Drag + TimeAttack Shootout - 27th Nov. PICS!!!

Re: Drag + TimeAttack Shootout - 27th Nov. @ ARC

Postby SUPAstarr » November 29th, 2011, 8:49 am

ah man say Porn cant study no GTR until he see past the back of a black hawkeye......ROFL

*POKE*

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 29th, 2011, 8:53 am

hope fully the 6 will be ready to do battle in december once we could get all the suspension bugs sorted out and the boost leak.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 29th, 2011, 8:57 am

paparazzi wrote:
kes_vtec wrote:now paparazzi, as you know, you and shawn sharelicks singh, are my buddies, but this event i had to back, mr shawn sharelicks singh, being the underdog and stuff, but for next the event, i want you to "wash" his ass out, to let these little boys know, when a man is knock down, he just gets on his feet, twice as strong...

Kes, worry not my friend. "sharelickssingh" will become "collectlickssingh" soon enough!
consider this his free pass to reign :lol: :lol: :lol:

On another note, I am certainly going to be up for the next event in December IF ONLY to see Porny and Ronnie duke it out PROPERLY this time.

( So Faisal still not answering the phone??)

This runningforlanedensayin'1runonly ting ent right. We all know it's best of 3. Sean and I even ran best of 3 in the rain (but ended up being best of 2.5)

Oh boy here we go again - bottom line is the respect for each other that competitors have displayed.
And yes that best two in three will be implemented in the finals- sorry we cannot have a 2.5!
And we promised to be set up early and we did. Now we will ensure a true mirror image and equal distance left or right.
And the lamp post will be well protected next time! Have to look at the NASCAR "soft-walls"!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 29th, 2011, 9:03 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:hope fully the 6 will be ready to do battle in december once we could get all the suspension bugs sorted out and the boost leak.

OH, Oh, guardbooth out of the way, have to make some signs to say "stay of the containers"! :wink:

Great to see all of the serious competitors appreciating the driving challenge that this Event really is all about.

Aqeeb

Postby Aqeeb » November 29th, 2011, 9:03 am

X2 wrote:Great driving by all. Props to ronnie for stepping up an kickin arse

Sean sharelicks...much respect as usual. The new ride is porntastic. Whoever coined that one gets a clap.

Great driving by Kester and the red Ek hatch (whos is that ??), Fixables... we will let you let some sleep next time.... I go buy you a drink at Tequila Twist !

Papprazzi... it happens and this is the BEST venue for it have happened... you pushed that car hard in harsh weather in the name of Sports and Sportsmanship... you are a rare breed. RESPECT.

All in all... great showing by the Evo's and Subarus... you guys give us a target to shoot for... :p

The red hatch was either Daryl or me, we ended up sharing the car lol

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 29th, 2011, 9:05 am

SUPAstarr wrote:ah man say Porn cant study no GTR until he see past the back of a black hawkeye......ROFL

*POKE*

lol...was a nail biting match up!

Ignorant Ignis wrote:hope fully the 6 will be ready to do battle in december once we could get all the suspension bugs sorted out and the boost leak.

nice evo man, i see you bought some tokico shocks... :oops: ...how much you pay for them?

Aqeeb

Postby Aqeeb » November 29th, 2011, 9:08 am

I think the only problem with this event that caused chaos in the timing tent was that the majority of the cars qualified in the wet, hence when the sun came out people started breaking out of their brackets. But you can't control weather and the event was still great! looking forward to the 11th

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 29th, 2011, 9:17 am

chindian88 wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:ah man say Porn cant study no GTR until he see past the back of a black hawkeye......ROFL

*POKE*

nice evo man, i see you bought some tokico shocks... :oops: ...how much you pay for them?

those weren't for my car

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 29th, 2011, 9:22 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
chindian88 wrote:

*POKE*

those weren't for my car

orhor ...i macko wrong then

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 29th, 2011, 9:31 am

Aqeeb wrote:I think the only problem with this event that caused chaos in the timing tent was that the majority of the cars qualified in the wet, hence when the sun came out people started breaking out of their brackets. But you can't control weather and the event was still great! looking forward to the 11th

There was NO Chaos in the timing tent. We recognized what was playing out but some drivers just did not, hence our original statement from way back at the briefing meeting - you will be placed in a bracket, and if you so wish, we are prepared to allow you to go up to a higher bracket.

This was explained to many drivers when they came with queries. NO way can it be fair to run in a bracket, break out from the bracket time by a wide margin and expect to win, and I say this applies to BOTH competitors. But all of this will be documented prior to the next Event on 11th Dec. and again explained to all competitors.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 29th, 2011, 9:31 am

kes_vtec wrote:, i want you to "wash" his ass out, to let these little boys know, when a man is knock down, he just gets on his feet, twice as strong...

Well, you know, the time to wash his ass out was last sunday, there was enough water for that.

Rawle, this isnt really a new event, this type of racing is a form of autocrossing called SOLO PRO in the US, u just have a slight variation of it. Eventually you will get something together that works for everybody.

It was still a heck of a lot of fun though and I will be coming again in the future, unfortunately I dont have any tyres left. So until nexx year.... :(

Video of Swift vs Miata

Postby MG Man » November 29th, 2011, 11:42 am

Rawle, my only issue with the event was knowing what was going on. I learned the hard way NOT to rely on the announcers. After my group ran, I noticed quite a few cars doin sub 60 times so i figured with my 61s, I was out for sure. When I heard the announcer (linzi) say 'if you slower dan 59 den yuh not makin it to de nex rounds' I figured ok cool, and left (had minor car issues and had to head south. Nex ting Narend on the phone tellin me they callin me to run. I done reach chaguanas. Seriously, whats the point of announcers if they talkin crap??????? I did not bother checking the tent because everybody there always busy, and isnt the point of announcers to update people? While i had no chance of winning, it was very disappointing to know I could have gotten a chance to run again and missed out. That pretty ruined my day............

Next time let us know who to go to for accurate info

Postby Monk BANzai » November 29th, 2011, 12:14 pm

MG Man wrote:Rawle, my only issue with the event was knowing what was going on. I learned the hard way NOT to rely on the announcers. After my group ran, I noticed quite a few cars doin sub 60 times so i figured with my 61s, I was out for sure. When I heard the announcer (linzi) say 'if you slower dan 59 den yuh not makin it to de nex rounds' I figured ok cool, and left (had minor car issues and had to head south. Nex ting Narend on the phone tellin me they callin me to run. I done reach chaguanas. Seriously, whats the point of announcers if they talkin crap??????? I did not bother checking the tent because everybody there always busy, and isnt the point of announcers to update people? While i had no chance of winning, it was very disappointing to know I could have gotten a chance to run again and missed out. That pretty ruined my day............

get bigger ears.... and stock up on linseed....

Postby Monk BANzai » November 29th, 2011, 12:16 pm

paparazzi wrote:
kes_vtec wrote:now paparazzi, as you know, you and shawn sharelicks singh, are my buddies, but this event i had to back, mr shawn sharelicks singh, being the underdog and stuff, but for next the event, i want you to "wash" his ass out, to let these little boys know, when a man is knock down, he just gets on his feet, twice as strong...

Kes, worry not my friend. "sharelickssingh" will become "collectlickssingh" soon enough!
consider this his free pass to reign :lol: :lol: :lol:

On another note, I am certainly going to be up for the next event in December IF ONLY to see Porny and Ronnie duke it out PROPERLY this time. This runningforlanedensayin'1runonly ting ent right. We all know it's best of 3. Sean and I even ran best of 3 in the rain (but ended up being best of 2.5)

oh my!!!.....heheheheheee...

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 29th, 2011, 12:53 pm

MG Man wrote:Rawle, my only issue with the event was knowing what was going on. I learned the hard way NOT to rely on the announcers. After my group ran, I noticed quite a few cars doin sub 60 times so i figured with my 61s, I was out for sure. When I heard the announcer (linzi) say 'if you slower dan 59 den yuh not makin it to de nex rounds' I figured ok cool, and left (had minor car issues and had to head south. Nex ting Narend on the phone tellin me they callin me to run. I done reach chaguanas. Seriously, whats the point of announcers if they talkin crap??????? I did not bother checking the tent because everybody there always busy, and isnt the point of announcers to update people? While i had no chance of winning, it was very disappointing to know I could have gotten a chance to run again and missed out. That pretty ruined my day............

Our apologies, point noted, will address this matter.
Will give you a free run against Pornie next Event! :lol:

Noting all of the critical comments and will deal with each and every one.

Postby MG Man » November 29th, 2011, 1:18 pm

I will run against pornie only of he promises not to cry after he get licks

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 29th, 2011, 1:30 pm

^^^ lOl ^^^

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 29th, 2011, 1:45 pm

MG Man wrote:I will run against pornie only of he promises not to cry after he get licks

Fair enough, going to get the agreement drawn up and have both parties sign in front the media- an ah sure yuh want best 2 on 3! And the loser sign over the car one time.

Wait... the lawyer will be present so no probs.

Postby Team Loco » November 29th, 2011, 1:57 pm

AutoSport wrote:
MG Man wrote:I will run against pornie only of he promises not to cry after he get licks

Fair enough, going to get the agreement drawn up and have both parties sign in front the media- an ah sure yuh want best 2 on 3! And the loser sign over the car one time.

ponders as to who will win this one

Postby Team Loco » November 29th, 2011, 2:00 pm

AutoSport wrote:
Team Loco wrote:true true. my father said he had a hard time being categorised but its all in good fun. he had a good time. imagine he calling me to say i missing out. i think he made it to the quarter finals but then lost

Because of the varying conditions, it was near impossible to have competitors set realistic times then be classified. We took what they put down and placed in respective brackets. Only to see some doing times 2 or 3 secs. faster, or in some instances slower. We recognized some were cutting the course, not necessarily deliberately, and thus the variations in times.

We explained this to all who questioned their times/class placement – some understood, others had too much water in their brains.

We will publish some notes on determining win/loss, penalty points to be added for bouncing cones, braking the time bracket.

At the end of the day we have absolutely no interest in favouring one competitor over the other – and many who came to the control tent to “argue their point” can attest to this. Note that what we are doing is combining areas of drag racing with dex to come up with a whole new concept. And this will take some time to be perfected.
(Can you do that among motor racing people???)

he understood. you know he was there for the fun of it.

professor

Postby professor » November 29th, 2011, 2:00 pm

I really have to learn about this bracket and break out business, but at the end of the day i had a great time. I came up with a car that could just rev clean to around 6500, did not intend to race, told them dont bother to scrutineer the car, when the rain came, I had them scrutineer the car, thinking; with that amount of rain, very few would be able to go fast. When qualifing came around, had to short shift at 6000, did 54 +/-. then car started running clean, ran and got bumped to GP4, then apparently got disqualified because I somehow broke out there also. Went home a happy man, from wondering even to drive the car to the track, to getting disqualified becaus car too fast for class. God is good, a bit puzzling, but good.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » November 29th, 2011, 2:19 pm

AutoSport wrote:

if pornie wins mg's car, wouldn't that make him the loser...

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 29th, 2011, 2:32 pm

professor wrote:I really have to learn about this bracket and break out business, but at the end of the day i had a great time. I came up with a car that could just rev clean to around 6500, did not intend to race, told them dont bother to scrutineer the car, when the rain came, I had them scrutineer the car, thinking; with that amount of rain, very few would be able to go fast. When qualifing came around, had to short shift at 6000, did 54 +/-. then car started running clean, ran and got bumped to GP4, then apparently got disqualified because I somehow broke out there also. Went home a happy man, from wondering even to drive the car to the track, to getting disqualified becaus car too fast for class. God is good, a bit puzzling, but good.

Clive.....thank God you could only shift at 6,000rpm. God is really good.... :D

But seriously....you still kick ass man !!!

Postby wagonrunner » November 29th, 2011, 2:45 pm

professor wrote:I came up with a car that could just rev clean to around 6500

Is that yuh was doing down the hill by the ice factory? :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » November 29th, 2011, 3:15 pm

Soundwave wrote:
AutoSport wrote:

if pornie wins mg's car, wouldn't that make him the loser...

Why u hadda go and sell out my evil plan for?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 29th, 2011, 4:33 pm

professor wrote:I really have to learn about this bracket and break out business, but at the end of the day i had a great time. I came up with a car that could just rev clean to around 6500, did not intend to race, told them dont bother to scrutineer the car, when the rain came, I had them scrutineer the car, thinking; with that amount of rain, very few would be able to go fast. When qualifing came around, had to short shift at 6000, did 54 +/-. then car started running clean, ran and got bumped to GP4, then apparently got disqualified because I somehow broke out there also. Went home a happy man, from wondering even to drive the car to the track, to getting disqualified becaus car too fast for class. God is good, a bit puzzling, but good.

Good reading, but what you did not hear was the announcer also saying you was breaking out the age bracket, 63 or whatever running against 33 and still "embarassing" the pants off the younger drivers. You were repeatedly proving the point that one can have a fast car, but you better know how to drive it.

The break out is very simple, once placed into a bracket, if you go faster than the lower limit, you lose. We have to have some limit here, else at the end of the day we will have all sorts of faster times eating up those who are correctly placed. The conditions on Sunday made a mockery of having most drivers post consistent times.

And Loco I understand but boy he is a fierce competitor - if it was you who was sick on Sunday he woulda surely find somebody to baby-sit! Kept jabbing me to come sit with him, but politely refused.

Postby wagonrunner » November 29th, 2011, 4:40 pm

AutoSport wrote:Kept jabbing me to come sit with him, but politely refused.

so polite, that you hopped in your car, and drove to the far side of the track to hide. :poke: :lol: :lol:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 29th, 2011, 4:50 pm

AutoSport wrote:Kept jabbing me to come sit with him, but politely refused.

so polite, that you hopped in your car, and drove to the far side of the track to hide. :poke: :lol: :lol:

Not true - went to look after the interest of the lamp post!

Ask Banzai bout the last time he drove with me at ARC and who we ran against...

Postby wagonrunner » November 29th, 2011, 4:52 pm

If that's the run that convinced Banzai decide to invest in some white gloves, and a driving scarf, i remember. :lol:

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 29th, 2011, 8:17 pm

pics are up on my site....

www.aaronachan.com

notice rear wheels already locked up