Charlie's Box lancer Rotary Project. . .

kerron01

Charlie's Box lancer Rotary Project. . .

Postby kerron01 » December 15th, 2008, 1:26 am

Hey guys, this is my friend's Build, it involves a Mazda Series 5 13B contained in the engine bay of a Box lancer.... :twisted:

For now I'll show you guys what it looks like and will give details later.

Feel free to post comments.

Note that its not finished work is still being done, also Haltech E8 was recently installed.
Last edited by kerron01 on December 15th, 2008, 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » December 15th, 2008, 4:45 am

could've been abit cleaner but its alot more than i have done so far. As long as its not another sr20det...i have no prob. rotary powah ftw
nice setup with the aeromotive fuel pump and surge tank tho.
is he putting a cage in that thing??

mazda machine

Postby mazda machine » December 15th, 2008, 6:25 am

sweet build.not very often u seein a box lancer with a rotary.dat is an extremely huge turbo.this looks like it will be sharing its fair share of licks on the track.
he needs to put a roll cage cuz this thing whippin out loads of power.
have fun with the project and be safe.

Postby eliteauto » December 15th, 2008, 7:09 am

Lancer with Rotary engine and skyline rims and brakes, talk about douglarisation :lol: :lol: , the twin pumps, surge tank and fuel cell plus the management, says some thought went into this, swap out the battery for a sealed one in a battery box, fabricate a roll cage and custom dash, throw in a 4/5 point harness and you on dey.
As the car is scrapped out was anything done to make the chassis more rigid (stitch welding etc)?

Nice :o

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » December 15th, 2008, 7:26 am

100 point for originality!!! atleast its not anoter sr20 lancer

you need to work on cleaning up the engine bay

sweet project man

m6

Postby m6 » December 15th, 2008, 7:48 am

Looks real cool,but be carefull that back-end could cause yuh brake fluid to boil(pic.#4)very dangerous.I would insulate or re-locate,just my 2 cents

Postby Greypatch » December 15th, 2008, 7:49 am

good job ...should have been a bit more clean...

mustang_lover

Postby mustang_lover » December 15th, 2008, 10:54 am

I have a new high volume Holley pump that I bought for a A31 turbo cefiro project awhile back.. need to sell now if he's interested...

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » December 15th, 2008, 11:27 am

damnnnn now this is a project i would love to see run
very different and original. props to the owner

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 15th, 2008, 11:38 am

will this stay STRAIGHT on the road? That is SERIOUS POWER

Postby Maserati » December 15th, 2008, 11:52 am

not too shabby
just needs a little bit more work to neaten her up.

at least it isn't another sr20det in there.

Postby Razkal » December 15th, 2008, 12:28 pm

Ahhh...the second of it's kind!!

cl101, ask sheldon bout the one down on his side :D

Nice work, as tsuchi said, could haev been cleaner, but its still awesome, looks well thought out, link a (proper) cage or half cage atleast and you'll need something wider than 205s in the back man :lol:

Nice work, keep us updated nuh :)

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » December 15th, 2008, 12:35 pm

i love how the cooler looks...awesome..nice job..would enjoy seeing a run and how it performs :mrgreen:

Postby Monk BANzai » December 15th, 2008, 1:00 pm

great concept....im having issues with the trunk area nd the "sturdiness" of it though....from experience, when you luanch teh car hard, things will move about....get a boat battery box for that battery, and duct teh cables better...

safety fuss meng!!!

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » December 15th, 2008, 1:07 pm

at least it isn't another sr20det in there.

Good thing I never followed up my project thread :oops:

Postby Maserati » December 15th, 2008, 1:11 pm

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » December 15th, 2008, 7:35 pm

M6 is right, that is being replaced with a bigger better indash MC and Brake Booster.
Guys just wanted to say work is still being done on this vehicle and it may not look complete as yet. Still while testing this Car on 5psi there was a lot of wheel spin and traction problems.

Postby RASC » December 15th, 2008, 8:06 pm

I love the concept, just wish it were a bit cleaner!

Postby Monk BANzai » December 15th, 2008, 8:49 pm

now yunno i doh put water in meh mouth...but cudnt yall have found a entire shell rather than weld up one?

i not saying that yall will drive irresponsibly, but in the event that something is to happen....that structure there aint looking too whole some. We hope this will be addressed.

in retrospect..iif i had to do Dougla over again, i'd instal la half cage...these cars have age...over 20 yrs in some cases and that equals "ole iron" that is fatigued and brittle really.

Really hope yall pay attention to those structural details in an effort to have a safe project...

Tally ho!!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 15th, 2008, 8:50 pm

Would've flared the rear fenders and put on some seriously staggered wheels.

Talk about thinking outside of the box (no pun intended :mrgreen: )

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » December 15th, 2008, 10:09 pm

there more lancer like dat project ehh
but job well done anyway, u guys got balls
wat kinda back end it have doh?

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » December 15th, 2008, 10:13 pm

The car is not finished people lots more to be done. . . such as Roll Cage, tidyin things up and tuning/porting for 30PSI :twisted:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » December 15th, 2008, 10:40 pm

30PSI :faint:

would love to see that biatch get traction. as the other guy said the fenders should have been flared .. for use of slicks and such
Last edited by Midnight_Demon on December 16th, 2008, 2:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » December 16th, 2008, 7:41 am

All in time....

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 16th, 2008, 7:55 am

if ever a track is to come(so i heard one is already 100% secured but by a private person, so just some time) Then this might be something nice to make a full race car, like how monster sunny was done, seeing that they are behind this build too :shock: :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 16th, 2008, 7:59 am

Preferably I would've liked to see it streetable.

It's nice to see something go fast down a 1/4 mile but knowing that it can drive home after the run and it can be used to go to work the next morning... that's just beautiful.

NY4PD

Postby NY4PD » December 16th, 2008, 8:15 am

Nice build, Real Power there under the hood.....but you need to clean things up under the hood and take the seats out and repaint the inside, then put a nice set of roll cage with 4 or 5 point seat belts and re do the dash..... Now rotary in a Lancer is nothing new and its not rear either, its been done alot of times in the past there in Trinidad, You will have to stable the suspension and put some traction bars because you will have alot off traction issues......

Good luck with the nice build, you make good numbers on the track in the future....when Trinidad decide to put down a track.....

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » December 16th, 2008, 2:25 pm

Yeah guys, lots more to be done. I just wanted to give you guys a "sneek peek" and btw the body is generally in a good condition and till its fit to do so the car is not on the road.

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » January 6th, 2009, 10:39 am

anymore updates?

Postby Greypatch » January 6th, 2009, 12:06 pm

look forward to some updatesregarding the safety and clean up