323F SPORT aka LANTIS PPL / WEY U AT ?

MAZDA People United - it continues here

speedist

Re: 323F SPORT aka LANTIS PPL / WEY U AT ?

Postby speedist » July 21st, 2011, 6:54 pm

Good to hear you made some headway. you'll be back with us soon then. If i had some money now i'd buy those lantis cuts. Those setups you callin there makin me drool. heheh. Believe me i could attest to how fun it is. I wanted to make mine manual but 170hp with gears in my daily commute not to mention parts for conversion? Nah. If i could i'd get a manual V6 for weekend fun drives, I'd just keep the twins and live like that. :evilbat:

i wonder if the other half of those cuts floatin around, could do with some extra parts. Keep us posted on your progress. :)

wycleft

Postby wycleft » July 21st, 2011, 7:29 pm

lostboy i hope you get thru with that tranny..sorry to hear dat happen,man..keep us updated.

Lantis ppl i started a thread on places that regularly have lantis parts--body and mechanical--on 323fsport.com :
http://323f-sport.4809089.n2.nabble.com ... 08857.html
Check it out. Add to it, it would be good to have a comprehensive list from all areas of the country. Places with reasonable prices though..in my recent hunts I saw a number of new places in the bamboo stocking lantis parts--but the prices outrageous --like $800 for a back door window glass. Ended up getting it by a parts place Ricky's in Debe for $400. Ricky actually bringing down a whole lantis in parts soon, i'll look for his number and post it. So hopefully we could places from not only in the bamboo on the list.

speedist

Postby speedist » July 21st, 2011, 9:06 pm

Glad u get through with the back glass, wycleft. Good info,man! A whole lantis is the news i needed! In dire need of some interior parts and those mirror mounts.

I never get tired of hearing that V6. I think this guy dried the track with his. :lol:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NgrTx7Kr ... re=related

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » July 23rd, 2011, 11:45 am

So fellas after searching for nearly 2 weeks i had a chat with a Transmission specialist who tipped me off on where to find a Mazda B6 tranny. He himself had a few but unfortunately sold them for scrap sometime during the week. He directed me to a scrap yard over the highway opposite UWI lights. One you reach the bar on the corner make a right and on the the first street on your left you will see a sign saying to the Southern main road, just follow the road until you reach a corner with some shops and its about 2 houses after. You can't miss it have lots of scrap cars and parts.

Unfortunately they said the scrapped all the Mazda trannys earlier in the week :(
They told me check the lil scrap shop in front where they told me the fella had a few buried in a hill of trannys and engines at the back of his house. So after searching we found one on the top of the pile which is bout 20ft high. Unfortunately the rest of the Mazda trannys where buried beneath. But i am sure the next shipment they get once you time them right unlike me you will get through easier. Had lots of sr20 and sr18 engine blocks and some decent mag rims, saw some nice advans laying around, found 2 sides could not find rest :( . I sure i could have gotten the whole set for less then $500.00 and all they needed was repainting they were in a light green colour.

So i found a tranny , they sold it to me for $400.00 only to realize later that it was a cable kick down and mine was a electronic. Specialist said he will take it apart to see if he could modify it and it turns out he could, just had to swap my solenoids and throttle body in it and all the wire harness plugs. To rebuild it cost me $1000.00 in parts and labour. When i install it on Monday i will know for sure if it will install hassle free or if something in that tranny is a little off or missing a bolt hole or something and not lining up. :skurry:

speedist

Postby speedist » July 23rd, 2011, 2:54 pm

Very nice info, man! Keep us posted on your progress, lostboy. U could put the name and number of those places in wyclefts parts place thread too:

http://323f-sport.4809089.n2.nabble.com ... 08857.html

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » July 24th, 2011, 8:53 am

Anybody interested in a full lantis GT setup let me know that's full v6 KF-ZE engine with manual setup 5 hole massive brakes front and rear looking at 17k installed

speedist

Postby speedist » July 24th, 2011, 9:26 am

ARRGG! I hate bein broke. That's the setup i was lookin for. How often do you get a manual setup like that, maztune?

wycleft

Postby wycleft » July 30th, 2011, 5:24 pm

speedist, i go check w the fellar about the parts yuh need--i know is de mirror mounts and the piece of dashboard above the shifter w de cig lighter. Anythin else?

Fellow lantis men, lemme know wa parts yuh need and I'll organize with the fellar. It supposed to be arriving next two weeks or so. He eh bringin in everything from the car though--only the more important parts.

Lostboy, wuz de verdict on de tranny,it went up alright? I eh self know it had dem places over de highway by uwi. They does sell lantis parts on a regular?

speedist

Postby speedist » July 30th, 2011, 6:30 pm

Many thanks, man, those same interior parts you mentioned will do fine. :D I'll look around bamboo for the interior padding to cover up the wiring under the dash. If he brings in the trunk lid and strips it, i could use another reflector panel though.

Wycleft maybe waiting to get de good news, i sure he'll get it fix. I barely know bout parts place an i managin. Pics of my old and new look to come soon. Now to eat bread an water till i get some rims. :lol:

before swap:

after swap:

New look comin in a few days......

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » July 31st, 2011, 2:00 pm

Well fellas i fixed the tranny, and the car driving now but it sounding like a helicopter.. :(
Looks like the bearings in the other tranny i put in not good. Other than the noise the tranny pulling good but i gonna buy a foreign used one from a ZM engine plus the brainbox to wire over to work with my B6 engine. That will cost me bout 5k and i already spent close to 3k trying the fix the old tranny. I driving the car but only on the main road and back street cause i ain't crossing 35mph, i am scared to, i don't like hearing noises coming from my car.

Wycleft the junk yard ain't got any Lantis parts you might quicker find old trannys and engine blocks, stuff like that. When last you went bamboo ? last i checked they had about 3 front cuts.

speedist

Postby speedist » July 31st, 2011, 3:49 pm

Well, there's no such thing as being too careful where your car is concerned so your speed limit is understandable. You'll pull through, man.

3 front cuts? i think i'll make another pass in bamboo this week.

My painter mentioned a guy running a black BA with a SR20 in it, lights all over it and another fella with 2 turbo v6 F's. :shock: Whether i go bamboo to source parts or bodyshop, someone mentions him, i'm always one step behind him. No surprise, with a SR he's faster than i am. :lol:

edit: just come back with my F and the tail gate struts wear out! Geezanages, dat trunk heavy! Now i NEED to go bamboo! :evil:

wycleft

Postby wycleft » August 1st, 2011, 11:39 am

Happy Emancipation!

Thanks lostboy. I always on the lookout for places outside d bamboo where ah mite get better prices. Ah doh envy yuh w dat noise d car makin..buh hear nah., when was it yuh tranny started going bad? and wa was de symptoms?

Speed boy, them tailgate does be rel heavy doh let that drop on yuh head.... We'll ketch up to dem fellas soon enuff..den invite dem to de club!

speedist

Postby speedist » August 1st, 2011, 12:18 pm

Happy Emancipation to you as well, wycleft. :)

I interested to know about the symptoms myself. If dem struts heavy?! If de edge of the trunk was sharp it coulda lop my head off!

My painter say SR20 BA guy comes by him to get a touch up and that he from my area.Chances are he probably on tuner arready. I want to see if i could get some pointers from him and scope his set up since i still considering a manual convert.

As i check over the gear lever i realise i missing a squarish plastic ring that goes in with the covering too.

EDIT: jus notice a new 323 on trinicars, now this is a girl who respects a vehicle!
The 3rd pic shows the plastic ring around the base of the gear lever too

PBE
Make: Mazda
Model: 323F
Year: 1998
Colour: Silver
Engine Size: 1800 cc
Mileage: 117,937 km
Transmission: Automatic
Features: Air Condition, Power Windows, Power Locks, Power Mirrors, Power Steering, 4 Wheel Disc Brakes, Projector Lights, Fog Lamps, CD Player, MP3 Player, Alloy Rims, Low Profile Tyres, Chrome Exhaust, Rear Spoiler, Sunroof, Tint, Alarm, Fabric Interior
Additional Info: No post doors, Limited Edition, remote control Pioneer deck, inspected 2012, drop low, new tyres, Bosch wipers.

Postby cinco » August 4th, 2011, 3:08 pm

is that really a 1800?
that looks really tempting but the parts for those cars are so dam impossible to find
i feel i go check it out just for so tho

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » August 6th, 2011, 8:25 am

the only way to verify if its a 1.8 is to look at the certified copy (assuming its all original) because I dont think the engine number is visible. I do know the 1.8 engine shares the same head and block (except its bored out more for the increased displacement) so altho it looks like the 1.6 and might very well be a 1.8

Speedist, the 'ring' you're talking about is all part of one molded piece of the centre console. So you gotta find that whole piece: it starts from under the 1 DIN pocket and ends after the shifter, which meets the storage/armrest/handbrake piece

speedist

Postby speedist » August 6th, 2011, 6:09 pm

Ohhhh, ok, well that's goin to be a task to find but c'est la vie. Went bamboo, got a pair of tailgate struts, last ones too! the guy even put them on for fifty dollars. Seenath's front cuts gone! I only saw a lantis gt trunk lid, no spoiler. :shock:

As a result of my deteriorating mirror mounts, the windows are beginning to rattle again. :evil:

I'll sort that soon enough though. What i need to figure out is how to safely clean a engine.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » August 7th, 2011, 3:16 pm

cover the battery, MAF and air filter (if you using a cone). Everything else is washable without damaging. Only thing is stay away from purple blaster. I works great but it oxidizes the valve cover and exhaust heat shield like a beyotch.

speedist

Postby speedist » August 7th, 2011, 6:12 pm

Geez, now i really am scared to clean it but i'll get it done safely but still good advice, damie. After i found out purple b is corrosive i avoid it like de plague. An electrician i went to today expressly advised me to steam clean the engine. Don't know why i didn't think of that. :?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » August 7th, 2011, 8:07 pm

Purple blaster fack up my paint in the eng bay, it real strong!!!

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » August 8th, 2011, 7:19 am

the challenge is to find a place that does it.... well I certainly can't think of anywhere.

There's always good ole diesel and a powerwash that you get from a gas station that does engine/undercarriage washing. Never did it on mine, but my bro does it about every 6 months on his Focus, with no negative effects

speedist

Postby speedist » August 8th, 2011, 6:25 pm

@ groovemaster: another scary reason i not touchin purple b. i jus paint mine las week.

@ damieG82: i heard horror stories bout power washing the engine, rough idling after, etc. I never thought to ask him if he knows someone who does but i'll ask then i'll post the info. I was a little hurry to take a nice drive after he sort out some issues.

She get a clean bill of health, overdrive working, all the gears going in, though the dash still showing an error reading from the 1.6 from before, he and another electrician in valsayn said the same thing, resetting the brain could solve this. Only de mirror mounts and scheduled maintenance now. :lol:

As for the focus, doesn't it have covers on all the delicate parts?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » August 9th, 2011, 11:35 pm

the rough idle happens when water interferes with the spark plugs. Once the plug wires are close enough to genuine, the rubber overlap that sits on the valve cover should keep water out. If some does get in, just soak it up and let air dry for a couple minutes. As I said I never powerwashed mine but I have used purple blaster (thats how I know it interacts with the valve cover etc) and garden hose. After I renewed the wires a while back I never had any problems after washing

The Focus' engine is just as 'exposed' as the Sport's...

speedist

Postby speedist » August 10th, 2011, 7:19 pm

As a first time car owner, it's better i stay away from the purple blaster before i fack sumtin up then.

speedist

Postby speedist » August 28th, 2011, 7:24 pm

323f men, i wanted to get some feedback on a few things.
1. best engine oil i should be using
2. transmission oil
3. power steering fluid brand
4. brake fluid brand.

Currently using Castrol magnatec SAE 20W-50.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » August 28th, 2011, 8:04 pm

The syntec is better suited but if i can't get that i use the white bottle one as a substitute.
Both are very good.
As for the Brake fluid, i use the one in the little yellow bottle, i can't remember the name and my car in the auto garage with all my oil and power steering fluid in the car trunk.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » August 28th, 2011, 8:16 pm

ImageImageImage

speedist

Postby speedist » August 29th, 2011, 6:23 pm

Cool. Thanks, lostboy.I had to find out, scheduled maintenance is coming up. Magnatec startin to turn brown, after 6 months.
2ND PIC: shiniest lantis ever. i wanted to lower mine but we have road in d potholes.lol.
3rd pic: very agressive looking, would've gone with a gold badge instead of yellow though.

This guy has been my role model ever since i took on my F as a project:
Richard Hardesty AKA Maisey, based in the UK.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » September 6th, 2011, 8:37 pm

Well fella's finally got my ride back from the shop today :D after 2 transmission changes she running again. I have not given her a full workout yet but i will give her a highway run tomorrow to see if everything up to par.

I ain't know if any of you guys does pass San Juan side on the main road if you coming from P.O.S side on your left, think is the street after Bushe Street it have a Lantis shell for sale. Downside is the front got hit but everything else intact. Its a silver one , I sure you could get doors, seats, trimmings, tail gate e.t.c. I think the guy said he wanted 10k for the wreck. Not sure if the engine damaged, the guy is one of my padna's neighbour so thats all the info i got so far.

I will post the Transmission Specialist no. later for you guys who having any transmission issues.

speedist

Postby speedist » September 7th, 2011, 9:54 pm

Glad to hear u back out, man. After some endurance runs, i'm off the road for awhile. Gone back to cleaning engine.

10K isn't bad but i wish i had the money now, that's me out, again. woulda like to have the extra parts from that shell. lostboy, would u be able to get his number? i also may have found a guy who can get foreign used lantis parts, including doors. i'll post info once i can guarantee the condition of them.

The rattling is back, i need them doors yesterday. :evil:

Postby wagonrunner » September 8th, 2011, 11:45 am

lostboys crew wrote:I will post the Transmission Specialist no. later for you guys who having any transmission issues.

please do.

Return to “MAZDA”