Guys who built Lsvtec / Frankenstein

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

ksimon

Guys who built Lsvtec / Frankenstein

Postby ksimon » October 16th, 2009, 8:38 pm

This post is for the guys who built this engine or have ne knowledge on it.....

I've recently built a b18 lsvtec, now used new valve seals & oem piston rings,,,, but somehow Cylinders # 3 & #4 are being flooded with oil... Its beenburning my mind cause i cant figure it out..... 1&2 good but 3&4 in a mess with oil.... didnt really wanna post cause ah d shitt talk this will bring along but i have no choice... so honda men HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol

Postby honda hoe » October 16th, 2009, 8:57 pm

change d seal under d engine cover

ksimon

Postby ksimon » October 16th, 2009, 9:11 pm

all dem ting changed boi..... i hope yuh waste ah time partner (K%z#y) eh play he posting no sheit now sice u commented....lol

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 16th, 2009, 9:41 pm

few things come in play

head gasket used ?

did u deck the block ?

what was the condition of the head ? did u shave , etc

how did u seal the vtec hole in the head ?

plug seals ?

u installed a catch can or any thing to release pressure

LS block doh have pcv valves

carry back by the man who build it

last option sell and buy a K20 :wink:

Postby Sky » October 17th, 2009, 8:18 am

red_dragon, what's with you and K20's. They get cheap or something now :lol:
ksimon, What he said about the vtec hole. How you did the oil system? Internally or with an external line running to the head?

http://honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=1676914
Check the dowel pin locations.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 17th, 2009, 10:08 am

Sky wrote:red_dragon, what's with you and K20's. They get cheap or something now :lol:
ksimon, What he said about the vtec hole. How you did the oil system? Internally or with an external line running to the head?

just messing with Hoe on the K20 thing

U cannot get oil internally with an LS/CR vtec... if so How ?

it can only be done external

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 17th, 2009, 10:09 am

as for the pin if u use a stock PIN the head doh fit flat

u either get a step pin or drill the head to fit the OEM pin

trincivic

Postby trincivic » October 17th, 2009, 11:29 am

One of the best performing engines to date. Please ensure that dowel pins are installed and replace head and headgasket. That amount of oil most likely comes from the valve seals.
Is oil coming through the dip stick hole?

Postby Sky » October 17th, 2009, 12:06 pm

red_dragon wrote:
Sky wrote:red_dragon, what's with you and K20's. They get cheap or something now :lol:

just messing with Hoe on the K20 thing

U cannot get oil internally with an LS/CR vtec... if so How ?

it can only be done external

Yea? 1st article I read about this rambo it entailed something about drilling to get the oil up. Externally was an option. I'll look for the article.
Externally's the better bet tho.

Postby A172 » October 19th, 2009, 7:53 pm

khegan, who build tha engine for yuh? :|

hope yuh get thru man

GONEEE TRUUUU.....

Postby GONEEE TRUUUU..... » October 19th, 2009, 10:23 pm

u sure the head gasket good??? the head tourqued down properly??? nex thing is valve seals u install them correctly.??...

ksimon

Postby ksimon » October 20th, 2009, 6:04 pm

valve seals brand new, head gasket brand new, rings brand new...I have 4 mechanics bussin they head trying to figure out this issue

type_r_teggy

Postby type_r_teggy » October 20th, 2009, 6:18 pm

it hav ah very good build thread on honda-tech, check there... done talk...

wat was the condition of the block b4 u started the build?did u go oversized or standard?

GONEEE TRUUUU.....

Postby GONEEE TRUUUU..... » October 20th, 2009, 6:18 pm

hmmm well some1 pull stones on d wukk...

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 20th, 2009, 6:44 pm

doh waste time pull it apart ... and start over

Kinday

Postby Kinday » October 20th, 2009, 7:21 pm

^^ X2...open it up

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 20th, 2009, 7:38 pm

^ put in some 84.5mm 13:1 and some crazy cams and lock it back down

and me bro :fist:

High_Speed_Imports

Postby High_Speed_Imports » October 20th, 2009, 8:10 pm

ksimon,yuh go drop d thing for me

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » October 21st, 2009, 8:51 am

Rebuild the engine.

Postby X2 » October 21st, 2009, 1:12 pm

How did you plug the oil supply inside the head ? Was it tapped and plugged shut or did you weld it shut ?

Welding the oil supply on the vtec head would necessitate milling it to true up the surface. If this is not done properly you can get an oil leak there that will vien the gasket and likely taint the cylinders (and eventually blow a gasket).

But 3 & 4 are the problem... strange.

respect_v-tec

Postby respect_v-tec » October 27th, 2009, 11:18 pm

Khegan I sure u didn't file the rings nor seperate them properly before u fit the pistons in d block...

B20VTEK

Re: Guys who built Lsvtec / Frankenstein

Postby B20VTEK » October 28th, 2009, 10:26 am

ksimon wrote:This post is for the guys who built this engine or have ne knowledge on it.....

I've recently built a b18 lsvtec, now used new valve seals & oem piston rings,,,, but somehow Cylinders # 3 & #4 are being flooded with oil... Its beenburning my mind cause i cant figure it out..... 1&2 good but 3&4 in a mess with oil.... didnt really wanna post cause ah d shitt talk this will bring along but i have no choice... so honda men HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol

Have you done a compression test
Were the rings put on the correct way and clocked properly
And Could it possibly be valve seals.

No Fear at all!!!

Postby No Fear at all!!! » October 28th, 2009, 11:58 pm

ksimon...do these tests...1. check compression on each cylinder..
2. Is the oil coming through the exhaust when you drive or when you start ?
3. Check your breather line on thr head, if you see smoke coming from it then you have a spot of trouble...
4. What type of oil are you using in the engine?
5. Check your plugs for contiunity...if they are firing properly. :?

Pootie

Postby Pootie » October 29th, 2009, 4:51 pm

pretty much red dragon and sky hit it on the nail..It has to be one of thoes.

And that thread that Sky posted will solve alllll!! Just read!!

you have to use the headgasket for the block (not the head).So Ls block = Ls gasket.

and you have to either get "LsVtec/step down" pins or drill out the holes in the head to fit the stock Ls/B20 pins. So the head and block can sit flush

also decking and shaving mistakes will cause oil leakage, and depending where is shaved more/less will sometimes cause some cylinders to be good and others to leak.

and pluging the oil supply hole on the head, since you will be useing a line to supply the head with oil you will need to plug that hole so oil doh leak.

hope that helps.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 29th, 2009, 7:08 pm

like ksimon dissappear...

but the car for sale .. so i guess he got through

Postby X2 » October 29th, 2009, 11:48 pm

ROTFL... Pootie... you pretty much pointing out all the main errors you'd look for in a bad LSVT prep. The man needs to narrow it down.

where is the original poster anyway ?

Pootie

Postby Pootie » October 31st, 2009, 6:22 pm

X2 wrote:ROTFL... Pootie... you pretty much pointing out all the main errors you'd look for in a bad LSVT prep. The man needs to narrow it down.

where is the original poster anyway ?

lol, and thats exactly where the mistakes happen. When you over look simple steps.!!

i just pretty much gave him a check list of things that would cause the issue he is having..

On my sleeved block the machine shop decked my block tooo much and didn't mention it to me , not to mention they decked it unevenally.

Because they decked it soo much, i now had to shave the dowel pins down to compensate for the shaving. When i assembled the motor it started righttt up, but within minutes it was pushing water (coolant) in only cylinder 1 and 3. No oil , just antifreeze <~ but you see how EZ things can go wrong on something so simple of a job for a machine shop as decking a block. :roll:

ksimon

BUGWAAANAAA

Postby ksimon » October 31st, 2009, 8:28 pm

respect_v-tec wrote:Khegan I sure u didn't file the rings nor seperate them properly before u fit the pistons in d block...

fellas thanks for the input, but as for u mr gets no respect Vtec yuh dam as$, u eva build ne thing besides the house dat ut put ur whoring gyal in??? too bad u eh build a gate on dat house to stop the neighbour from f@cking she wen u not hm,....lol....Dum @ss..... pootie thanks for d info

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 31st, 2009, 8:40 pm

:faint:

Return to “HONDA”