L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 18th, 2010, 12:01 pm

well we can do it next weekend den as sunday i commt meh van to tote cones and generator :(

yuh coming dex boy venum, long time u eh pass through

venum

Postby venum » February 18th, 2010, 8:19 pm

Crix,

Since I stopped dexxing i stop passing there

Too much temptation to get an Evo

$$$ for other purposes (why yuh tink ah buy a L200)

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 19th, 2010, 10:39 am

lol but l200>evo

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » February 19th, 2010, 12:09 pm

can i join to check out the action on sunday?
pm me the time and where to meet you!

venum

Postby venum » February 19th, 2010, 12:34 pm

L200 > Evo

But when it comes to maintenance and fuel economy L200 < < < Evo

Madman them fellas will be in Dex action on sunday

We gonna be testing/offroading the following sunday in South

venum

Postby venum » February 19th, 2010, 6:17 pm

Just came from the Bamboo

Prabhu's has a foreign K34 complete cabin and rear diff

Cabin has engine and all front suspension and diff

they callin $40K for it

It in great condition

Doing 148,000km on the odo

Ryanm it has a load proportioning valve on it, but they refuse to sell separate

cutthroatInt

L200

Postby cutthroatInt » February 19th, 2010, 10:13 pm

cutthroatInt wrote:wrt to meh problem, it burn half quart oil in 2 days....

ppl... yuh kno after a week of monitoring the engine and oil comsumption, it hasnt burnt any oil in over 4 days. its still at the full mark on the dip stick.

im still watchin meticulously for any foreign liquid entering the engine oil to foul the oil level.

when oil and filters were changed recently i used this SMI oil additive product. came in a blue bottle. cant rem the correct name. its supposed to remedy bad rings, oil burning , restore compression etc. not sure if this product now started to work but i got the oil burning and back pressuring problem after oil was changed and oil additive added.

oh, engine knock drastically reduced too.
jus that it still has less power that before. i can feel it on the highways trying to overtake etc.

this ting jus messed up we. wot goin on here ppl?

just a point to note:

when doing maintenance on ur braking system, use the appropriate grease for greasing those caliper pins.

i had used the red wheel bearing grease when doing this service but it proved to be too tacky. as a result of this, when a firm brake is mashed i was getting a pull to one side. it wud come about off and on when mashin brakes. the RS caliper was not sliding properly on the supporting pins due to the grease i used being too tacky.

the normal multipurpose black grease for velocity joints can be used or approved caliper grease.

this was just a little lesson i learnt the hard way. it nearly caused me a fender bender on the rivulet road point lisas. this blasted woman decided last minute that she wanted to go into bastor hall... i had to slam brakes, the van picked up a slide and pulled drastically to the left. the right front brakes did not hold properly.

after checking another mechanic today, we confirmed that the problem was the grease.

l200

Postby l200 » February 20th, 2010, 7:49 am

Hi 2ners, cutthroatInt, I was doing some reading and it looks like when a old engine gets a clean out, It is actually bad for it, they said the carbon build up when removed, causes low compression, and in some cases the engine completely fails.

ryanm

Postby ryanm » February 20th, 2010, 6:57 pm

thanks venum but i got mine fixed.
Keep me informed when we goin to check the lsd
thanks

venum

Postby venum » February 20th, 2010, 10:04 pm

I use Belray valve grease on my calipers on Elle and the 2 Lancers and ALL teh Lancers I had in teh past

BR-NOTOX #40

it is a white-ish\clear-ish grease in a small container for $40

works well

good stuff

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » February 22nd, 2010, 9:17 pm

speedaholic wrote:
l200 wrote:I have also noticed that when e brake is released and i pump the pedal abt 5 times, the brake light comes on on the instrument panel. Any ideas???

i does get this to.. i dunno how come tho.. i think does lock up all d brakes in d van or somthing! never did it while drivin..

What about the booster?

venum

Postby venum » February 23rd, 2010, 8:07 pm

congrats

where the DIY and pics :?:

l200

Postby l200 » February 23rd, 2010, 9:30 pm

Toyopet wrote:
What about the booster?

Its not the booster, from checking the service manual it looks like the E brake set to tight, supposed to get 11-13 when i pull the rod, but I gettin abt 6 clicks now, the manual says that the shoe must be free from touching the drum, or else the automatic adjuster will not work, thats why the light comes on.

speedaholic wrote:yoo ppl.. got my PS box issue sorted out today! did it myself... took down the box an changed the seals..

congrats......pics x 2

venum

Postby venum » February 24th, 2010, 9:14 am

speedaholic wrote:
venum wrote:congrats

where the DIY and pics :?:

you really wanted me handlin a camera while my hands greasy!

that is why you get a cameraman\woman to take pics while you work

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » February 28th, 2010, 11:54 am

driver side axle seal need changing now..... kara ho!

ryanm

Postby ryanm » March 1st, 2010, 6:13 am

cutthroatInt
change both seals when you doin the job

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 1st, 2010, 9:36 pm

^^^ Word.

l200

Postby l200 » March 2nd, 2010, 11:45 am

Hi 2ners, in need of a return line for my power steering pump, it sprung a leak abt 2 days ago, DM don't have any, and can put any other hose on it cause the original carries two restrictions, built onto the hose, so need the original k34 replacement, the K74 is different, checked already :arrow: :arrow:

if you look at the hose there are two additional crimps,

Tried to repair the leak by re-crimping the end of the hose but the leak got worse :( :( :(

venum

Postby venum » March 2nd, 2010, 6:04 pm

on a side note:

one of my L200 owners Club buddies rides:

Mitsubishi L200 Warrior

Roger1981

Postby Roger1981 » March 3rd, 2010, 12:07 pm

Anyone with the workshop manual for the K34. Please mail to roger_ramlal@hotmail.com. Thanks.

cutthroatInt

manual

Postby cutthroatInt » March 3rd, 2010, 4:10 pm

Roger1981 wrote:Anyone with the workshop manual for the K34. Please mail to roger_ramlal@hotmail.com. Thanks.

i would like the workshop/service manual for K34 also....

sayyid_ali@hotmail.com

i downloaded the two files posted above, but it does not go into detail about many tings on the k34.

ryanm

Postby ryanm » March 4th, 2010, 5:26 am

i i have one it is 50.7 mb and yahoo wont let me send it cuz it exceeds 25 mb.
I can put it on a cd if you guys still want it

Roger1981

Postby Roger1981 » March 4th, 2010, 7:12 am

Of course. Thanks. Check pm.

venum

Postby venum » March 4th, 2010, 8:29 am

DM having a 40% off sale on K74 parts while stocks last

you must walk with the newspaper ad though

cutthroatInt

k34 manual

Postby cutthroatInt » March 4th, 2010, 8:35 am

ryanm wrote:i i have one it is 50.7 mb and yahoo wont let me send it cuz it exceeds 25 mb.
I can put it on a cd if you guys still want it

where u located? if it cant attach to email i mite hav to get it on a CD from u or something?

or upload it to some site and send us the link to dl it?....

ryanm

Postby ryanm » March 5th, 2010, 5:02 am

i dont have the link but i will burn some cds this weekend so you can cpass for them

shapeshop

Postby shapeshop » March 5th, 2010, 5:28 am

K34 is Best.........got mine from new and it still wukkin...was up for sale...and chnage mind not to sell...this van irreplaceable!!! 12years strong.

ryanm

Postby ryanm » March 5th, 2010, 5:57 am

K34 is Best

actually i sellin mine cuz i bought a k74. It's more luxurious and has a rear lsd but thtas about it. Can't corner and handle like the k34.
One thing i'm glad about is that the k74 got a brake upgrade, bigger discs and hub and double pistons. With the 33's sometimes i feel it wouldn't stop.

Wanted to fix her up for some off roading but funds don't permit at this time

venum

Postby venum » March 6th, 2010, 10:35 am

Steupss . . .

By DM now - is only 40% discount on body parts

Misprint in papers

l200

Postby l200 » March 6th, 2010, 4:03 pm

Hey 2ners, got through wit the hose, couldn't get it new or f\used, so had one re-made, with the restrictions, just as the original, will post pics when i get home :arrow: :arrow: :arrow:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”