Owners of Kia Cerato/Cerato Koup

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

Captainzaak

Owners of Kia Cerato/Cerato Koup

Postby Captainzaak » February 2nd, 2011, 7:36 pm

Who here got one?

I own a 2009 Cerato Sedan, Black, stock 16" rims.

any other owners on tuner?

kriticalkase

Re: Owners of Kia Cerato/Cerato Koup

Postby kriticalkase » February 6th, 2011, 8:44 pm

Proud owner of a 2010 blue cerato sedan.

CD MP3/6 speakers
IPOD receptor/USB port
rear defogger
steering mounted stereo controls
tiptronic - 6 speed auto
driver/passenger sun visor mirrors
driver/passenger lamps
spectacles and cell phone charger receptor
automatic
Automatic Aircontioner/automatic Headlight
Light sensitive rear view mirror
Instrument Panel dimmer switch
215/45/17 Tyres with Alloy rims
Wing mirrors with indicator lamp
Fog lamp
Dual Air bags
ABS
Keyless entry
Reverse sensors
Chrome package

Vehicle is approx 2 months old / 1500 km and excellent on gas (premium).
Thanks a lot for all the advice - pictures will be posted soon

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 8th, 2011, 7:38 pm

No :lol:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » February 10th, 2011, 1:24 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:

No :lol:

Steups :lol:

U ready to get rid of them stock rims yet? :D

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 10th, 2011, 9:29 pm

^^No...honestly bro, I'm gonna hang on to them..

Sorry man.....what if you got some other 17" wheels though?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » February 11th, 2011, 8:48 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^No...honestly bro, I'm gonna hang on to them..

Sorry man.....what if you got some other 17" wheels though?

Yeah i agree with you, they are some sweet rims.

I'm checking around, looking at 17", what do you think about 18" tho?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 11th, 2011, 10:38 am

^^Well, I'd be worried about two things really:

a) added rotational weight - which slows acceleration a little

b) if the overal rotational diameter is bigger with the 18" wheel/tyre setup, it makes your final drive "taller", which again hampers acceleration.

True these aren't exactly fast cars, but IMHO, I want to optimise what's already there so to speak :oops:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » February 11th, 2011, 12:29 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Well, I'd be worried about two things really:

a) added rotational weight - which slows acceleration a little

b) if the overal rotational diameter is bigger with the 18" wheel/tyre setup, it makes your final drive "taller", which again hampers acceleration.

True these aren't exactly fast cars, but IMHO, I want to optimise what's already there so to speak :oops:

LOL, I knew there would be some disadvantage to 18", hear that you can develop suspension problems as well with 18".

I'll stick to the 17".

I'm really liking this look, what you think?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 11th, 2011, 2:42 pm

^^Well, there may not be THAT many problems with 18" if you go with light wheels! The Road///Race Koup uses 18 or 19" wheels with no issues.

Those look just like a set of Rota Torques I had for sale recently - 5x100 (not Kia fitment)

The rims are too big in that pic though :?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » February 12th, 2011, 10:23 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Well, there may not be THAT many problems with 18" if you go with light wheels! The Road///Race Koup uses 18 or 19" wheels with no issues.

Those look just like a set of Rota Torques I had for sale recently - 5x100 (not Kia fitment)

The rims are too big in that pic though :?

Wait, wait, you thought i was talking about CRIMS or something? :| lol

Yeah those are 18" showing there. I think the 17" give a better finish tho.

If only they coulda fit the Kia, sigh*

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 12th, 2011, 11:07 am

^^No I know you didn't mean crims d00d :lol:

But even "normal" or what the local shops sell as Racing wheels (Zigla dong wheels eh, but say what)...can be just as heavy as those "crims".

So choose wisely if you must. The Torques in that pic were 17.5 lbs per wheel....which was about the best I could get for a 17x8" cast wheel at the time....and that I could afford.

Oh and make sure to get hubcentric rings! They're really worth it 8-)

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » February 15th, 2011, 8:12 pm

hubcentric rings, *googles it* ohhhh, ok cool.

I carrying d car by United Auto to buff/polish next week, possibly get a quote on getting out that kink in the bonnet.

My first polish since i bought the car almost 2yrs ago :oops:

TechLing

Postby TechLing » February 16th, 2011, 11:00 pm

1.6L
paddle shifters
6-speed auto

eet's noicee :lol:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » February 17th, 2011, 8:28 pm

stayinthe_studio,

Wow the white looks good, thus far i haven't seen any white's in TnT
Congrats, how's the ride?

TechLing

Postby TechLing » February 17th, 2011, 11:07 pm

it's actually my brother's but the very few times i drove it..

ride is solid. although i'm not expecting much for a 1.6, i find acceleration is a bit slow.. tiptronic compensates however.

also, the firm advised him to use traction control when it's raining but to otherwise leave it off. any idea of the reasoning behind that? :s

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 18th, 2011, 5:54 am

^^Never heard them say that. BS advise from a sales rep probably.

Nor can I understand the logic in it either.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » February 23rd, 2011, 11:33 am

Have a red Koup...the 'racing' red with two-toned interior...about 6 months now roughly...

Very nice little car...looks good, excellent suspension, very good brakes, average power but better than most out there anyway. What sold the car to me apart from the suspension was the interior - nice array of standard features and very functional...fairly comfortable as well but nothing to boast about...

As for the ASC - i leave it on all the time...never know when a situation may arise that it'll come in handy...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 23rd, 2011, 3:22 pm

^^Ah, you got the RED with the red interior! nice man.......I see the red interior-ed ones are few and far between. There's one near where I work (red) with the black interior, and two 2011 ones (silver and black) with teh black interior as well.

And you're right, the suspension is pretty good given the stock tyres the car comes with.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » February 23rd, 2011, 6:20 pm

Agreed the tyres are rubbish...as soon as they're anywhere near worn i plan to change...

The red in the interior is ok...but the red trims/stitching on the steering wheel, seats etc. do add a nice touch...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 23rd, 2011, 8:02 pm

^Never said the tyres are rubbish. Actually, I think they're a good opton from the comfort and ride quality standpoint.

The thing is, that from a handling performance standpoint (re: suspension), they aren't the best :oops:

Anyhoot....I'm mighty curious as to how the 6 speed auto trans in the 2011 models is faring with those who use it in strictly "D" mode (not the tiptronic mode). That's an awful lot of gear changes (and minor jerks) eh?

For tiptronic mode though, that 6 speed would be ideal!

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » February 24th, 2011, 10:25 am

IMHO they're not very comfortable at all...a bit more on the noisy side also...from a performance aspect they provide little...

The transmission's automatic gear changes aren't smooth enough i don't think to make a 6 speed comfortable, but yea the tiptronic would be more fun lol

Marct

Postby Marct » February 25th, 2011, 6:03 pm

Joining the club next week-the creature features are great for the price that was the part that caught me.

Went for the black

only hope that there wont be issues when it comes to servicing at the firm

mars

Postby mars » February 27th, 2011, 10:40 pm

stayinthe_studio wrote:2011
1.6L
paddle shifters
6-speed auto

eet's noicee :lol:

Very nice! was thinking of going for it but went for the black. Ordered the black with red package but they said only black-on-black came with the shipment. Think I prefer it now anyway. Everyone loves the stock 17" "Stealth" rims. Pics as soon as I clean it!!!!

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » February 28th, 2011, 10:51 pm

Trying to convince the wife to let me get her one of these....

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 1st, 2011, 4:33 am

^^Almost every month (or every so often) I see you posting something about getting a new car (Jetta, Koup, some other car etc etc/coming out to dex etc etc). Did you decide one WHICH you want to buy :?:

:?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » March 1st, 2011, 6:24 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Almost every month (or every so often) I see you posting something about getting a new car (Jetta, Koup, some other car etc etc/coming out to dex etc etc). Did you decide one WHICH you want to buy :?:

:?

Nope....... I haven't decided. It's called testing all the vehicles on market. When I decide, you'll be the first to know.....

Solodex project plans on hold, on account of a death in the family last November, and some new financial burdens I have taken on.
Last edited by killersuzuki on March 3rd, 2011, 8:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Marct

Postby Marct » March 3rd, 2011, 5:54 pm

could somebody post what the normal operating temperature of the cars is?

I noticed that it keeps a little short of the half way mark on the temp reading is that normal?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » March 3rd, 2011, 8:50 pm

Marct wrote:could somebody post what the normal operating temperature of the cars is?

I noticed that it keeps a little short of the half way mark on the temp reading is that normal?

My vehicle doesn't have a temp gauge, then again it's the lower base sedan :(

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 4th, 2011, 5:33 am

Yours doesn't have the LCD display near the ODOmeter? (selectable by pressing the trip button ???)

That display cycles between Fuel cons., temp, est.distance on current gas, instant fuel cons. etc etc

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » March 4th, 2011, 10:25 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:Yours doesn't have the LCD display near the ODOmeter? (selectable by pressing the trip button ???)

That display cycles between Fuel cons., temp, est.distance on current gas, instant fuel cons. etc etc

Yeah the LCD is there, but my options doesn't include temp, all others you mentioned, yeah.
When i read the owners manual, it stated that only when the temp rises to high, then i'll get a warning. :|

Return to “KIA”