Offer your VR4 project build tips here...

xtech

Re: Offer your VR4 project build tips here...

Postby xtech » November 1st, 2010, 11:57 pm

Anyone here tried installing coil packs on each plug.............to do away with that high voltage wire to the rear plugs. Seems to be a very easy mod.

Video Of VR-4 with speed cut removed Dont know if i should tell how its done. Have never seen a crashed Galant locally dont want to start a trend since this trick works on any VR-xxx......................

HOW TO: Change your alternator Great Write Up

First of an Alt from a MIVEC V6 FTO or Galant is an identical part and should be easily found

What you will need:
12 & 14mm Sockets and spanners (ratchet spanners are recomended)
Jack or Hoist
Jack stands (DO NOT WORK UNDER A JACK ALONE)
Flat head screw driver (to remove undertray clips)
And the usual wheels change tools

OK so up on the hoist he goes (or jack STANDS)
Remove:
R/H Front wheel
Engine splash sheild/undertray (under engine and attached part that also bolt to chassis rail)
exhaust front pipe to cat
O2 sensor

Now ya got room to move, start by loosening tension on the belt and removing top Alt bolt (this is done from the engine bay)
Get back into the wheel well and remove the bottom Alt bolt and shove the Alt out of the way towards the firewall.
This give axcess to the cam belt inspection cover (about the size of a smoke packet and plastic located directly under the Alt bracket) Remove this cover.
Now remove the Alt bracket.

By removing the Alt bracket this gives you room to wiggle the Alt out between the driveshaft and chassis.

Reverse and ya done.

As I said this job took a total of about an hour and a half from start to finish. The reason for removing the front pipe is simply that ya can't get ya arms in there with it in place, lol

This is the Alt. once loose and a pic of the Alt. bracket and the inspection cover. Both the bracket and the cover have to be removed to allow the Alt. to come out.
ok, this is a close up of the bracket and cover removed. The one with my hand in it is the angle to get the Alt. out. If you look closely you can see there is plently of room to get it out if you have the right angle

Postby Monk BANzai » November 11th, 2010, 11:49 pm

looking for a driveshaft..

anyone?

xtech

Postby xtech » November 12th, 2010, 6:51 am

nah nobody looking for a driveshaft

Postby Monk BANzai » November 12th, 2010, 12:42 pm

no nitwit....lol....i looking for one for the Ox....

xtech

Postby xtech » November 12th, 2010, 1:01 pm

man mash up d ox drive shaft already...........was d ox i saw broke down on the hiway?

but dats not yuh responsibility anymore

Postby Monk BANzai » November 12th, 2010, 1:29 pm

^^ same. Whilst its not, the new owner needs a help out. If i was in the same situation i wud ask the same....

but prices reeeeeeeeeeedickculus tho!!

man calling $3500 fuh a piece ah iron yes!!!

moti

Postby moti » November 12th, 2010, 2:09 pm

how does one "mash up" a drive shaft?

and yes i'm serious.

Postby Monk BANzai » November 12th, 2010, 2:35 pm

moti wrote:how does one "mash up" a drive shaft?

and yes i'm serious.

the "cross" on the ends of the shaft that connects to the t-case or the diff can be damaged.

scientist

Postby scientist » November 12th, 2010, 2:40 pm

Wha wrong with it? is it completely unrepairable?

Postby Monk BANzai » November 12th, 2010, 5:38 pm

not sure..havent seen it myself.....just got a phone call sayign he's in need of one...

xtech

Postby xtech » November 12th, 2010, 6:53 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

$10k for engine an tranny.............cool so i wanted tranny alone man tell me $7k :shock:
$5k for plastic gas tank up from $500 in 2005 I had to ask him if we in Zimbabwe

Postby Monk BANzai » November 12th, 2010, 8:02 pm

xtech wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

$10k for engine an tranny.............cool so i wanted tranny alone man tell me $7k :shock:
$5k for plastic gas tank up from $500 in 2005 I had to ask him if we in Zimbabwe

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » November 13th, 2010, 2:34 am

weekend gone a black vr4 with no bumper and big intercooler pass me like if i stand up on the highway...and a woman was driving and she cud handle d car!...d car and d girl look good :wink: :mrgreen:

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » November 16th, 2010, 7:21 pm

hey fellas, i need some help...i need to know what this icon is...
DSCN2927.JPG
there is no fuse by this icon in my fuse box

xtech

Postby xtech » November 16th, 2010, 8:05 pm

VR4 Fuses - Cabin and Engine Bay

Cabin Fuses

Legend

Cabin Fuse Block (located behind coin tray)

Cabin Fuse Block definitions.

1. - Stop Lamps
2. - Turn Signals + SRS
3. - Reverse Lamps + A/T ECU, output and input shaft sensors
4. - Radio/MMS + clock, remote locks
5. - Cig-Lighter
6. - Wipers + ETACS, remote locks, washer motors
7. - ABS + sunroof, TCL and ASC
8. - Theft/Alarm
9. - Door Locks + door switch and ETACS
10. - Ignition + alternator relay and steering sensor (TCL)
11. - Instruments/Gauges + speed sensor, SRS
12. - Horn
13. - AYC + heated seats
14. - Relays for power windows, rear demister and air fan + climate panel, air-con compressor

15. - Rear Window Demister + heated mirrors
16. - Heater

R-1. - Rear Demister Relay
R-2. - Heater Relay
R-3. - Hazard Flasher Relay

Engine Bay Fuses

Legend

Engine Bay Fuse/Relay block (located between the battery & passenger strut tower)

Engine Bay Fuse/Relay block Definitions

1. - Cabin Courtesy Lights
2. - Radio/MMS
3. -
4. - Fog Lamps - Right
5. - Air-Conditioning
6. - Headlights - Left
7. - Headlights - Right
8. - Tail/Stop Lights - Left
9. - Tail/Stop Lights - Right
10. - Fog Lamps - Left
11. - Engine Control
12. - Hazard Lights

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » November 16th, 2010, 8:39 pm

hey thanks a lot bro...u really helped me out
but i have 1 more question,
if that is the AYC Fuse, how come my EA7A VR galant has d fuse and wires and no AYC pump?
d original harness for my car has it but d vr4 harness doesn't. dat kinda wierd

xtech

Postby xtech » November 17th, 2010, 1:07 am

Not weired u just probably had traction control (TCL)or active stability control(ASC) on the old harness..........which is a ABS thing good for snow an ice which means your car would have been a 4WD mountain car with wipers in the back.

When you mash out an ABS detected wheel spin or just from hitting ice or driving on wet roads with bald tires it will lock up brakes on that wheel to slow it down. Those turbo pick-up men would not be able to peel out at junctions if they had this. If you want to experience this for yourself mash out an mash brakes slightly an see the great 6A13TT beast get tamed.

I have a GDI Chariot harness with this feature an the VR-4 (AYC/TCL/ASC) ECU plugs into it but the pinouts are slightly different.

xtech

Postby xtech » November 17th, 2010, 1:11 am

would anybody spend $120k on a legit RORO Galant VR which would make it one of the last Sharks of the line?.......2005

There is one in Freeport looks sweet an no its not a VR-4

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » November 17th, 2010, 6:53 am

according to the previous Singapore owner, d galant is...i mean was a Mitsubisht Galant VR Super Sport.(well thas wat it mark on d leather case i got in d glove compartment)

My galant was FWD. it didnt have any rear wipers or any traction or stability controller switches. it was more-or-less a normal sharkmouth galant. but it came original with 5x114.3 hole combination, turbo cedia wagon front brakes, full VR4 body kit and fully black interior with carbon fiber finish on the centre console.

xtech

Postby xtech » November 17th, 2010, 7:17 am

hmmm...........so u did not find a 3rd TCL / ASC ecu when u swapped

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » November 17th, 2010, 8:00 am

not sure...d mech did everything and i honestly didnt notice. i only got back 1 ecu
wen i get home i will check if it still in d car.

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » November 17th, 2010, 10:29 pm

subscribed

xtech

Postby xtech » November 27th, 2010, 11:53 pm

my 2WD center diff
IMG0231A.jpg
IMG0230A.jpg

ralliartvr47

Postby ralliartvr47 » December 4th, 2010, 11:04 am

:shock: wth!!! torque like wow! :mrgreen:

V@lLz V@G

Postby V@lLz V@G » December 13th, 2010, 4:31 pm

[quote="V@lLz V@G"]Image

just a liltle mods done to it so far
3inch exaust
ecu flashed
12psi of boost
in the process of of changing intercooler and pipes,transmission cooler and retune for 16 psi
on 12psi made 220hp and 246ft lbs of torque to the wheel

Was back on the dyno this weekened......
@15psi the vr made 240hp@5500rpm.....265ft lbs@3600rpm
dyno time ran out, but i think the car could of made 250-260hp..
ecu flashing now being done......(holla)

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 14th, 2010, 11:49 am

^^ Impressive numbers.. That engine seems to be in good condition. Your car is Auto or Manual ?

V@lLz V@G

Postby V@lLz V@G » December 14th, 2010, 2:36 pm

Auto............car is doin 180,000km
once u maintain these engines,they give no trouble.

xtech

Postby xtech » December 14th, 2010, 5:22 pm

so how much to tune?

I will have a 7202 ECU installed tommorow an I am auto have a oil cooler to install for the tranny an going hard pipe on hot an cold side of the a evo intercooler

Postby Monk BANzai » December 15th, 2010, 2:00 pm

V@lLz V@G, you need to work on your breathing...at 15lb we were doing near 285whp...key is breathing....and yes the inter-cooler and piping needs upgrading.

Careful with the intercooler size....i'm seeing huge ass intercoolers on VR's and wondering if the pewny conchs can handle that cfm....mines surely didnt.

V@lLz V@G

Postby V@lLz V@G » December 15th, 2010, 4:14 pm

FARI did u do that with stock turbos?

intercooler and piping already change{evo 7}
and my car is auto, which when dyno,loses about 8-10% more power than a manual trans.
as i said, the car i think could of make 250-260 whp
traction control was giving trouble and used up some dyno time tryin to sort it out.......