3N2NR Crime Prevention Tips list

Val

Postby Val » September 11th, 2006, 9:33 am

When involved in a minor vehicular accident, if the situation seems fishy or unsafe, do not stop (once your car can move). Drive to the nearest police station.

This may be a ploy to get you to stop so that the person that hit you can rob you. I unfortunately learnt this the hard way Friday evening.

Please be careful and always wary of your surroundings.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » September 17th, 2006, 1:41 am

wow well i must say this thread is the besssst ting i've seen in ole talk yet in a long time..its a really gud one..filled with great advice..i wud have said someting..but it appears alll has been said...thanks alot for doing this thread it gave me alot of information i wasn;t aware of..and now i know...so great work guys keep it up.

Postby Sky » September 23rd, 2006, 6:38 pm

Some Car Search tips to make sure they find back your car:

1. When buying a car, I know most people run to install the Lo Jack system by Car Search, then make their mods. Don't. Go to Car Search Last. Even if it means leaving the car home for 2 weeks if you're scared.
2. If you have the system installed already, alternator change, engine change, ANY gauges install, any major accident etc.. Go in and make sure the system's still working. It's just $75 and 30 mins if everything's fine. They depend on the back up battery more than the car battery itself to track the car.
3. If your car is down of the battery is out for more than 2 days go in and ensure the system's in order also.
4. They have other systems available now other than the basic call in system and the one that interfaces with your alarm. They've been offering a car jacking system for a while. It costs more, but when that button's hit, the officers find that vehicle with EXTREME PREJUDICE!! ( I'm talking cutting you off in the middle of the road bearing shotguns until you show your insurance). I advise for this system because theifs seldom break in cars and go with them now. They take them away from you at gun point and go with keys everything.

I know these things because I'm a technician there. I've seen people crying at the front gate because they do something to the car and didnt check it out. some drivers should look out more than others:
#1 stolen, 80% at gun point-Nissan Almera (60% silver, 20% brown, 20% white)
#2 stolen, 95% at gun point-Toyota Corolla, any colour. 60% was VVT-i
#3 stolen- ANY honda civic, they don't play favourite with colour, model, SiR/R bearings
#4 stolen- Mazda 323f/familia (same as civic, no discrimination)
#5 stolen-Primera, 65% of which was bearing VVL/2.0 tags

These fellas have shopping lists....
One more thing.Don't think I saw it above. If you have a turbo timer, don't park somewhere dark and leave the car running, with or without you around. That attracts them. A customer lost a Frontier last week like that and have to change a few things because the car search officers find them and they run down in a drain with it. And try not to show off with remote start in any parking lots. That gives them roughly a minute to target you (not the car). If you go in and start you'll catch them a bit off guard.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 24th, 2006, 3:42 pm

Sky, well done! These are excellent pointers. I don't mean to be critical, but I don't know why ppl will not invest in CarSearch to protect their investment. $10,000+ music systems; $20,000+ mods but $3000-$5000 CarSearch? You get 15% off your annual insurance premium too. :lol:

It works ppl I can tell you from personal experience. :shock:

The stats you've indicated give a clear picture and I myself am included in #5 as a Primera owner.

Alarms as just a temporary deterent, and as you've said nobody really breaking into cars anymore when it's easier to just take it from the owner with keys in hand instead.

Those of you who like to "Auto-start" while walking to the car take note of what Sky said.

Well done Sky!! Please people take note!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 24th, 2006, 4:08 pm

Those of you with automatic gates:

1. Please don't not leave the remote in the car when parked at home. This may seem straight forward to many, but you would be suprised how many of us leave the remote clipped to the visor or somewhere else in the car for "easy access". It may be a burden but take the remote with you.

Bandits have stolen vehicles out of 'secured' properties simply because we left the remote in the car for their easy access.

2. The Amber light that flashes once the gate is actived also notifes bandits that someone is either about to enter/exit the property. Many security experts advise that the light be disabled for the sake of personal security. Kidnappers use this for the obvious reason.

3. Close the gate as soon as you're in/out of your yard or driveway. That 10 second delay is enough of an opportunity for intruder access. Unfortunately most come with proximity sensors (for children/pets) so that may be an issue.

3. Don't let your guard down once you've entered/exited your yard or driveway. Be alert.
Last edited by NorStar2K on December 25th, 2006, 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » September 30th, 2006, 11:14 pm

1 . Tip from Tae Kwon Do :

The elbow

is the strongest point

on your body.

If you are close enough to use it,

do!

2. Learned this from a tourist guide

in New Orleans .

If a robber asks

for your wallet and/or purse,

DO NOT HAND IT TO HIM .

Toss it away from you....

chances are

that he is more interested

in your wallet and/or purse

than you,

and he will go

for the wallet/purse.

RUN LIKE MAD IN THE OTHER DIRECTION!

3. If you are ever thrown

into the trunk of a car,

kick out the back tail lights

and stick your arm out the hole

and start waving like crazy.

The driver won't see you,

but everybody else will.

This has saved lives.

4. Women have a tendency

to get into their cars after shopping,

eating, working, etc.,

and just sit (doing their checkbook,

or making a list, etc.

DON'T DO THIS!)

The predator

will be watching you,

and this is the perfect opportunity

for him to get in

on the passenger side,

put a gun to your head,

and tell you where to go.

AS SOON AS YOU GET INTO YOUR CAR ,

LOCK THE DOORS AND LEAVE.

a. If someone

is in the car

with a gun

to your head

DO NOT DRIVE OFF,

repeat:

DO NOT DRIVE OFF!

Instead gun the engine

and speed into anything,

wrecking the car.

Your Air Bag will save you.

If the person is

in the back seat

they will get the worst of it .

As soon as the car crashes

bail out and run.

It is better than having them

find your body

in a remote location.

5 . A few notes about getting

into your car in a parking lot,

or parking garage:

A.) Be aware:

look around you,

look into your car,

at the passenger side floor ,

and in the back seat

B..) If you are parked next to a big van,

enter your car from the passenger door .

Most serial killers attack their victims

by pulling them into their vans

while the women are attempting

to get into their cars.

C..) Look at the car

parked on the driver's side

of your vehicle,

and the passenger side.

If a male is sitting alone

in the seat nearest your car,

you may want to walk back

into the mall, or work,

and get a guard/policeman

to walk you back out.

IT IS ALWAYS BETTER TO BE SAFE THAN SORRY. (And better paranoid than dead.)

6. ALWAYS

take the elevator

instead of the stairs.

(Stairwells are horrible places

to be alone

and the perfect crime spot.

This is especially true at NIGHT!)

7. If the predator has a gun

and you are not under his control,

ALWAYS RUN!

The predator will only hit you

(a running target)

4 in 100 times;

And even then,

it most likely

WILL NOT

be a vital organ.

RUN,

Preferably !

in a zig -zag pattern!

8. As women,

we are always trying

to be sympathetic:

STOP .

It may get you raped,

or killed.

Ted Bundy,

the serial killer,

was a good-looking,

well educated man,

who ALWAYS played

on the sympathies

of unsuspecting women.

He walked with a cane,

or a limp,

and often asked

"for help"

into his vehicle

or with his vehicle,

which is when he abducted

his next victim.

9. Another Safety Point:

Someone just told me

that her friend heard

a crying baby on her porch

the night before last,

and she called the police

because it was late

and she thought it was weird.

The police told her

"Whatever you do,

DO NOT

open the door."

The lady

then said that

it sounded like the baby

had crawled near a window,

and she was worried

that it would crawl

to the street

and get run over.

The policeman said,

"We already have a unit on the way,

whatever you do,

DO NOT open the door."

He told her that they think

a serial killer

has a baby's cry recorded

and uses it to coax

women out of their homes

thinking that someone

dropped off a baby

He said they have not verified it,

but have had several calls

by women saying that

they hear baby's cries

outside their doors

when they're home alone

at night.

Please pass this on and

DO NOT

open the door for a crying baby

turbo master

Postby turbo master » October 2nd, 2006, 5:10 am

park the closest you can to the mall or where the flow of traffic/pedestrians are the highest..

for those that are goin to beach houses etc..lock up early n stay inside..if you wish to go outside..go in a contingent..armed and with flashlights and cells.money isnt needed on the beach.

when arming a group..arm the stronger ones..if the weaker ones have weapons..chances are the weapon can be seized from the weaker one.

pepper spray or even a water gun filled w pepper sauce isnt a bad idea for the females.teach them pressure points.its not just abt kickin a guy in his nuts.wound with intent to kill if your life is being threatened.'the kill or be killed style'
self defence does work!

if you feel uncomfortable..or think you're being followed..do simple stuff to turn around..dont make anything look obvious..pretend you're crackin your neck or something like that.

if you feel uncomfortable w strangers being around u..call someone..the chance of they trying to harm you will be lower as the person on the other end will know what's goin on.

keep emergency #s at the top n bottom of yr phone list or on speed dial.make sure u know someone that'll be awake that u can contact immediately.

try to keep call me requests on yr cell.for bmobile its *111*(phone no)#.digicel is *126*(phone no)#.try to keep credit on yr cell in case of emergency or have a back up cell card.try to get a car charger or keep yr battery charged.u dont want it dying when u need it the most.

AVOID keepin ATM receipts cuz the criminal will know how much $ u have.

walk with necessaries..so ladies..u goin to lime..u dont need yr market bag filled w cosmetics..in case of emergency..dont have to go through all that to get yr cell or keys or whatever.

EVERYTHING is a weapon..use it.what?that perfume u have?aim at eyes etc

for those of you that have electric gates..turn on yr bright lights when comin home so u can get a better view of the surrounding..dont jus look in front.check out all sides.

so u have a lame camera?non functional..mount it up..a dummy camera is a deterent.proper lights also deters criminals from entering yr home.

loud car?avoid driving fast to make a lot of noise..noise attracts attention..ppl will know when you're comin home.this can also help them in terms of identifying a trend in yr schedule.

LEARN TO STFU!!! tellin ppl how rich u are or that u have this n that makes u even moreso a target than anything else.dress modestly n if it means ppl think you're a piper..so be it.nobody'll rob a piper.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » October 10th, 2006, 10:24 pm

These tips are very important. PLEASE PEOPLE BE AWARE ...........no place is safe.

*For people who drive at night.......please drive with a certain pace( lil fast so you reach where you going faster & you wont attract attention;if you drive slow you could get someone's attention and they can attack you).

*Please lock your doors when in your car at all times.

*Try and get a clip-on "wide view" rear view mirror (not convex type).This really helps you to see a wider view behind you.
(It's like having a widescreen TV than a normal one)

Postby Hook » November 24th, 2006, 6:46 am

when in a situation, NEVER scream "help" or "rape"...the mentality is that robbers and rapists have weapons and ppl won't want to get involved
instead, scream "fire!" and more ppl may be willing to come to your aid

if u are close enough to the gunman (eg. gun to your head) and u have free movement of your hands, placing your finger behind the trigger will prevent them from firing...no matter what you do, DO NOT remove your finger...it will hurt, it may break, but it may well save your life

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 22nd, 2006, 1:57 am

SEASONS GREETINGS ALL!! Like allyuh forget meh list??

CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY SECURITY ADVICE

Christmas Home Security Check List

1. Do not display your Christmas tree and gifts in the front window. This is an invitation for burglars to check out the inventory.

2. If you must place your tree in front of the window, make sure that you don't display gifts under it until closer to Christmas.

3. Do not hide door keys under mats. The first place a burglar will look for a house key is under a mat. Rocks, flower pots and door ledges are next on a burglars search list, so don't get caught being security complacent.

4. If you must leave a key for emergency purposes make sure that you leave it with a trusted friend or neighbor.

5. Christmas tends to bring out the handyman in some of us. Don't get caught feeding an extension through a locking window and jeopardizing your home's security.

6. If you must, install outside electrical outlets for your outside lights and decorative Christmas fixtures.

7. Make sure that you lock all windows and doors, even if just leaving your home for a few minutes. Intruders only need a few seconds to ruin your day.

8. Don't give information on answering machines. It is best just to say that you are busy at the moment and to leave your name and number and you will return the call.

9. If you can, call forward your home phone number to your cell or neighbor for the duration of your absence.

10. Keep your drapes or window blinds closed at night. When going out for the evening make use of inexpensive timers to give the illusion of occupancy.

11. Photo cell lighting is also an inexpensive way of simulating activity.

12. Do not let newspapers pile up on your front door step. Try to keep the front door area swept and clean. Messy front door entrances can give the wrong message to a burglar.

13. Conceal all gift boxes after Christmas, so as not to alert burglars. Make sure that you cut up all boxes and place them in solid plastic bags for garbage pick-up.

14. Make sure that you have target hardened your home by installing the proper hardware - hardware like deadbolts, strike plates, window locks, door hinges, door viewers, and even alarm systems.

IS YOUR HOUSE LOCKED UP?
Here are some simple tips for securing your home. (Reminder)

• Install good locks on doors and windows and ensure you use them. Even the best locks will not help if you do not use them.

• Have good quality doors, remember to inspect the doorjambs, if the wood is old it may splinter easily, not giving the lock a good grasp.

• Even when you are at home, ensure you lock doors and windows of parts of the home that are not presently occupied.

• Cash and valuables should be kept out of easy reach and out of sight.

• Ensure you have a safety plan developed, if you secure your house and you need to get out in a hurry. Ensure all house members know where the keys are kept.

Some other tips for home owners to consider:

Do not leave messages on doors suggesting no one is home.

• If having goods delivered while you are out, have a neighbour collect them. A parcel on the doorstep also indicates that no one is at home.

• Funeral and wedding notices containing an address or suburb can tell a potential offender when to strike. If attending such an event, have a friend stay over or ask a neighbour to watch your house.

• Ensure you have the number of your local police station; 999, 555 and trusted person in your phone so you can dial them easily in an emergency or if dialing in the dark.

• Messages on your home answering machine should be carefully worded so as not to indicate that you live alone or that the house is unattended.

Here are a few simple precautions to keep in mind whilst holidaying abroad.

• When leaving accommodation (even high-rises) ensure all doors and windows are secure. This includes balcony doors and windows. Even if you leave your unit for a short space of time these security measures should be followed.

• Do not leave valuables on display in your room. Take advantage of hotel safes and lock valuables away.

• Do not leave valuables in vehicles when visiting tourist attractions, shopping, attending the beach or parking their vehicles in basement carparks.

• Make sure you secure your vehicle and never leave doors unlocked. On hot days some people like to leave the car windows down slightly – thieves can take advantage of this.

• Do not leave your accommodation or car keys lying around unattended. In particular if you go for a swim, don't leave your keys lying on a towel or elsewhere easily visible.

• When you go to sleep ensure your balcony door(s) and window(s) are locked. Some unit buildings and balconies can be reached from the outside areas of the holiday apartments.

CREDIT CARD USERS

Firstly, consumers are advised to budget for their nights out and leave their plastic at home, reducing the risk of losing their card or having it stolen.

When making purchases or cash withdrawals, card users should ensure that their pin number is shielded and also avoid using ATMs which look unusual or have a protruding card insertion point.

Receipts which display any credit card information should be ripped or shredded before being thrown away and card statements should be regularly monitored to check that there is no irregular activity taking place.

When using the internet, customers should ensure all sites they access are secure, which is signified by a locked padlock at the bottom of the screen, and should never reply to unsolicited emails which request financial or personal details.

HAVE A SAFE AND SECURE HOLIDAY SEASON EVERYBODY!!!

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » December 22nd, 2006, 3:43 am

major problem..is those who have 2 exit their cars to open gates and stuff to park..word of advice for those who do this..always put on ur high beam..make sure dere is no one around when coming out of ur car..if their are dark areas where u live example alot of grass "BUSH" make a lil rongs before u exit..like pass ur house...even reverse in so u can see whoz infront of ur car...if someone comes to attack you...forget about your car and run...dont play "bad boy" and stand up...material tings can always be recovered...hope this advice helps one or two ppl atleast

Val

Postby Val » December 24th, 2006, 4:33 pm

any advice on remote gates?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 25th, 2006, 7:53 pm

Val wrote:any advice on remote gates?

Yeah Val

norstar2k wrote:Those of you with automatic gates:

1. Please don't not leave the remote in the car when parked at home. This may seem straight forward to many, but you would be suprised how many of us leave the remote clipped to the visor or somewhere else in the car for "easy access". It may be a burden but take the remote with you.

Bandits have stolen vehicles out of 'secured' properties simply because we left the remote in the car for their easy access.

2. The Amber light that flashes once the gate is actived also notifes bandits that someone is either about to enter/exit the property. Many security experts advise that the light be disabled for the sake of personal security. Kidnappers use this for the obvious reason.

3. Close the gate as soon as you're in/out of your yard or driveway. That 10 second delay is enough of an opportunity for intruder access. Unfortunately most come with proximity sensors (for children/pets) so that may be an issue.

3. Don't let your guard down once you've entered/exited your yard or driveway. Be alert.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » January 1st, 2007, 10:32 am

KIDNAPPED! - What you should know

Anyone may be kidnapped or have a member of their family kidnapped. Unfortunately, most people don't know how to deal with kidnappers or how to survive the ordeal if they themselves are kidnapped or taken hostage.

There's a simple procedure for dealing with kidnappers: forget everything you've ever seen in the movies and go to the authorities for help. (They don't do that in the movies or novels because it makes the plot too simple.) In real life, the experts know how to deal with kidnappers and can track them down. The authorities can get the kidnap victim back if it is possible to do so IF you contact them right away at the first sign of trouble.

Children need to be taught to be cautious and to be a little suspicious of strangers (care must be taken, of course, not to turn your child into a paranoid). The goal of most parents is to get their child to be outgoing and friendly with strangers; this can be a big mistake. Teach your child to be careful.

Too many parents leave children alone in the house or in an auto- mobile. While this practice was relatively safe ten years ago, it no longer is.

Care should be taken when picking out baby sitters; a baby sitter has a lot of responsibility. You should consider things other than the cost of the sitter when you're hiring someone to look after a child. Older children are not always good baby sitters; find out about a baby sitter BEFORE you leave your children with them.

Some parents seem to be trying to have their children kidnapped. The children wander or play along the streets totally unsupervised. Don't allow children to go to questionable areas of the town or city you're in, and be sure they are always supervised when outside.

If they're small, don't let children play in the yard where you can't watch them and be sure the bedrooms for each of your family members are well out of an area where a person could easily break into it (having your bedrooms on the second story of a house makes a lot of sense).

The rich are more apt to suffer from a kidnapping which is designed to generate a ransom. If you are rich or famous, then the chances are better than average that you or a member of your family may be a kidnap victim. Keep a low profile and don't let newspapers, magazines, or TV crews get pictures of you or family members (such pictures make it easy for would-be kidnappers to identify you).

On the job, you should be careful not to have your name displayed on reserve parking areas and you should try to vary your schedule and route that you take to and from work.

If you are in danger of being kidnapped, you should be cautious about being in areas where you are unprotected and vulnerable. Don't jog on roads or in a park (unless you can afford a body guard); avoid being on the streets by yourself. Get your exercise in a private area and drive whenever possible.

Any threatening phone calls or letters should be reported to the police even if they appear to be a hoax. Even if the person who is harassing you is only perpetrating a hoax, he should be caught and punished. Many such hoaxes are often unstable and may become dangerous if they aren't helped. Kidnappers and killers of well-known people have a history of mental problems and often have made numerous threats before actually carrying one of them out. Often family members of a kidnapping victim only learn of a kidnapping when the criminal calls to make his demands. If this happens to you or your family, it is essential that the person answering the phone learn as much as possible. Any clue may speed up the rescue of the kidnap victim. The person answering the phone must pay careful attention and take notes immediately before they forget any details (having a note pad by the phone is a good idea).

If the victim of the kidnapping has any special medical conditions, be sure the kidnappers know about them (it may be impossible to convey this information, but try).

Do not demand to talk to the person that has been kidnapped. That's Hollywood again. You may succeed in getting a family member beat up while you listen. Trying to force the criminal to do something when he's keyed up is a good way to create more problems. Stay calm, get as many details as possible, and don't make any threats or promises.

After the criminal has finished calling, get in touch with the police. After they have been contacted, try to reach the family member that the caller said was kidnapped. You may find that the call is a hoax or there might have been a foul-up that prevented the family member from being kidnapped.

If you are able to reach the family member, he or she must take measures to get into a safe area since the kidnappers may have made an error in timing and might still attempt the kidnapping. Calling the family member may give them a warning and time to thwart the soon-to-be-attempted crime.

Shortly after being contacted, the police will arrive at your home to ask an array of questions which will aid them in saving your family member from harm. Again, remain calm and try to answer their questions to the best of your ability.

When speaking to the police in your home, exclude any servants, maids, etc., from the discussion (probably the police will do this, but if not, then try to do so yourself).

If the hired help has seen suspicious persons, etc., the less the hired help hears in the way of other's descriptions, the less likely they are to have their memory of what they've seen changed and influenced. Any descriptions they have will be more valuable to the police.

Too, the less each of the people who work for you knows about the police plans, the better. since it is remotely possible that one of the hired hands may be working in concert with the kidnappers. Keep any "inside" criminal involved in the kidnapping from sitting in on the plans being made by you and the police.

In hostage and kidnap situations, time is on the side of the victim. The longer a victim remains alive, the better his chances of surviving the ordeal (provided negotiations don't break down). The first few minutes are often the deciding factor.

Chances of surviving are improved if the victim engages the kidnappers in small talk, etc. This will cause the criminals to see the victim as a person rather than a thing. Later on, this will make it harder for them to kill the victim if things get down to that. Getting on a talking basis could save the victim's life.

Kidnapping victims should forget the tough-guy Hollywood acts they've seen and avoid antagonizing criminals; needling them will only make things worse and may ruin a chance to escape later on. Better to act the part of the "slave" rather than to go into a Dirty Harry routine.

The kidnapping victim should keep track of what is going on, what the kidnappers are doing, what they call themselves, how many of them there are, etc. This information may be needed to help in the victim's escape or to later identify the kidnappers.

The kidnapping victim should not tell the criminals their demands can't be met (nor should those who speak to the criminals during the initial phone call). Telling them that may make them panic and kill their victim!

While the victim should act passive, he should be careful that he doesn't pass up a chance to escape if it presents itself. Usually after the initial first hours of the kidnapping the criminals will become careless if the victim has shown no signs of trying to escape. Unless the kidnapping victim is in immediate danger, he should bide his time and wait for a slip-up among the criminals and then use the opportunity to escape.

Victims of a kidnapping sometimes start identifying with the criminals after being around them for a while. Work to combat this bonding if you are a victim of a kidnapping.

If you and/or your family work with the police, you should be able to get a family member back unharmed and capture the criminals as well.

Sometimes a hostage situation will occur during a crime or a terrorist attack. Though the chances of this happening to a person are very, very remote, it doesn't hurt to know what to do.

Your chances of surviving the ordeal are excellent provided you survive the first hours of the situation.

You may find that you are having to keep the hostage takers calm if you are a hostage. Again, being a "tough guy" is a good way to get killed in a hostage situation. Stay calm, don't make trouble, and let the authorities bring in the people who are trained to deal with terrorists. If you can just keep a hostage taker from doing anything crazy the first few minutes of the situation, you can probably survive it.

You should try to remain a part of the group that is being held hostage. Don't stick out or you may be singled out. If you have a lot of money or are famous, don't let the hostage taker know it or he'll try to use you for a bargaining chip.

Sometimes hostages over-powered the criminals involved. This is certainly admirable, but also quite dangerous. If you are going to try such a self-rescue, be sure that you know how many criminals there are and be sure you can overpower them. Things could get a little tense if you try to overpower them and fail. Unless you are in danger of being killed momentarily, it is usually better not to try to overwhelm a group of terrorists.

If the hostage takers start making threats on the lives of the hostages or acting in a bizarre manner, you should start thinking about ways to run for freedom and try to keep as far as possible from the members of the terrorist group. This will help keep you from "being there" if a terrorist vents his anger and will also keep you out of the line of fire if the authorities come in shooting or have a sniper end the situation.

If a rescue is attempted, hit the floor unless the authorities instruct you to do otherwise. Don't try to pick up a criminal's weapon or pull out one of your own if you have one concealed on your person. Doing so will get you killed; teams trained to rescue hostages have to operate by reflex. Anti-terrorist teams are trained to shoot anyone with a weapon without trying to otherwise identify them. You'll be mistaken for one of the criminals and will undoubtedly be shot if you're standing there with a weapon.

You can survive being a hostage or kidnap victim IF you are careful and know exactly what to do.

HITTLER

Postby HITTLER » July 3rd, 2007, 8:33 am

all these tips are great but we still have a drastic increase in crime . i say done talk and start reacting and i do not mean violently

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 3rd, 2007, 3:21 pm

Agreed. The tips are just guidelines that have been proven to work in a crisis situtation. Blame the people who live their lives believing "it couldn't happen to me". So they go about their lives not giving a damn until they become a statistic too.

Reacting would actually be living these tips effectively. Good plan. :)

We have defensive driving. We need to have "Defensive Living." :idea:

HITTLER

Postby HITTLER » July 3rd, 2007, 5:22 pm

plenty ppl really feel it cannot happen to them is true boy until it happen. stop talkin d talk an start walkin d walk. gently you can shake d world .

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 5th, 2007, 11:40 pm

An very expensive and unfortunate lesson learnt by a collegue whom I previously reported lost his car at Trincity mall several weeks ago.

As simple as it sounds:
1. Don't leave bills/documents with your home address. They can find you.

2. Don't leave your house keys in your vehicle. That gives the bandits access to your home right after stealing your car. Imagine a violent home invasion and your wife and daughter home alone. Now you have to change all your locks.
3. Keep you gate remote attached to your car keys. If not, that gives them access too.

4. Don't keep company or national IDs in the car. Identity theft is on the increase in T&T. Not to mention the difficulty to replace and the replacement costs.

5. Store your insurance in your special "hiding place" in the car. If the car is stopped at a roadblock, even with different plates, the vehicle would be detained without insurance.

6. Invest in CarSearch.

toyocorolla

Postby toyocorolla » September 12th, 2007, 8:56 pm

53. Don't give anyone your ATM card, e.g. don’t accept requests from someone to borrow your card to open the ATM access door. Security guards are provided during the day to help you if you can't get into the ATM. If it’s in the night LEAVE.

In addition to this, i once heard of a woman who have been robbed of her purse containing all her bank cards, cellphone etc. the bandit saw her husband's cell no. which was named hubby and sent a text asking her husband to send her pin no. for her because she forgot it, the thief drained her account and got away.

Ever since i heard that one i only use first names and stopped with the alias. i.e. sexy, princess, chick, babygirl etc.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 5th, 2007, 9:32 am

SEASONS GREETINGS ALL!!

Here are some holiday safety & security REMINDERS:

• Do Shop at (malls/downtown) when it’s less crowded (not always possible). Usually during the weekday. Try to avoid the weekend rush...it's easy to lose children among the crowds.

• Don't dangle your handbag from your shoulder. You are creating a perfect setup for a thief. Instead, of carrying a purse wear a fanny pack that will face the front. This will keep your hands free to hold onto your child and will eliminate the possibility of leaving your purse behind or having it stolen.

• If you use pockets, place your checkbook, cash, or credit cards in your front pockets. Only bring one credit card and a limited amount of cash.

• Do spread your money around in different pockets. That way a pickpocket can't clean you out in one full sweep.

• Avoid carrying your checkbook, cash, and credit cards all together in one wallet, because a thief who gets the whole package together can cash checks with your identification and run up a large credit card bill in a short amount of time. Keep your keys separate, too.

• Don't "flash" large rolls of money in public. You never know who's watching!

• Do check to see you’ve been given back your card(s) once you’ve paid for what you bought.

• Do make a list of your major credit cards, their account numbers and the phone numbers to call if cards are lost. Keep this list at home.

• Do consolidate as many packages as possible, or make several trips to your car to deposit packages in the trunk. Don't allow yourself to become so burdened down with packages that you become a tempting target.

• Avoid carrying large, heavy packages that block your vision and make you a target for purse-snatchers.

• Do park in well-lit areas and utilize secured public car parks if available. If you are carjacked, notify the police immediately.

• Monitor your alcohol consumption; if you intend to drink excessively, you should have a designated driver.

• Be careful on the highways and other streets when coming from or going to events. Observe erratic driving by others and stay clear. If you believe you’re being followed, drive to the nearest Police Station, do not drive to your home.

• Secure your homes before leaving, and if possible notify a neighbor of your absence and when you are due back. Leave a contact number if available. Use a house-sitter if available, for long periods away from home.

• Program emergency numbers into your cell phone. In an emergency it is possible to forget these simple toll-free numbers.
[EHS/EMS: 624-4343, Fire: 990, Police: 999]

• If your cell phone is lost or stolen report it to TSTT by dialing (824-8788) from any available phone and then notify the Police immediately.

HAPPY SAFE & SECURE HOLIDAYS!!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 1st, 2008, 11:39 am

I don't know if this has been discussed b4, but I'm putting it here in my thread:

As all of you are aware, there has been a marked increase in the number of robberys involving ppl answering FOR SALE ads for used cars - The respondents are robbed at gun point of large sums of money, only to find out there is NO car. The reverse is the unsuspecting seller is robbed of his/her car at gunpoint by a fake respondent.

Now here on tuner we post vehicles for sale too (bling included). Don't for a moment think that criminal eyes aren't roaming FS threads too.

Security recommendations:
1. Don't bring the buyer/seller to your home. Never do private transactions at home. You've exposed too much, should the deal turn sour.
2. Use a public/private carpark with security. I've used Police stations several times.
3. Never test drive alone. I always have a security/police officer with me.
4. Anyways use a 'certified cheque'.
5. Ask for two forms of ID. DPs are easier to fake vs ID Card or PP.
6. Be aware of 'priced for quick sale' - most times too good to be true.
7. Be carful of buyers/sellers who come with a 'crew'. (You alone and 6 of them, cancel and run!).
8. I shouldn't have to tell you - daylight transactions only - AM preferred, and not on Fridays. You need to get to the bank right?
9. Do a background check/search.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 2nd, 2008, 6:09 pm

So nobody read this?

silver racer

Postby silver racer » August 2nd, 2008, 10:14 pm

bess read dey norstar2k..[/b]

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 3rd, 2008, 11:51 am

silver racer wrote:bess read dey norstar2k..[/b]

Thx man. Apparently not everyone is concerned about their security. :?

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » August 7th, 2008, 1:43 am

Great Job! Useful Information!
Thanks!

Laptop users should try to carry their laptops in backpacks rather than fancy laptop bags.

You should also set a bios and an operating system password so if the laptop is stolen they may have to bring it for someone a little more technically inclined and keeps ur info safe..

Individuals who unlock and repair equipment .. store information equipment you work on.. you may have just unlocked or repaired a loved ones stolen item before they could have told you it was stolen!!

When going to the club its cool to make an entrance but its also safer to get there early to get closer and safer parking near the club...

Take down serials and model numbers of your personal belongings and store them in a safe location including your imei for your cell phone..

Hope this helps....

N_A_K

Postby N_A_K » August 7th, 2008, 9:42 am

wuts allyuh opinion on walking around wid pepper spray tho?

or giving the females in your life, pepper spray to walk around with

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 7th, 2008, 11:03 am

Nicely done evolucian.

RdRnr

Postby RdRnr » August 7th, 2008, 11:19 am

any opinion on giving the females in your life pepper spray to walk around with? good idea or bad?

Adrenalinerush

Postby Adrenalinerush » September 20th, 2008, 1:53 am

I was advised to not leave anything valuable inside a vehicle, and to leave all compartments open...so that way anyone scopin out d vehicle to break in mightn't do so after seeing that you have nothing worthwhile inside....it happened to me before..saw a car next to me smashed into and nothing done to mine cuz i had everything open and in plain sight...

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 9th, 2008, 8:18 pm

Received from a colleague:

Subject: SECURITY ALERT

Dear Business Colleague,

Re: Security Alert - Threat of car-jacking/physical assault

We refer to the matter at caption.

This Association sent a release on the above subject to the national media on Friday 24th October, '08.

Only two media houses reported on our release; the Trinidad Guardian Newspaper and Radio I95.

We have continued to receive reports since this last release of incidents of car-jackings and assault in the vicinities of St. James, Woodbrook & Newtown.

Because this matter has not received widespread coverage in the media and because of the seriousness of the reports , we have chosen to communicate directly with you.

1. We continue to receive reports of persons being attacked for their motor-vehicles when

a. they return to their cars,

b. while they are sitting in traffic and

c. when they attempt to enter their premises or return home.

Incidents have been reported to us at:

* Ariapita Avenue
* Carlos Street
* Patna Street
* Mooneram Street
* Woodford Street
* And around the Queen's Park Savannah

2. In all cases, the motor-vehicle has been stolen. In two recent reports, robbery of personal belongings, household effects and rape are also being reported.

3. We are attempting to meet with the Ag. Police Commissioner to discuss this issue, but in the meantime caution is advised in the operation of motor-vehicles.

* Do not attempt to enter your motor-vehicle if there is a parked car with occupants nearby.

* Do not exit your motor-vehicle to open your gate if there are persons standing nearby or if a car is parked with occupants nearby.

* Do maintain locked doors and windows at all times while in traffic including during busy daytime hours.

* Do discuss this issue with your employees, neighbours and relatives especially those who live and work in St. James, Woodbrook, Newtown and in areas around the Queen's Park Savannah.

Persons with further information on the above security threat are asked to please communicate with us at our email: domatt@mail.tt or by faxing us at Tel: 627-6761.

Please be serious about your personal safety and please be assured of our best attention in this and all other matters.

Yours faithfully,

Downtown Owners & Merchants Association,
Gregory Aboud,
President.