L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
l200

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby l200 » April 29th, 2011, 5:25 pm

Hey ppl, hope all is well.......

Do any of you guys know if the pejero diff can fit on the k34????

I have seen some in freeport and the guy has more on the way,

But the diffs looking similar, but the best part is that they have the self locking actuators on them thinking to see if it can fit.......

if you guys have any info abt the line up let me kno

on a side note, I got the steering box from the pejero today going in on monday,
will let you know how that goes.......

venum

Postby venum » April 30th, 2011, 10:47 pm

good info dude

interested to know what the result will be like

AFAIK (and I may be wrong) is that teh Paj diff has a different ratio

but this can be either good or bad, depending on what you use your vehicle for:

Lower ratios are generally desirable when going off-road. Higher ratios are better for freeway driving since they run at lower RPM's and offer better fuel economy.

http://www.differentials.com/faq.html

Check the following for the Pajero's diff (final drive) ratio

I am assuming Gen 1 (L144) or Gen 2 (V24, V26, V46) as I doubt that he getting any Gen 3 (V98) in parts

Pajero T/case & Final Drive Ratio's

Gen 1

2.3TD = 4.875, 5.29
2.6 / 2.5TD = 4.625, 4.875
2.5TDI = 4.625, 4.875
3.0 V6 = 4.625, 4.875
t/case = 1.944:1 low range for 2.6, 2.3TD & 2.5TD, 1.925:1 for 3.0 V6

Gen 2

2.6 = 4.875
2.5TD & 2.5TDI = 4.875, 5.29
3.0 V6 = 4.625, 4.875
2.8D = 4.875
2.8TDI = 4.90
3.5 DOHC V6 = 4.636
t/case = 1.925:1 low range for 2.6, 2.5TD, 2.5TDI & 3.0 V6, 1.90:1 for 2.8TDI & 3.5 DOHC V6

Gen 3

2.8TDI = 4.90 5sp man
3.2 DID = 3.917 5sp auto or 4.10 for 5sp man
3.5 SOHC V6 = 4.30 5sp man & 5sp auto
3.8 SOHC V6 = 4.30 5sp auto
t/case = 1.90:1 for all

http://www.downunder4x4.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8149

cross reference with your final drive ratio and determine (I lost my owners manual somewhere home so I can't find the value)

The K74T model is 4.636

the higher the number, the lower the ratio
The higher the number, the lower the ratio: a 5.29 gear has a lower ratio than a 4.10 gear.

http://www.differentials.com/faq.html

so according to the figures above the Pajero Gen 2 has a lower gear ratio (5.29) than the K74T model (4.636), so it will give more torque and be better off-road

l200

Postby l200 » May 10th, 2011, 5:05 pm

Great Read V.......

Well i'm not sure abt the model, but it had a v6 gas engine........ was told that the diff can work and that the lockers only need a vacuum source from de alternator and a switch on the inside to control it.......

So far so good with de steering box, no leaks, no play and very little modification was needed...... will try to post some pics tomorrow......

venum

Postby venum » May 10th, 2011, 9:13 pm

the V6 gas engine . . . Hmmm

That the model with either the 6G74 or 6G75 engine

The diff should be the same as the diesel models given the way Mitsu assembled their models in that era ~mid to late 90's

I am more interested in the locking aspect

l200

Postby l200 » May 11th, 2011, 5:17 pm

Hi guys, do you kno what are the pros an cons of raising a van with stock suppension......

My van is lower in the front and I would like to raise it up a bit, it seems to be simple,

just to adjust the torsion bar and re-camber the van.........

I just need to know if it would have any adverse effects?????

on a side note, the pajero box has increased the locking ability of the van, it is so much easier to go into tight spaces.......

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 11th, 2011, 5:58 pm

i want to raise the front of my van also.. but i have the 4x2 version but the front is still lower than the back... i have a the coil spring suspension... so its jes a matter of getting new springs... will bee looking into it somtime soon! :)

venum

Postby venum » May 11th, 2011, 11:30 pm

the front is lower to allow for stability when the rear is loaded, so it will be level front and back

when u raise the front either by torsion bars or longer springs u put the front suspension components under more strain during rough road as it reduced downward travel

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 12th, 2011, 12:27 am

so wha if i raise d front and d back? :D

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 27th, 2011, 8:55 pm

or lower the back 2" like some idiot did wit a burgandy k14 to avoid the Rooster up look in the back. lol

venum

Postby venum » May 28th, 2011, 9:04 am

^~^ how u lower, remove helpers from the lift spring bundle :?:

Or cut the shackle hangers :?:

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 28th, 2011, 6:57 pm

^ 2" lowering/raising blocks with longer U clamps. The kit that is sold.

venum

Postby venum » May 28th, 2011, 7:44 pm

ahh I see

thanx :!:

l200

Postby l200 » June 22nd, 2011, 5:04 pm

Hi guys,

abt the pajero diff, I was told it will work....

I jus have one query......can that diff take the type of load the the original can???

That is my only worry now,....

the line up possible, but every one saying ah might not be able to carry full loads, can anyone confirm this???

venum

Postby venum » June 22nd, 2011, 7:56 pm

interesting point

payload of pajero is prob less than L200

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 22nd, 2011, 9:51 pm

hey can anyone tell me if the k34t has lsd ?. searched but only found for the k74t

venum

Postby venum » June 22nd, 2011, 11:56 pm

no

K34 locally did not have LSD

I do not thaink that any of the other worlld markets got LSD in their K34 either

K74 model was introduced with LSD

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 24th, 2011, 6:10 am

Fellas, I'm lookin for the rear glass rubbers for the k14.

you know where i can find this? That's all i need and im ready for a paint job.

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » July 24th, 2011, 6:52 pm

I need help, my k34 L200 reverse light keeps sticking

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 25th, 2011, 10:45 am

check the wire comin out from the the Gearbox...

venum

Postby venum » July 25th, 2011, 12:11 pm

what you mean by sticking :?:

not coming on when you engage Reverse or not coming off when you de-select reverse gear :?:

there is a sensor on the gearbox

mine was not coming on at one time because there was mud inside the jack on the sensor

sureshot_james

Postby sureshot_james » July 26th, 2011, 6:18 pm

venum wrote:what you mean by sticking :?:

not coming on when you engage Reverse or not coming off when you de-select reverse gear :?:

there is a sensor on the gearbox

mine was not coming on at one time because there was mud inside the jack on the sensor

wonder how that happened?? Playing in ditches again?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 27th, 2011, 1:44 am

^^^ :D :D :D!

the wire on the gearbox i think works with a negative signal... if there is a break in the wire somwhere... and it grounds off the reverse lights will come on..

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » July 28th, 2011, 10:03 am

It not comming off when i de-select reverse

venum

Postby venum » July 28th, 2011, 12:01 pm

sound like the sensor needs a cleaning

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » August 9th, 2011, 8:12 pm

guys,

got a pair of Roadstone Roadian for sale. 30x9.5R15 Real good condition.
Please see link below.
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=383620

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » August 17th, 2011, 9:06 pm

Guys,

I did a simple injector and fuel pump flush by Big Z in princess town.

nothing fancy, guess its up to wot cleaning agent is used.

And i did get a noticible increase in performance.
Less smoke even at WOT.
Acclerated for the first time and had me sink back in the seat. (gear 1)
was able to chirp in gear 3 (with my noisy gearbox and diff wit backlash)

and i also noticed the engine is running much cooler. even tho i made the highway run at 8 pm to test out.. and its usually cooler at nites.

What i want to find out, assuming my injectors were very dirty, and restricting diesel flow, spitting fuel, is it possible that the engine was running "lean" thus increasing engine temp at high speeds?

I havnt gotten a chance to test run during the day (mid day hot sun) to see the difference.

the services was $325.

Big z recommends it be done every 20000 kms.
I have never done that before and i tink i will be including it in my regular scheduled maintenances now.

My only concern was if too much of this cleaning agent will damage parts of the pump or injector tips. He reassured me it is safe... but i guess still open for doubt.

Cleaning agent was not disclosed as its a marked "trade secret".

but i was assured it wasnt transmission oil and pitch oil mixed lol..

If due to the recently cleaned injectors, my engine temp is reduced, it may save me the cost of upgrading my radiator which i was beginning to think was undersized for this 4d56T engine. (radiator is original for the NA 4d56)

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » August 17th, 2011, 9:10 pm

Dexter,

did you get tru with swapping the diffs?

you willing to part wit your oem k34 diff for a small change?

stev_ram

Postby stev_ram » August 24th, 2011, 4:13 pm

,thanks
Last edited by stev_ram on December 6th, 2016, 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 24th, 2011, 4:26 pm

change rings... what kinda milage the van doin? u can get engine parts @ faiz in marabela..

stev_ram

Postby stev_ram » August 24th, 2011, 4:42 pm

ok coo
Last edited by stev_ram on December 6th, 2016, 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”