EVO X - PCJ 110 build - UPDATE OCT 24 2010

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Kronik

Re: EVO X - PCJ 110 build - UPDATE OCT 24 2010

Postby Kronik » October 25th, 2010, 9:20 am

ZeroOne wrote:
fras wrote:
Kronik wrote:White!
:twisted:

Says the drivers whose vihicles are white.

i know somebody woulda say that :lol: :lol:

white looks damn good!!

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 25th, 2010, 9:35 am

Not saying that white isnt the color for it. If he paints over all the red areas white it gonna look better than it does now.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 25th, 2010, 12:06 pm

It will look good....but white seems a bit tame for this beast......

I will return with my suggestion....

Postby Rooki3 » October 25th, 2010, 4:38 pm

white a lil mundane IMHO

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » October 26th, 2010, 8:00 am

^^^x2... it hav a whole Evo thread in the Car Park, man! i sure u cud get some ideas there...

trvs

Postby trvs » October 26th, 2010, 11:35 am

DTERLTD

Postby DTERLTD » October 28th, 2010, 1:25 pm

A clean white evo X is hard to beat, but white is kinda too 'pretty'.

This bit_h doesn't feel pretty when I drive her. She feels like a raging bull, a woman scorned, a mother protecting her children from definite murder... you guys get the point I'm sure.

The gunmetal sounds good. Yellow is too soft although the shade of yellow in the photo above, with the CF would look incredible.

Keep your suggestions coming tuners and thanks...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 28th, 2010, 2:53 pm

How about bronze?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 28th, 2010, 5:31 pm

what about the gunmetal? like this:

but a little darker with a glass finish so it will shine in the night

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » October 30th, 2010, 2:09 am

^^^or maybe a little lighter with a satin finish, to highlight the CF inserts :)

Postby Rooki3 » October 30th, 2010, 2:18 am

matte black

Postby 16 cycles » October 30th, 2010, 11:51 am

put a CF roof instead

TechArt

Postby TechArt » November 3rd, 2010, 11:13 am

http://www.lambocars.com/archive/paint.htm

Sleeper look - Dark colours to hide the CF from far
Show stopper - Bright colours to make the Cf stand out not matter the distance
JDM type look - White, Sliver, Blue, Red

No matter the colour you choose the car will still have the same effect in a rear view "BIT%H just move"

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » November 3rd, 2010, 11:53 am

because there is so much CF on this car, it's white or nothing..

the yellow posted above is stunning, a nice blue would do as well.
but with the cf I dont think you'd truly get to appreciate those colours as they look nice because the entire car is in that colour

So IMHO leave as is, or go white. :)

trvs

Postby trvs » November 3rd, 2010, 3:29 pm

^ yep white! Stormtrooper look :D

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 3rd, 2010, 8:40 pm

man say storm trooper yes :lol: :lol:

fras

Postby fras » November 3rd, 2010, 9:47 pm

So thats 3 votes for white!
:mrgreen:

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » November 5th, 2010, 7:59 am

Kronik wrote:man say storm trooper yes :lol: :lol:

Thas actually what they call them in the US :wink:

Messi

Postby Messi » November 9th, 2010, 2:32 pm

Yup and when they do it up with Cf'. its called the panda bear look... there are lots of colours of white X's on the forums in the vanity sections.

Postby M_2NR » November 15th, 2010, 12:18 am

how are things in this camp? been a while.

btw...

WHITE :|

that;s what 10 now? :lol:

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » December 14th, 2010, 12:03 pm

red looks good IMO buh what about matte black???

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 3rd, 2011, 11:24 am

i just read thru this entire thread.. i must say.. excellent post... and congrat on the build! u really seem to kno what u what with ur car... cept for the colour issue now... my input.. leave it as it is... that stock red is kickass IMO

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 18th, 2011, 12:25 pm

This project on pause ?

mit_eclipse

Postby mit_eclipse » January 26th, 2011, 3:39 pm

red is the bess way to go.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » January 31st, 2011, 4:10 pm

Any updates on this beauty?
Did you dyno?

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » February 2nd, 2011, 4:52 pm

Bro.. Anyone Know The Color Code For This Paint?... I Wanted This Exact Shade Of Yellow For My Car... !!!!!!!!!... :evil:

DTERLTD

Postby DTERLTD » February 18th, 2011, 10:06 pm

Tuners big big apologies for not updating the tread. This is the first time I've actually visited the tread in a couple months.

I think it's off the sticky section...but thanks to the mods for keeping it up as long as they did. The project took a bit of a nosedive because of the Xmas season etc. Things are just getting back in order and more progress will be made soon.

As far as the colour goes, white will be crazy with the CF, matte black sounds nice and cruel. I like it.

Stay tuned tuners...

Quite a bit to do still on the power and tuning. Also further refinements to boost setting / controller, nos installation and a couple more surprises

Postby Morpheus » February 19th, 2011, 5:01 am

^^Finally you resurfaced.

Good to know the car isn't "sold" or "write off".

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » February 19th, 2011, 9:05 am

^^^ent?!

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » April 24th, 2011, 6:24 am

Just an update on what we have learned about this (Evo X) platform so far:

EFI:
TPS and IACV are one unit and is Throttle by wire; prone to failure and usually starts out with unstable and temperamental idle. Started with the 08 models and was eventually repaired by Mitsu with a software upgrade and also a hardware upgrade. Mitsu Trinidad is not able to support these problems.
These cars literally learn how to idle.

The OEM system is very complex in how it builds final Fuel and Ignition maps. If everything (sensors) and hardware (turbo, manifolds, recirc valve, etc) are not bone stock the system quite literally gets confused..........unless you have access to base mapping, understand the ECU logic and know how to recalibrate sensors, do not play around with these cars.
The MAF Sensor is prone to failure, larger piping, poor filtration, larger flow turbos without re-calibration of the MAF signal..........it will fail.
The MAP Sensor signal feeds a logic loop in the fuel and ignition control system, if you change the basic characteristics of the induction “system” (turbo, inlet piping, intercooler, exhaust manifold) you need to re-calibrate the system so that the logic loops do not get fed data that cannot be accurately processed.
Yes all the parts in the brackets are available for these cars, plus cams and more, yes they can be fitted with no “apparent” problems to the driver, but, it takes quite a bit more to extract the bang for the buck………efficiently.
Yes any clown can read an SAE standardised engine code if the engine light comes up. Problem is that code may be “as a result of” and not because you have a hardware problem.

Boost Control:
An after-market Boost Control Unit is a complete waste of time unless the OEM system is set up to allow it. Yes you will get more boost, but you WILL NOT have proper control of ignition and fuel mapping, as within the OEM logic and algorithms the two are interlinked. It is not a simple look-up table.

Recirculation Valve:
Simple........everybody does it, replace with a BOV, the ECU hates it and you will eventually fail the system. If you want, forget the nice sneeze between shifts and fit an upgraded recirculation valve.

Keyless Entry System (KOS):
Do NOT install an after-market Security system.
DO NOT install a Turbo Timer.
If the doors are locked and the engine is on, the key is out the car, but the ignition is in the off position, the ECU/KOS/ETACS cannot handle the hard-wiring and logic. The ETACS is likely to fail, or the system can go into a high-level security shut down......Mitsu Trinidad cannot help you on their own.
There have been at least 4 that we know of, that have or had security system / ignition key problems.

ETACS:
This is the "main server" in the Mitsubishi hard wiring between all of the Electronic Control Units. All of the logic and request / approval is handled on multiple CAN Bus pairs. If you start playing with hard wiring, taking power from "just anywhere" under the dashboard or in the engine bay, you run the risk of "overloading" circuits and compromising logic loops.............you run the risk of ETACS failure.
DO NOT play around with the hard wiring in these cars. Adding systems into the electronics is a recipe for problems and if not done correctly, ETACS failure. You cannot “simulate” CAN signals, so you would not be able to “by-pass” failed systems or get around logic built into the systems, if you have partial or full ETACS failure.

CAN Protocol Networks:
This was developed by BOSCH years ago and in short it is a multiplex control system that has in-built very high level redundancy on a twisted pair hard line. Most of the OEMs are using it now and it is great, reliable and cost effective. Problem is that there is no back door for someone to get in and change things. Think of the LAN network in your office, back when people used to have a main server. All the computers were running Windows so anyone with the understanding and access rights could manipulate the system, from any terminal. Now remove Windows, throw away all the IP addresses on record, switch off all the monitors and try to print a test page on the shared printer……….yes it’s possible, but it takes someone with very special skills and understanding. To the aftermarket, this is the situation with CAN Protocol. It can be learned, it can be interfaced, it can be manipulated…………..but there are very few people that know it or have hardware interface capability.

Clutch Master Cylinder:
A big piece of plastic crap. Upgrade your pressure plate / clutch and it’s only time before the Clutch Cylinder housing separates along the stuck together bonding line. Remove the heat shielding between the turbo and the Clutch Cylinder and you will be lucky to make a down shift at the end of the highway……..especially if you were running hard through the gears on the way. Yes there are a few options for fitting a re-enforcement ring, but if you can, replace the whole thing with a more conventional cylinder assembly.

IN GENERAL:
We live in Trinidad and do not have access to Dealership Services of any reliable technical level. We are Trinidadian, so we can F*** with anything that everybody else thinks is impossible. Because of this, when you get your dream list for your X, your mechanic is not going to tell you NO.
Mitsu Trinidad cannot help you very much with these cars, there are not enough of them routinely in for service, they do not have all the interface tools required, they have to learn on your car if there is an attempt to assist you. Trinidad is not a designated support location for the X platform.
The fact with these cars is that they are so electronically complex, especially the security systems, that if you do have a problem……..yuh panda might be able to hard wire it, but I guarantee you will damage something else.
My advise: unless you want to go to the extreme with COMPLETE purpose built power modifications from proven suppliers………….do not mess about with these cars. You will spend loads of money, you will keep running into problems that you will be told are as a result of “having to do, because”, you will spend more money, you will get frustrated and then you will sell what started out to be a quirky but damned good car.
I would almost take a bet that the EVO-X’s in Trinidad are going to be locked in garages over the years, not like the previous models that you can see still driving around with no real problems. How this would affect their re-sale, I suspect very very negatively.

NONE of the aftermarket stand-alone systems are catered toward the street. They are intended for competition vehicles. The very few that offer a streetable system offer it to the USDM and are not interested (even if you are willing to pay) in testing or developing something for the JDM. If you want to keep your X on the street with “big power” you are on your own. If you do go to the likes of the “re-flash” market then you are OK, but a box Lancer with an SR going to embarrass you………bad!

This sounds all very negative, it is!
BUT, if you know what you want, know how to go about it, have the resources to do it and have support that is competent, then these cars can be great and very satisfying to the owner.

PCJ-110:
What we are doing with this car is exactly what this note warns you not to do. We are on our own and so far NOBODY has been able to offer us assistance or knowledge. This car is and continues to be a rolling test bed on the OEM control systems. The goal is not to make the most horse-power, but it is to make enough to be scary, reliably and safely, and without the loss of OEM functionality (and keep the box Lancer in the rear view). As far as we are aware some of the things we have done, and plan to do, have not been done by anyone. Some of the hardware has been custom made as will be some of the planned electronics.
Big thanks to Mitsubishi Trinidad for all the help so far (yes you in particular if you read this :wink: )
The owner is probably the most steadfast customer that I have had. This car is a huge personal pride and has been like raising a child…….it takes time to develop from scratch.
Is a pity you cannot hit it a lash an make it learn!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”