BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby RBphoto » September 23rd, 2009, 3:02 pm

only 1.5 mins? Ok, so I have to let it cool down or wirebrush the grill after that or it ready to ress meat one time?

Postby eliteauto » September 23rd, 2009, 3:03 pm

damn I meant 1.5 hrs :lol: , if you had cleaned the grill prior to seasoning you can grill one time

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2009, 3:06 pm

how much lbs of chunks u all use to lbs of meat?

i used 1lb of chunks to 3lbs of meat...and that was pretty good...
but im curious to hear what others do

Postby RBphoto » September 23rd, 2009, 3:15 pm

corollalover101 wrote:damn I meant 1.5 hrs :lol: , if you had cleaned the grill prior to seasoning you can grill one time

^^^Was wondering!!! Ok, so squeezy sponge out, wash out with hose, dry it, paint with veggie oil, drop n some coals and let alone for a hour and half. Gotcha!!

Now anyone for the marinade? I want to make up the thing tonight, hit the wharf in the morning and get them fish steaks soaking, so by lunch time is juss to season the pit and start to experiment on the grill.

Postby RBphoto » September 23rd, 2009, 3:20 pm

X_Factor wrote:how much lbs of chunks u all use to lbs of meat?

To roast the whole hog in meh piggy ched, we used nearly 50 lbs of coals to roast the 20lb piglet, That however, was on a open half barrel spit.

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » September 23rd, 2009, 3:26 pm

X_Factor wrote:allyuh ever used liquid smoke before?

i never saw it locally yet and was wondering how the flavour is

yeh yeh.....used some Liquid smoke doing some oven grill, wazzz good..bought it at hi-lo

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 23rd, 2009, 3:30 pm

BBQ is the best food on earth...

Last Sunday I grilled a beef (1/4" fat cap) brisket on 250* for 6hrs.. That sheit was slammin!!

I use Gas (yea yea, whatever :lol: ) but I applied a homemade dry rub the night before then placed it in a ziplock bag to marinate. Next morning I combined the rest of dry rub with water, pineapple juice, ketchup, BBQ sauce & liquid smoke to make ah lil mopping sauce.

I used the 2 outside burners of the grill and set them to get a steady 250-270 degrees then I place the meat in the middle of the grill away from the direct heat. SLOW & LOW BABY!! :twisted:

Ah put the mopping sauce in a small bread pan and place it a few inches away from the meat so it will keep the air a bit moist as it slowly evaporates. Not only that, but to also slowly introduce the liquid smoke flavor :wink:

After 4hrs, I completely wrapped it in 2 layers of foil paper then it was put on the grill for the remaining 2hrs.
Once the 6 hrs of cooking was over, I had the hardest part of all... Waiting!!!

I left it in the foil then wrapped it in 2 kitchen towels and placed it in the freezer :shock:
You don't wanna cut meat while it's hot because a lot of the good juices will leak out. It stayed in the freezer absorbing all the juices as it cooled for 1 hr

Yo once I took it out the fridge and then proceeded to slice the sucker.. You want to slice against the grain because you want the meat to fall apart when you bite it. You don't wanna have to tear it off and chew for hours :lol:

Yesterday we had some sada roti and I came up with a lil middle eastern influenced sandwich. I grilled the sliced beef on the tawaa till golden on both sides then I slapped it into the roti with some mayo, lettuce, tomato and some homemade (runny) bbq sauce.

Fellas that was the best tasting sandwich I've eaten in a while, but next time I buying a piece ah meat with a 1" thick fat cap and cooking that beyotch for 10hrs :shock:

Postby RBphoto » September 23rd, 2009, 3:35 pm

^^10 hours!! :shock: If you put it under your arm I sure it cook faster!!!

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2009, 3:35 pm

personally...im fed up of the normal green seasonings - chive, shadow beni, etc

recently i tried using those different salts and powders and found the taste was really good...

garlic powder
chilli powder
onion salt
celery salt
chinese seasonings
jalapenos
water
fried a couple hot peppers in a lil oil and poured that in the mixture
fresh garlic , hot pepper and some shadow beni but not much and pounded them to almost a thick paste - not chopped or blended

( i didnt get my marinade injector yet) SO
i got one of those plastic syringe and the ice-pick
made holes in the meat and then used the syringe to quirt the marinade into the meat

put the meat in a nice size bag with the marinade...tried to get out all the air from the bad and tied it..put it in the fridge overnight, every so often goin and squeeze and shake it up...

in the morning...steamed it in the pressure cooker - when it starts to steam about 5mins after that.. THEN 5 mins with the cover off...
u could eat the meat jus so!! fuss it was tasting soo good

then throw it up on the pit till it get the nice colour

its not as long as it may seem
probably about 45mins to make the marinade really hardest thing is pounding up the seasoning and TRYING to inject the marinade in the meat

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2009, 3:38 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
X_Factor wrote:how much lbs of chunks u all use to lbs of meat?

To roast the whole hog in meh piggy ched, we used nearly 50 lbs of coals to roast the 20lb piglet, That however, was on a open half barrel spit.

nah, not coals...wood chunks..like hickory, mesquite
used for smoking meat nah

Polydor

Postby Polydor » September 23rd, 2009, 3:42 pm

try the black angus......

nothing at all........ultra high heat....infra red the best....sear 4 3 mins either side....

when eating use a little HP BBQ sauce....

wash down with some red wine.

bye.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 23rd, 2009, 3:51 pm

For steaks I set my burners to different temperatures.. One half of the gill is on Hi and the other half is on medium.
I sear over high heat to cook the outside asap and to give it the diamond grill marks, then I move it over to medium heat to allow the inside to cook slowly. By searing the outside I now trap all the juices inside the meat and that's where all the flavor is.

X_Factor forget about green seasoning boy... Yuh on the right track with those powders yuh playing with. Get yourself a coffee grinder to further grind it into a power so it can get into the pores of the meat

crossdrilled, 10hrs is nothing... Some pitmasters does smoke their meat for 20-24 hrs :shock:

Postby RBphoto » September 23rd, 2009, 3:59 pm

Well I gone dey...I buying the pit. Will let you guys know things go.

Polydor

Postby Polydor » September 23rd, 2009, 4:01 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:For steaks:

crossdrilled, 10hrs is nothing... Some pitmasters does smoke their meat for 20-24 hrs :shock:

^^^Yuh making beef jerkey or what :?: :lol:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 23rd, 2009, 4:04 pm

^ Boy I call it Honda style BBQ... LOW & SLOW!!! :mrgreen:

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2009, 4:11 pm

a lil off topic..but u guys who live in US and maybe canada
u ever had Firehouse sandwiches...u know they hav the pepper sauces from 1-10
u all ever tasted the 10 or 10+?

Polydor

Postby Polydor » September 23rd, 2009, 4:18 pm

X_Factor wrote:a lil off topic..but u guys who live in US and maybe canada
u ever had Firehouse sandwiches...u know they hav the pepper sauces from 1-10
u all ever tasted the 10 or 10+?

^^^It's not that hot....any trini who eats lots of chow with pepper can handle the 10+

trust me scorpion is the hottest I've eaten to date....

try:

http://www.hpsauce.ca/recipes.asp

for some good recipies.

Postby Maserati » September 23rd, 2009, 5:16 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
X_Factor forget about green seasoning boy... Yuh on the right track with those powders yuh playing with. Get yourself a coffee grinder to further grind it into a power so it can get into the pores of the meat

no need for green seasoning here..esp. when it comes to steak that stuff just ruins it.

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2009, 5:29 pm

^^ agreed!!

i've seen the light..lol

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2009, 5:40 pm

I regularly smoke full briskets for over 12hrs on my WSM, one of the best investments ever
so much so I building a vertical smoker presently, 5 racks, 1lb coal per hour or so

i did some for the local weber dealer last year, supposed to be doing something for them next month in their demo at Bhagwansingh's Trincity

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 23rd, 2009, 5:49 pm

I'm seriously thinking about building my own smoker.. I'll probably use 2 old Propane tanks. One small one (20lb) as a firebox and a bigger one (100-150 lb) as the cooking area.

Once you get the taste for smoked brisket with a nice "bark" on the outside, yuh eh wah nothing else in life :lol:

Choosing the right meat is extremely important... Make sure your meat got fat in all the right places (no pun intended :lol:)

Remember Fat = flavor

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2009, 6:35 pm

Remember Fat = flavor

sounds like Alton!!

pugboy, keep us updated wrt to the demo next mth...if its gonna hav samples i hope its after divali

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 23rd, 2009, 6:43 pm

^ Alton is the man :lol: You remembered the clay plant pot that he turn into a smoker? :lol:

pugboy, throw up some pics of your smoker.. Yo everyday we does talk about going back to Trinidad to open a BBQ joint or even a sandwich shop. One day man, one day

Postby X_Factor » September 23rd, 2009, 6:56 pm

^ Alton is the man You remembered the clay plant pot that he turn into a smoker?

check tru the pages...somewhere here he has pics of the one he is building

and the clay pot smoker that idea is what i tried!!
worked pretty decent!!

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2009, 11:23 pm

if you go to the new Tandoori place on ariapita ave as the guy to show you their ovens,
they have 2 right behind the counter, they are mounted in stainless steel but coal fired.

i dont recommend opening a bbq smoke place, it wont do well ;)

these are older pics, hopefully might finish this weekend
progress has been painfully slow due to the fact that my welder has to do it in off time and cant work too late either.

will look like

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 23rd, 2009, 11:58 pm

Men that's a bad arse upright smoker you're building :shock:
Good luck with it..

I'm looking to build a backyard setup that I can put along side my grill..

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 24th, 2009, 10:53 am

doh build nah man !! buy !!

look this man have a couple charbroil pits here for sale ....workin reeeeeeeeeeel good :wink:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=223051

Postby SR » September 24th, 2009, 10:59 am

roflmao

converted mines to regualr 20lb cylinder instead of the propane tanks

much easier and convenient

cost $0.00

Postby bushwakka » September 24th, 2009, 11:38 am

cookin wit coals is unhealthy.....the smoke from the coal makes 'tar' similar to that from cigarettes

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » September 24th, 2009, 11:49 am

bushwakka wrote:cookin wit coals is unhealthy.....the smoke from the coal makes 'tar' similar to that from cigarettes

I believe there were studies linking Barbecue to causing cancer.