Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2008, 5:18 pm

The main issue with bbq is temperature control
few people pay attention to this, nor have a temp gauge on their grill
which is why most people get burnt results and uncooked inside
and to make matters worse most people dont know that a fully covered grill
keeps the heat uniform and will actually cook faster overall
99% of coals people using them 1/2 cut drum without a proper cover
so they lose the majority of the btu's and the meat only cooks on the surface hence burning quick but raw inside AND because the drum open the coals get full oxygen and burn fullspeed and too hot

proper coal grills have vents on top and below, the below ones are used to regulate how much air passes and hence how hot the coals burn.
just like anything else you need to use and know the characteristics of your charcoal grill, or just use gas

the jamaicans smarter, if you go to jamaica there are bbq/jerk people
on every corner
and they make the drum grills with a pipe vent on top and vents below
and their grills are always closed

I have a homemade charcoal chimney to giveaway if anybody is interested since I no longer use it.

The local Weber distributor is having a Weber day at Peakes Saturday,
free food samples whole afternoon
it is worth it to go and see charcoal grills in operation
those guys are pretty good, the last one they had they made cakes, brownies and all kinda thing in the charcoal grills

if you tired of the regular tomato based bbq sauce chicken
this is a top notch recipe
http://tvwbb.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tp ... 028563/p/1

not the regular grill and then burn a sauce onto the meat thing

Postby eliteauto » June 13th, 2008, 8:13 am

AbstractPoetic, you safe, poisoning you involves the risk that you might haunt me forever

Postby SR » June 13th, 2008, 8:15 am

hmm
ah feel ah go a pass thru and check it out saturday

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 13th, 2008, 9:17 am

when i make my bbq sauce i use a bottle of beer some puncheon and a mixture or shadow benni and pepper sauce as well as a few dashes of jerk seasoning .

if i am using fresh chicknen i steam the chicken in 1/3 water 2/3 beer which gives it a unique flavour

if i am using frozen or bulk chicken liek from price mart i usually just put it on the grill an let it cook on a lower temp leaving the bbq sauce for the last 10 min of cooking .

larafan

Postby larafan » June 13th, 2008, 9:32 am

the jamaicans smarter

das not something u hear everyday... :?

Postby eliteauto » June 13th, 2008, 10:15 pm

For those who are interested I got my chimney today @ Bhagwansingh's Trincity for $86.25, they also have a dedicated BBQ aisle that's a credit card's wet dream :mrgreen:

Postby SR » June 13th, 2008, 10:19 pm

good price more expensive in peakes

works well

Postby pugboy » June 14th, 2008, 5:54 am

yeah good price, the weber one is the best though,
I think peakes sells the weber one which is made from heavy gauge aluminum
and not galvanize but it work just as well anyway

there will be smoked beef brisket samples at peakes for the weber day today
it will be serving around 11:30am ;)

it will run out real fast :)

Postby X_Factor » June 14th, 2008, 8:32 am

^^ them peppers REALL flickin hot...

Postby X_Factor » August 2nd, 2009, 10:13 am

larafan

Postby larafan » August 2nd, 2009, 10:17 am

Postby SR » August 2nd, 2009, 9:46 pm

non

all ah dem does clog unless you using pure liquid marinade

damn amerciand dunno bout real seasoning

tool-band

Postby tool-band » August 2nd, 2009, 9:57 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Jack-Daniel-Wood-01749-W/dp/B000P3HWRQ

use this to beat my dad and uncle in family bbq cook outs for the past 2 years made from jd whiskey barrels

Postby X_Factor » August 2nd, 2009, 10:07 pm

bagwansings has woodchips if anyone wants to try..hickory etc..resonably priced as well

after watching Good eats, i tried a homemade smooker and it worked pretty decent

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2009, 8:36 am

which one you made ?

I presently building one also, a gravity feed

Postby X_Factor » August 3rd, 2009, 11:05 am

well, i placed a large pot on a ring stove, soaked the wood chips and placed them into the pot....covered the pot with a large clay flower pot...drilled holes on the opposite sides and sorta skewered the meat through hanging it in the pot

drilled one hole to the top and the other slightly before where the meat was hung...placed 2 thermometers to monitor temp. and adjust the ring stove to suit

it worked pretty decent for a ratch set up...i also got some old rum barrel chips and added that to the hickory and other stuff in the pack as well as a little local bayleaf and nutmeg branches.....

what i like about this is the meat remained very moist and flavourful but downside it takes really long!!

Postby X_Factor » August 3rd, 2009, 11:13 am

SR wrote:non

all ah dem does clog unless you using pure liquid marinade

damn amerciand dunno bout real seasoning

SR, what i plan to do is add extra water when seasoning the meat.drain and strain it..putting back the solids into the meat like normal and the liquid will be injected into the meat...hopefully it will have the flavors in the solution and transfered into the meat on the inside

that should taste awesome if it works!!

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2009, 11:54 am

yeah, once you head down the low/slow road there is no turning back to the carbonized stuff anymore.

The upright drum smoker UDS is also very popular.

Dunno about the lifetime warranty but I own 2 Weber products and they really are topnotch quality, you get what you pay for.

I did like Alton Brown and put steaks directly on coals this weekend, excellent.

Postby X_Factor » August 3rd, 2009, 11:57 am

u placed it from raw?..or just placed them for colour and texture?

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2009, 12:08 pm

Webers are made of real porcelain coated thick steel, not the posey enamel crap like everything else, so they will last a very long time

straight on raw, but it can't be to thick or it might cook uneven
that is actually the charcoal base for my smoker

I used to use newspaper in my charcoal chimney, however I recently made a methylated spirits soda can stove and it is faster to light coals now.

Postby SR » August 3rd, 2009, 12:14 pm

i use the ring stove on the chimney stack when home

laziness to the max

newspaper works fine

usually i will "sun out" the bag of coals the day b4 to help remove moisture
especially when using any of those small bags from the supermarket

but been playing around more and more on the gas grill and using wood chips to flavour the meat and its working great

Postby X_Factor » August 3rd, 2009, 3:58 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Pretty-Purple-Ver ... d_sim_ol_2

pugboy,
these look familiar eh!!
http://www.amazon.com/Bhut-Jolokia-Chil ... 61&sr=1-10

if amazon offered free shipping i was gonna bring some different types for experiments

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2009, 5:30 pm

I told the Weber people last time they should organize a bbq competition
it would generate a lot of interest

this is the type of smoker I getting made locally

http://www.phpbbserver.com/phpbb/viewto ... =smokinjim

Postby X_Factor » August 3rd, 2009, 5:55 pm

allyuh ever used liquid smoke before?

i never saw it locally yet and was wondering how the flavour is

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » August 3rd, 2009, 6:06 pm

anyone knows how much Bhagwansinghs sells the smoked wood for?
I know to import it yourself requires you get a special licence for you to be able to clear it and it needs to be fumigated by someone recommended by the ministry of agriculture

larafan

Postby larafan » August 3rd, 2009, 6:10 pm

X_Factor,

how yuh mean....saw liquid smoke selling in hilo about a month or so ago..my dad bought it....we never used it tho..that looking like a good waste of time

Postby X_Factor » August 3rd, 2009, 6:10 pm

it was either 45-65 a pack, there were a couple different sizes as well
i also believe there was a mixed pack with different types of wood
and a pack with just hickory alone

thats trincity branch tho

imo its worth it...the flavours are really unique when tasted for the first time

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 3rd, 2009, 7:35 pm

this what we use :

in fact we having a lil bbq tomorrow nite for some relatives who here from foreign for just a few days & im d 1 who preparing d meat ....yummy ! .... :D

Postby RBphoto » September 23rd, 2009, 2:50 pm

William H scott has a portable charcoal grill for 1200, all metal, cast iron grill, and about 1'X 1' X2' in size. That sound like a good buy? How long do you have to season a cast iron grill before you could use it? Some blue band buttter paste on it, cover smoke hood on low heat for an hour should work?

On another note, anyone have a good marinade recipie for fish? I loooking to grill some anchoe this holiday.

Postby eliteauto » September 23rd, 2009, 2:53 pm

take a clean new paint brush, "paint" the entire interior of the pit with vegetable oil, heat up yuh coals and let it season for an 1 1/2 min