pm

fellas after days of configuration.........its still giving plenty trouble (local only message) i did alot of reading and it said that vista laptops etc gives alot of problems to get ip's from routers so i guess thats my problem :(

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » July 17th, 2008, 7:03 pm

bump...problem still here :|

Postby pugboy » July 17th, 2008, 7:26 pm

there are many versions of the wrt-54g(s) routers
they actually have a cult following since they
utilize linux and there are many modifications for them such as increasing
rf power, vpn
they wouldn't have a cult following if they were crappy...