Tyre Decision: Which to Buy? Pros & Cons...URGENT!!

VW_Exec

Tyre Decision: Which to Buy? Pros & Cons...URGENT!!

Postby VW_Exec » May 3rd, 2004, 8:23 pm

thanks to all the tuners who i bothered today for more info on shoes for my wagon...and ive come down to 3 choices more or less...

1. Cooper Zeon 2XS 280 tw AA traction A treadware...W rated ($675/tyre)

http://www.coopertire.com/us/en/Product ... ger&id=223

2. Kumho Ecsta (Dont kno which type...280 tw AA traction A temp H rated ($600/tyre)

3. Dunlop SP 9000 .....280 tw AA traction A temp ZR rated ($440/tyre)

the first two are from Mileage Mack and im leaning there because of their excellent reputation and service over the years...their products are always top of the line and long lasting...
but i also like the dunlops and Nexxens...unfortunately, the nexxens are not available where i would have liked to get them and i heard the 15" version comes H-rated unlike the 17" and up...

im PRIMARILY concerned with WET road traction and treadware (with respect to a moderate wear rate)...DRY road traction is not that important as the manual tranny will heat up any frickin tyre sufficiently....
SECONDARY would be sidewall strength and durability and wear pattern...(uneven etc) ....connected to this would be the sort of load/speed the tyres can take and how they respond to aggressive handling and cornering...

so folks..what do u think..any experience with any?
i need some response by tonight/early morning cause purchase will be made sometime tomorrow and i want to make a wise investment...

thank you

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 3rd, 2004, 9:09 pm

Where are you getting Dunlop SP 9000 for $440 ah tyre? I too am interested in those.

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » May 3rd, 2004, 9:59 pm

That price for Dunlop SP 9000 .....280 tw AA traction A temp ZR rated ($440/tyre), sounding fishy to me (I may be wrong). I wonder if they are genuine ? Check tirerack.com, I believe the Dunlop's are more expensive than the Kumhos'. I have used the Kumho Ecsta Supra 712 tyres & I preferred them to the much more expensive Toyo Proxes.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 3rd, 2004, 10:57 pm

khumo 712's boy......those things are pretty sticky...saved my life already...but I remember just last month I guy who I dealt with in laughlin and degannes told me that he had 712's for 2000

trini_baba

Postby trini_baba » May 3rd, 2004, 11:29 pm

yeah I would go with the kumho too...........

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » May 4th, 2004, 1:21 am

hehehehehehe TOYO Proxes TS-1 Sorry I just love that tyre. Good Water traction and dry.... as long as you keep it aligned and cambered... the tyre lasts very long... takes some good licks too. Have on a set for just about a year now. Oh and it corners pretty well too.
The only set back... $700+ per tyre

ZORT

Postby ZORT » May 4th, 2004, 7:12 am

KUMO 712's in 15's that are 340 treadwear is sheit changed to the sp 9000 and luving it.

JWT

Postby JWT » May 4th, 2004, 8:52 am

sp 9000 that is a much better tyre ran dunlop in the primera and loved it

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » May 4th, 2004, 9:01 am

Anybody have experience with Hankook Ventus? I just ordered 4 for the wagon, 195/50-15. Have Falken 512 I think it is, on the civic.

ziig

Postby ziig » May 4th, 2004, 9:44 am

falken are good used them on my 2nd gen 7 lasted ages and stuck....michelin pilots are the bomb too man......i forgot the series now but the pilots last long and stick like glue

Postby crazybalhead » May 4th, 2004, 10:52 am

I runnin the 712 ecsta ZR rated 280 threadware and they are very nice. I guess any 40 series tire would be pothole prone, I damaged two already, but I would still recommend them.

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » May 4th, 2004, 11:07 am

If memory serves correct we had the Hankook Ventus on theMegane.... 15's... the rubber is a hard compound excellent dry grip... wet driving... depending on your driving style can be a bit iffy especially when you are braking them in.

Mini

Postby Mini » May 4th, 2004, 5:15 pm

I have been running the SP9000's for 2 months now and am VERY pleased with them.

I paid $475 (before trade) for them, so the price you getting them at is quite good.

ZORT also using them too.

check 1010tires.com for reviews on the tires... that was my deciding factor.

I wanted the Kumho's, but dollar for dollar the Dunlop was a better buy... and I am not regretting the decision.

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » May 4th, 2004, 6:43 pm

Im running with Dunlop but Have seen many excellent reviews on Kumhos

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 5th, 2004, 1:44 am

thanks fellas...ah think ah decide on the Dunlop SP9000's
the kumho ecstas that mileage mack sellin are the H-rated i believe...and i havent really heard much bout them

as for the dealer:

no other than your own CIVICMINDED (brother's) :mrgreen: place....

excellent pricing there folks...Ramsaran Street, CHAGUANAS

thanks again for all the help!

8)

Sully

Postby Sully » May 5th, 2004, 8:59 am

^^ Are you still getting the Tuner discount?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 5th, 2004, 8:56 pm

as far as i kno...yes

:mrgreen:

ziig

Postby ziig » May 6th, 2004, 12:00 pm

i saw some dunlop 2020 on a benz any one know is these aree higher end or lower end tires?

Sully

Postby Sully » May 6th, 2004, 8:34 pm

^^ Check the dunlop site.
www.dunloptire.com

I would have checked, but the internet here is so damn slow.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 7th, 2004, 12:49 am

bought the DUNLOPS today...

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

doesnt the smile tell it all...?

feels like im driving on air...just lookin for some wet road boy...no puddles in san do today...lol

holdin the road a lil too well..cant get any more tyre chirp except if i launch hard...feels glued to the road...

GOOD STUFF people..thanks for all the advice...

8)

ZORT

Postby ZORT » May 7th, 2004, 8:46 am

What i tell ya :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: 280 AA ZR :arrow: :arrow: :mrgreen:

Mini

Postby Mini » May 7th, 2004, 8:59 am

just lookin for some wet road boy

you'll be suprised.... without the mud flaps in the rear... is rooster tails in the wet. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ... real nice to drive with.. I am very pleased with these tires.

I so pleased with the Dunlops, that I thinking bout running the 200 tw FM901's in solodex.... if I find the money

dry

Postby dry » May 7th, 2004, 9:04 am

who has em and how much? i looking for a set of 215/45/17 and 245/40/17

i need some traction... :D

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 7th, 2004, 9:07 pm

FOUND some wet road today!!!!!

me and civic minded decided to road test the NEXXEN and the DUNLOPS on a nice wet highway...lol

i wont lie...it felt like i was on dry road...i looked for all de puddles, watery areas and just blaze thru (yeh ah kno tha kinda chupid...but say what)

dat anti hydroplanin whaever thingy does work boy...cuz when brakes needed...car stoppin...not a miss...on top of tha...yuh only hearin de water and seein it along de car.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

GOOD STUFF!!..ah feel ah in love.... :lol:

ps: DRY...ah think civicminded brother had some 17's lying around the place ah eh kno de exact specs

MINI: I also saw some FM's in the place too...dont remember specs and prices people...call sase nah...he go organize yuh

phone#: 672 9064

he's also bringing in some neat stuff over the next month: gauges, aftermarket parts, quality fluids/engine stuff...check him out on Ramsarran Street, Chaguanas...right next to AMIN's Roti shop

HERE i go again...advertisin..lol...but fellas u kno ah does only refer good thing...if people treat meh right...ah cud only pass along de word..ah eh selfish! :mrgreen:

8)

Mini

Postby Mini » May 8th, 2004, 12:37 am

The FM's is the A traction, V rated, 200 tw Dunlop

dry you can get the 17's ... not sure what size though... in south by Moti... there's another tuner from vistabella with a charcoal grey evo VII who got his FM901's there too..

the number is 653-3124

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 8th, 2004, 12:44 am

i have d dunlop on my lancer an dey does hold rel good..i find the wear on the cooper kinda bad eh..doh misunderstand me the tire does rel hold on d rd but it does wear kinda bad...

Postby noshownogo » May 11th, 2004, 12:19 pm

was de price of the Dunlop SP9000 on a 15'' rim and the tire ratings locally? looking at possibly 205/50/15

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 11th, 2004, 1:05 pm

i have that an i paid $3200 for rims an tyres...i believe is $500 for one tyre...

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 11th, 2004, 4:49 pm

u can get the tyres with a 3NE 2NR discount for $440 a tyre :

205/50/ZR15

TRACTION: AA
TEMP: A
TREADWARE: 280

ZR - SPEED rated

V-pattern (anti hydro planin thing...)

check CIVICMINDED brother's place in chagauans..ramsarran street...and the place name isnt CIVICMINDED BROTHER'S PLACE eh...it have a # somewhere higher up in this post...

here..look it: phone#: 672 9064

sase also has some very nice rims and prices....u'll wanna check him for an all in one package of rims/tyres...

8)

Postby Dave » May 11th, 2004, 4:53 pm

and the place name isnt CIVICMINDED BROTHER'S PLACE eh

ah thought thas what u tell me once :lol: