Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

kevin310

Post your engine oil / grade / price / location

Postby kevin310 » December 1st, 2009, 7:04 am

I did a search , didnt come up with anything like this.
So for the benefit of other recession stricken tuners like myself
It can never hurt to save a lil $

Postby crazybalhead » December 1st, 2009, 7:11 am

Amsoil
20W50
In meh engine hopefully.
Me ent tink it have no resale value and cyah remember how much ah pay for it. Ask W2J.

Postby equipped2ripp » December 1st, 2009, 7:13 am

nice thread, been thinking of starting this in the Trucks & Pickups forum... but never got around to doing it.

Castrol Hypuron 15W40 Semi-Synthetic Diesel $175.00/gallon

Mobil 1 Synthetic 10W30 $73.00/qt.

both at Budget Motor Supplies, Cipero St., San Fernando.

xtech

Postby xtech » December 1st, 2009, 7:39 am

Havolene 20w-50 $80 for a gallon
Peake Trading

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » December 1st, 2009, 8:13 am

Troy Auto Parts
Redline Diesel Engine Oil
15W-50

$50 per Qt.

4 Eyes

Postby 4 Eyes » December 1st, 2009, 8:57 am

Quaker State 20W-50

Chuna's auto supplies -$140 a Gallon

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 1st, 2009, 9:38 am

Royal Purple 15-40
Double R in balmain @ 65-70 qt. (approx)

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » December 1st, 2009, 9:50 am

Schaeffers 7000 Synthetic -20w 50 - 70 per quart

Postby X_Factor » December 1st, 2009, 9:52 am

shell semi-synthetic 10w30
Troys in Garden village

40$/quart

Postby A172 » December 1st, 2009, 9:55 am

4 Eyes wrote:Quaker State 20W-50

Chuna's auto supplies -$140 a Gallon

Double R $130 :mrgreen:

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 1st, 2009, 9:55 am

crazybalhead wrote:Amsoil
20W50
In meh engine hopefully.
Me ent tink it have no resale value and cyah remember how much ah pay for it.

yuh would think so, but there was someone who try to sell used oil on 2nr already. :| :|

Postby A172 » December 1st, 2009, 9:56 am

ah man wit ah RB bought it.....srsly. :|

`psycho

Postby `psycho » December 1st, 2009, 10:30 am

Mobile 1 10W-30

$68.00 Pamela's auto in La Horquetta.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » December 1st, 2009, 10:35 am

Mobil 1 10W-30 Full Synthetic, US$30.18 for 6 qts. Costco.
Last edited by Yeo on December 1st, 2009, 10:59 am, edited 2 times in total.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » December 1st, 2009, 10:35 am

Castrol GTX 20W-50
$133.00

Auto Village - Diego Martin

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 1st, 2009, 10:36 am

Castrol Syntec Blend...bought from all over the place...usually around 175

Postby A172 » December 1st, 2009, 10:42 am

it's 'Mobil' mfkers :x :x :x

Postby 3stagevtec » December 1st, 2009, 10:43 am

Castrol Syntec Blend, 20W - 50

Budget Motors, San'do

Can't remember exactly how much i pay, but is around $170 / gal

Computerman

Postby Computerman » December 1st, 2009, 2:32 pm

Image$80/Quart

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 1st, 2009, 3:27 pm

deleted
Last edited by acesinghit on December 3rd, 2009, 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Hook » December 1st, 2009, 4:09 pm

^^^ Heard good stuff about the Restore from ppl who didn't even service anything, but it's a just stopgap measure, and of course the ol' butt-dyno ain't exactly a reliable measure, so they prolly gonna need a rebuild soon anyway.

I used the NP UltraTec for a while...not bad pricing either ($227/gal methinx).
It's an excellent oil, but it only comes in 5W-40 and u almost never get it in quarts so at 2500km when u need to top up a quart, u hafta buy a gallon just to get it...but it laps over into the next oil change anyway so I guess it's okay (cuz it's like $60/qt so u save a couple dollars every two oil changes again). I switched to a slightly heavier oil anyway in one car (age nuh...methinx a rebuild coming soon) and 10W-30 in the other.

1. Esso 15W-40 $135/gal @ RevTek
2. Mobil1 10W-30 $70/qt @ RevTek

nes123

Postby nes123 » December 1st, 2009, 4:43 pm

x2floor wrote:Castrol improved their oil alot and hence I buy both GTX and full SYNTEC oil from Auto Village, Diego Martin. $133.00 and $220.00 respectively or something so. NP oil is also very good, greatly improved.

Shell, Mobil, Royal Purple, Red Line, Quaker State, Amsoil, Pennzoil, Valvoline, Havoline, Liqui Moly, Elf, Total, Motul and Agip are just named brands for big shots

also there are tons of info online that concludes that synthetic motor oil for private use motor vehicles does not improve vehicle performance, fuel consumption and wear and tear versus regular motor oil once changed within specified intervals.

Buying Royal Purple synthetic and installing ngk iridium tip spark plugs together with a K&n replacement oem filter and oil filter is not going to give you 5 extra HP to your ride and even if its a 4HP gain it won't be a big difference in performance especially for the host of 4-cylinder Japanese compacts in our country, eg. Nissan GA15DE equipped Sunny B14.

Lastly, it doesn't improve resale value or life of the vehicle either. Normal Castrol GTX oil, NGK V-Power Copper tip plugs, Sakura/Fram air filters and Sakura/Fram/Purolator oil filters can suffice for your ride and once changed every 4,800 kms or earlier your car's engine will be at its best for years to come.

There is a product I purchased that claims it restores compression in 4-cylinder engines and its RESTORE 4-cylinder Formula with CSL or something like that and it goes for $60. in Auto Village I think. I did a compression test on the engine and it improved each cylinder in a 10 year old QG18DE motor running 300,000kms approx with original seals and new head gasket.

On the road difference was slightly better and the car burns less gas. What may be a contributing factor to my increased performance is the fact that I serviced the EFI system that day and changed the MAFS. So it could be co-incidental.

Nice thread and hope to learn more as we go along.
As everybody watches how they spend I hope the info posted was useful.

On the contrary,While I agree with the highlighted above......you shouldn't include Amsoil or Mobil 1 cuz both are better than Castrol....Castrol is over rated and because its used in Nascar doesn't mean a dam thing,cuz after any race they dumb the oil for fresh oil...wonder why :lol:

Amsoil give you more mileage (20,000km) out of it thereby saving you more money...and is cheaper @ $63 per Qrt...have unbiased case studies to prove it ..

Additionally...I have tested both Castrol and Amsoil in a NZE and CS3 and I can tell you with the Amsoil both engines operate cooler and quieter than with Castrol.....keep in mind a quieter engine generally means more wear protection for its moving parts..as can be seen in the bar chart at the end of the below link

http://www.synthetic-motor-oil-change-and-filters.com/amsoil_articles/amsoils-big-competitors/

W2J

Postby W2J » December 1st, 2009, 6:53 pm

^ Preach to him brother

Postby X_Factor » December 1st, 2009, 7:16 pm

Fram

ppl does actually use that crap? many independant reviews and tests show their filter media and the way its connected to the filter is very poor!!

sakura/Purolator FTW!!!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 1st, 2009, 8:24 pm

deleted
Last edited by acesinghit on December 3rd, 2009, 2:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby A172 » December 1st, 2009, 8:31 pm

nes123 wrote:On the contrary,While I agree with the highlighted above......you shouldn't include Amsoil or Mobil 1 cuz both are better than Castrol....Castrol is over rated and because its used in Nascar doesn't mean a dam thing,cuz after any race they dumb the oil for fresh oil...wonder why :lol:

Additionally...I have tested both Castrol and Amsoil in a NZE and CS3 and I can tell you with the Amsoil both engines operate cooler and quieter than with Castrol

there's a stock internals, high comp. turbocharged engine churning out > 300whp for over a year now running Castrol GTX religiously

I think I'll take that proof over your 'tests' :|

kthxbai.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 1st, 2009, 8:34 pm

Amsoil give you more mileage (20,000km) out of it thereby saving you more money...and is cheaper @ $63 per Qrt...have unbiased case studies to prove it ..

Interesting.........

:lol: Well, when I used to use AMSOIL Series 2000 (years ago), my oil change interval was <4000 km regardless.

On another note, has anyone considered doing an "Oil Analysis" to analyse wear metals/etc in the old oil you drain out during your oil change? Very insightful......there was a local company (Mora Laboratories or something....forgot the name).

The good thing about the oil analysis, is that you tell everything from degree of wear, loss of viscosity, to even (supposedly...) effectiveness of your air filter through analysis of silica content (if any) in the drained oil.

Postby X_Factor » December 1st, 2009, 8:39 pm

how many of u hav to top up after the initial oil change?

when i used the castrol blended 5w-30 for about 7mths (2oil changes)
i had burn off and had to top up a little around 3000k's and around 5000k's

switched to shell synthec blend 10w-30
after the initial oil change no top up needed till next change

Postby Rainman » December 1st, 2009, 9:09 pm

Mobil 1 15w50 - 70/qt
OEM Mazda Filter

Postby Damien » December 1st, 2009, 9:13 pm

Mobil 10-30 $68/qrt billy's