Las Cuevas Trail

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Las Cuevas Trail

Postby lighthammer » March 12th, 2011, 5:31 am

For the most part, regular all-terrains will have a tough-time handing all that mud, esp. if it's a deep mud and the soil waterlogged. Even with aggressive treading, the lugs will get bogged with mud quickly and lose traction.
Better to go in dry season when there's less mud and the terrain surface is harder/easier to roll upon for all-terrain tyres.

You'd need proper MT tyres with super huge lugs to get through that mud in the height of the wet-season.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 12th, 2011, 7:10 am

you know - that is probably one of the shortest trails but sometimes most challenging ....lol

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 12th, 2011, 6:59 pm

i went through cuevas today and it was the driest i have ever seen it..i was in shock
and lighthammer i have seen all terrains handle horrible mud very good in cuevas

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 12th, 2011, 9:35 pm

hummmm- now you making me think of making a spin up there

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 12th, 2011, 10:14 pm

what you got equipped on your truck?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 12th, 2011, 10:24 pm

Well just -a/t's and dumb luck.... Lol. Just kinddin yes - I am not going there alone at all

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 12th, 2011, 11:05 pm

haha u shud be able to make it once u choose your path correctly...
im running m/t's

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 24th, 2011, 10:18 am

I have said on this forum before - the Las Quevas trail turns from a Grade 1 - Grade 4 at a moments notice. Had to rush up there after work because one of my bretherins got stuck really bad. He was down to 3/4 of his wheel covered in a kind of "sapatay" black mud.

Fallen victim, and not risking me getting stuck as well not to mention the closest i could have gotten to him was not close enough for my 100 foot rope - we had to call in a backhoe man.

Lots of fun...no damage - But this UNDERESTIMATED trail has the potential to cause severe damage

droppa

Postby droppa » March 24th, 2011, 2:05 pm

seeing the trail in that condition is real frikkin sad, that trail was the acess to a part of the beach that was very unpopulated, so u can have a nice family lime or jus be away from everyone.......

the trail should be graded flat........

or a new trail should be cut.....

there is another one right there, but it involves crossing the river.......

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 24th, 2011, 3:09 pm

droppa i disagree with you 100% yes it may have been a trail that people could of driven through to get in the beach but i am glad that its in its current state that way not every tom, dick and harry could go and drive on the beach as they wish..... another reason i disagree is because now there is some sort of fun that can take place be4 the beach...

if another trail is cut it will just end up like this one over a period of time and the other trail is disgusting the bridge is no longer there and even jimnys have a hard time getting through there in 4x4

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 24th, 2011, 3:10 pm

or and i also heard the track has dried up greatly...ill kno for sure when i go this week

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 24th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Is every week you does go cuevas!?

Postby 3stagevtec » March 24th, 2011, 5:23 pm

I wanna go!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 24th, 2011, 10:15 pm

lol............

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 24th, 2011, 10:38 pm

sometimes....its right there for me so i could wake up at like 1 head down cuevas and reach bout 230ish 3 and dive out bout 5 be4 it start to get too dark

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 24th, 2011, 11:25 pm

Once again, I going to re-iterate my warning...
Be careful about that trail.. If you get stuck there after hours, no guarantee you or your vehicle ever going to make it out....

Word is, thats where a lot of the incoming small island weed passes..

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » March 24th, 2011, 11:39 pm

on the occasions I went it was dry twice an about 70%-75% better than V2NR 3.0 situation

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 25th, 2011, 2:01 am

CD4Accord wrote:Once again, I going to re-iterate my warning...
Be careful about that trail.. If you get stuck there after hours, no guarantee you or your vehicle ever going to make it out....

Word is, thats where a lot of the incoming small island weed passes..

Thats why you dont go by yourself... and if anything i jus winch myself out and others if i have to....and my padna was there a few weeks a back till 3 in the morning and his truck made it out....so you have to be careful before you begin making statements like that

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 25th, 2011, 12:29 pm

When i reached up there it was about 4pm. Had we the luxury of more time, we would have dug, pulled, twisted, chuked and come out one way or the other. But fading light and real unsavory characters starting to loom - we opted for a backhoe man.

He charged us 300tt to get out - a sum we were more than prepared to pay

droppa

Postby droppa » March 25th, 2011, 12:41 pm

haunted when u go this weekend take some pics and post them nah, so we can see how the trail looking.......

and i know its condition is a great deterrent from folks going and driving on the beach, but there is so much beach and river space there that was once easily accessible by most vehicles and look at what it has become over time, jus now even big rigs like u will not be able to make it tru there......

Postby 3stagevtec » March 25th, 2011, 12:49 pm

$300 not bad at all for that rescue!

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 25th, 2011, 2:00 pm

300 is rel good....they norm charge between 700-1000

droppa

Postby droppa » March 25th, 2011, 2:03 pm

in a situ like that u dont mind paying a lil extra to get out to saftey.......

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 25th, 2011, 2:29 pm

a guy pulled me out of dat trail for free, he said it was his gd deed for d day ;)

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 25th, 2011, 3:01 pm

^ Horse...the man pulling you out felt sorry for the power-less Frontier :D :D :shock:

Im just kidding dude

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 25th, 2011, 3:37 pm

^^ hahah! oh noess!!

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 25th, 2011, 7:46 pm

i aint business......caus wen yuh rig bottom out an yuh spend almost 14hrs stuck wit no sign of help, then an only THEN u kno hw lucky u r to meet som1 like Copper!!

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » March 26th, 2011, 6:18 pm

i live a few mins from there , havent been in the back in a while but oMg that has been messed up last time i went through it was in a 2wd sedan... ( dont ask a few 4x4 guys were shocked too ).. but looks liek incredeble fun now...

Postby sliderz1 » March 26th, 2011, 8:02 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:^ Horse...the man pulling you out felt sorry for the power-less Frontier :D :D :shock:

Im just kidding dude

no frontier love :shock: :out: :D :D :mrgreen: :D :D

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 27th, 2011, 5:57 am

speedy doesn't recognize that the Nissan's are the Yakuza of the automotive & diesel world.

He should show some respect, before the Nismo hitmen come and take a finger from him, Yakuza style.

8)

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”