MAZTUNE's FC3S RX-7 build

MAZDA People United - it continues here

MAZTUNE

MAZTUNE's FC3S RX-7 build

Postby MAZTUNE » July 18th, 2009, 11:54 am

Hey ppl we decided to document our cars from the beginning to end so this is my very own 1988 FC3S RX-7 from when i bought it back in July 2007 Yes bought the car from Safeq here on tuner. I have to give this guy props, he held this car for me for over 6 months until i could save enough money to buy it! i dont think i know anybody that would do that. Dont worry Safeq your kind will be returned.

Well i got the car automatic with a bussed engine, tranny, so it had some work to be done. An Apex broke in the rear rotor and took the whole engine with it LOL.

But before i bought the car i had a 1986 Series 4 front clip in our may 2006 shipment and swapped the entire motor into it. EVERYTHING was swapped including a Series 5 front subframe and converted the car to manual transmission. The car was basically a series 4 so it was a simple electrical swap. In terms of weight, I got an aluminium bonnet, removed all AC, backseat and wel its manual now, so dropped the overall weight from 2900, to 2750lbs! this is averages eh with a bath room scale LOL.

So in a week we had the engine starting BUT on one rotor!!!! it looked like a sticking injector so pulled down the top hatch and replaced them with Series 4 1988 High Imp red injectors taking out my 1986 low Imp cream injectors. (this is going to cause a prob in 2008) Next straight to Specialist Muffler 2001 for a single exhaust runout, i did not like the twin exhaust, sold the two barrels.

Could not handle the chromy 16" wheels so sold them to a 280C taxi man and I had to get some wheels so i upped for some R32 GTS Skyline 16" stock wheels but they were really thin, maybe 6.5" width with a 205/55 tire, not the greatest thing for a 2nd gen RX-7.

Now rem my car originally was an automatic so it came standard with a 3.9 clutch type LSD. not so great for acceleration so i got my hands on a Helical Series 5 4.1 diff from the 1992 only 4th generation Special Edition FC3S Rx-7. supposed to be the strongest stock LSD available.
Last edited by MAZTUNE on January 18th, 2012, 10:40 pm, edited 10 times in total.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » July 18th, 2009, 9:29 pm

16.8? ent this car used to get 14's passes?

Zorak

Postby Zorak » July 18th, 2009, 10:45 pm

niceness! all the rx guys should do this!
lemme live vicariously through allyuh for now :lol:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 18th, 2009, 11:05 pm

southside crew wrote:16.8? ent this car used to get 14's passes?

ahha it did start off at 16.8 rem ppl driving skill is 1 sec. ent southside d fastest shifter in d west. at d end of d race season was 14.5 with bad mounts and leaking boost. 14.5 on 0psi not bad LOL

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 18th, 2009, 11:07 pm

that post is going to be editing constantly, its over 2 years of this build

Safeq

Postby Safeq » July 18th, 2009, 11:13 pm

Yeah Maztune it was 2007, but I think it was late July you bought it.

I'm glad I met the mazda crew and learnt a lot of stuff...knew little when I got it...I just knew I liked rotary and wanted to learn...hence the blown seal etc...

If it wasn't for you guys I'd have turned sour on rotary really...was very hard to get info when I now started...but I know more now...

I'm glad you started this thread ...will help a lot of people...

I'm looking for the twins and the RE...

You have more pics of the process btw?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 18th, 2009, 11:27 pm

Woot ! woot ! nice read hun :D

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 18th, 2009, 11:44 pm

hmm its now jan 2008 burn out the stock clutch, shocks buss, well money low, so put in a stage one Exedy Stage 1 clutch and PP and some used KYB GAB adjustable shock and spring combo. So on the Drag strip! ran a terrible time of 16.8 with a terrible reaction time and granny shifting.

At this time i got rid of the ever creeping Series 4 turbo and installed a Series 5 turbo and manifold which has better boost response and stronger wastegate actuator.

As the year progressed got a deal on some WRC Tarmac EVO's so traded up the skyline wheels for these sweet 17 x 8 white wheels.

Also bun out that Exedy clutch and on to an ACT 4-puck copper clutch kit. After fedup of putting ice on the top mounted intercooler that is prone to heat soak, i opped for the Corksport intercooler 24" x 12" x 3" kit. Its a big sucker..This includes all piping with a K&N filter BUT its for a FC3S with AC removal which was perfect for me. it felt like i instantly bolted another turbo sending me into 14 sec. This is not my car (silly me forgot to take pics) but this is what it looks like.
Note the piping passes where the AC compressor supposed to be.

So browsing though the bamboo a day and spotted a Kakimoto full 3" mandrilled bent exhaust minus the downpipe so i fitted this onto the car and got that healthy LOUD rotary sound. Specialist fitted a custom downpipe and i was orn!

Also a nice Cusco rear strut tower brace that i needed to buss a hole into the rear shock tower to fit.
Last edited by MAZTUNE on July 21st, 2009, 2:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 18th, 2009, 11:46 pm

Safeq wrote:Yeah Maztune it was 2007, but I think it was late July you bought it.

I'm glad I met the mazda crew and learnt a lot of stuff...knew little when I got it...I just knew I liked rotary and wanted to learn...hence the blown seal etc...

If it wasn't for you guys I'd have turned sour on rotary really...was very hard to get info when I now started...but I know more now...

I'm glad you started this thread ...will help a lot of people...

I'm looking for the twins and the RE...

You have more pics of the process btw?

hmm will edit it, will put up more pics if i find them. hahha ppl will love d bit how to get rid of the speed cut and ppl buy all kinda HKS SLD LOL

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 19th, 2009, 12:00 am

Hmm well on the later half of 2008, no more girl friend due to excessive racing so all money and efforts sent directly into the cars.

The engine was leaning bad so i did a walbro 255 FC3S RX-7 pump upgrade i got from BCR Ltd. This is a direct kit, cant go wrong for $900.00

I was slowly coming to the realization dat you cant get an aftermarket ECU for the series 4 RX-7 so i started to panic looking at options for upgrading fuel, timing and removing my cuts. So i e-mailed RHDjapan for advice and found out the Greddy E-manage Blue works for the Series 4 so i got a new one at a decent price at $1500 without harnesses so installed it fuel only for the time being.

The FC was still leaning!!!. After the pump and the E-manage so started to research the engines, found that the 86-87 Series 4 carries 2ohm injectors with a injector resistor box to bring it up to high at the ECU. Rem those 1988 inj i put in in 2007?? they and the resistor box sent the impedence to a crazy 20-something ohms!! which means they opened less causing the lean condition so changed back to 2ohms and instant power, like dropping on a 50shot NOS!!!

BUT all the cuts was still there. The Series 4 boost cut comes in at 6.7 psi and the speed cut is 185km . To remove the Boost/fuel cut I installed a HKS FCD with the appropriate settings BUT please note! the wire on the HKS wiring is WRONG! i dunno why but it was, go by the N318 MAP sensor located on your right front shock tower and locate the wire. i will get the code and put it up later. take a meter and test for continuity for this wire by the ECU. The speed cut is much easier, go behind the instrument cluster and remove the SCREW marked 180K DATS IT!!!! no more speed cut! as you there one time u can remove dat irritiating buzzer that comes on after 100KM by removing the screw marked 100K. :D :D
Last edited by MAZTUNE on July 24th, 2009, 5:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 19th, 2009, 12:01 am

eurogirl wrote:Woot ! woot ! nice read hun :D

tanks sai! :D

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 19th, 2009, 6:45 pm

MAZTUNE wrote:Hmm well on the later half of 2008, no more girl friend due to excessive racing so all money and efforts sent directly into the cars. So i did a walbro 255 FC3S RX-7 pump upgrade i got from BCR Ltd. This is a direct kit, cant go wrong for $900.00

more pics :D

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 20th, 2009, 7:39 am

eurogirl wrote:
MAZTUNE wrote:Hmm well on the later half of 2008, no more girl friend due to excessive racing so all money and efforts sent directly into the cars. So i did a walbro 255 FC3S RX-7 pump upgrade i got from BCR Ltd. This is a direct kit, cant go wrong for $900.00

just now nah, some of them i have to take out, and some i have to find. it have so much to write up to

Glitch

Postby Glitch » July 20th, 2009, 7:57 am

Good going MAZTUNE,

so hear nah...that screw fix..will it work on the 3rd gen?...lol

Computerman

Postby Computerman » July 20th, 2009, 8:22 am

MAZTUNE wrote:it have so much to write up to
You up before 8am!! Dis is de only thing could get you up so early! :lol:

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 20th, 2009, 3:58 pm

MAZTUNE wrote:
eurogirl wrote:

just now nah, some of them i have to take out, and some i have to find. it have so much to write up to

tell me if u need help ..

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » July 20th, 2009, 4:27 pm

once again you've done it keep up the good work you have been to the mountain of the mazda gods and come back with much knowledge keep us enlightened oh learned mazda prophet

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 20th, 2009, 4:28 pm

Glitch wrote:Good going MAZTUNE,

so hear nah...that screw fix..will it work on the 3rd gen?...lol

HAHA nah i wish!!! allyuh own is fully electronic, HKS SLD, performance ECU or Power FC for u yes!

4 Eyes

Postby 4 Eyes » July 21st, 2009, 10:18 am

Great build man...very intresting, keep it up!!

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 21st, 2009, 3:19 pm

Ok ppls! are you sitting down with your popcorn?? haha so got the car working good, finished the drag racing season in Oct 2008 best time 14.5sec, fixed all my boost problems and changed my engine mounts so no boost leaks anymore, but no track to test without boost problems :( :(

So its now the end of 2008, time to concentrate on braking and suspension. For Brakes i ordered in some Hawk HPS brake pads for the stock rotors. The front cost $650.00 and rear $600.00 Instant difference, i was amazed for that simple upgrade for all that stopping power.

Also brought in a Protane Full bushing kit for the front cradles, lower sway bars, rear cradles, rear sway bars. Did not finishing installing it yet :oops: :oops: due to bussed diff mounts so decided order in some mazdaspeed diff mounts and drop d entire rear axle and do everything in the back there.

Last edited by MAZTUNE on January 6th, 2010, 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » July 23rd, 2009, 11:11 am

I'm really enjoying this thread...

Very insightful...

Shio

Postby Shio » July 24th, 2009, 12:21 pm

nice build up
appreciating the info :P
Last edited by Shio on July 27th, 2009, 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 24th, 2009, 4:37 pm

hmm i dunno man this was from a friend who brought it in from the US. You can check tuner imports.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 24th, 2009, 4:46 pm

well its now 2009... I got a set of RE Amemiya wing mirrors from a set of foreign used doors we had in stock.

i found a guy with a racing driver RECARO seat with BRIDE seat rails esp for the FC3S-RX-7 but he refused to sell so i got a 3rd gen RX-7 RECARO version and traded him. HAHA it was all MINE!!! :evil: :evil: the seat rails comes fixed for that driver alone so me and my bro took an hr and adjusted to our height and for clutch adjustment so anybody want to drive the car have to be 5' 9" :D :D

then in May 2009 in the ARA swap meet got a sweet deal on a Megan Racing 4-point harness for the seat and also an Autometer shift light with 7000RPM pill for $500.00. This shift light complimented my Autometer Sport Comp Boost/Vacuum and Air/Fuel Guage i already had. I put it where the A/C vents was because i had no AC so why waste the space!! Got the Boost from Safeq for $350.00 and the Air Fuel from BCR for $550.00

Now here is the thing, this is a mechanical boost guage so just take the lylon air line and run it to a direct vacuum source on the intake manifold. DO NOT take it of the air pump vacuum lines you will get a wrong psi. The Recirculating valve or MAP sensor line is good. hook up the light from any park light source i used the one by the cigarette lighter.

The Air/Fuel is easy, the Series4 / Series 5 13BT engine comes with a single black wire oxygen sensor so you can splice into that wire in the engine bay BUT if u dont want to go in the engine area due to heat, u can check for continuity with a multi meter and find this same wire by the ECU.

For the shift light you have to find the tach wire from the leading coil so using the E-Manage wiring manual. hook up an ignition source and ground and yuh orn!!!
MA-6 is 89-91 Series 5 FC3S RX-7 and MA-8 is 86-88 Series 4 FC3S RX-7

these diagrams will help u find the leading coil tach wire.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » July 30th, 2009, 7:30 am

Munching popcorn...

Waiting for the commercials to finish and the movie to continue...

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 30th, 2009, 9:03 am

haha suspension next!! just waiting for it to clear from d skybox!!

Safeq

Postby Safeq » July 30th, 2009, 9:19 am

Coolness...

waiting patiently...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 30th, 2009, 10:40 am

man giving me inspiration to get a 3rd gen yes!

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 30th, 2009, 3:50 pm

haha dats good man. doh worry we does real study these cars so if u ever have issues we will sort yuh out.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 30th, 2009, 9:57 pm

this is de car u wanted me to drive ?
:| :| :|

Return to “MAZDA”