Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 18th, 2008, 8:36 am

Cooper wrote:Fellas check todays papers (Express pg 64) 'Quick Service' has a special on 4x4 tyres.

Michelin & BFGoodrich

I called the office on wrightson road, the girl heard they have a sale but hadn't seen the updated price list yet.

For 265/70/16 the Michelins XTT (AT) are $1534(VI) and the Syncron (HT) are $1659(VI). The BF Goodrich All Terrains (didnt get the model) were $1233.95 (VI)

Postby wagon r » March 18th, 2008, 9:20 am

....some expensive rubbers there boy.....but they sure give one hell of a ride and last long...

... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 18th, 2008, 10:04 am

^ Freak^

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 18th, 2008, 10:25 am

wagon r wrote:....some expensive rubbers there boy.....but they sure give one hell of a ride and last long...

... :lol: :lol: :lol:

LOL.... they expensive cause they offer better protection and minimizes unwanted accidents

Postby wagon r » March 18th, 2008, 10:51 am

.... :lol: :lol: :lol: ....here the next one...hahahahahahaha....

...where stuck....ent he using them expensive rubbers... :lol: :lol:

...gives me an idea for a new sticky.... :P

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 4th, 2009, 12:39 pm

Cooper wrote: Pirelli Scorpion ATR (On-/Off-Road All-Terrain)

The Scorpion ATR is Pirelli's On-/Off-Road All-Terrain light truck tire developed for pickup, crossover and sport utility vehicle drivers that want to combine on-road civility with off-road capability. The Scorpion ATR is designed to master long highway journeys, wet roads and the challenges of winter driving by combining paved road comfort and handling with rough terrain grip and maneuverability.

The Scorpion ATR features a silica-enhanced tread compound molded into a quiet-running, symmetric all-terrain type tread pattern. A virtual continuous center rib and large, stable shoulder tread blocks provide directional stability and steering response while interlocked independent tread blocks in the center tread area further promote acoustic comfort, even on-road wear and off-road traction. Sweeping central circumferential grooves and lateral shoulder grooves channel water to resist hydroplaning and enhance wet traction. The independent tread blocks are siped to provide extra biting edges that enhance off-road traction on loose surfaces and in snow. The tire's internal structure includes twin steel belts reinforced with spirally wrapped nylon cord to support the tread area providing predictable handling and high-speed control, while polyester cords stabilize the sidewalls and enhance ride quality.

I liking these.. If anyone knows who selld them please let me know.
Thanks

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » March 4th, 2009, 1:18 pm

I get some Kumho Ecstas STX rubbers for $935.00 by LD&G

255/70R15 for the Mazda.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 4th, 2009, 1:24 pm

Freak are you talking about the Ecsta STX KL12

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... a+STX+KL12

venum

Postby venum » March 4th, 2009, 1:46 pm

^^^ those are street tyres

I need some newer tyres

teh Roadstones not holding too well in teh wet

may rally thru the dry season with them, but come wet season, I need better traction

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 4th, 2009, 2:24 pm

Pirelli Scorpion ATR

Anyone?

The only place i remember seeing these a few years ago was Pricemart.

I called every single number fo them and i cant get tru.

i donno who else deals with PIRELLI. It sucks. :evil:

Rush

Postby Rush » March 5th, 2009, 3:45 pm

Tyre clinic has the hancook for 860
Michellin, has three types
cant remember the types altho 1 was LTX
the prices were 1200, 1400, 1525, for 275/75/16

looking for some new tyres as well,
so far the hancook looking like the best bet for me
the diff bet 860 to 1200 is large when u buying 4 tyres...

venum

Postby venum » March 5th, 2009, 4:51 pm

U talking bout teh Dyna Pro AT :?:

saw those when I was hunting around last year

good tyres

but Street only

Rush

Postby Rush » March 5th, 2009, 11:09 pm

cant remeber the name, but will take ur word for it
i still have to call Jacks, in Chaguanas,
and one or two more places

anyoen have a link in quik service to know when they are going to have their next sale?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » March 5th, 2009, 11:27 pm

4x4 SUV tyres difficult to get. Pickup trucks seem to be much easier.

I originally wanted the Continental ContiCrossContact UHP or the ContiCrossContact LX. Checked with LDG - none.

I eventually settled for the Toyo Proxes ST 235/65R17 from MM.

BTW, Lifestyle Motors has a special direct import arrangement with TireRack. Call and ask for Nigel de Parts Manager 6741000.

Postby wagon r » March 6th, 2009, 8:01 am

Rush....sit down with the yellow pages and call around....ask for your size, A/T vs H/T and price....

....then decide on what you like and go see them for yourself.....that's what i did, and i like what i have vs all the tyres i saw.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 6th, 2009, 12:33 pm

Wagon in your search did you come across the Scorpion ATR anywhere?

Postby wagon r » March 6th, 2009, 1:52 pm

only once at a shop in chaguanas but they were 31x10.x15....

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 6th, 2009, 4:03 pm

:cry:

venum

Postby venum » March 6th, 2009, 5:35 pm

I will be in Chaguanas tomm

will see what I can find

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 7th, 2009, 12:02 am

Cheers Venum. Good hunting. If you pass price plaza see if they have the ATR :wink:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 9th, 2009, 10:18 am

Feedback Venum?? Any Luck Bro? :?: :twisted: :?:

venum

Postby venum » March 9th, 2009, 12:03 pm

didn't get far

one place i went to couldn't find the only Bridgestone set that they had

saw some Bridgestone Dueller AT on a old time 4x4 sat morning though . . . much different to teh HT's

next stop

Mileage mack to check teh Toyo Open Country and whatever Cooper's they have

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 9th, 2009, 2:26 pm

Ok V. i will do some checking also.

will keep adding to the thread.

venum

Postby venum » March 13th, 2009, 10:37 am

saw some Roadstone Rodian AT on a ranger yesterday

looked good, but i expect that it is teh same HT compound with a AT thread pattern

useless though as teh Ranger was a 4x2 hi-rider

Rush

Postby Rush » March 16th, 2009, 12:26 pm

called a few places,
the hancook at $860 for 275/75/16
seems like the best bet for me,

still looking tho

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 17th, 2009, 7:45 pm

I think I am going tire hunting Tomorrow..... I need to make a move......Gotta see whats really out there...

Wish me luck...

venum

Postby venum » March 18th, 2009, 8:30 am

good luck bro

Rush - are those teh Dyna Pro :?:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 18th, 2009, 9:27 am

ent someone using the Michelin Cross Terrain 265/70/16

whats the feedback on them... VS the compitition.... ?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 18th, 2009, 5:55 pm

Ok guys the day was a long one..

Here are the findings..

Tire Survey Results

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/surveyres ... ?type=ORAT

From Tire Rack , On-/Off-Road All-Terrain

Top 3 tires..

1. Firestone Destination A/T
2. Goodyear Wrangler SilentArmor
3. Michelin LTX A/T 2

I found them all … and prices were as follows..

Firestone Destination A/T - $900.00 (Tyre Shop)
Goodyear Wrangler SilentArmor - $1487.21 (Master Serv)
Michelin LTX A/T 2 - $1722.70 (Quick Service)

I also checked the Michelin Cross Terrain
At a Tyre Shop.. - $1400.00

Seeing that the Firestone Destination is rated 1st and the cheapest, I am seriously considering buying….

I would have never thought a Firestone would be in the high ratings tho...
Last edited by *Phoenix* on March 19th, 2009, 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » March 18th, 2009, 6:38 pm

well its a consumer rating scale, so it must be good

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”