Postby Sinister_Audio » January 14th, 2010, 8:32 pm

WOOOAHHH GAAADDD :shock: :shock: :shock:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 14th, 2010, 8:51 pm

ahh love the whites, and well the 4rd pic speaks for itself LOL When I am done with this FC, the only thing I want moving in that rear end is the wheels and diff LOL. time to get the diff bushings and poly up LOL. hmm I wonder if I have some nice pics to feed the eyes :

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 14th, 2010, 9:02 pm

red bwoy wrote:mih brethren take a pressure waser to under dem fenders nah man show de car a lil more love nah :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
but good work as always keep it comin

boy, I supposed to wash and underwash the car, but I get too excited yes LOL! :D :D

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 15th, 2010, 1:23 pm

So yuh ready to drift now?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 17th, 2010, 12:56 pm

Computerman wrote:So yuh ready to drift now?

not quite yet... LOL :D
decided to put on the Limited Edition Series 4 Efini rear lip. It looks pretty good!

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 17th, 2010, 1:15 pm

Just putting up some new random pics of the car:

aligning car.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 19th, 2010, 9:46 pm

looking good :D

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 25th, 2010, 7:18 pm

thanks man, can't wait to do bodywork :D :D

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 30th, 2010, 8:23 pm

like the write up thus far, have me feeling to get a weekend rx-7!

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 10th, 2010, 10:46 am

yea ppl!!! Engine going up for sale. time to upgrade the Knight Sports way!! :D :D :D
1986 Series 4 Engine will be returned to stock, with the original top mounted intercooler, but will include my 3" downpipe and HKS fuel cut defender, with a Series 5 turbo, coils and full harness airflow, ECU. looking at $8000.00. Changed oil every 1000km, coolant every 3 months. Apex seals very strong, compression at 100. Come check it starting and driving if you want. LOL

getting up to flywheel, no gearbox.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » February 11th, 2010, 5:05 pm

Interesting...

what's the upgrade path? 20b :) ?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 11th, 2010, 9:33 pm

nah its just a series 5 with Knight Sports ECU downpipe small mods just a lil 260HP when I done and I will be happy with that.

rxforever

Postby rxforever » February 12th, 2010, 8:47 am

hmmmm..wonder if i can keep up...will the new engine be installed for the next run.......or will the RE make its debut...hmmmmm

Roachmaster

Postby Roachmaster » February 12th, 2010, 11:34 am

Bump...good engine here...sounds and works real good!!!!

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 14th, 2010, 4:34 pm

rxforever wrote:hmmmm..wonder if i can keep up...will the new engine be installed for the next run.......or will the RE make its debut...hmmmmm

well if the engine is sold by the 27th I may be down. kinda wishing it sell after the run. We sorting out all the small bugs with the RE, the front bushings in a mess too so we will see.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » February 16th, 2010, 1:18 pm

You have any gearboxes around or can provide a link for?
A guy I know is looking for a series 4 or 5 eng and box so he may consider yours if that can be lined up
I gave him your num to call you

Safeq

Postby Safeq » February 16th, 2010, 1:19 pm

BTW where you got those side mirrors?

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » February 17th, 2010, 3:41 pm

Nice build man, I am now convinced that not buying a 2nd gen as my first car was a bad decision.. But a lack of info scared me, and no one knew of good mechs etc..
Nice thread, I enjoyed the read..!

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » February 17th, 2010, 8:32 pm

MAZTUNE wrote:nah its just a series 5 with Knight Sports ECU downpipe small mods just a lil 260HP when I done and I will be happy with that fuh now.

i smell BS!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

i think i fixed it fuh yuh dey dred!!!

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 18th, 2010, 8:17 am

Safeq wrote:BTW where you got those side mirrors?

a pair of doors that we got to sell.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » February 18th, 2010, 7:03 pm

Got any more?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » February 19th, 2010, 8:35 am

Safeq wrote:Got any more?

no boy, if I get any will let you know. Nice to hear you back in the game. Me too so to speak will tell you more about it Sat. I feeling like I born again yes.... :D Time to finish off this FC this year.

Boy right now 4 and 5 gearboxes kinda hard to get. Should be getting 2 by the end of March.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » February 19th, 2010, 2:24 pm

Cool we will talk then

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » March 18th, 2010, 7:44 pm

ok how has everybody been, everybody sniffing that lovely mazda air?? nicely....

Well loads to tell, did my FC3S FINAL EXAM, converting a series 4 car to series 5, EVERYTHING was changed, including door harnesses down to the sender in the gastank!!. as soon as i get some time will lay out the facts stay tuned!!!! :D

Say goodbye the old series 4 he was faithful, ran an entire year in Camden drags without failure, and ppl say rotary not reliable, it is in the correct hands.

:( :(
Last edited by MAZTUNE on April 4th, 2010, 1:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » March 18th, 2010, 7:50 pm

Yuh know I want to know all dem details :)

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 18th, 2010, 8:33 pm

MAZTUNE, just a lil headsup, when I was doing research into shocks before I bought my illuminas I discovered that tokico does not recommend dropping the car more than 1.75 inches with these shocks, I read many a dead shocks story with people who drop over 1.75" on illuminas, check it out

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 18th, 2010, 8:34 pm

oh, sweet build by the way, i like these threads, does learn alot from them...

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » March 22nd, 2010, 10:18 pm

ok lets start

Well in the last episode, I mentioned that I had my engine up for sale. A guy liked it more than me and it gone, but I kept my box. Now the hard part, the entire car needed rewiring so I could get my Knight Sports ECU to work with it's knock control system. so started removing the Series 4 chassis harness from the engine bay area first, replacing it with the series 5 right there and then so I would know where every tie strap, and 10mm bolt was going back.
When that was finished, put in the new Series 5 engine and wired the engine side of things.

Pain start to kick in, the lower back area, a wide FC3S does that to you LOL :D

So engine inside, time to remove the dash and remove the rest of Series 4 harness. Also took the opportunity to remove the remainder of A/C that's blower, heater and AC pieces to further reduce weight. It took off 18lbs.

Turned the dash backwards and removed that Series 4 harness as well replacing it with series 5. Also installed that sleek, sexy Knight Sports 260km+ speedo gauge cluster. Then did the door wiring, left first then right. Now here is the thing the cars look similar but they are TOTALLY DIFFERENT!!!.

Lastly, installed the rear harness but encountered a new problem, apparently the Series 5 gas tank is bigger so the Series 5 sender I had was not picking up the correct gauge reading and i sold the Series 5 tank already!!! Guess I fulling up tank and hoping until i get one. :( :(
Last edited by MAZTUNE on April 4th, 2010, 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » March 29th, 2010, 4:31 pm

So the car is now back on the road, exhaust run out, it sounds pretty different, a lot deeper, with 4 ft of flames coming out of the new 3" with much bigger Series 5 porting. Set the boost to 12psi and took it for a spin. WAW..... :shock: now i have to get my rear end in check, so that's the next on the list!

will put up pics a bit later....

Safeq

Postby Safeq » March 29th, 2010, 8:36 pm

Yuh know we need to go for a lil spin

I will have to check you soon to discuss some options

Return to “MAZDA”