Mazda 6 vs Non-Turbo Subaru Legacy (both roro)

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

kingabdullah

Mazda 6 vs Non-Turbo Subaru Legacy (both roro)

Postby kingabdullah » May 13th, 2009, 10:41 am

A friend of mine and I have been debating this topic for the last week or so. Basically we're going back and forth about which car would be a better purchase for a young, first time car buyer.

What would be your recommendation? Please give reasons e.g. cost and availability of parts etc.

Thank You.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 13th, 2009, 1:18 pm

Im all LGT....but this is n/a....

I guess the mazda V6 would have more bang than the n/a legacy...legacy parts are HARD to come accross, talking from experience.

But you cant compare a V6 to a little 2.0L n/a.....stop grabbing at straws Mazda ppl :P

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » May 13th, 2009, 4:30 pm

I had a mazda 6 as a company car...failure of a car really..heavy...slow..cheap interior..

the good side is its ok on gas..and it looks fairly decent

if u goin RORO plz dont go for a singapore model as the parts are harder to come by..not all but some. You can get a preety decent local used on for about 85-90K..si its preety cheap and easy to maintain

Legacy..well N/A is preety good also. Drove it one...it pulls man..about 160HP which is good for such a big car...the 2.0L N/A is very nice on the gas..very economical

RORO its not that expensive..again dont opt for singapore models cuz of the slightly different parts

JDM used can run u into about 115K..less if u buying from someone who has it already

well b18b_turbo, advised u about the parts..but the good side is..u can eventually get it but it abit pricey..but hell its a legacy dammit lol it not supposed to be cheap

if ur fren's pockets abit shallow id say mazda6..if u have alil cash to play with...Legacy FTW :mrgreen:

Flex030

Re: Mazda 6 vs Non-Turbo Subaru Legacy (both roro)

Postby Flex030 » May 13th, 2009, 5:29 pm

kingabdullah wrote:which car would be a better purchase for a young, first time car buyer.
Thank You.

Seriously as a young first time owner buy something cheaper; have fun with that, then save your pennies and buy a legacy GT (Now you rolling with the big boyz... :D ).

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 13th, 2009, 5:32 pm

Flex....lol

I have alegacy rear bumper if u want parts :D

De Bench

Postby De Bench » May 13th, 2009, 6:40 pm

jadakiss wrote:I had a mazda 6 as a company car...failure of a car really..heavy...slow..cheap interior..

the plain bold truth right there folks!!!

De Hero

Postby De Hero » May 13th, 2009, 9:39 pm

Now I know I am missing the mark a bit but hear me out - right now there is a legacy turbo wagon for sale by a reputable tuner for 135K.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... c&&start=0

I know that for the younger crowd a wagon might seem like an old man ride - but trust me ther are plenty advantages to a wagon.

-Large bulky loads fit right in the large hatch door
-If you like your music - sub woofers work much much better in a wagon.
-If those rear seats can fold down (not sure about the legacy) you have a huge storage area for that occasonal airport run
-For the most part a wagon can do everything a sedan can do, but the reverse is not necessarily true.
-And on resale you might find the wagon holding its value better.
-Your insurance on a wagon may be a little lower - even though its a turbo car

And last but not least I personally kinda like the legacy wagon shape.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 13th, 2009, 10:00 pm

how did u help the topic?

Banzai1

Postby Banzai1 » May 13th, 2009, 10:48 pm

It's what makes a subaru a subaru....... :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

No comparison.

Postby bushwakka » May 14th, 2009, 3:41 pm

prefer legacy

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » May 14th, 2009, 4:06 pm

De Hero, u have to understand sumting fadda....d mere fact that the guy said his "friend" is looking at a mazda 6 means that his pockets aint all that deep...so even considering a turbo legacy wagon is out of the question for him IMO

the wagon is identical to the sedan mech etc but dont get fooled by the 135K price tag..personally insurance is very hefty cuz its SUBARU..most companies refusing to insure it. trust me i kno :mrgreen:

also the cost of maintence and parts is relatively higher than most cars..jus ask b18b_turbo lol

again i say he shud go with a toyota corolla :mrgreen:

Mazda 6 = hot mess
Legacy N/A= is not as satisfying as the GT. may was well save a 20-30K more and go turbo

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 14th, 2009, 8:14 pm

well said there jadakiss

my first car was a Toyota Corolla, AE101 at that...

then civic, then altezza now LGT...graduating in steps :D

IMHO the new VTI 1.8 civic and Corollas are the best cars on the road brand new locally for the price/longevity, economical, speed, maitenence ratio

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » May 14th, 2009, 8:47 pm

b18b_turbo, how old are u dude? u owned quite abit of cars there man..dont tell me ur 25 eh..i go feel shame lol

i always loved the altezza..the 4cylinder beams tuned engine runs like a beytach!

but i was abit concerned abt parts n whatnot...

Conrad

Postby Conrad » May 14th, 2009, 9:02 pm

Toyotas don't need parts. They need oil changes and gas. :|

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 14th, 2009, 9:06 pm

jadakiss wrote:dont tell me ur 25 eh..

lol...not even

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 15th, 2009, 7:08 am

Mazda 6 = hot mess

The older 2.3 V6 was pretty darn good IMHO. Loved the look also.......a car I'd definitely want in my garage at some point.

The 2.0 was a bit down on hp, but so is the Legacy N/A.....150-160 hp feels lack lustre in a car of that weight.... (M6 might be a bit better in performance in terms of whp in this respect).

:?

The best way is for the buyer to take a drive, or at least SIT in both and see which he likes. He can't form an opinion based on OTHER people's preferences.......

AS for parts, Subaru parts might be easier to get..... I've sourced parts for dad's Legacy (n/a as well) through the firm pretty easily. Southern sales on the other hand is known to be troublesome at times when getting parts.

Basically we're going back and forth about which car would be a better purchase for a young, first time car buyer

First time car buyer?

Don't limit yourself to a granny-mobile like a Corolla cuz yuh "green". Consider an Altezza, or the new model Civic (if yuh wanna get a new car)........

....but definitely a 1.5 Honda Fit (manual). I've always loved those......I priced a RORO on Japan auction for around 6700 USD (2005 IIRC) 1.5 iVTEC........so that could cost anywhere from 65-95K (not sure how much dealers call for it) :oops: :lol: It's that good.......and there's a reason why the faceliftd 1.5 made Motortrend's top ten picks for car of the year recently 8-)

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » May 15th, 2009, 11:02 am

id say the legacy
prefer that over a mazda...

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 15th, 2009, 11:04 am

the only mazda car that gained any respect was the 3rd gen ;)

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » May 15th, 2009, 11:08 am

^^^^ exactly

shocking that i actually find a rotary intresting though
hmm 3rd gen...good stuff :wink:

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 15th, 2009, 11:17 am

hmmm...so the lil girl know something.... :P

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » May 15th, 2009, 11:30 am

wtf
:? :? :?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 15th, 2009, 11:31 am

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » May 15th, 2009, 11:06 pm

dude if ur fren looking to get a car ..holla at me. i cud show him/her how to bring it in himself..wud save u about ah 40K.

saved me tons of cash on my legacy gt :mrgreen:

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 15th, 2009, 11:50 pm

jadakiss wrote:dude if ur fren looking to get a car ..holla at me. i cud show him/her how to bring it in himself..wud save u about ah 40K.

saved me tons of cash on my legacy gt :mrgreen:

and now u saying this? :(

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » May 15th, 2009, 11:53 pm

hmmmm oh really... :twisted:

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » May 16th, 2009, 2:28 am

b18b_turbo, well u got urs already homie so u kno :mrgreen:

But yea i brought in mines and damn..i was shocked..at least 45K cheaper than buying by say crism or bess motors..soo hey im a happy camper :lol:

honestly them guys at crism whey too overpriced..selling 2004 singapore models for like 180K...well i priced it shipping and licensed on the road in trinidad and it wud cost about 100K...i was like damn

JDM's are abit higher tho..but not by much. :mrgreen:

Flex030

Postby Flex030 » May 16th, 2009, 10:07 am

^^^^^^^^We will need to meet pretty soon buddy..... :mrgreen:

Postby Razkal » May 16th, 2009, 10:44 am

How can y'all compare the lower-end mazda 6's with the dime-a-dozen LGTs running around T&T??
How many properly equipped 6s have y'all driven?

For a first time driver: I'd buy NONE. Purchase a NZE corolla, get the 1.8 version, some nice comps/coaxs and some nice wheels, and you'll have yourself a pretty decent ride that calls for next to nothing in maintenance....and some cash in hand still. :idea:

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » May 16th, 2009, 3:30 pm

Razkal, u make a good point..1.8 corolla is the shiznit. my old uwi teacher had one..beastly ride. parts preety pricey on the corolla...dont be fooled man..corolla is quality sh*t u kno ! :lol:

But the legacy wud get him more girls tho hehe...well unless the 'friend' is a girl..then umm....the girls she attracts , she can jus send them to me :mrgreen:

FLEX when ever u ready nah jus holla.

Personally im not trying to make any dealer rich..cuz there are dealers charging 195-200k for a 2006 upwards LGT and u seeing that the price in japan is only $12,000 USD landed in port of spain! It makes u wonder ..hey man...isnt that robbery w/violence lol

just my $0.02 peeps

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 16th, 2009, 7:03 pm

Razkal, u make a good point..1.8 corolla is the shiznit. my old uwi teacher had one..beastly ride. parts preety pricey on the corolla...dont be fooled man..corolla is quality sh*t u kno !

WHICH 1.8.

Some of them (RORO and new) come with the 1ZZ-FE 1.8L @ 140 hp. Not bad.

But others (fielder wagon Z-tourers or something) come with the 2ZZ-GE 1.8....which is @190 hp.

THat.....would be a great daily drive IMHO.

Return to “SUBARU”