Local Sport Compact Drag Cars- Hummy GTIR 9.8@146

FugiTECH

Local Sport Compact Drag Cars- Hummy GTIR 9.8@146

Postby FugiTECH » August 30th, 2011, 10:13 am

Ok so as time goes by the numbers are increasing , many cars that were once Streetable are being transformed into Sport Compact like full race cars, Example: No Interior , Tube Chassis , Tub Out , Ford 9'' Rear End , Huge Slicks , 4 Link or Ladder Bar Rear Suspension , Wheelie Bars , Parachute's, Racing Trannies and Lots more.

The Days of throwing in a sr, rb , rotary , 1j, 2j etc. and jumping out to race and expecting to win is over. There were many cars of this type all over Trinidad but of of them have either sell out, gave up , get fed up, or just park their machines because sadly we dont have a facility to race.

anyway the latest ive seen is Mr T's Box Lancer on Carvtech PC , understandable is the car setup itself but what kinda have me thinking is the motor , an SR25 Turbo............. view pics and updates here (scroll down) http://www.carvtechpc.com/carvtech-cust ... jects.html
Last edited by FugiTECH on April 14th, 2012, 1:46 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Garrett Inside

Re: -Local Sport Compact Drag Cars Discussion-

Postby Garrett Inside » August 30th, 2011, 8:42 pm

i prefer the escort project he had before, any good condition 2door escort just sweet too bad

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 30th, 2011, 10:54 pm

eff
see
chee
ess
+
jiggah who?!

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » August 31st, 2011, 1:09 am

Wonder how Hummy's projects going down? Sinister?

Postby Monk BANzai » August 31st, 2011, 8:30 am

Still no track, so it's going to be a street / strip build with a target of around 800whp off of an
SR25 through a PPG 5-Speed Manual Tranny..

really though?...Best of luck we....

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » August 31st, 2011, 9:15 am

Mazworx SR22 made 1400+ whp , why go SR25? I woulda just order a close replica of the Mazworx Engine : l

Postby Monk BANzai » August 31st, 2011, 10:30 am

^^ that was a street application?

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » August 31st, 2011, 10:51 am

hell no lol , does an sr25 in a tubbed, 4 link lancer sound like a street application? if a 2.2 litre could more than do the job, why get it even more complicated with 2.5 litre?

Good thing here is you partner bigtoe is with them, they should see the light with him.

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » August 31st, 2011, 12:17 pm

Ole Talk is the real name for this forum yes.

Mazworx could make a million horse power on their engine, fact is they running on methanol with aluminum rods and gas ported pistons and all kinds of other things...........dedicated race car.

Making 800whp on a 2.0 is not a problem with an SR, however making it a daily driver is not reality.
Simple fact is that a 2.2 will make the power with more durability and a 2.5 even more than the 2.2...........all else being equal.

Call it what you will, it will have a number plate, insurance all the lights and be driven on the road.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » August 31st, 2011, 12:48 pm

Nice Nice , I think this might be one of the worlds first 2.5 lit SR's Mark , Lets see how this thing will perform, One question though, forget the motor, with whats being done to that car itself, what kinda estimated time bracket can that setup handle on the 1320?

Postby Monk BANzai » August 31st, 2011, 1:03 pm

CARVtech wrote:Ole Talk is the real name for this forum yes.

Mazworx could make a million horse power on their engine, fact is they running on methanol with aluminum rods and gas ported pistons and all kinds of other things...........dedicated race car.

Making 800whp on a 2.0 is not a problem with an SR, however making it a daily driver is not reality.
Simple fact is that a 2.2 will make the power with more durability and a 2.5 even more than the 2.2...........all else being equal.

Call it what you will, it will have a number plate, insurance all the lights and be driven on the road.

lol...yuh mean "flatbeded" to each street race. lol

I not going to get into the politics of street racing as this is not what this thread is about. My thing is the daily drivability of the project. I recently drove a modded Legacy, quick as f*ck......but becuz of the mods, to keep it going while idle meant revving the car into its power band (lightened flywheel blah de blah blah).....to me thats not drivability. Its a Race Legacy...

I have the utmost respect for CarVtech/Central Speed/Any spanner thrower that can wrench nuff 3 zeeelion Horse powers out of an engine. Takes skill and years of knowledge.....but doh call it a street car. Its a race car at that stage. Cuz its a purpose built machine...numberplate and all.

Separate question on the Central of Gravity on the 2.5 project. Its wheelbase is that different from the Escort? How you guize compsenating for the shift in CG?

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » August 31st, 2011, 1:29 pm

Any tuner could strap a car on a dyno and make big numbers, take it off and then give the customer to drive home.
Normally they so happy they doh mind that they cut off three times on the trafic light, cannot idle transition to pull off and when cold have to sit down in the car for 10min to get the engine hot.
Any turbocharged car above 2.0 making in the range of 300 to 500whp should be able to drive to church with grandma at the wheel.
Perception and common practice is not always reality.

As far as this project goes the wheel base was not so much of an issue with the Escort as was they type of suspension and the fore/aft weight transfer, hence the 4 link this time.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 31st, 2011, 4:00 pm

Perception and common practice is not always reality.

^^^ i like that...how do you mitigate against customers that want "common practice" though? I've heard of many a tuner/mechanic lament that a project didn't go the way they wanted it to go cause the owner "saw Parky do this and that and AH WANT THAT TOO!!" and then when the project goes PANG! they (the owner) are quick to point fingers in the direction of the mech. I mean we've heard all the stories over the years of owners rolling up to a tuner garage to beat down at tuner after the owners big money build blew up cuz of some "bad gas"....wait....i siad that?....sorry kamala...lol..

But im sure you understand where I am coming from...as a tuner, how do you instill a sense of discipline in your clients thought process (and pockets).

BTW...Larry's Suzuki Ignis Sport....love what yu did....i'm n/a enthusiast and Larry's Ignis .....man oh man...

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 31st, 2011, 5:51 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:Wonder how Hummy's projects going down? Sinister?

should be finished soon...comin along quite nicely :)

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » August 31st, 2011, 5:55 pm

Then theres the Ladder from Point , goddamn!!! , I heard it has a better Turbo than Kako Racing =O

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 31st, 2011, 7:18 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:Then theres the Ladder from Point , goddamn!!! , I heard it has a better Turbo than Kako Racing =O

Kako has nothing special under the bonnet.. My friend borrowed Kako's spare motor test his former KA24 240SX and I was told that Kako motors are "backyard" built.. After fabbing the IC piping and exhaust manifold etc, he build his own motor with lots of help from Mazworx. The car is making well over 1000hp at the moment but there's no one available to drive it because Oso is busy driving other customer cars.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » August 31st, 2011, 7:42 pm

Is kako 2.2 Rotaryboy?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 31st, 2011, 7:44 pm

CARVtech wrote:Ole Talk is the real name for this forum yes.

Will this car be making 800whp on a daily basis or are you turning it down for the street? Also, what fuel you using? How much block material needs to be removed in order to fit the stroker kit and would it affect the reliability of the motor, seeing that it'll see more mileage than a race only motor?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 31st, 2011, 7:46 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:Is kako 2.2 Rotaryboy?

I have no clue.. I'll see the 240 on Sunday so I'll ask my friend

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » August 31st, 2011, 8:03 pm

So angry they went ka24 , anyway I still waiting on my kako Tshirt , dude even if its used i dont mind, if they wipe their rass with it i still want one lol

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 1st, 2011, 12:31 am

Kako didn't make a new shirt this year, that's why I haven't gotten you one. I usually get tons of ImportDPS shirts, so hopefully they'll make a new one soon with the 240..

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 1st, 2011, 1:01 am

aaawww thats ok then, until you get a kako one :)

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » September 1st, 2011, 7:02 pm

Are you all using a spacer plate to between head and block to accomplish the 2.5l or just big bore and stroke? Much like,
Or you can just go all out, SR27VE,

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 1st, 2011, 7:09 pm

nah I doubt they doing what that guy trying on that forum.

sparky

Postby sparky » September 3rd, 2011, 12:59 pm

them fellas making plenty power

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 8th, 2011, 7:45 am

saw the Local Rayglass like Sport Compact Toyota Celica heading up Nort on a white wrecker, something has to be up with tha car.

Postby Sinister_Audio » September 9th, 2011, 7:32 am

it's sold.
new owner, new project.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » September 13th, 2011, 10:16 am

2.5? thaz cutting it close, i will pass, i only own one car, standard size for it :lol:

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » September 13th, 2011, 10:24 am

wait wait that box lancer...daz not PAK4004?

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 13th, 2011, 1:59 pm

by the looks it probably is

hi 7's , lows 8's is expected with the setup when tuned for a drag strip @800HP IMO

9'' rear tubbed , tube chassis, 4 link
sr25det
hella big cams
gt42r
4 fogger nos
2 stage nos i think
full autronic managemet system
racing transmission

Kako racing went 7.25 with supposed 900hp

9'' rear tubbed, 3/4 tube chassis, 4 link
sr22vet
N1 cams
4 fogger nos
mayb 2 stage nos
gt42r
sakura management with msd dis ignition
racing transmission
Last edited by FugiTECH on September 22nd, 2011, 9:56 am, edited 1 time in total.