b16a5 automatic Final Gear Rpm Issue

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

adriano7910

b16a5 automatic Final Gear Rpm Issue

Postby adriano7910 » July 13th, 2011, 9:53 pm

I did a search and the topic had no definite conclusion.
The car a a original local sir b16a5 auto. car pull healthy and only mods at a intake and exhaust.
The car performs as should to in vtec and pull healthy redlines at 7200rpm or thereabout but once it goes into fourth gear and or at 160kph is stays at 160 and wont accel more and has a constant rpm of 4k.

NB only tried this in d4
Car has 17" 205 40 17 tyres.

What i want to know. is this normal. is this a electronic speed governor. does it happen on all classic model auto sir's
Is there any difference between driving in d4 d3 2 or 1 as pertains to the top speed.
All input welcomed
Last edited by adriano7910 on January 6th, 2012, 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

adriano7910

Re: b16a5 auto transmission speed cut.

Postby adriano7910 » July 14th, 2011, 3:28 pm

update. found out that local sir auto are limited to 160 in d4 as it is a more economical gearing ratio and d3 is the sport gear ratio

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 14th, 2011, 3:41 pm

^^ Exactly. The problem is that the D4 gear ratio is too low .... good for fuel economy, not for performance. The B16A cannot overcome the final drive ratio and therefore is out of the VTEC powerband ... 5500 rpm +. A 5 speed auto would've been better.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 14th, 2011, 3:51 pm

ek4ever wrote:^^ Exactly. The problem is that the D4 gear ratio is too low .... good for fuel economy, not for performance. The B16A cannot overcome the final drive ratio and therefore is out of the VTEC powerband ... 5500 rpm +. A 5 speed auto would've been better.

probably true. actually by logic it is true. but i got a chance at a incredible well maintained sir that wasnt for sale but only because of knowing a intermediate between us got the chance so i cldn't be picky

bonestock

Postby bonestock » July 14th, 2011, 6:08 pm

adriano7910 wrote:
ek4ever wrote:^^ Exactly. The problem is that the D4 gear ratio is too low .... good for fuel economy, not for performance. The B16A cannot overcome the final drive ratio and therefore is out of the VTEC powerband ... 5500 rpm +. A 5 speed auto would've been better.

probably true. actually by logic it is true. but i got a chance at a incredible well maintained sir that wasnt for sale but only because of knowing a intermediate between us got the chance so i cldn't be picky

Get a knowledgeable B16A mechanic to port and polish your head and you will see it cross 160 in D4 :wink:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 14th, 2011, 7:09 pm

^ how is a PP head gone over come a OD 4th gear ????

bonestock

Postby bonestock » July 14th, 2011, 7:23 pm

red_dragon wrote:^ how is a PP head gone over come a OD 4th gear ????

ask my mech, my head was recently PP and with ease i reach to 170 without going into D3.
P.S. - i am bonestock, no intake nor exhaust work....PP is the only mod i have and a drop in K&N

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 14th, 2011, 7:36 pm

hummm
very nice for you
I was stock manual with aem CAI and 200km in 4th gear ....

bonestock

Postby bonestock » July 14th, 2011, 7:48 pm

red_dragon wrote:hummm
very nice for you
I was stock manual with aem CAI and 200km in 4th gear ....

nice!!! i could imagine how that used to run, a manual B16A is a totally different beast yes...

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 14th, 2011, 11:11 pm

bonestock wrote:
adriano7910 wrote:

Get a knowledgeable B16A mechanic to port and polish your head and you will see it cross 160 in D4 :wink:

very strange but cool

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » July 15th, 2011, 4:14 pm

If you down size the rims to 15" (just as a test) it might cross that speed. Check me and we will put on my 15"and go for ah spin.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 15th, 2011, 4:39 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:If you down size the rims to 15" (just as a test) it might cross that speed. Check me and we will put on my 15"and go for ah spin.

update in d3 the car pulls beyond the 160 mark. pulls to wat we know it suppose to go up to which is 180kph. but i'd love to see the diff the 15" make. so i'll take u up on that offer sometime.
Last edited by adriano7910 on January 17th, 2012, 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

hudson

Postby hudson » July 21st, 2011, 7:00 pm

I will say the thing about the 15 inch rims could be true since i went back to 15 from 17 my SIR goes up to 190km/hr in D4 also it is a totally different car when it comes to performance only mod i have is a cold air intake

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » December 11th, 2011, 7:28 pm

well the honda manual says d4 should go to top speed and d3 should go to 178kph... soo ill have to try the 15"

Zim

Postby Zim » December 16th, 2011, 10:42 am

^Yeah the 17s throwing u off, I easily pass 160 km/h on mine in D4. I barely run it beyond that tho :lol:

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » December 17th, 2011, 10:15 am

on 17's in d4 - reaches to 160 then changes gear with ease and then max since then (ran into traffic) 170kph

on 15's tried it once but ran it to traffic again. Felt the same though. Since then cannot try it again because my 15's tyres are shot to hell. Cant try that speed with those tires.

Zim

Postby Zim » December 19th, 2011, 9:30 am

^Hmm, I see, well the previous owner rebuilt my tranny, so I dunno if my speed is normal, feels fine2 me, except 4th gear is really weak :(

Zim

Postby Zim » December 19th, 2011, 9:31 am

I'd lose the 17s tho....

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » December 19th, 2011, 11:23 am

Zim wrote:I'd lose the 17s tho....

i would like to also but its real expensive 17's o.z superlegga 17x 7 '14lbs each' and new 205/40/17 dirrezza z101 and if i sell that ill be taking a heavy loss and to find ppl who wanna trade their 15x7j's with good tyres for 17 with tyres and pay the diff hard

Zim

Postby Zim » December 19th, 2011, 12:59 pm

^ :lol: daz yuh ride? I cudda swear I saw it in Trincity on Saturday bro, looking good. Oh shucks, hmm, yea I feel u. Those are good wheels btw :)

Guess u might as well keep them then, if that's the case. How does the car pull otherwise? IMO, once it not lazy on lower speeds, u ok. I barely carry mine up 2 160 tho, so the lack of top end (170 km/h +) isn't a big issue for me.

Put in a gearbox yes, wah ah go tell yuh :lol:

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » December 19th, 2011, 1:53 pm

Zim wrote:^ :lol: daz yuh ride? I cudda swear I saw it in Trincity on Saturday bro, looking good. Oh shucks, hmm, yea I feel u. Those are good wheels btw :)

Guess u might as well keep them then, if that's the case. How does the car pull otherwise? IMO, once it not lazy on lower speeds, u ok. I barely carry mine up 2 160 tho, so the lack of top end (170 km/h +) isn't a big issue for me.

Put in a gearbox yes, wah ah go tell yuh :lol:

Yea i was in trinicity on saturday.
Car pulls Very healthy low down. and it not really a issue of wanting to go to 220 its just the car is suppose to do it easily and if i know it isnt it will bother me.

Zim

Postby Zim » December 19th, 2011, 3:07 pm

Nice, I knew I saw correct then :P
Oh, good to know, so does mine. Hmm, well thing is the previous owner of mine said before the rebuild it reached 220 easily. But I not fretting. I'm tempted 2 go manual, but unsure at the moment, as there are other things I want to sort out with the car.

Novicecardude

Postby Novicecardude » December 19th, 2011, 3:27 pm

Hey i have a B16A5 with auto transmission and it hits 220 on D4 and around 170 D3, original 15" rims.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » December 19th, 2011, 9:45 pm

would love to line it up against another stock auto ek4 and see what goes on

shady23

Postby shady23 » December 20th, 2011, 9:00 am

Adrian you want to line it up against a manual one? Lol.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » December 20th, 2011, 9:20 am

if you want to launch from 3rd yea :lol:
i will have to sell it if i still get licks :|
when i do the manual conversion some time next year we will line them up.

Zim

Postby Zim » December 20th, 2011, 9:22 am

Novicecardude wrote:Hey i have a B16A5 with auto transmission and it hits 220 on D4 and around 170 D3, original 15" rims.

u serious? It not stock?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 20th, 2011, 1:06 pm

adriano7910 wrote:if you want to launch from 3rd yea :lol:
i will have to sell it if i still get licks :|
when i do the manual conversion some time next year we will line them up.

not a problem
Shady check me before the run .... :D :twisted:
if it is a 1-4th gear comparison . I in that also :skurry:

Postby r3iXmann » December 20th, 2011, 6:32 pm

race ting going on dey? ah dey :mrgreen:

red_dragon