Inspecting your Truck in Licensing Office

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Inspecting your Truck in Licensing Office

Postby venum » September 22nd, 2009, 4:51 pm

This thread would outline the procedure to have your mandatory annual inspection of your T registered vehicle at Licensing Office.

While there are many private inspection garages all over our country that perform inspection of private registered vehicles, the following vehicles MUST have their annual inspection done at Licensing Office:

T Registered vehicles (e.g. License plates = TAS, TBP, TCF)
H Registered taxi vehicles (e.g. License plates = HAO, HBH, HCL)

Inspection can only be done at the following Licensing Office branches:

Port-of-Spain
San Fernando
Tobago

Inspection of all T Registered vehicles is required annually REGARDLESS of the age of the vehicle - even brand new ones. Dealerships usually deliver brand new vehicles with the inspection done for the first year, only evident by the sticker and\or the inspection certificate

I am creating this thread as I go about to do mine.

Our friendly neighbourhood Mods plz sticky-fy it

Inspection is by appointment.

PROCEUDRE:

1. Go to Licensing Office in South, POS or Tobago.

2. Fill out the Inspection form - Owners Name and Vehicle registration number

3. Pay TT$300.00 at the Cashier - Cash only, no LINX

4. Collect your receipt

5. Take receipt to the office at the Inspection Pit to get your appointment. This is usually 1-2 weeks from the date of payment. The clerk will write the appointment date and time at the back of the receipt. DO NOT LOSE YOUR RECEIPT.

6. On date of appointment, go to Licensing Office and line up your vehicle for inspection at the Pit. YOU NEED YOUR CERTIFIED COPY.

7. Your certified copy and payment receipt will be requested while you are in the line.

8. Your engine and chassis numbers on your vehicle will be checked against what is on your certified copy

9. You enter the inspection pit asked to switch off engine and the following are checked (not necessarily in the order listed):

i. horn
ii. lights - front and rear park lights, brake lights, headlights High and Low beam, hazzard lights
iii. wipers work (usually just low speed)
iv. windshield washer spray (need to actually spray liquid)

Although I stated that you are asked to switch off your engine, for the items above that require your key to be in the Acc position - plz do so.

10. Officer goes under vehicle and checks:

v. brakes - may ask you to pump brakes
vi. steering linkages - steering ends, idler arms
vii. Officer will ask you rock your steering from side to side. they may also do this themselves
viii. tyres

for this your undercarriage is required to be washed and clean - no shock oil

an engine wash is also required.

11. The last part of the inspection test they will ask you leave the inspection area and upon exiting the pit pull your mash your foot brakes and pull handbrakes.

12. when done you would have to leave the inspection area and return on foot.

13. if you have failed, they usually tell you why - what to fix and return.

14. if you have passed, you are required to wait around the pit area while your inspection papers are prepared and listen for your license plate number to be called.

15. you will then be given your certificate and windshield sticker

you are required to keep the inspection certificate in your vehicle at all times.

Please add any tips that would be helpful and allow for a successfull pass:

if inspecting a company vehicle, it is a good idea to send the employee with a letter, not sure if company ID is acceptable

Please readers, note that the fine for non-inspected vehicles is TT$5000.00

DISCLAIMER: The experiences and encounters by different posters at the different License Office branches differ vastly given the non-standards that exist. This thread is not authoritative, but merely a guide.
Last edited by venum on March 24th, 2012, 8:09 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Postby wagon r » September 22nd, 2009, 8:39 pm

under and body wash....engine too....otherwise.....and make sure to double check everything basic at home....so it passes w/o a hitch

LOCO

Postby LOCO » September 23rd, 2009, 11:20 am

When you under / engine wash, DO NOT use any shock oil, or you will be sent to re-wash, check that your horn and all lights including number plate lights are in working order and hand brakes are to be in proper working order. You will be required to pull the handbrakes and make the rear wheels lock-up (skid) when exiting the pit area.

Postby Team Loco » September 23rd, 2009, 11:45 am

Go day before, pay $500 to the doublesman outside south office. Collect inspection sticker next day. It will be in a greasy aloo pie.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 23rd, 2009, 12:35 pm

^^ yeah, okay then...

Do they have any issues with fog lights?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » September 23rd, 2009, 3:18 pm

Cooper wrote:^^ yeah, okay then...

Do they have any issues with fog lights?

Heh heh heh heh

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 23rd, 2009, 4:48 pm

Team Loco wrote:Go day before, pay $500 to the doublesman outside south office. Collect inspection sticker next day. It will be in a greasy aloo pie.

VAT inclusive?

slight or medium pepper?

venum

Postby venum » September 23rd, 2009, 7:21 pm

Alllyuh spaming meh thread :!:

MODS :!: DEAL WITH THEM :!:

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 23rd, 2009, 7:24 pm

Team Loco wrote:Go day before, pay $500 to the doublesman outside south office. Collect inspection sticker next day. It will be in a greasy aloo pie.

i does pay $400 in POS :twisted:

Postby brams112 » September 23rd, 2009, 10:16 pm

ociffer does take a bill just before lunch,,,,,,they does hustle to buy lunch :lol: :lol:

badart

Postby badart » September 23rd, 2009, 10:23 pm

would they give trouble for projectors n tint?

ZD30DDT

Postby ZD30DDT » September 24th, 2009, 8:40 pm

Very good informative thread!

But why not do the shock oil? How can that affect anything...?

ZD30DDT

Postby ZD30DDT » September 24th, 2009, 8:44 pm

would they give trouble for projectors n tint?

Tint - Yes. Unless 20% or lighter.

Foglights - Yes. But manufacturer gives you letter of ok from Transport Commisioner. So present upon Inspection and you're Ok.

Shock Oil - ???

Postby Team Loco » September 24th, 2009, 9:33 pm

venum wrote:Alllyuh spaming meh thread :!:

MODS :!: DEAL WITH THEM :!:

i apologise.

shock oil isnt permitted since it hides any possible oil leaks. it can also drip on the officer while inspection is in progress.

some factors to take into consideration pertaining to 4x4's:

having tyres outside of the wheelwell isnt permitted.
if you have a tow bar, make sure to have a revolving light. however, you must have permission, in writing, to have a revolving light.
company vehicles with rear roof racks, canopies, hood extensions must have the company name PAINTED on the driver's side door. no stickers are permitted.
company vehicles must carry a listing of the drivers name and address affixed to the inner cab.

all of the above are based on my experience with south licence office

edelbrock

Postby edelbrock » September 24th, 2009, 9:58 pm

Good thread........

MGW & TARE must be painted on to body and not be "stickers'
steering components should not have any looseness or play as they have asked to rock the steering wheel in the past.
No lowering blocks on leaf springs.
Any restrictions with 'larger than OEM' wheel sizes?
Anyone have access to the guiding document that the Licencing officers use to do the inspections...that'll save us a bunch of time and speculation here.
It'll also raise the awareness for what is required and lessen the odds of the officers giving us some BS line about why the vehicle fail....so that we will have to "pay" to get it pass.

cheers

venum

Postby venum » September 24th, 2009, 10:01 pm

sweet info there TL

what about off-road lights :?:

passed thru a roadblock today and saw some Junior Sammy company vehicles having to remove their work light (mounted on roll bar) - this is a company standard for them, they usually have at least one

some were removing their revolving lights too

edelbrock wrote:MGW & TARE must be painted on to body and not be "stickers'

You sure bout this one :?:

cuz teh firms starting to use stickers on new vehicles

Postby Team Loco » September 24th, 2009, 10:12 pm

all auxillary lights must have be permitted by licence office. you must write to the transport commisioner, giving reasons as to why you need auxillary lights on your vehicle. if you own a construction company, its relatively easy. two weeks ago i wrote to the commisioner asking permission to have auxillary lighting, revolving lights on at least ten of my vehicles. i am awaiting a response.

they have recently decided to enforce the revolving light law, since security companies were overdoing it.

HAVING A TOW BAR NO LONGER AUTOMATICALLY MEANS YOU HAVE TO INSTALL A REVOLVING LIGHT. you must first ask permission

edelbrock

Postby edelbrock » September 26th, 2009, 7:10 am

Had my pickup inspected yesterday.
jus line up in the line to the pit, a man take the cert. copy ask me to open the hood, (look in the wrong place for the engine number)....say it good, come over the pit.
Officer say press horn, put on lights, wiper, open up the doors, shake the steering wheel, (did not go under van), then ask to do the brake and handbrake tests. (Looked at him repeat this same procedure for bout 15 vehicles)

Gone around the back to park and come back to collect the certificate in the office next to the pit. In 15 mins the vehicle number is called and you get your cert.

Whats the deal with "we doh have any stickers now". I know the cert is the more important one, but go through all that and not get a sticker....then have some clueless police man in a roadblock give you the same hassle like if you ent even do an inspection does not make sense. Licencing office really needs to get their act together.

I did see a hilux with the background black in vynil and the white text painted onto it.....and that pass no questions asked. Back in the day 10 yrs ago) you failin for that for sure.

On what grounds can you request additional lights on vehicle?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 26th, 2009, 12:08 pm

^ sad reality

venum

Postby venum » September 26th, 2009, 3:09 pm

Getting Elle engine and under-washed in preparation for Tuesday

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 27th, 2009, 10:42 am

Where and who doing the wash V?

venum

Postby venum » September 27th, 2009, 9:07 pm

I wash by the service station on Pointe-a-Pierre Road, down by Naps Girls entrance

they does handle me right up

she washed and ready for inspection on Tuesday morning

venum

Postby venum » September 29th, 2009, 1:54 pm

Well I discovered that Elle's sump drain plug and oil unit are both leaking a few drops of oil when parked up for a lil while

Enough to be noticeable and cause me to fail the inspection

Got a new sump bolt and crush washer and oil unit

Hoping to get it repaired this evening to inspect in the morning

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 29th, 2009, 2:17 pm

Sounds like the Licensing Officer wasn't planning on missing any details. Did you have to pay for the re-inspection?

neckto

Postby neckto » September 29th, 2009, 3:58 pm

he ent gone yet coops
u smelling too much deisel smoke yo

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 29th, 2009, 5:10 pm

I think I mixed in too much cetane boost...

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 29th, 2009, 11:26 pm

>>Make sure to Locate ur Engine & Chassis #'s and Make sure they are clean and eligible

venum

Postby venum » September 30th, 2009, 2:15 pm

darin plug still leaking, so I didn't go

oil unit fixed

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » October 1st, 2009, 8:08 am

You use the crush washer and it still leaking?

venum

Postby venum » October 1st, 2009, 9:19 am

yup

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”