Special Permission for Fog Lights

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
dbw_23

Special Permission for Fog Lights

Postby dbw_23 » April 1st, 2009, 8:21 am

Guys

Foglights are technically illegal unless you have special permission
from the Transport Office. This letter gives you that "special" permission.

Please print and keep in your vehicle.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » April 1st, 2009, 9:23 am

I heard the last para. of the letter refers to your certified copy showing the registration of the vehicle is indeed after Oct 14 2002 - when the letter was printed

Postby wagonrunner » April 1st, 2009, 9:44 am

"the lens of the lamps must be clear as filled by the manufacturer"

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » April 1st, 2009, 1:30 pm

I guess it means no coloured lenses... like yellow or blue.

But they obviously behind the time still since cars have been coming with yellow fogs for years now, and more recently blue ones

egas

Postby egas » April 7th, 2009, 12:57 pm

What is process to acquire such a letter?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » April 8th, 2009, 12:28 pm

^^ save image as .. and print .. keeep with your cert copy . vehicle must have been manufactered after Oct 2002 though

Postby equipped2ripp » April 8th, 2009, 7:17 pm

why print that and keep it in your vehicle? :roll:

Postby wagon r » April 9th, 2009, 9:08 am

i never get stop for that and look what i running.... :|

Postby equipped2ripp » April 9th, 2009, 2:07 pm

^ that's because ure a shotta 0X

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » April 9th, 2009, 5:11 pm

^^ yup :mrgreen:

is really to keep some of those officers who not in the know at bay when they stop you at random. Not a necessity though but could save you some headache. :roll: :roll:

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » April 11th, 2009, 9:56 am

equipped2ripp wrote:^ that's because ure a shotta 0X

connectionz.....

venum

Postby venum » April 11th, 2009, 11:54 pm

^^^ nope them 6 smiley faces does have the license officers thinking that he is one happy polite fella,

he may be too chirpy and bubbly to talk to if they stop him, so they does just let him thru

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » May 3rd, 2010, 11:33 am

I know that this is a blast from the past but with the recent increase in fines:
Regulation 28(k) Unautorized Lights $750 and Regulation 28 (m)(4) Unathorized Spot/Swivel Light $1000.
1. Can I just install fog lights on my TCE Frontier and have the letter in the vehicle and it is legal.
2. How do I get Autorization if I wanted to to be as happy as wagon r.

(All suggestions must be legal. I not bribing nobody)

Postby wagon r » May 3rd, 2010, 2:16 pm

^ aye gopaul luck eh seepaul luck.... :lol: :lol:

...and sendin my van to re-tint tom. i just cyar handle the stress....but the lights stay....see how long it last. i would hate to take them down....the van would lose all apeal.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 3rd, 2010, 2:40 pm

i actually got a letter similar to that from massey when i brought my van

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » May 3rd, 2010, 2:46 pm

wagon r wrote:^ aye gopaul luck eh seepaul luck.... :lol: :lol:

I was going to saw something but next thing it come true and the diesel boyz chase me for havin goat mouth. :lol: :lol:

enigma

Re: Special Permission for Fog Lights

Postby enigma » February 19th, 2011, 9:19 am

got the same letter with an xtrail las yr.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 19th, 2011, 12:00 pm

I keep a copy of that letter in meh glovebox, in case some ig'nant po-po wanna look for trouble.

Postby wagon r » February 21st, 2011, 9:44 am

....passed thru a heavy road block Sunday on the northbound....

...and even waved at the popo.

droppa

Postby droppa » February 21st, 2011, 1:10 pm

^^after preysal flyover....ah man jump out a vehicle and get a serious scan down by two police...

kdarryl

Postby kdarryl » March 10th, 2011, 12:33 am

what about cars like primera's that came with fogs from japan do i need a letter too? because i have dat car long and never seen anything like da letter from previous owner at all???

Peong

Postby Peong » March 10th, 2011, 9:20 am

Don't know if this point was made before, so apologies if I'm repeating here...

Having been stopped by police in a road block for using fog lights, I was told that you need the letter only if you are using the lights. If your fog lights are off, then you are safe. If your fog lights are on... AND... you get stopped by the police, only then will you need the letter to show that you have permission to use them.

In short, you don't need special permission to have fog lights on your car.... but you do need special permission (i.e. the aforementioned letter) to turn them on.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » March 10th, 2011, 3:50 pm

I pass through roadblocks with mine on all the time......never got stopped.

Puppetman

Postby Puppetman » April 16th, 2011, 12:48 am

well concider yourself lucky... i haffi find out about gettin this letter cause that is real bs
or can someone tell me where and who do i go to to get this letter cause my cars both have fogs and well aux lights in the bumper.... P11 factory fogs.... help?

Beaver

Postby Beaver » May 8th, 2011, 2:19 pm

i got a fireball ticket,,,never knew that u needed special permission,

i wonder what my chances are in court?

Haunted

Postby Haunted » May 8th, 2011, 4:14 pm

i have spot lights on my truck and i never get trouble with them at road blocks

venum

Postby venum » May 8th, 2011, 11:20 pm

so do I

but we all know that every police officer in T&T is his own law

so what you get away from I may not and vice versa

as well as it may just be a matter of time till your luck runs out

Haunted

Postby Haunted » May 8th, 2011, 11:50 pm

a police officer informed me that they cant charge you unless you have them on...dnt kno how true that is but yeh

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 9th, 2011, 12:21 am

i just put on a pair of spotties on my rollbar yesterday.

Haven't wired them in yet though.
Planning to get another pair of Hella spotties with the wiring kits, and a set of covers for a 4 lamps.

AFAIK, if it's not on, and if the lamps are covered, you should be ok 2/3r'ds of the time.
But all it takes is one disgruntled @ss of a po-po to spoil the fun.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 9th, 2011, 6:53 am

Haven't been harassed for my Hella's as yet.. fingers still crossed..

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”