3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

miguel granville

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby miguel granville » April 3rd, 2011, 1:33 pm

ImageIMG_2199a by mglgranville, on Flickr
ImageIMG_2274a by mglgranville, on Flickr
ImageIMG_2282a by mglgranville, on Flickr
ImageIMG_2295a by mglgranville, on Flickr

evo_chic

Postby evo_chic » April 4th, 2011, 1:58 am

varung

Postby varung » April 5th, 2011, 12:34 pm

just to get an opinion.
I have a canon rebel xti 10.0mp. still with a tamron 28-75mm lens. is it time to upgrade the body, or the lens alone, or both.
if your opinion is lens, anyone can recommend another one for overall shots ?

Postby RBphoto » April 5th, 2011, 12:41 pm

If you are having this dilema, get a P&S and give the DSLR package to me :|

varung

Postby varung » April 5th, 2011, 12:53 pm

@ crossdrilled, in essence what i'm asking is it this camera in photo tuner's opinions still relevant?

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 5th, 2011, 1:00 pm

varung wrote:@ crossdrilled, in essence what i'm asking is it this camera in photo tuner's opinions still relevant?

Only you can decide that... have you really explored all avenues with your camera?

Whats your reason for asking?

[ my opinion ]
Your camera is only as relevant as you make it, its all about what you want from it and whether it can deliver what you want.
[ / my opinion ]

varung

Postby varung » April 5th, 2011, 1:31 pm

never really explored the art of editing pics using a programme like photoshop etc. i usually shoot raw, and play with light using the various settings and my external flash an EXII. But i feel like those tamron lens hold me back sometimes as i keep have to switch between 28-75mm and 70-300mm. then there's the overall quality, it's not consistent, too many out of focus shots when taken quickly, light issues, sharnPess and overall 'life' in the shot. Doh get me wrong sometimes it impresses me and i feel vindicated to hang on to this model longer.

@Lucian-2nr- i feel now that i can take a better shot and the camera and lens hold me back to put it simply, BUT i am self taught with no course training etc so i question my own opinion.

So it's just to get an opinion of what users rocking with these days and if they still think it worth it's salt now a days.
Last edited by varung on April 5th, 2011, 2:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » April 5th, 2011, 2:00 pm

I get all my shots using a nikon D40 (6MP), SB400 flash on camera, 55-200, 18-55 and 35mm, all "crop Sensor" DX lenses. You already bigger in the dance than me :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 5th, 2011, 7:57 pm

crossdrilled wrote:A tropical mocking bird

DSC_0082.jpg

DSC_0021.JPG

ON SHAP!! @ first shot !!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 5th, 2011, 8:50 pm

varung wrote:never really explored the art of editing pics using a programme like photoshop etc. i usually shoot raw, and play with light using the various settings and my external flash an EXII. But i feel like those tamron lens hold me back sometimes as i keep have to switch between 28-75mm and 70-300mm. then there's the overall quality, it's not consistent, too many out of focus shots when taken quickly, light issues, sharnPess and overall 'life' in the shot. Doh get me wrong sometimes it impresses me and i feel vindicated to hang on to this model longer.

@Lucian-2nr- i feel now that i can take a better shot and the camera and lens hold me back to put it simply, BUT i am self taught with no course training etc so i question my own opinion.

So it's just to get an opinion of what users rocking with these days and if they still think it worth it's salt now a days.

You sound like me in a year or two

Postby RBphoto » April 6th, 2011, 8:01 am

Chiney wrote:ON SHAP!! @ first shot !!!

See why I bumping people thread when they are selling their 55-200? It is sharp as a razor wide open. I think every nikon shooter should have one, unless they upgrade to faster/ longer glass..

Postby tr1ad » April 6th, 2011, 9:39 am

lighthammer

what editing software you using?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 6th, 2011, 10:12 am

http://www.paint.net

Download it at:
http://www.getpaint.net/download.html#download

excellent free software and easy to use :)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 6th, 2011, 4:07 pm

NIKKOR 35-135mm 3.5-4.5

1/2500, iso200, f3.8

Postby ismithx » April 7th, 2011, 9:02 pm

ahhhhh well done chiney

Postby tr1ad » April 8th, 2011, 8:04 am

trying out different compositions

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 8th, 2011, 8:44 am

nikon d90, burst mode. strictly manual. vivid setting.

1/3200 iso 500 f11

1/200 iso 500 f3.5

manual focus, 1/120 iso 500 f3.5

shutter was too high here :(

1/200 iso 500 f3.5

Postby tr1ad » April 8th, 2011, 10:10 am

why the background is so strikingly white in the first shot?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 8th, 2011, 10:40 am

that is actually the background. took the shot at around 5:30-5:45pm

photo is also unedited..

Postby ismithx » April 8th, 2011, 10:52 am

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 8th, 2011, 10:59 am

first shot awesome- wat is it though?

2nd shot is good, but u brave yes, them ting is sting hard

last one... nice

Postby ismithx » April 8th, 2011, 11:08 am

1. oil on water, using a flashlight to produce those crazy effects

2. weyyyy i chase down this little fellow for 5 min to get that shot.

3. Doormat.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 8th, 2011, 8:11 pm

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 9th, 2011, 6:08 am

varung wrote:never really explored the art of editing pics using a programme like photoshop etc. i usually shoot raw, and play with light using the various settings and my external flash an EXII. But i feel like those tamron lens hold me back sometimes as i keep have to switch between 28-75mm and 70-300mm. then there's the overall quality, it's not consistent, too many out of focus shots when taken quickly, light issues, sharnPess and overall 'life' in the shot. Doh get me wrong sometimes it impresses me and i feel vindicated to hang on to this model longer.

Sounds like you need to refresh your skills, rather than upgrade your equipment.
Even if you upgrade your lens from a Tamron to something like a Canon L series, or if you upgrade from the XTi to a 60D - what's the point of doing so if you're gonna still "see" photographs and take photographs in the same manner? All you'll really get is sharper versions of the same old style.

I've had that same problem many times over, and what I learned from discussing with other photog's is to refresh your own viewpoint, your own "photographer's eye" and you'll see a difference in your pics.

Bottom line: it's usually the photographer, and not the equipment. The fix: Inspiration, learning from others, and sincere effort to expand your own creativity.
Have a look at these links - they helped me alot, hopefully they'll help you to broaden your perspective and change the way you shoot (before you plunk down a ton of money).

http://best-photoshop-tutorials.blogspot.com/2009/02/photo-effect-and-photo-editing.html

http://www.planetphotoshop.com/

http://www.discoverwildlife.com/wildlife-nature-photography

http://www.digital-photography-school.com/ (this is one of my faves and it turned my shooting around).

http://www.strobist.blogspot.com/ Learn how to play with light, and completely change your photo's! It definitely worked for me.

http://photo.net/learn/

These next two guys inspired me when I was in a slump, thinking that I couldn't possibly get any better in my photography. Back then I was convinced that I should buy a better camera and that I needed better lenses. I did actually buy a better camera (went from a Nikon D40 to a Nikon D200) but for different reasons than my original intentions.
http://www.joemcnally.com/blog/
http://blog.chasejarvis.com/blog/

BTW, my camera is now 5 years old, and the oldest lens in the cupboard is from 1977.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 9th, 2011, 6:19 am

tr1ad wrote:lighthammer

what editing software you using?

I use Lightroom 2.1 for most editing purposes, and for special stuff I use Photoshop CS4.
And I also use a bunch of tutorials for references.

http://www.planetphotoshop.com/
http://www.photoshopcstutorial.com/
http://sixrevisions.com/photoshop/21-advanced-photoshop-tips-tricks-and-tutorials-roundup/
http://best-photoshop-tutorials.blogspot.com/2009/02/photo-effect-and-photo-editing.html

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 9th, 2011, 6:26 am

Rally Trinidad 2011

Chemical

Postby Chemical » April 9th, 2011, 9:23 am

^^My new camera, got it yestarday....still need to read the manual.

Can't wait to try this out...the Nikon speedflash SD-800 was US $800 alone !!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » April 10th, 2011, 6:35 pm

Too lazy to put settings...

MassiveDynamic ★★★★★

Postby MassiveDynamic ★★★★★ » April 10th, 2011, 9:29 pm

[quote="ismithx"]Image

[quote]

whats this btw?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 10th, 2011, 11:28 pm

Chemical - congrats on your new purchase man, you must really be excited! Nothing can beat the smell of new electronics :D.

Remember the basic rules of creativity - experiment, learn from others, make mistakes and never give up!

If you only knew the power of what that SB800 can do.... stuff like this:

and this...

and also this....

Here's an example of what a few hours of reading and browsing on the internet and a strong drive to learn and be creative can do for you (plus a bit of savings):

Welcome to the world of photography man, and also welcome to the world of off-camera lighting. All you need now is a couple more SB800's or even SB600's and you'll have a chance to take your photography to high places!