TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 27th, 2010, 12:36 am

^^^ whats that?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 6th, 2010, 7:57 am

Did that incident happen in the north branch or south? Cause the same people in south service both ford and mitsubishi

lexx

Postby lexx » March 6th, 2010, 11:04 am

^^^ Happend to me in both places

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 6th, 2010, 9:57 pm

Fellas with the older L200s, there's sale on OEM body parts at Diamond Motors. Check the papers.

venum

Postby venum » March 6th, 2010, 11:12 pm

sweeks, papers advertised 40% discount on all parts

so i went DM south this morning to get some OEM suspension parts only to be tolds is only body parts

steups

got my suspension parts anyway (with my usual discount)

venum

Postby venum » March 24th, 2010, 9:57 pm

couple updates to part numbers on Page 1

if you have any part numbers, please send me a PM

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 25th, 2010, 8:35 am

OIL FILTER
OEM 1230A045 - $375 + VAT

FUEL FILTER
OEM 1170A053 - $560 + VAT

AIR FILTER

Does anyone have the corresponding Denso part numbers for these? It's written on the OEM filters.

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » April 12th, 2010, 8:58 pm

hey guys can u all suggest any places dat has the Amsoil diesel concentrate sellin? I'm from central and it seems dat no where has this for sale. I pm'ed trinirider already cuz he said that he has the product for sale but can't get thru to his phone so I don't know any directions for his location. So anywhere else thanks.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 12th, 2010, 9:12 pm

trinirider is a located on that road behind the mosque on munroe road... just drive straight alonf the savanah an u come up to a warehouse around a corner.. thats the place.. has a drivewat @ the side... but there isnt always som1 @ the warehouse.. cud prob check in the evening around 5 or so...

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » April 12th, 2010, 11:28 pm

acmilan, check Damien @ AWD Motorsports.
#122 Montrose Main Road Chaguanas
387-8821 / 320-2227

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » April 12th, 2010, 11:35 pm

Sweeks, the price on the oil filter kinda high.

$210.00 @ Rampersad's on the bypass.

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » April 13th, 2010, 3:57 pm

^^^ aye thanks for the link man, I got thru with the diesel concentrate.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » April 14th, 2010, 12:48 am

milan, can i ask at what mileage u using the diesel concentrate & are you using it together with the cetane boost?

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » April 14th, 2010, 9:55 am

40k's and yes i'm using both....first time though never ran any treatment whatsoever..

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 20th, 2010, 3:48 pm

notice any differance since using the additives?

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » April 25th, 2010, 5:41 pm

yea I noticed that it picked bak up on the usual mileage using the concentrate and well the boost better all round performance.

kriticalkase

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby kriticalkase » June 3rd, 2010, 8:58 pm

I have arrived at 30,000kms and the original fuel filter was changed.
Honestly think that was good service since the quality of our fuel is not so high.

Even though it is a bit expensive, I purchased the original fuel filter and installed @ DM.

No other issues thus far though.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 4th, 2010, 8:52 am

KriticalKase .... that's the way to go ... OEM fuel filter all the way.

Fellas on the OEM filters, there is a corresponding Denso part # .... Can anyone post those up?

venum

Postby venum » June 6th, 2010, 8:42 pm

i want the Mitsubishi part number as well as the Denso part number

Kriticalkase if you still have your invoice, please check on it

I use Sakura fuel and oil filters and change fuel filter every oil change

when the Sakura gets dirty I can feel the difference in starting and performance

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » June 6th, 2010, 8:52 pm

Hey guys I will a new member to the l200 club I got a good deal on a tce doing 50k km. Anyhow I need a durliner for the tray and maybe some chrome trimmings

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » June 7th, 2010, 7:32 pm

Sorry but i dont have all the info you need.

Fuel filter (3.2 Sportero) - 1770A053.

Is there anyway we can purchase these items (internet) as a group and save some cash?

venum

Postby venum » June 7th, 2010, 10:40 pm

kriticalkase

there is a way

I am actually investigating several ways right now.

One promising option is our neighbour up-island - Simpson Motors in Barbados.

Their parts department does international shipping. I also have a very close friend\almost-brother in Barbados that will help me with shipping.

I need a chassis number and engine number though before I can get any quotations

so someone would have to send me their engine number and chassis number for both 2.5L (KB4T) and 3.2L (KB8T)

venum

Postby venum » June 7th, 2010, 10:52 pm

Mr. ContraBass

Postby Mr. ContraBass » June 20th, 2010, 10:52 am

hey guys,

i own an L200 Sportero myself (2.5L KB4T Automatic), for about 3 yrs now and it has proven to be both a faithful and fun to drive vehicle. never had any problems except for the actuator on the driver's door. the firm did a SH** A** job of installing it and it broke the central locking cable, they did repair it at no cost though. Also, went to install a turbo timer today and the Clifford alarm doesn't support it, or so i was told by the installer. just letting you all know.

On another note, here's a list of some of the parts and fluids that have kept this vehicle performing as it should for these past years:
Total Synthetic Engine Oil- $230/ gallon
Sakura Fuel filter- $46
Black Clubs Air filter- $138 (for sportero/Triton)
OEM transmission fluid by Castrol (can't remember the price, have to find the bill)

P.S. Can't anyone enlightn me on why the rear suspension squeaks and how can i stop it?

venum

Postby venum » June 20th, 2010, 6:40 pm

Mr. ContraBass welcome to our little side of wonderful motoring and thank you for sharing your experience

the KB4 is indeed a lovely vehicle and many advances from the older days and models of L200 have been implemented

however, lift springs are as ancient but reliable a technology as 4x4 pickup trucks themselves

they are simple and effective in design which inevitably leads to their design drawbacks

they very design of lift springs cause them to become noisy with age

I have tried several things with my 2003 K74T's lift springs (including some unique experiences) to get them to become quiet

the KB4T lift springs are not much different to the K74T or K34T

what ha worked to some extent for me, although not removing the problem entirely is changing the shackle bushings (use OEM - they cheap by DM ~ TT$50.00 each)

regular greasing

I usually spray lithium grease between the individual lifts, this reduces the noise

actually i was able to completely silence them, but not at an easy and convenient way, not to mention messy way

I used the thick grease that the service stations use to grease nipples to grease teh individual lifts - this coupled with new shackle bushings stopped ALL noise for a long period of time

but as can be imagined, the springs were quite messy and attracted a LOT of dust and dirt, my three dogs were quite black and greasy as they usually hang out under my truck

not to mention a grease nightmare when I was required to change a couple of the lifts

what makes teh L200 more noise than other trucks is the number of individual lift springs making up a bundle

the K74 has 5 the K34 has 6

the B2500 and Frontier has only 3

more lifts = more noise as there are more pieces of metal rubbing and slapping each other

Mr. ContraBass

Postby Mr. ContraBass » June 21st, 2010, 12:54 am

Thanks venum,

i have a can of lithium grease that i cud prob try. but i was told that routine under carraige washing and oil spraying can help reduce the occurence of this noise, dunno hw true and effective that method is.

catalan24

Postby catalan24 » June 21st, 2010, 2:16 pm

hey guys i recently bought a sportero and was looking for any places that has a variety of front bars to choose from. I am not looking for the one that goes around the entire front like the lights n stuff but the ones that are a little smaller in size. So can you all direct me where I can get these thanks alot.

venum

Postby venum » June 21st, 2010, 3:36 pm

Contra,

you are correct about the oil spraying

but ultimately, the noise comes back in 2 weeks, so unless u planning on doing that every 2 weeks (which isn't practical)

the thick lithium grease lasts a bit longer

a lil something that I learned from my affiliations at teh L200 Owners Club is to put some thin rubber between the individual lifts

prob bicycle or car tyre tube thickness

I will try this method soon and report back

they are the most noisy when they are wet

Mr. ContraBass

Postby Mr. ContraBass » June 21st, 2010, 10:02 pm

thanks venum,

plase lemme kno hw effective that the rubber method is, willing to try that as well.
never knew there was an L200 owners club...

venum

Postby venum » June 22nd, 2010, 7:56 am

yup

www.l200.org

UK based - where they get all the good stuff on their L200's

paid club though

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”