AE80 tuners (suspenstion)

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Zeriam

AE80 tuners (suspenstion)

Postby Zeriam » February 1st, 2008, 1:51 am

so we know what works with the ae80, but what is best when it comes to daily driving and taking corners hard. discuss

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 4th, 2008, 7:03 pm

There are not many after market options available, however you can get megan lowering springs and strut bars to fit on the ae 80 at a really good price. Before you go into suspension mods try using some 205 low profile tyres and handling will improve drastically from stock.

I personally find the levin suspension not stiff enough if you want to enter dex etc with the car, but they do ride pretty good for a daily driver and handle alot better than stock.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » February 4th, 2008, 10:49 pm

Stock components for everyday driving(i.e, pothole ridden roads , bumps ,and the ocasional blast down the highway ) are about the best i can recommend .The quality is good and once your alignment and parts are in good knick , the ae80 handles well.Yes wider tyres would give you a wider traction area , but by only so much as what the steering geometry can give you. :D

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » February 4th, 2008, 11:02 pm

another side note , modified suspensions give the user the ability to set up his/her car for various circumstances , however in some cases you sacrifice ride quality for performance. Take for example a lowered spring , its true once your centre of gravity is lower than normal , the car handles better due to the roll centers optimising the weight of the vehicle. point to note though even in a lowered car suspension travel is necessary as to dissapate energy when a car encounters differing surfaces. However based on the weight of the car lowering it too much is tenuous.As the car corners its natural that the forces acting through the body will act on the springs and the shocks.With no effective stroke area the energy has no where to go and the end result is a stiff bounce.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 4th, 2008, 11:28 pm

^ agreed, the lower profile also reduces the height of the sidewall and reduces the amount the tyre flexes when cornering. Changing my tyres was one of the cheapest mods i did and it had some of the best results.

I think this should be the first step before you change springs, shocks and struts

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » February 5th, 2008, 12:53 pm

if you ask me the ae80 needs nothing wider than a 195 series tyre for good tractive use. based on the weight and loads the suspension will go through in stock form .

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 5th, 2008, 1:34 pm

i dont think i'd have to lower my car i'm heavy enuff to lower it myself :D
and i agree with Smokey 195 all u really need i running 205/60/14 in the back and despite the ae92 shock bad like crab over some bad bumps is touch the fenders. i run the stock ae80 shocks and 100springs which really made a change but will either go full 100 front and 92 in the back and eventually go to 15's. also the strut bars do help i had a custom front lower once but it wasnt made well so it killed the bushings in 3-6months. so took that off

toyotajumbie
Location: GOD without man is still GOD but man without GOD is nothing

Postby toyotajumbie » February 14th, 2008, 9:39 am

I'm running full 100 in front and full 92 in the back with 185/55/15 all around no regrets.Won't advise anyone to lower their car these days though. Roads in Trinidad are no longer user friendly.

droppa

Postby droppa » February 20th, 2008, 1:27 pm

^^thats a good setup u got there jumbie......i was lookin at using 100 all around, with the combined use of the 100 spindles and brake up front.....

currently i have 195/45/15 in front and 195/50/15 in the back with the original 80 suspension, jus i cut the springs, it rides good, taking into consideration the shocks dead, but it does touch a little here and there, no hassle in town......orr i give the back fenders a little roll :twisted:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 21st, 2008, 12:11 am

toyotajumbie,what u say there is really a good set up but i current have the 100 springs with the 80 shocks and 92 shocks in the back just waiting to get more paper to do it correctly and have everything full and new i roll on 14's tho

toyotajumbie
Location: GOD without man is still GOD but man without GOD is nothing

Postby toyotajumbie » February 26th, 2008, 6:26 pm

Nutten eh wrong wit 14s bro,don't hang yuh hat whey yuh cyar reach,in time yuh go move up.Besides building the car piece by piece and enjoying the improved performance from each modification is where the fun really is.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 24th, 2010, 10:16 pm

bump
looking for a good stiff shock and spring combo.

Urian

Postby Urian » January 26th, 2010, 11:11 am

anyone know where i can get 2 front doors, roof and hatchback for 1987 ae80 hatchback corolla? and at what prices

Sanjstar

Re:

Postby Sanjstar » April 28th, 2012, 11:17 pm

I have some stock corolla 14s to slap on my AE80....the front left spring bounces everytime i go into a hole.....any ideas of what type of springs to upgrade to with the 14s?

Zeriam

Re: AE80 tuners (suspenstion)

Postby Zeriam » April 29th, 2012, 6:06 am

stock ae80 shocks?

droppa

Postby droppa » May 1st, 2012, 11:10 pm

best combo i had on the 80 was the 110 shocks and the lowering springs, no bouncing or banging at all.....

sanjstar u dropping the car on them 14s or is stock height.......a pair of FU 100 shocks and springs, change the shock head to the 80, and cut the spring a bit to level off, not too much, a coil for the most, and make sure the bump stop is good and present!!!!!!

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 5th, 2012, 10:58 am

droppa what u had in the back same 110?

Return to “TOYOTA”