24.01.10 Brasso Seco..the trail bit & Venum was injected

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 29th, 2010, 3:58 pm

Walks in

*sigh*

Walks out.

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » January 29th, 2010, 4:00 pm

that track lookin rell nice.. cant wait to get bak muh van...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » January 29th, 2010, 4:45 pm

venum

Postby venum » January 29th, 2010, 6:10 pm

Fire_Fighter786 wrote:Easy to bash a Hilux when he is without company. Doh feel the Mafia not watching eh!
8-)

seems like teh mafia threw him out to teh wolves

figured if they didn't kill him, he would do it himself

and he did try jumping off the edge of a cliff

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 31st, 2010, 8:08 pm

venum wrote:
Fire_Fighter786 wrote:Easy to bash a Hilux when he is without company. Doh feel the Mafia not watching eh!
8-)

oh no he didnt!!

**passes venum flame suit**

:twisted:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » February 1st, 2010, 8:11 am

venum wrote:
8-)

FireFighter, don't study them eh...

I was having a Found Off Road Ded moment....

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 1st, 2010, 9:23 am

I ent taking them on one bit.
The next trail will do the talking.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 1st, 2010, 9:31 am

next trail add another l200 to teh mix

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 1st, 2010, 2:28 pm

venum wrote:
8-)

Not really...

We know the KING of the Off Road could stand on its own... So we send him as representative...

But venum tell the ppl the real reason you stick is cause u wanted to play bad man and run thru there in 2WD... ent? Talk the truth nah...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 1st, 2010, 5:37 pm

venum

Postby venum » February 1st, 2010, 7:56 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:But venum tell the ppl the real reason you stick is cause u wanted to play bad man and run thru there in 2WD... ent? Talk the truth nah...

truth is a lot of that trail is 2H - the longer straight sections with clearly marked wheel ruts etc

but the muddy corners - 4H

sureshot_james

Postby sureshot_james » February 1st, 2010, 10:02 pm

I ran all of the trail in 2h only engaged 4h to pull out elle. I didn't even turn off my ac. most of the trail was not bad only a few corners that is you didn't have mud tires or clearence you would need 4x4 (unless uh hum your wesley) anyway fords had the day like it or not. And even a 22'' (pretty truck) went a long ways into the trail. Props to the navarra riding on 22's gonna have to rethink my pretty boys truck remark. Anyway anyone who wants to test their mettle drop me a line I go out almost every weekend. (only thing broke so far is a right front dif/ axle seal) fun run can't wait for the next one. BTW if anyone wants recovery gear come get it fast I am almost out of stock.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 2nd, 2010, 7:20 am

sureshot_james wrote:I ran all of the trail in 2h only engaged 4h to pull out elle. I didn't even turn off my ac. most of the trail was not bad only a few corners that is you didn't have mud tires or clearence you would need 4x4 (unless uh hum your wesley) anyway fords had the day like it or not. And even a 22'' (pretty truck) went a long ways into the trail. Props to the navarra riding on 22's gonna have to rethink my pretty boys truck remark. Anyway anyone who wants to test their mettle drop me a line I go out almost every weekend. (only thing broke so far is a right front dif/ axle seal) fun run can't wait for the next one. BTW if anyone wants recovery gear come get it fast I am almost out of stock.

people dont understand how crucial mud tires are. We have those same Kumhos on our Mazdas in work... We dont have to use 4WD for anything but the most demanding application. Not even Las Cuevas trail needs to be done in 4H anymore.

The difference between All Terrain and Mud Terrain is... wow...

venum

Postby venum » February 2nd, 2010, 10:02 am

bleedingfreak, them Mazdas got LSD :?:

just asking cuz it is evident that Elle doesn't or it isn't working

thinking bout getting LSD as this will boost her capability without having to go all out and get a locking diff

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 2nd, 2010, 10:25 am

just get mud tires venum, thats what i run daily.

till now have not gotten stuck.. keepign fingers crossed and i have driven through some stuff that i was really afraid of

Yeo

Postby Yeo » February 2nd, 2010, 10:40 am

Lovin the vids!!!

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » February 2nd, 2010, 11:18 am

venum wrote:bleedingfreak, them Mazdas got LSD :?:

thinking bout getting LSD as this will boost her capability without having to go all out and get a locking diff

that is weird...
have you done any checks?
does your rear diff make noise when cornering?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 2nd, 2010, 12:44 pm

venum wrote:bleedingfreak, them Mazdas got LSD :?:

Yes, all the Mazdas and Fords, and Hilux have LSD...

but... MUD tyres!!!!!

Postby wagon r » February 2nd, 2010, 3:54 pm

^ are all well and great but most of us use our vans daily, where M/T won't be the best thing to drive on.

the ultimate solution would be to have a spare set of rims and mount M/T to them, come a diesel run, you switch.

...you also have to take into context clearance issues and cost of replacement - a full set of tyres and how long they will last vs a set of A/Ts

...james or wes could give feedback on M/Ts.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 2nd, 2010, 4:06 pm

wagon r wrote:^ are all well and great but most of us use our vans daily, where M/T won't be the best thing to drive on.

the ultimate solution would be to have a spare set of rims and mount M/T to them, come a diesel run, you switch.

...you also have to take into context clearance issues and cost of replacement - a full set of tyres and how long they will last vs a set of A/Ts

...james or wes could give feedback on M/Ts.

Yes, agreed! If your personal situation requires / allows or affords a set of off road / mud tyres. Then by all means yes. Same applies for other recovery equipment, winches, etc.

My job requires I have these tools to function. But personally, no.

This is why when considering the routes, plotting or charting the courses of our excursions we take into considerations what facilities are available, if required, and the skill level involved to negoitate comfortably, on tarmac and off road terrain.

People who make comments about our runs sounding boring, need to understand that if you DO get into trubble, you better well know how to get your ass out of it!

Daily Rant Complete.

venum

Postby venum » February 2nd, 2010, 4:23 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:This is why when considering the routes, plotting or charting the courses of our excursions we take into considerations what facilities are available, if required, and the skill level involved to negoitate comfortably, on tarmac and off road terrain.

People who make comments about our runs sounding boring, need to understand that if you DO get into trubble, you better well know how to get your ass out of it!

also remember that the only way to know how to get your ass outta a situation is to practice getting out of situations

which would mean getting into situations, then getting out - the learning experience

but let's not misinterpret that statement - do not go and do craziness and then try to get out - that is madness

only them TTORC men with really prepped and equipped vehicles could do that

with teh right gear though we can learn bit by bit

Slack

Postby Slack » February 2nd, 2010, 6:18 pm

LOL @ boring run. It was everything thing else other than that. Practice does make perfect. I think i will take up james offer to make runs a litle more often and learn a bit more about this thing called off roadin..... :lol:

venum

Postby venum » February 2nd, 2010, 10:05 pm

^ ^ ^ good idea there Slack

James seems to know his stuff, we can learn a lot from him

TTORC can also help as they have teaching sessions sometimes (check their website), which are really educational, I may go to a few when next they having

But like 3Stage said, unless you have a fully outfitted rig, you can't go anywhere else with them

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » February 3rd, 2010, 6:27 am

James is the reason that we went as far as we did. it would have been sheer suicide otherwise.

and the 22s ent have a scratch on them either eh :twisted:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 3rd, 2010, 8:39 am

yea thinking of taking up james offer as well

nicholaz53

Postby nicholaz53 » February 3rd, 2010, 9:41 am

hey guys is it possible for me and the mrs to make the next run wth you guys?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 3rd, 2010, 9:42 am

Dude, you just have to come prepared. Must have a Diesel Pickup (4x4 preferred for off-road runs)

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 3rd, 2010, 11:03 am

Cooper wrote:Dude, you just have to come prepared. Must have a Diesel Pickup (4x4 preferred for off-road runs)

Dont mislead ppl nah boy

This is not about off-roading, this is about experiencing the country. Off roading is not required, not mandatory to come on a run.

Many have hopped a ride with others when we go beach runs, etc.

So dont exclude anyone.

We just united by diesel not diffs

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 3rd, 2010, 11:04 am

Slack wrote:LOL @ boring run. It was everything thing else other than that. Practice does make perfect. I think i will take up james offer to make runs a litle more often and learn a bit more about this thing called off roadin..... :lol:

I find allyuh fellas real put me out in the cold fast boy...

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 3rd, 2010, 11:19 am

bleedingfreak wrote:
Cooper wrote:Dude, you just have to come prepared. Must have a Diesel Pickup (4x4 preferred for off-road runs)

Dont mislead ppl nah boy

This is not about off-roading, this is about experiencing the country. Off roading is not required, not mandatory to come on a run.

Many have hopped a ride with others when we go beach runs, etc.

So dont exclude anyone.

We just united by diesel not diffs

I'm not misleading. I think what I said was clear enough.....you noticed the use of the (brackets) and the word 'preferred'...didn't think I had to spell it out for the man 8-)

...you sure you not drinking the power steering fliud :?: :lol:

Return to “Off Road Runs”