TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

Postby venum » November 28th, 2009, 8:49 am

sweeks wrote:Anyone used Sakura their DiD yet?

Them Maska men prob

when I was there inquiring about servicing of a new Triton teh sales rep told me they used aftermarket filters

prob that is why their service intervals were 7500km

lexx

Postby lexx » November 29th, 2009, 1:03 pm

sweeks, I used the sakura fuel filter for some time ( I changed it every month since it is $50... I figured it would be better to change it more often since we have crap diesel... Dimond Motors approved of it) and run into a huge problem where my van was cutting off for itself when you let the RPM drop when u press the clutch and while driving the x pedal was not responding for a 5-10 seconds...

Felt like you switch off your ignition key while driving and put it back on... DM had no clue what was going on (as usual)... It happened very ramdomly... Their diagnostic was not picking up anything and they where not taking me on since anytime i carry it for them to check the problem never happened... i drove around with a mechanic all day with the computer pluged in and it did not happen... as i drop him off and drove out it started to happen... i guess that was just my luck...

So i e-mailed the manufacturer direct in thailand and within a few days the Manager of Dimond Motors called me, Apologized and told me that i should not have carried my problem to that level ( apparently the bosses in Thailand efff them up ) ... He asked me to bring in my van and they told me that they think the filter was the problem... so they replaced with the OEM... flushed the system and no problem ever since... After that complaint i sent to Thailand... I've been getting the best service ever from Dimond Motors... :D

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 29th, 2009, 7:51 pm

V I don't trust those RORO dealership.

Lexx thanks for the detailed explanation .... Who did you speak with from Diamond Motors?

How long ago did this happen?

venum

Postby venum » November 30th, 2009, 3:12 pm

lexx, I was told about your experience from a Service manager in Dm

yuh famous

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 30th, 2009, 6:49 pm

sweeks, how you all up in this Triton ched so? :?

lexx

Postby lexx » November 30th, 2009, 7:16 pm

venum, Famous you say?? lol... Ok so the people in DM bad talking me now

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 30th, 2009, 7:50 pm

biggy82 wrote:sweeks, how you all up in this Triton ched so? :?

Just keeping an open mind buddy. Liking the features in the fully loaded Sportero.

venum

Postby venum » November 30th, 2009, 8:32 pm

lexx wrote:venum, Famous you say?? lol... Ok so the people in DM bad talking me now

Nah, not bad talking yuh

Service Manager was telling meh about the negative experiences they had with the non-OEM filters on a particular L200, never called a name or anything

Honestly speaking fellas

If I were to buy a new brand L200, I would go by Acheivors to get the loaded Triton (without the the 20"s, roof rack and tray cover and uneccessary bling) because they coming with factory everything else that teh ones from DM don't

But service according to the recommended maintenance plans

OEM everything (source parts myself)
Last edited by venum on December 1st, 2009, 8:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 1st, 2009, 6:38 am

And if you had a problem with the fuel pump/system .... do you really think they'd be able to fix it?

The local Sportero are tuned to used our low quality diesel.

venum

Postby venum » December 1st, 2009, 8:52 am

sweeks wrote:And if you had a problem with the fuel pump/system .... do you really think they'd be able to fix it?

not much better than DM

if it under warranty, they would have to do something - worst case swap out for a new one

warranty would be 1 year less than DM anyway

sweeks wrote:The local Sportero are tuned to used our low quality diesel.

I not too sure bout that

how exactly is it tuned :?:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 1st, 2009, 10:19 am

I could be wrong but was told that the ecu is programmed locally ...

Any Sportero you know of had fuel system problems?

venum

Postby venum » December 1st, 2009, 5:28 pm

sweeks wrote:I could be wrong but was told that the ecu is programmed locally ...

if they buy them without warranty (like is rumoured about TTTL), then I don't think that they would, cuz they just opening up themselves for problems, that would have to be fixed out of their own pocket

but then again, they won't be governed from doing so, after all, the Thai factory ain't have nutten to do with them if they do buy without warranty

sweeks wrote:Any Sportero you know of had fuel system problems?

only lexx with the fuel filter

Engineer friend of mine at work had some minor probs with hers in teh early days, but was just cutting off due to high water content in diesel (from old station up Santa Cruz) and throwing an error code

DM sorted it out at her expense of TT$6000.00
Last edited by venum on December 2nd, 2009, 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 2nd, 2009, 9:04 am

venum wrote:
Engineer friend of mine at work had some minor probs with hers in teh early days, but was just cutting off due to high water content in diesel (from old station up Santa Cruz) and throwing an error code

Wasn't this covered the warranty ?

venum

Postby venum » December 2nd, 2009, 10:02 am

^^^ I would have thought so,

but whatever happened, she paid

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 2nd, 2009, 12:15 pm

sweeks wrote:
venum wrote:

Wasn't this covered the warranty ?

water in the diesel is not the firm's problem according to them

i had to pay out of pocket when i had similar problems :(

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » December 2nd, 2009, 7:19 pm

As hard as everyday living is I guess you need to spend a ill more money to get the OEM part, it pays in the long run.

It is sad that so much money is spent on a new vehicle and to have such a crappy low quality fuel in it. QA/QC in this country in almost every aspect is lacking.

I guess the key to countering this is to take fuel from one of the newer NP stations and stick to it.

Must admit that I am learning alot from this tread.

venum

Postby venum » December 2nd, 2009, 8:36 pm

kriticalkase, that is the point of this thread - to share experiences

to really get good info, you guys can consider joining the L200 Owners Club (well everybody except Sweeks)

http://www.l200.org.uk

I am a paid lifetime member (#1520), really great info there

I would endorse the newer stations esp with DiD engines (all common rail really)

I got the venerable 12V SOHC 4D56T and I still full only at new stations and change my filters every 5,000km

even though my fuel pump can be totally disassembled and serviced, i don"t wanna have to do that, so I take the necessary precautions

I also run my tank below 1/4, but not frequently and change filters @ 5,000km intervals to mitigate against any probs

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » December 2nd, 2009, 9:11 pm

venum, seem like you have a religious mtce schedule. Well done.

Rule#1: Respect you vehicle & your vehicle respects you!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 3rd, 2009, 11:29 am

venum wrote:to really get good info, you guys can consider joining the L200 Owners Club (well everybody except Sweeks)

http://www.l200.org.uk

Why Mon?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 3rd, 2009, 11:34 am

kriticalkase wrote:As hard as everyday living is I guess you need to spend a ill more money to get the OEM part, it pays in the long run.

It is sad that so much money is spent on a new vehicle and to have such a crappy low quality fuel in it. QA/QC in this country in almost every aspect is lacking.

Agreed ... it's also sad that the company sells the filters so expensive:

Fuel: $635
Oil: $435
Air: $598

Did some checking and I don't think anyone local (other than DM) has the Sportero filters yet!

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » December 3rd, 2009, 11:39 am

Sweeks, faiz in mbella has the fuel & air (OEM). M.Rampersad has the OEM oil-$210.

I do agree that the price of these items is too high. I am presently lloking at sourcing these items from abroad and will compare the cost/savings.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 3rd, 2009, 11:45 am

Ok I stand corrected.

Faiz Prices are :

Fuel - Not available
Air - $350
Oil - Not available

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 7th, 2009, 1:46 pm

[quote="venum]2007 KB4T PARTS

2007 KB4T Brake Parts

FRONT BRAKE PADS
OEM MR389511
[/quote]

I take it the brakes pads for the 2.5 and 3.2 are the same.

I did a search online and came across the following: "Part number MR389511 was superseded by part number MZ690000."

Can anyone confirm?

venum

Postby venum » December 7th, 2009, 4:53 pm

Ramai's prices:

Air filter:

Sakura - $115, Black clubs - $150.00

Fuel Filter:

Sakura - $75

Oil Filter:

Sakura - $46, Bosch - $90

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 7th, 2009, 8:00 pm

Reputable Auto in Couva 6360849

Sakura oil - $35
Sakura air - $70
Sakura fuel - I can't remember

Ramai's was saying black clubs is OEM. It's the 1st time I'm hearing about them.

venum

Postby venum » December 9th, 2009, 3:57 pm

Got the OEM prices from Ramai's

air - $345

oil - $150

fuel - $175

by order, not in stock

venum

Postby venum » December 9th, 2009, 3:58 pm

sweeks wrote:Ramai's was saying black clubs is OEM. It's the 1st time I'm hearing about them.

:?: :?: :?:

I know teh OEM ones for teh CS lancer that I have are Denso

has Mitsu part number and Genuine parts label as well as teh Denso logo

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 9th, 2009, 5:04 pm

Correct is right .... most OEM seems to be Denso (and not Black Clubs).

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 11th, 2009, 3:56 pm

venum wrote:Got the OEM prices from Ramai's

air - $345

oil - $150

fuel - $175

by order, not in stock

Are you sure ...? those prices real good esp the oil and fuel.

BTW there's a chip available (in the UK) that takes the Sportero up to 165bhp from 134bhp. Once the GTL plant comes on stream, that could be a consideration as well.

http://www.channel4.com/4car/rt/mitsubishi/l200/236/5

"The L200 is only available with one engine, but two states of tune. The 2.5-litre, four-cylinder common-rail turbodiesel is a heavily revised version of the old 113bhp unit, now making 134bhp and 231lb-ft of torque in standard form.

This is enough to push the L200 from 0-62mph in 14.6sec and on to 103mph. It's refined and decently powerful, although it can sound raucous at high revs.

The problem for Mitsubishi is that its key rival, the Nissan Navara, makes 169bhp. The Toyota Hilux 3.0 also manages 169bhp and even the new Ford Ranger and identical Mazda BT-50 hit 141bhp.

Hence the optional upgrade: Mitsubishi has developed its own engine management chip to reprogram the ECU, increasing power to 165bhp and torque to 302lb-ft. Standard on Animal and Elegance Plus models, it's available as an option across the range. It's crude and delivers the extra power in a savage blow, but it gives the lighter L200 the best power to weight ratio and creates a pick-up GTi.
"

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 12th, 2009, 12:24 am

nice find there sweeks... L200 ftw! :P

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”