Looking for Buttermilk

urabus

Looking for Buttermilk

Postby urabus » June 17th, 2009, 12:12 pm

where can i get buttermilk to buy in trinidad?

I love some of the stuff made on foodnetwork channel and some of the recipes entail the use of this hard-to-locate ingredient, so if anyone could help me out, it would be nice.

thanks! :lol:

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » June 17th, 2009, 12:16 pm

tru value long circular mall...
buttermilk is really watery yogurt... just add some water to some plain natural yogurt & shake... & u got buttermilk.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2009, 12:18 pm

^ Trincity Mall tru value has too

somehow it dont taste as good as i thought - dunno if its the brand that they carry
try peppercorns too

Food Network have real plenty ppl lookin for buttermilk - lol

Postby A172 » June 17th, 2009, 12:19 pm

got some buttermilk here for you.....

Oleander

Postby Oleander » June 17th, 2009, 12:20 pm

add 2 tbsps lime juice to 1 cup of milk and leave it to sit for about 15-30 mins.
That is a substitute for buttermilk.
I have used it many times in recipes that required buttermilk some of those recpies were from food network also and it always worked well.

G-T

Postby G-T » June 17th, 2009, 12:22 pm

^that is correct u can make ur own..

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » June 17th, 2009, 12:32 pm

i've never cooked anything with buttermilk... i just drink it lol

urabus

Postby urabus » June 17th, 2009, 12:33 pm

thanks Mrs Peanut Punch.

yeah Oleander thanks too, i saw that recipe online, but....i dont wah no sub, i want the real deal :shock:

Foxy

Postby Foxy » June 17th, 2009, 12:33 pm

there is a new brand "yummo" in hilo that is affordable and locally made

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » June 17th, 2009, 12:56 pm

^was going to post that. Hilo in Gulf City had about 3 weeks ago.

Usually use the lime in milk and it works fine. Even milk alone works fine, texture wise, but acid wise, you would have to use baking powder, instead of baking soda as leavening.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 17th, 2009, 1:00 pm

if I knew u i'd give you some my anut made like 2 liters of the stuff and its just there in my deep freeze :|

try truvalu next to the uwi field station milk :|

Mrs P omg I drank some of tht without any ginger in it WTF i thought i woulda dead :shock: after tht i nuked it with a banana yes ..

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » June 17th, 2009, 1:03 pm

eurogirl, lol i like yogurt & yogurt stuff... it's not everyones cup of tea tho' lol

i see u r more the kofta & baklawa kinda gal lol :mrgreen:

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 17th, 2009, 1:10 pm

I like it yes I mean while I was in school all i coulda eat during exams sometimes was a pint of yougurt ( I think i gave Mt st bede their finacial boost to be so popular)

but my anut made it to cook with and i reall thinking i could drink it ..

omg kofta!!!!!!!!! , I crave tht yes ..

I make baklawa , but i'm not so keen on it i like the other type with the rasins and angel hair pasta .

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » June 17th, 2009, 1:20 pm

steups wah buttermilk allyuh torkin bout, allyuh could make roti?? :lol:

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » June 17th, 2009, 1:41 pm

Instead of going through lengths to purchase buttermilk or any other foreign ingredients that is used to create the dish, use a substitute to make it will taste de same way even better.

Trinidad is bring down a set of low grade goods, so basically we will get the cheapo version of buttermilk infact any foreign based food stuff.

Postby honda hoe » June 17th, 2009, 1:51 pm

equal2zero wrote:steups wah buttermilk allyuh torkin bout, allyuh could make roti?? :lol:

[/ched]

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 17th, 2009, 1:55 pm

heh..

add scotch......Butterscotch!

urabus

Postby urabus » June 17th, 2009, 1:56 pm

equal2zero wrote:steups wah buttermilk allyuh torkin bout, allyuh could make roti?? :lol:
yeah i cud make any kind u want, sadah, dhalpourie, buss-of-shot..

Postby M_2NR » June 17th, 2009, 1:57 pm

talking about buttermilk... it eh remind ulyuh ah this:
:oops: :oops:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 17th, 2009, 2:01 pm

cute corolla,

Dosti?

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » June 17th, 2009, 3:14 pm

hilo in Marabella Have

Postby bluesteel29 » June 17th, 2009, 4:43 pm

cute corolla wrote:
yeah i cud make any kind u want, sadah, dhalpourie, buss-of-shot..

so when i gonna get ah tasting of this exquisite indian meal ???

eurogirl wrote:if I knew u i'd give you some my anut made like 2 liters of the stuff and its just there in my deep freeze :|

why u so selfish.....i dont know u but i would give u buttermilk if u needed :lol:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 17th, 2009, 4:45 pm

I've seen buttermilk selling in Naipaul's Xtra Foods in Grand Bazaar, right next to the eggs.

DirectPortNitrous

Postby DirectPortNitrous » June 17th, 2009, 4:50 pm

does that DIY recipe taste the same as????

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2009, 5:30 pm

why dont you tell us what you making so maybe you can get some tips
is it fried chicken ?

Postby Rainman » June 17th, 2009, 5:34 pm

buss-of-shot..

i thought it was buss-up shot :|