L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
l200

L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby l200 » April 19th, 2009, 8:54 pm

L200 owners, well i have had a k34 for while now, an have never regret purchasing it. Just wanted to know what are your experience with your pick-up, (problems, defects etc). So far the only problem i have had is the steering pump leaking, and the steering box having a little play. The van is now 12 yrs old, and still has the original engine and has never had a body job. It is truly a work horse, an being a farmer it has never let me down, it does really take load, and fuel consumption is excellent. take a look......

post ur pics and feel free to comment on the topic......

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 21st, 2009, 2:17 pm

yeh they are great.... we got a 4x2 single cab and my uncle has one too...

both are used for pullin melon, pumpkin and ting from the garden...

prob wit ours rite now engine has a slight knock, calling for a rings job as its loosing power.

diesel burns great... filled 50$ went up about 3/4 tank. and it givin 220kms so far.. and the tank on a little more dan 1/4 rite now...

daz some good hard runs from charlieville to gasparillo on the highway (no load).

we had probs with the steering system.. pump went/was goin bad... and pressured up the box.. (somehow).. popped top seal off the steering box.. we changed seals numerous times, complete steering box kits too...

ah brilliant mechanic diagnosed the box was the prob, so ah went an buy one for 2000... bout 2 1/2 yrs ago.. only to realise was the pump. pump was changed.. and problem rectified...

we hav a lil play in this box rite now too.. but dont over adjust it... u;ll have to live with a little play..

we broke a spring leaf once .. pulling melon again.. but i dropped in a hole ras.. dat was strain..

it hav a man in sanjuan does handle up neting wit spring leafs...

wot we should have done was put a bigger bundle spring on both sides one time... gives the van more weight carrying capacity..

my uncles/s one has some big ass all terrain tyres in the back.. that alone increases the weight capacity.... and the engine pulls bout 2500-2700 lbs produce up hills in plum mitan /biche area...

yeh its overload, but it goes.....

oh word of advice, dont go playin the ass in the cane road behind camden heliport....
it does hav ole fridge and stove in the grass on the side of the road...
i was almost air borne and hit ah blasted stove on the front left... buss indicator and scratch brand new paint job along the whole side of the van lol.....dat was some yrs ago tho... dey fix up the roads bess.. u cud drift wit ease....

ask neone if dey ever see a green frontier kickin up dust in the back there lol.

brakes binding rite now.. but will be seeing bout that tomorrow... apparently the hand brakes tension too much and front flexible lines need changing...

so complete brakes service is due...

oh.. blasted alternator... was overcharging and damage a new battery. but got it rectified...

daz bout it for probems encountered....

good luck..

rite now

l200

Postby l200 » April 21st, 2009, 8:31 pm

Thanks cutthroatInt, so do you kno any good mechanics in central, i need someone to check out my front suspension. But as for the servicing, i do my own oil change and filter change,(every 4 months), redline fuel treatment every 3rd fill-up, the engine is still in excellent condition, but as soon as it start to give trouble......turbo engine going in it...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 22nd, 2009, 12:28 am

yeh.. i was thinking about putting a turbo engine if this one goes bad...

but if its just rings, i;ll do a rings job and call it off... these engines i was told carry liners.. my block good so jus change rings and liners and i good to go..

i kno a boss mechanic i can recommend to u.. he on Monroe road 7624850 Jim..

he does be kinda busy, so u can call and organize something.. but he does good work. tell him sayyid told u bout him.

there is this guy in california.. first garage on the left as u enter the road opp the california gas station.. he is a good man too.. again, u hav to check him and arrange a day to come in..

most mechanics going by appointments now yes...

tell me how it goes...

egas

Postby egas » April 22nd, 2009, 11:02 am

A buddy of mine had one of these.
It didn't take a much pressure as cutthroatInt L200 as is was mainly used to transport truck tyres and barrels of diesel.

I can however vouch for the power of these vans! We once towed a truck loaded with sand out of St. Joseph Village to Palmyria.

Looking like you have the van in condition. Nice. Hope get through with your repairs.

l200

Postby l200 » April 22nd, 2009, 8:27 pm

Thanks fellas

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 23rd, 2009, 1:29 pm

cutthroatInt wrote:oh word of advice, dont go playin the ass in the cane road behind camden heliport....
it does hav ole fridge and stove in the grass on the side of the road...
i was almost air borne and hit ah blasted stove on the front left... buss indicator and scratch brand new paint job

cutthroatInt,lol! you nutz yes,mine still down,need to change water pump,and turbo needs rebuilding :lol:

egas wrote:I can however vouch for the power of these vans! We once towed a truck loaded with sand out of St. Joseph Village to Palmyria.

correct is right,we pulled one of our 12yd Nissan dumper out from a incline loaded with Pitrun,took a few goes at it,but eventually got it out,this was with a 4x2 turbo btw eh 8-)

venum

Postby venum » April 23rd, 2009, 10:21 pm

2003 K74T owner

had teh truck a lil over 1 year now and have done a lot with her

these are great trucks, I have had a lot of fun with mine (her name is Elle)

teh K34, like those owned by ru$$ell, cutthroatInt and egas' pardna and teh K74 are not that different

many mechanical and suspension parts are the same

different chassis and body shape, but basically teh same engine - the vaunted and venerable 4D56 in forced induction and naturally aspirated versions

engine and suspension parts are easy to find, I get a lot from Ramai's Auto Supplies in Vistabella and quite affordable

i use pretty much everything aftermarket, except for the low $$$ stuff from Diamond motors, such as seals and an A/C belt

did teh 100,000km service on mine teh other day and went totally aftermarket

the interior of teh K34 isn't too luxurious or as comfortable as the K74's but was good for teh era that they were produced

teh ride in teh K74 is nice, once you maintain the stock suspension, i.e. no big rims etc

4 wheeling in teh turbo and N/A K34's and N/A K74's is easier than teh turbo K74 as they do not have free-wheeling hubs

but they are quite capable off-road even though they have 2 open diffs, it takes some doing to get them stuck (which never happened to me yet)

cutthroatInt

l200

Postby cutthroatInt » April 24th, 2009, 5:21 pm

venum wrote:
but they are quite capable off-road even though they have 2 open diffs, it takes some doing to get them stuck (which never happened to me yet)

tru dat..

i have some brethrens in NGC.. dey does REALLY test drive all the 4x4 pickups on the market.. except the auto vigo, and triton.

lol. u want any advice on handling and performance of any other van? check ah ngc man.

i hope their GM doh be on tuner yes..!

l200

Postby l200 » May 12th, 2009, 10:51 pm

Hi guys, I changed oil this weekend, and it starting to leak by the stop cork..........any advise on stopping the leak????

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 12th, 2009, 11:02 pm

brass washer prob fell out when u was going back up. or dirty and need cleaning or damaged and need changing. lets hope u didnt strip the threads on the pan... its really thin. this happened to me once. had to change the whole pan. but u can weld a nut to the pan (mig weld) and get a bolt for the nut to act as ur new drain plug

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 12th, 2009, 11:04 pm

anybody hav a spare set of 4d56 non turbo injectors? for the TBD model l200? or even injector tips in good condition?

venum

Postby venum » May 13th, 2009, 8:38 am

l200 wrote:Hi guys, I changed oil this weekend, and it starting to leak by the stop cork..........any advise on stopping the leak????

get a crush washer and use it on teh sump pan drain plug

if u did damage teh threading on teh sump pan

it can be repaired by cutting new threading in the sump

l200

Postby l200 » May 14th, 2009, 10:09 pm

Thanks guys, venum, were can I get the crush washer??? The threads are not damaged, the bolt was tightened to normal tightness.........cutthroatInt, ah have a friend with a engine on de ground, I'll check him Saturday, and let you kno,........... the engine head damage when the timing belt burst, so i'll let you know if he willing to scrap it.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 15th, 2009, 11:23 am

thanks

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 15th, 2009, 11:23 am

thanks

cutthroatInt

tips

Postby cutthroatInt » May 17th, 2009, 10:49 am

l200 wrote:Thanks guys, venum, were can I get the crush washer??? The threads are not damaged, the bolt was tightened to normal tightness.........cutthroatInt, ah have a friend with a engine on de ground, I'll check him Saturday, and let you kno,........... the engine head damage when the timing belt burst, so i'll let you know if he willing to scrap it.
what is the word on the injectors,? Its non turbo ok. I dropped mines to service over a week now. And i cant seem to get it back as yet. Is one set of run around. And the man not answering his phone and he never home. And when he home he never hav it on him. Allyuh ah frustrated with this sheit! I dont want to jump to conclusions. But need the vehicle driving. .

l200

Postby l200 » May 17th, 2009, 4:34 pm

Hey cutthroatInt, it is a non turbo, but the guy said that he re-building, so he don't want to part with it. Try the DIESEL SPECIALIST, he might have parts......656-3154....... he is the guy that repairs all makes of diesel injection systems, in table land.......But I'll keep my eyes open, if I come across any, you will be the first to know......

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 17th, 2009, 9:00 pm

^ finally got back the injectors. All serviced and shiney. And what a difference it makes. Engine idleing quieter with less vibration. Only thing i didn't torque down number 2 injector enough. Have to tackle that tomorrow. Ru$$le, wey yuh dey? Ah feel like i could run down that turbo you have there. :-) Big up to TC

venum

Postby venum » May 17th, 2009, 10:35 pm

l200 wrote:Thanks guys, venum, were can I get the crush washer???

most parts places should have, if no DM

they usually very cheap

l200 wrote:the engine head damage when the timing belt burst, so i'll let you know if he willing to scrap it.[/size]

if teh head damage, that engine only good for parts and teh block

good to keep for parts

l200

Postby l200 » June 25th, 2009, 8:18 pm

Hi guys, I was having a bit of trouble starting on mornings, and thought it was the glow plugs, only to carry my van for a check up and found out that my battery was starting to fail. now it was still starting the van, but it was turning over too slow. The battery just couldn't handle the load, so i purchased a 1100 cranking amps deep cycle, battery, an it wukkin. Didn't have to change my plugs, so next time you have problems do a load test on your battery.

I have also found a former DM technician, that does great work at a great price, so my search for a good mechanic is over.

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » July 21st, 2009, 1:05 pm

l200
were this mechanic located,let me get ah hook up nah bro,u say great mech and nice price

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 21st, 2009, 1:26 pm

4x2 Tbd model l200 front shocks and upper call joints were changed. Started hearing a knocking sound after. Seems like the ball joints were either wrongly or improperly installed or for the wrong application. The shocks also after driving, any depression in the road the chassis hits the buffer rubber. Apparently the shocks were shorter than the original. We didnt go by the regular mechanic this time and he didnt compare with the old ones. But after buyin the parts from special auto in petite bourge i wud assume i could give meh brother them to go to any mechanic to change them. Stevpes. The knock coming from both sides now. So whole front end have to pull down again!

l200

Postby l200 » July 27th, 2009, 9:28 pm

Hi Slimklim, my new mech is from Las Lomas, was recommended by another l200 owner, i will get his number and post it up tomorrow, did some seal work and he was able to link me up wit a spare power steering pump for $150, and thats cheap, a pump is $800 foreign used.

hi cutthroatInt, sorry to hear abt the van, I had checked DM some time ago and was told that they don't sell the upper ball joint alone but the entire upper cradle, complete wit bushings, can't remember the price, but once it is a local mitsu. you get 15% off the price. I purchased all the front engine seals and belts, and also my clutch seals (master and slave cylinders). Will be doing all my fluids next week, and servicing of my fuel pump and injectors by late august. Hope you get through
Last edited by l200 on August 2nd, 2009, 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Postby venum » July 28th, 2009, 10:42 am

l200 wrote:wit bushings, can't remember the price, but once it is a local L200 you get 15% off the price.

any local mitsu gets you 15% off i believe

l200

Postby l200 » July 29th, 2009, 11:24 pm

Thanks venum, change made, abt the mechanic, pm me for his number.
Last edited by l200 on August 2nd, 2009, 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Postby venum » July 30th, 2009, 9:11 am

saw a bag on Ebay

had like 50

Postby wagon r » August 2nd, 2009, 1:11 pm

^ the bump stop for the steering needs greasing.....

l200

Postby l200 » August 2nd, 2009, 2:00 pm

venum wrote:

saw a bag on Ebay

had like 50

thanks, was able to get a brass washer at a parts place in couva, not sure if it would work but will try it weekend, when i change out all my oils.

l200

Postby l200 » August 2nd, 2009, 2:28 pm

Hi speedaholic, all that is needed basically is regular oil changes, if you never changed your timing belt do it as soon as possible, because it is foreign used, and you don't hav a history of the engine. A fuel treatment every 3 - 4 fill ups. The k34 is a work horse, jus treat it right and it would last very long. If there is loss of power first try a good diesel treatment, i use the redline, ......it works..... also clean out your injectors, and if that doesn't work, service your pump.

This is my engine maintenance schedule;
engine oil every 5 000km, oil filter, air filter ( castrol max viscus)
fuel filter every other oil change
glow plugs once a yr, or as the need arise

If anyone has anything to add feel free, I'm still learning abt diesel engines.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”