swimming pool

blackb12

swimming pool

Postby blackb12 » September 2nd, 2010, 9:30 am

any one out there has any first hand experience in building a swimming pool??
them contractors and them want to bust your head with price
all i want is some advice and on the plumbing and sealing methods,
ans i will handle it my self with some skilled pipers

Re: swimming pool

Postby gastly369 » September 2nd, 2010, 1:25 pm

but on ah serious note ... better hire ppl who build dem tings already .. you eh want ah lagoon behind yuh house when yuh done build it and to dig back up to fix if someting wasnt constructed right

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » September 2nd, 2010, 1:27 pm

google it hoss u will find everything u need

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » September 2nd, 2010, 1:43 pm

Let me know what size and depth u looking at and I can give you an estimated labour cost.
Its not as easy as you think, and also I am not underestimating you.

Having to repair a faulty pool is rather expensive,

fraggle

Postby fraggle » September 2nd, 2010, 1:58 pm

Pal trust me if u don't have any experience with pool construction don't do it.
Its not a DIY project no matter what Home and Garden says.

Postby crazybalhead » September 2nd, 2010, 2:01 pm

blackb12 wrote:any one out there has any first hand experience in building a swimming pool??
them contractors and them want to bust your head with price
all i want is some advice and on the plumbing and sealing methods,
ans i will handle it my self with some skilled pipers

Right right...

triniangie

Postby triniangie » September 2nd, 2010, 2:10 pm

fraggle wrote:Pal trust me if u don't have any experience with pool construction don't do it.
Its not a DIY project no matter what Home and Garden says.

let HGTV guide u properly boi - get n expert

or buy 1 of them giant plastic thingies... :roll:
Last edited by triniangie on September 2nd, 2010, 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » September 2nd, 2010, 2:11 pm

best you buy an above ground pool for 22K if you can't afford an in ground........it's not a DIY job by any means

Postby noshownogo » September 2nd, 2010, 2:13 pm

weekend project! ah fine men having no faith in de man, if yuh ever successfully build a pool at de beach and it was able to retain water for an extensive period, i say go for ett...also check www.howthingswork.com

Postby eliteauto » September 2nd, 2010, 2:19 pm

noshownogo wrote:weekend project! ah fine men having no faith in de man, if yuh ever successfully build a pool at de beach and it was able to retain water for an extensive period, i say go for ett...also check www.howthingswork.com

I've done ponds and waterfalls and they take weeks to be done correctly with soil compacting, damp proofing etc and pools are 1000% more difficult it's not about digging a hole, casting cement, tiling and putting a pump, if done wrong he can destroy his house foundation, better left to professionals

Postby foss » September 2nd, 2010, 2:24 pm

heyyyyy, like omg!! can you say POOL PARDDYY !!! u gaiz in??

*looks for speedo*

Postby noshownogo » September 2nd, 2010, 2:27 pm

This professional allyuh speak of, wouldn't happen to be Leon would it?

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » September 2nd, 2010, 2:37 pm

If u could build ah cesspit...u could build a pool.

Same same...jus d pool is bigger.

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2010, 2:48 pm

many people have tried and skimp on the foundation and end up with leaks which show up later on
a small pool will run 100k+

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » September 2nd, 2010, 2:52 pm

shotta 20 wrote:If u could build ah cesspit...u could build a pool.

You really feel so?

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 2nd, 2010, 3:17 pm

buy an above ground pool, and bury it

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » September 3rd, 2010, 7:12 am

contractors like to talk like they know wat they doing when time come u realise if u take ur time and do it ur self it would have done better
when my pathner was renovating his house
he hired a contractor the ma n talk like he could build the world
when he start to work we realise he aint worth sheit
he didint realise my pathner and i both did civil in tech
had to fire his asss and ended up doing the work our selves
same thing with the pvc ceiling the man call a high price i went look at it and did my mum entire house saved my self $18000 in labour costs
so my advice is research it plan it and do it ur self otherwise them contractors will kill u with labour costs

Bareback

Postby Bareback » September 3rd, 2010, 7:36 am

SUPERMAN2 wrote:contractors like to talk like they know wat they doing when time come u realise if u take ur time and do it ur self it would have done better
when my pathner was renovating his house
he hired a contractor the ma n talk like he could build the world
when he start to work we realise he aint worth sheit
he didint realise my pathner and i both did civil in tech
had to fire his asss and ended up doing the work our selves
same thing with the pvc ceiling the man call a high price i went look at it and did my mum entire house saved my self $18000 in labour costs
so my advice is research it plan it and do it ur self otherwise them contractors will kill u with labour costs

Ah hear what yuh sayin and it is true. But we talkin bout a new structure where you have to consider the weight of the water, the type of soil yuh building into, proper foundation, land shifts, etc.......... Best alternative might be to be the main contractor on the job, hire a consultative expert and then hire some sub-contractors to do some of the work. At least then you can manage the costs and quality.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » September 3rd, 2010, 8:04 am

shotta 20 wrote:If u could build ah cesspit...u could build a pool.

D man say he have skilled pipers nuh !

blackb12

Postby blackb12 » September 4th, 2010, 5:05 pm

thanks for all the replies man, i will have to decide on my next move

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » September 4th, 2010, 5:35 pm

You going to build a pool that might cost you over $50000 and you still driving a blackb12! Get your priorities in order man!

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2010, 7:03 pm

the reality is most of them "small" contractors have no real idea of their costs
so they just bandy up a nice fat figure
likewise the homeowner doesn't have a clue idea so they will be in a tight situation also

not any different than how them big contractors ripoff the govt and people of t&t

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2010, 7:29 pm

is skilled pipers he say dey

Postby wagonrunner » September 4th, 2010, 8:05 pm

Shooter_boy_J wrote:You going to build a pool that might cost you over $50000 and you still driving a blackb12! Get your priorities in order man!

wah?
12 going from A to B, and pool is to enjoy at his home.
spend money on an asset that can be lost / damaged easily, versus one with higher returns?
you need to log off, and go wipe yuh crims.

Postby Redman » September 4th, 2010, 8:11 pm

Find somebody with a pool you like and ask them for the builders name
Or ask for a warranty of a year or two

LAter

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2010, 8:24 pm

Shooter_boy_J wrote:You going to build a pool that might cost you over $50000 and you still driving a blackb12! Get your priorities in order man!

wah?
12 going from A to B, and pool is to enjoy at his home.
spend money on an asset that can be lost / damaged easily, versus one with higher returns?
you need to log off, and go wipe yuh crims.

ent

talking about priorities and he eh understand d word :roll:

Pre

Postby Pre » September 4th, 2010, 8:50 pm

superman2 no offence but building a pool is a whole different story from pvc ceiling. Thats like saying the day u graduate from tech you are going to design flawlessly and build on weekends a building like the berg al arab. You need someone with experience and knows what they are doing. Pools are a bit tricky and sometimes faults dont show up until a couple years after. Oh yeah and a poorly built pool can totally fcuk your house up.
Remember good ting ain't cheap, cheap ting ain't good and Trinis does try to dig out yuh eye

blackb12

Postby blackb12 » September 5th, 2010, 11:07 am

shitter_Boy_J the black b 12 was sold over 3 years now, and is ah Mitsubishi ATR i have now. So get your facts straight. any whey what you driving????.

Postby toyolink » September 5th, 2010, 12:52 pm

I have actually built pools going on 12 years now both in Tobago and Trinidad and would humbly
suggest you proceed with extreme caution if you have no proper experience. In this regard you
should be aware of the following;
-All swimming pools must be supported by plans approved by WASA and completion cert.
issued by that authority before commissioning.This process will advise guided lines within
which you must construct.
-If you are building a pool 26'x15' with water dept 3' progressing to 5' the hole to be
excavated will be at least 32'x21' and dept 5'x7' (depending on environment these numbers
could be more).The material to be hauled offsite cuold be in the order of 140 cub yds.
-I like to design and build a pool to be a tank which without any support can actually hold
the water volume without breaking.Understand the pool i referenced will probably have
a capacity of 12000 gals.
-The 3' perimeter around the pool will facilitate all the ring pipes and services and there will
have to be backfilled with material which will not place undue load on these installations.
There is a lot more and really ( just being realistic ) this is no project to experiment with .A
quality pool finished with decking or terrace with usable water specs. as described you will
not achieve for less than $180K. and this is very basic.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 5th, 2010, 2:16 pm

toyolink wrote:-I like to design and build a pool to be a tank which without any support can actually hold
the water volume without breaking.Understand the pool i referenced will probably have
a capacity of 12000 gals.

For a buried pool, the worst case design condition for the pool is usually when it is empty and the soil exerts lateral pressure on the walls of the pool. Lateral earth pressures in clayey (cohesive) soils (southern Trinidad) are higher than lateral earth pressures in sandy (cohesionless) soils (northern Trinidad). Depending on the depth of your pool and your bank account, you can over-excavate and replace "unsuitable" cohesive soil with a well-graded granular cohesionless backfill material which will exert less lateral pressure on the walls.

Then, since Trinidad is in a seismic zone, these pressures have to factored up during seismic events.

They also have to be increased depending on the distance of any structures to the pool, and/or if you intend to have pool parties where you may have concentrated loads along the apron of the pool.

The base slab should be cast in one pour and you should install waterstops in the kicker to the pool wall. The walls should also be cast, if possible in one pour. If you can't achieve this, then you would or should install waterstops at each construction joint. A bituminous coating on the interior of the pool wall before applying the wall finish would also help with the waterproofing. You can contact SCL Trinidad Limited for advice on the best water stops and waterproofing coatings for your application.

The above is just scratching the surface in proper pool design.