finally, QG16DET

LedZep

finally, QG16DET

Postby LedZep » June 25th, 2008, 7:27 pm

well folks, its finally finished. QG16 is turbocharged, so far i'm really happy with the results runs nicely on 5psi of boost. I guess we will see how reliable its gonna be :shock:
heres some pics

[img=http:150:128]http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/5655/img0251ff5.th.jpg[/img]

Last edited by LedZep on June 25th, 2008, 8:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ArabKing2

Postby ArabKing2 » June 25th, 2008, 7:54 pm

Hey man congrats. what's the specs on the engine now?

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 25th, 2008, 7:54 pm

TOBO on a QG :shock: :shock: :shock: ...bro you did upgrade that radiator since then right?

Kudos to you for trying it. Hope it works out.

LedZep

Postby LedZep » June 25th, 2008, 8:10 pm

nop didnt touch radiator, y wud i have to ?

its a turbo from the b4 legacy, stock injectors, legacy fuel regulator and safc, not sure what the intercooler came off from though.

_Rajiv_

Postby _Rajiv_ » June 25th, 2008, 8:34 pm

nice to see someone brave enuff to turbo a QG engine cause it seems as though many ppl saying that this is an economy engine and doesnt perform if and when modified :D

LedZep

Postby LedZep » June 25th, 2008, 9:06 pm

well during my tubo quest i discovered that the QG shares alot of the same parts with the GA including piston rods the pistons are only different because of the compression ring, the qg's have a slightly hight compression ratio, the block is identical except for various bolt holes and ports.. the clutch and pressure plate ( not sure bout d flywheel)

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » June 25th, 2008, 10:07 pm

Your running the legacy stock injectors or QG stock ones? Nice work, when I'm done boosting the GA15.5DE I'll like to race you legally. :wink:

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » June 26th, 2008, 3:02 am

i see 2 problems

the dump tube is welded like sheit, i can see a gaping crack right out of the turbine housing

and that little black inlet elbow on your compressor housing needs to go, i can see that causing mad turbulence.

a better intercooler would be nice too. what did you do about fuel management?

other than that, good job, hopefully it doesn't blow up.

LedZep

Postby LedZep » June 26th, 2008, 5:54 am

stock qg injectors, the subaru regulator opens on boost so it worked out really well i was ketchin meh tail to tune the subaru injectors but so far i'm actually really rich with the current set up and slight enrichment on the safc......whatta mean mad turbulance? what the hell is that? that elbow comes off a subaru leagcy so tell subaru bout mad turbulance

Leech

Postby Leech » June 26th, 2008, 6:13 am

Nice work bro ... Am having a QG16DE here also ... Can set it to further boosting like lets say 0.5 bar ?? :?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 26th, 2008, 7:59 am

Congrats man...............good work!

Tell us how it runs........

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 26th, 2008, 8:36 am

Great job just make sure you get that setup tuned properly as you stated the compression ratio is highe than the GA engines. The only thing I don't like us the way you ran the intercooler pipeing... Is this going to be a turbo automatic? If so get an oil cooler for the tranny.

Postby X_Factor » June 26th, 2008, 9:07 am

wont you really need to upgrade the radiator, probably fuel pump if its still stock you using, some sort of ignition upgrade to get a better spark?
makes no sence you dumping air and fuel and no fire to burn it

but dammn nice project i must say...what how much $ u had to put out so far?

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » June 26th, 2008, 9:51 am

LedZep, did you dyno yet? would like to know how much extra HP you got....

LedZep

Postby LedZep » June 26th, 2008, 7:57 pm

the whole build only costed 6000. thanks to andy in el socorro for the manifold and downpipe work. i would love to dyno as soon i get the time i guess. i would not need to upgrade trhe radiator unless i'm water cooling the turbo and even then the stock one would be fine.. and its manual.

ramishrrr

Qg15 Turbo

Postby ramishrrr » June 26th, 2008, 8:56 pm

LedZep,
I couldn't make out the exhaust manifold behind the turbo. If it is a cut-and-weld cast iron manifold, there is a great possibility of developing cracks in the weld areas. This are stress cracks. Because of the different arrangements in the molecules in the welding, and the parent material, expansion rates are different.
Companies like Trinidad Inspection services do stress-relieving for the industries in Trinidad.
What it involves, is controlled heating to high temperatures and cooling of the entire unit, after welding, so that the the molecules arrange themselves properly and smoothens out the areas of stress, so that under exhaust heat everything will expand evenly and there will be no cracking.
All the best.

Shio

Postby Shio » June 26th, 2008, 8:56 pm

horse that piping too close to your battery pole :idea:

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » June 26th, 2008, 10:31 pm

turbo almera ftw

THE SYNDICATE

Re: Qg15 Turbo

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 27th, 2008, 6:48 am

ramishrrr wrote:LedZep,
I couldn't make out the exhaust manifold behind the turbo. If it is a cut-and-weld cast iron manifold, there is a great possibility of developing cracks in the weld areas. This are stress cracks. Because of the different arrangements in the molecules in the welding, and the parent material, expansion rates are different.
Companies like Trinidad Inspection services do stress-relieving for the industries in Trinidad.
What it involves, is controlled heating to high temperatures and cooling of the entire unit, after welding, so that the the molecules arrange themselves properly and smoothens out the areas of stress, so that under exhaust heat everything will expand evenly and there will be no cracking.
All the best.

good advice!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 27th, 2008, 1:16 pm

bravely done man! all the best wit it but we waitin on dyno results! :mrgreen:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 27th, 2008, 1:50 pm

^^Ditto.

Also good to see that you used a reasonably sized turbo, unlike some other builds where folks use alot bigger turbos, for <10 psi

QG

Postby QG » June 27th, 2008, 11:32 pm

I'm very impressed there man, good job. I think you should get bigger injectors though...just for durability :D .

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » June 28th, 2008, 1:59 am

LedZep wrote:stock qg injectors, the subaru regulator opens on boost so it worked out really well i was ketchin meh tail to tune the subaru injectors but so far i'm actually really rich with the current set up and slight enrichment on the safc......whatta mean mad turbulance? what the hell is that? that elbow comes off a subaru leagcy so tell subaru bout mad turbulance

well here's the difference; subaru is possibly using that elbow as a form of detuning, you'd be surprised how much power you'd free up by just removing the cat on certain boosted cars. the new mazdaspeed 3 we have in canada, you gain 30hp by removing the stock intake. stock anything in most cases is bad. if you don't know the definition of turbulence, then you shouldn't be tuning. you always want air flowing as smoothly as possible. it leads to a smoother more precise tune and a better powerband.

do you have a A/F guage?

if you're already running rich on just the injectors, why did you make it even more rich with the SAFC? maybe you should get a narrow band and at least get a decent street tune.

joel

Postby joel » June 28th, 2008, 9:17 am

i glad you do it man, ive been wantin to do this for a while now but i keep on stickin...i hope you do get time to go to the dyno..and get a proper tuning

LedZep

Postby LedZep » June 28th, 2008, 9:29 am

yeah guys thanks for the advice and opinions, i did everything myself except for the metal fabrication. All the R&D and assembling was DIY so i know its not the prettiest install, but it works and i'm happy with the results ....

joel

Postby joel » June 28th, 2008, 6:25 pm

better yet...and im sure you learnt a lot along the way

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 28th, 2008, 9:14 pm

maybe you should get a narrow band and at least get a decent street tune.

WIDE band.

Stock narrow band is absolutely useless. for tuning....at least via gauges.

LedZep

Postby LedZep » June 30th, 2008, 10:38 am

oh yeah i really learnt heaps i've been researchin the project for a good few months and speakin to guys in austrailia and thailand who have done it b4....next week i'm gonna get me hands on a wide band and really tune it out good

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 30th, 2008, 11:56 am

What is the most power anyone made with a well tuned QG16DET with a T3/T4 turbo( good for 300hp) forged internals, upgraded headgasket and other supporting mods to assist in making the setup reliable?

LedZep

Postby LedZep » July 3rd, 2008, 12:37 pm

well ran water lines to my turbo the other day.... spent the whole day in hot sun and traffic and my cooling system seems to be taking the extra load really well....