T&T teams to compete at Rally Barbados 2011

Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: sio, rcadiz, 3ne2nr Mods

T&T teams to compete at Rally Barbados 2011

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2011, 12:54 pm

Robin Bradford wrote:Regional interest in Sol Rally Barbados (June 4/5, 2011), the Caribbean’s biggest annual motor sport international, remains high. Two returnees from Trinidad & Tobago, one a former National Champion, are among the early entries received on-line at the Barbados Rally Club’s (BRC) official event web site, http://www.rallybarbados.bb.
Currently without a permanent circuit racing facility, the twin-island state is enjoying a resurgence in rallying; entry levels of a decade ago have more than doubled, and the Trinidad & Tobago Rally Club’s (TTRC) premier event, Rally Trinidad, attracted eight crews from Barbados in 2010, plus triple British Rally Champion, Mark Higgins.
Trinidad Rally Champion in 2006, Vishal Dhanraj will be making his fourth appearance in Barbados, driving a Gulf Motor Oil/Lucozade Energy/The Dispensary/Automan Ltd/Worldclass Coatings/V3 Rally Team Toyota Starlet. For 2011, he will have a new co-driver, Douglas Stampfli – although new to the left-hand seat, he is familiar with the BRC’s blue riband event, having been a spectator in Barbados for the past five years, and has been involved in the management and development of the team.
In 2008, Dhanraj was 35th overall and sixth in Modified 8-A in the Subaru Impreza, in which he finished runner-up in the TTRC 4WD Championship in the same year; then he acquired the Starlet, formerly rallied by David Williams in Barbados, where the car still resides - 10th in SuperModified 9 in the Starlet in 2009, Dhanraj improved to sixth in SM9, 41st overall, last year.
After switching between two- and four-wheel-drive, Dhanraj, who has also won three team awards back home since 2006, has decided to concentrate on the former. He says: “I have officially switched to the two-wheel-drive class this year to chase that title in Trinidad & Tobago with a Mitsubishi Lancer Mivec.”
Former circuit racer David Coelho made his Sol Rally Barbados debut last year driving the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX campaigned in 2009 by John Powell; having finished all six of the TTRC Championship events he contested last year, he ended his first season in rallying second in the 4WD class (to his car’s former owner, Powell) and fifth overall.
While he had finished seventh overall and third in Group N in Rally Trinidad earlier in the season, he failed to achieve an overall finish in Sol Rally Barbados 2011 – his engine expired with five stages to go – but was placed fifth in Group N. With a further season of competition under his belt, it is expected that he and co-driver James Harris will make more of an impression second time round in the Total and Subway-supported entry.

Re: T&T teams to compete at Rally Barbados 2011

Postby tr1ad » January 19th, 2011, 2:12 pm

We dey!!!!

Postby wagon r » January 19th, 2011, 8:01 pm

.... hotel is being checked out as we speak. I wonder if "Pedo" makin it...???

Postby tr1ad » January 19th, 2011, 10:19 pm

hmmmm

sio

Postby sio » January 19th, 2011, 11:21 pm

Nice, more drivers on the way :twisted: :twisted:
Last edited by sio on January 20th, 2011, 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rensh

Postby Rensh » January 20th, 2011, 8:56 am

wagon r wrote:.... hotel is being checked out as we speak. I wonder if "Pedo" makin it...???

Kryp..ton..ite.... :oops:

Postby wagon r » January 20th, 2011, 9:02 am

^ ahahhahahahaha.....

hotel is same location as last year. will drop the price on allyuh by tom.

Postby tr1ad » January 20th, 2011, 12:01 pm

dat real quay eh.... just saying

Postby wagon r » January 20th, 2011, 3:45 pm

well i hear plenty local was jealous of we accomodations and want to throw we out. but with tanty food outside we gate and interesting 'night life' it should be a bess lime again.

katurbobeast

Postby katurbobeast » January 20th, 2011, 6:47 pm

wen is the rally?

Postby tr1ad » January 20th, 2011, 8:29 pm

jealous yuh say.....

katurbobeast... read the first post

puta civic
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby puta civic » January 20th, 2011, 11:09 pm

well atleas one James Harris making it to BIM...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 24th, 2011, 11:30 am

I wanna go Harassing Family and Friends in Bados for a lil Corner all now .

Postby tr1ad » January 24th, 2011, 11:50 am

dragist....................

leh we goooooooooooooooo

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 24th, 2011, 11:52 am

I have some errrrr Technical errrr problems with my passport to sort out first

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 7th, 2011, 6:39 pm

Powell not going?? what about ainsley ?

Postby foss » April 26th, 2011, 10:46 am

any updates on this?
I'm looking to go... can I get in on this? :mrgreen:

Postby tr1ad » April 26th, 2011, 11:11 am

we normally stay at south gap hotel..... bess place... plus tanty outside with food stall and mcbrides right across the road

http://www.southgapbarbados.com/

Return to “TTRC - Rally”