Driving School 1 2012

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Driving School 1 2012

Postby crazybalhead » February 1st, 2012, 9:05 am

Time for some well mannered frivolity.

We'll be setting up a stopping zone, slalom, and a couple corners for practice, plus speakers to share advice in a classroom session in the morning.

Any suggestions people?

What would you like to see?

Mr. Fixables

Re: Driving School 1 2012

Postby Mr. Fixables » February 1st, 2012, 10:32 am

Having conducted the 2011 Driving school class session, I do have some suggestions.

It was difficult to hold the attention of both the novice drivers as well as the more experienced drivers during the same classroom session, depending on the technical level of the discussion. As a result, I would like to suggest that whoever is conducting the classroom session, to break it up into part 1 and part 2.

Part 1 being the novice session where the basics are covered in class, while the more experienced drivers are out on the field, and after, the novices can go out on the field and the instructor can then interact with the more experienced drivers on what problems they were encountering on the field, as well as any improvements which could have been made.

This way the level of discussion can be tailored to the specific groups.

Kirk

Postby wagonrunner » February 1st, 2012, 11:11 am

Hmm. I hear yuh fixables.
But as a novice myself,. I'd like to be in both discussions, as there are things i might not think consequential, but when discussed by the more experienced folk, I may learn how to better deal with it.

Postby crazybalhead » February 1st, 2012, 12:44 pm

Mr. Fixables wrote:Having conducted the 2011 Driving school class session, I do have some suggestions.

It was difficult to hold the attention of both the novice drivers as well as the more experienced drivers during the same classroom session, depending on the technical level of the discussion. As a result, I would like to suggest that whoever is conducting the classroom session, to break it up into part 1 and part 2.

Part 1 being the novice session where the basics are covered in class, while the more experienced drivers are out on the field, and after, the novices can go out on the field and the instructor can then interact with the more experienced drivers on what problems they were encountering on the field, as well as any improvements which could have been made.

This way the level of discussion can be tailored to the specific groups.

Kirk

Kirk, this was the EXACT conversation we had yesterday. Will try to cater to both.

Postby crazybalhead » February 1st, 2012, 12:45 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Hmm. I hear yuh fixables.
But as a novice myself,. I'd like to be in both discussions, as there are things i might not think consequential, but when discussed by the more experienced folk, I may learn how to better deal with it.

:| :| :| :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » February 1st, 2012, 6:02 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:Hmm. I hear yuh fixables.
But as a novice myself,.................................

:| :| :| :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

aye aye. but is choo. i could barely [expert] jive rong a car park in 2nd gear.[/expert] still have a lot more to learn. :mrgreen: 0X

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 2nd, 2012, 2:55 pm

^Steaming pile of B.S. if ever I saw one...... :|

Who you fooling Karl?

Corbeau playing dead?

Postby crazybalhead » February 2nd, 2012, 4:44 pm

Rudi, yuh coming meng???

Postby X2 » February 2nd, 2012, 6:03 pm

Not that I attended any of the dex meetings... but what is the goal of this driving school ?

There is basic prep work that you look for when doing any extended training:

* Class size
* Equipment/Visual aid
* Name and qualification/experience of instructor
* Setting of goals (for instructor to meet)
* Setting of long term agenda (to achieve training goals)
* Setting of individual agenda (each class)
* Testing of material (Situation or Track testing of material covered)

I see that there are no dates listed as BYCC anymore...all non competition dates are listed as Driving School. Has holding a bycc for people to try out dex become a thing of the past ?

Postby wagonrunner » February 3rd, 2012, 11:59 am

X2 wrote:I see that there are no dates listed as BYCC anymore...all non competition dates are listed as Driving School. Has holding a bycc for people to try out dex become a thing of the past ?

my response, and its NOT AN OFFICIAL ONE.
It's the same principle as a BYCC, however its geared towards getting novices more comfortable, and competent at dexterity driving their vehicle (theory and practical).
For folks who are more interested in the seat time, that's still available.

Postby crazybalhead » February 3rd, 2012, 1:46 pm

Karl, that is exactly right!

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 3rd, 2012, 2:13 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Rudi, yuh coming meng???

Nah boi. Ever since the little man reach, I have no more time for dex or anything else otherwise.

I will be sitting this year out unfortunately. Maybe by next year I should be back.

Postby crazybalhead » February 6th, 2012, 8:32 am

That eh no excuse!!!!

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 7th, 2012, 1:00 am

^And I know you of all people can say that unreservedly. Congrats on your son reaching his first birthday the other day.

I don't know how you do it or what support is there from other family members, but for the last 4 months now, whatever resemblance of a life I had before has fallen into the abyss of neglect and decay, dex included. It seems for now my life is split between work and taking care of my son. As Devi put it the other day, I have fallen off the face of the earth, forsaken those that I once called friends.

Dex isn't a priority anymore to be competing with an increasingly scarce time resource.

Reyos

Postby Reyos » February 7th, 2012, 9:16 am

Rudi...****angry face****
Relax nah...think of it as we taking some time to repair and rebuild. You just have something wayee better to do with your time :) ..When my boy is ready we bringing him in his baby recaro to join in....
furthermore by the time you come back the neverloution might just be an evolution ;)....

Postby crazybalhead » February 7th, 2012, 12:42 pm

Rudman wrote:^And I know you of all people can say that unreservedly. Congrats on your son reaching his first birthday the other day.

I don't know how you do it or what support is there from other family members, but for the last 4 months now, whatever resemblance of a life I had before has fallen into the abyss of neglect and decay, dex included. It seems for now my life is split between work and taking care of my son. As Devi put it the other day, I have fallen off the face of the earth, forsaken those that I once called friends.

Dex isn't a priority anymore to be competing with an increasingly scarce time resource.

Help from family members???

Things will get easier...doh fritten.

b14chic

Postby b14chic » February 8th, 2012, 12:53 pm

Hey Mr. Fixables

As of now, I could say i'm somewhere between novice and experienced. I would like to make a suggestion for driving school.....Is it possible to have an experienced driver coaching in the car while practicing at driving school?..That would really help in terms of pointing out the lines etc....

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » February 8th, 2012, 9:54 pm

is this on the 12th? There is an announcement on the 12th for cart racing.

race to win

Postby race to win » February 8th, 2012, 10:00 pm

driving school has been moved to the 26th

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 8th, 2012, 11:47 pm

Sigh...we aint even had one event and it done getting move

Postby X2 » February 9th, 2012, 1:31 pm

Rudman wrote:Dex isn't a priority anymore to be competing with an increasingly scarce time resource.

Stop checking 2nr every 5 mins and you go find PLENTY time meng...

ng357

Postby ng357 » February 9th, 2012, 8:54 pm

looking forward to this, feel it will be reel good. but reeel disappointing at the set back!

foots

Postby foots » February 9th, 2012, 10:32 pm

:( damn.

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 10th, 2012, 7:36 am

X2 wrote:
Rudman wrote:Dex isn't a priority anymore to be competing with an increasingly scarce time resource.

Wha????

Check when you post that and check the time of my response. I ent even have time for tuner again.

krazy

Postby krazy » February 11th, 2012, 8:33 pm

What is the cost of this training session?
And what time will it be starting?

Postby X2 » February 12th, 2012, 11:06 pm

Rudman wrote:
X2 wrote:

Wha????

Check when you post that and check the time of my response. I ent even have time for tuner again.

Man don't even have time for a joke oui !

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » February 13th, 2012, 8:39 pm

Moved to the 26th?? I might be able to make that date, this schedule at the bar for Carnival is murder!! :)

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » February 24th, 2012, 6:31 am

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » February 25th, 2012, 10:16 am

FYI

CARS is pleased to announce that we will be hosting a driving school this Sunday at the Arima Race Club car park.
The intent of the driving school is to demonstrate to our new drivers the proper technique involved at Solodex.

Please note that you do not have to be a memb...er of CARS to attend the driving school. ANYONE who may be interested in learning proper race technique can come to the driving school and take part in the practical session after.

Some of the items we intend to cover are:
(1) Proper race posture and cockpit set up
(2) Race lines, apex, braking zones etc.
(3) Rules and regulations of the 2011 Championship series and possible changes for the 2012 season.

The day will be split into 4 sections.
Section 1: Classroom session followed by Q&A
This is scheduled to start at 9:30AM. Come with questions and feel free to ask. Remember, we are there to help each other and learn from each other....so don't be afriad to ask anything.

Section 2: Practicals
This is scheduled to start at 11:00am. We are going to set up 3 practice sections.
a. Brake zone
b. 90 degree turn
c. Hairpin and a 360 degree turn.
d. Slaloms.

Section 3: Open course
This is scheduled to start at 1:30 pm
A course will be set up and you will have the chance to make 3 continuous laps with an experienced driver as your navigatior. The intent of this session is to allow a one on one while on the course. At the end of the 3 laps you come off and join the back of the line while another driver takes to the course. We will allow 3 cars at a time on the course with enough space in between. The navigators will all have stop watches so that they can time you in the car while on these runs. The most appropriate race lines will be marked on the course so that you can reference it while driving.

Section 4: Offical timed runs.
The CARS offical timing system will be set up and each driver will be allowed to make a timed lap. At the end of the lap he/she may join the line to try again if desired.

This is a great opportunity to come out and learn how to handle your car under the supervision of our more experiened drivers.

We have a packed day so we really want to start on time so that we can maximize the amount of seat time each driver gets.

COST: $150. per driver
GATE FEE: FREE
TIME: 9:30am to 4:30pm
VENUE: Arima Race Club Car Park.

Remember you can sign up for annual membership at a cost of $100.00 on the day as well. We will also have our CARS tee shirt on sale so feel free to purchase one and represent! The cost is $100.00 for mensizes and $80.00 for female sizes.
Food and drinks will be on sale.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » February 25th, 2012, 11:09 am

So membership don't entitle you to a different entrance fee this rounds ?

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”